---
title: "Alma · Payment institution (Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority) · France | Elucidate"
description: "Alma is authorised by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority as a payment institution in France. Licence 839100575. LEI 969500GKKNYQSUM84673. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/alma-f9cd6075ec88
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [France](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/fr)
3.  Alma

France · Payments & e-money

# Alma

Alma is a French société par actions simplifiée (SAS) with its head office in Neuilly-sur-Seine. The Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) authorises it as both a payment institution and a financing company (société de financement), under CIB code 17408. Venture investors fund the firm, including Cathay Innovation, Eurazeo, Bpifrance, Seaya Ventures, Picus Capital and Tencent. It lets online and in-store merchants offer customers payment in 2 to 4 instalments, 10 or 12 instalment credit and pay-later options.

Register status

Licensed in France

Payment institution · Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/alma-f9cd6075ec88#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **[969500GKKNYQSUM84673](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/969500GKKNYQSUM84673)** [Licence no. **839100575**](https://elucidate.co/directory/alma-f9cd6075ec88#licences)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Alma (LEI 969500GKKNYQSUM84673). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 839100575 | [France](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/fr) | Active | 2021-05-10 | — | - Payment services - Card acquiring - Account information | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/alma-f9cd6075ec88#overview-sources)

Customers

23,000

merchants · Group · 31 Dec 2025 · [company statement ↗](https://www.datocms-assets.com/63692/1773656560-communique-de-presse-alma-franchit-le-cap-de-la-rentabilite-en-2025.pdf)

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Venture-backed

Firm type

Lending or buy now, pay later

Trades as Alma

- **Ownership:** Venture investors hold the firm, including Cathay Innovation, Eurazeo, Bpifrance (Large Venture), Seaya Ventures, Picus Capital, Tencent, GR Capital and Roosh Ventures. Their stakes are not disclosed.
- **Head office:** 176 Avenue Charles de Gaulle, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
- **Company register:** RCS Nanterre 839 100 575
- **Incorporated:** 2018
- **Founders:** Louis Chatriot · Guillaume Desloges

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [almapay.com ↗](https://almapay.com/) [docs.getalma.eu ↗](https://docs.getalma.eu/docs) developer documentation [status.getalma.eu ↗](https://status.getalma.eu/) status page [dashboard.getalma.eu ↗](https://dashboard.getalma.eu/login) merchant dashboard [help.almapay.com ↗](https://help.almapay.com/hc/fr) help centre [Wikipedia ↗](https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alma_\(entreprise\))
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/alma-alma-alma/) · [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/AlmapayOfficial) · [Instagram ↗](https://www.instagram.com/almapay_fr/)
- **Apps:** [App Store ↗](https://apps.apple.com/fr/app/alma-payez-en-plusieurs-fois/id6749675097) · [Google Play ↗](https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.almapay.portal&hl=fr)

Sources · 9 pages consulted

1.  [regafi.fr/spip.php?cat=21-TBR07&id\_secteur=1&lang=fr&page=export&retrait=0&sort=sta\_asc&type=advanc](https://regafi.fr/spip.php?cat=21-TBR07&id_secteur=1&lang=fr&page=export&retrait=0&sort=sta_asc&type=advanced)
2.  [almapay.com/fr-FR/legal/mentions-legales](https://almapay.com/fr-FR/legal/mentions-legales)
3.  [almapay.com/fr-FR/clients](https://almapay.com/fr-FR/clients)
4.  [almapay.com/fr-FR/presse](https://almapay.com/fr-FR/presse)
5.  [datocms-assets.com/63692/1773656560-communique-de-presse-alma-franchit-le-cap-de-la-rentabilite-en-2025.pdf](https://www.datocms-assets.com/63692/1773656560-communique-de-presse-alma-franchit-le-cap-de-la-rentabilite-en-2025.pdf)
6.  [datocms-assets.com/63692/1681394209-alma-leve-210-millions-deuros-pour-batir-un-commerce-equilibre.pdf](https://www.datocms-assets.com/63692/1681394209-alma-leve-210-millions-deuros-pour-batir-un-commerce-equilibre.pdf)
7.  [help.almapay.com/hc/fr/articles/4403454068626-Quelles-sont-les-informations-%C3%A0-ajouter-%C3%A0-mes-Cond](https://help.almapay.com/hc/fr/articles/4403454068626-Quelles-sont-les-informations-%C3%A0-ajouter-%C3%A0-mes-Conditions-G%C3%A9n%C3%A9rales-de-Vente-CGV)
8.  [prnewswire.com/news-releases/castlelake-announces-forward-flow-agreement-with-alma-to-purchase-over-3-bi](https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/castlelake-announces-forward-flow-agreement-with-alma-to-purchase-over-3-billion-of-consumer-loans-302270563.html)
9.  [fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alma\_(entreprise)](https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alma_\(entreprise\))

