---
title: "Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A. · Electronic money institution (Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector) · Luxembourg | Elucidate"
description: "Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A. is authorised by Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector as an electronic money institution in Luxembourg. Licence W00000001. LEI 2549008827G8VLY2AL33. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/amazon-payments-europe-s-c-a-2e07cfa756b0
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Luxembourg](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/lu)
3.  Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A.

Luxembourg · Payments & e-money

# Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A.

Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A. is a Luxembourg société en commandite par actions. The Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF) authorises it as an electronic money institution, and the firm cites licence number 36/10. It belongs to the Amazon.com, Inc. group, and its direct parent is Amazon EU S.à r.l. It operates the Amazon Pay service in the EU, processing online payments for merchants and letting shoppers pay with their Amazon accounts.

Register status

Licensed in Luxembourg

Electronic money institution · Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/amazon-payments-europe-s-c-a-2e07cfa756b0#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **[2549008827G8VLY2AL33](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/2549008827G8VLY2AL33)** [Licence no. **W00000001**](https://elucidate.co/directory/amazon-payments-europe-s-c-a-2e07cfa756b0#licences) [Group: Amazon.com, Inc.](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/ZXTILKJKG63JELOEG630)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A. (LEI 2549008827G8VLY2AL33). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | W00000001 | [Luxembourg](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/lu) | Active | 2010-09-24 | — | - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring - E-money / stored value | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/amazon-payments-europe-s-c-a-2e07cfa756b0#overview-sources)

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Amazon EU S.à r.l.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Amazon Pay

- **Ownership:** Amazon EU S.à r.l. is the direct parent and Amazon.com, Inc. the ultimate parent, according to the entity's LEI record.
- **Direct parent:** [Amazon EU S.à r.l. ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/549300CLGXJ3ZDL9PZ27), Luxembourg
- **Ultimate owner:** Amazon.com, Inc., United States
- **Head office:** 38 avenue J.F. Kennedy, L-1855 Luxembourg, Luxembourg
- **Company register:** RCS Luxembourg B153265
- **Incorporated:** 31 May 2010

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [pay.amazon.eu ↗](https://pay.amazon.eu/) [developer.amazon.com ↗](https://developer.amazon.com/docs/amazon-pay/intro.html) developer docs
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/showcase/amazon-pay) · [X ↗](https://twitter.com/amazonpay) · [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/amazonpay) · [Instagram ↗](https://www.instagram.com/amazonpay/) · [YouTube ↗](https://www.youtube.com/user/amazonpayments)

Sources · 9 pages consulted

1.  [