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/alma-f9cd6075ec88#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The ACPR authorises the firm as a payment institution and as a financing company (société de financement), under CIB code 17408. According to the EBA register, its payment services include card acquiring and account information.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) France | Établissement de paiement (EBA register national identifier 839100575, since 10 May 2021; REGAFI ID 90786) | 17408 | In its own name | Active | [help.almapay.com ↗](https://help.almapay.com/hc/fr/articles/4403454068626-Quelles-sont-les-informations-%C3%A0-ajouter-%C3%A0-mes-Conditions-G%C3%A9n%C3%A9rales-de-Vente-CGV) |
| Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) France | Société de financement (REGAFI ID 90786) | 17408 | In its own name | Active | [help.almapay.com ↗](https://help.almapay.com/hc/fr/articles/4403454068626-Quelles-sont-les-informations-%C3%A0-ajouter-%C3%A0-mes-Conditions-G%C3%A9n%C3%A9rales-de-Vente-CGV) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/alma-f9cd6075ec88#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Not disclosedThe pages reviewed do not say how the firm safeguards funds received for merchants.
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** CB (Cartes Bancaires) Access not stated [almapay.com ↗](https://almapay.com/fr-FR/clients) Visa Access not stated [almapay.com ↗](https://almapay.com/fr-FR/clients) Mastercard Access not stated [almapay.com ↗](https://almapay.com/fr-FR/clients) American Express Access not stated [almapay.com ↗](https://almapay.com/fr-FR/clients)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/alma-f9cd6075ec88#overview-sources)

-   Buy now, pay later
-   Lending
-   Merchant acquiring
-   Payment gateway

Merchants integrate Alma online or in store to offer payment in 2, 3 or 4 instalments, 10 or 12 instalment credit, pay-later in 15 or 30 days and one-off card payments. Alma pays the merchant upfront and collects the instalments from the consumer.

France is the main market. The firm runs country sites for Belgium, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Spain, Italy, Germany and Portugal, and says it is present in 10 countries.

- **Payment volume:** EUR 2.5bnbusiness volume (volume d'affaires) Group · 31 Dec 2025 · [company statement ↗](https://www.datocms-assets.com/63692/1773656560-communique-de-presse-alma-franchit-le-cap-de-la-rentabilite-en-2025.pdf)
- **Sells to:** Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Consumers
- **Serves customers in 8 countries:** France · Belgium · Luxembourg · Netherlands · Spain · Italy · Germany · Portugal
- **Latest funding round:** Series C · EUR 115m Feb 2022 [datocms-assets.com ↗](https://www.datocms-assets.com/63692/1681394209-alma-leve-210-millions-deuros-pour-batir-un-commerce-equilibre.pdf)
- **Total raised:** EUR 180m to Feb 2022 · [datocms-assets.com ↗](https://www.datocms-assets.com/63692/1681394209-alma-leve-210-millions-deuros-pour-batir-un-commerce-equilibre.pdf)

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/alma-f9cd6075ec88#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Louis Chatriot Président of Alma SAS and co-founder and CEO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [almapay.com ↗](https://almapay.com/fr-FR/legal/mentions-legales)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/alma-f9cd6075ec88#overview-sources)

1.  Mar 2026

    Other

    Alma reported EUR 2.5 billion of 2025 business volume, EUR 114 million of annual recurring revenue and its first positive net result.

    [datocms-assets.com ↗](https://www.datocms-assets.com/63692/1773656560-communique-de-presse-alma-franchit-le-cap-de-la-rentabilite-en-2025.pdf)

2.  Oct 2024

    Funding

    Castlelake agreed to buy over EUR 3 billion of Alma instalment receivables over 2.5 years, with senior financing from BNP Paribas and Santander CIB.

    [prnewswire.com ↗](https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/castlelake-announces-forward-flow-agreement-with-alma-to-purchase-over-3-billion-of-consumer-loans-302270563.html)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** 839100575
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** [969500GKKNYQSUM84673 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/969500GKKNYQSUM84673)
- **How the LEI was matched:** Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- **National bank code:** [FR-CIB 17408](https://elucidate.co/directory/alma-f9cd6075ec88#bank-codes)
- **Elucidate firm ID:** f9cd6075ec88

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** Payment Institution
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Card acquiring - Account information
- **Licensed in:** [France](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/fr) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2021-05-10

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** 176 avenue Charles de Gaulle, NEUILLY SUR SEINE, 92200
- **Country:** France

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address, with its LEI
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>969500GKKNYQSUM84673</LEI>
  <Nm>ALMA</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>92200</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>NEUILLY SUR SEINE</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>FR</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>176 avenue Charles de Gaulle</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## National bank codes

National bank-code directories, matched by LEI

| Code | Scheme | Name in the directory | City |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 17408 | FR-CIB | ALMA | NEUILLY SUR SEINE |

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in France

-   [Aplo Sas · trading as APLO No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 878929405 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500YKHZ31GZ7AAU02](https://elucidate.co/directory/aplo-sas-d10450e1dc56)
-   [Circle Internet Financial Europe Sas · trading as CIRCLE No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 953990934 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500OYUDADGZKCR583](https://elucidate.co/directory/circle-internet-financial-europe-sas-44b976c8a384)
-   [Coinhouse Sas · trading as COINHOUSE No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 815254545 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500E5GFHK2RKF8251](https://elucidate.co/directory/coinhouse-sas-6300d2a90c94)
-   [Cometh Sas · trading as COMETH No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 892021577 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 894500R5KSX3ZKIHSA46](https://elucidate.co/directory/cometh-sas-0790176952a5)
-   [Deblock No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 948264163 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 254900XTUI35BGIBXP21](https://elucidate.co/directory/deblock-6ef351dbc619)
-   [Ezyness BIC GAILFRP1 Payments & e-money Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 522058544 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 969500LC14WDCRNTV833](https://elucidate.co/directory/ezyness-gailfrp1)
-   [Finary Sas · trading as FINARY No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · FR\_ACPR!758984 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500RQH18PU24DM081](https://elucidate.co/directory/finary-sas-19e286f4b6ca)
-   [Franfinance BIC FRANFR21 Payments & e-money Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 719807406 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 969500FOY8TU4THH6S92](https://elucidate.co/directory/franfinance-franfr21)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=FR) [Other entries on EBA-PSD2 →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [source ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
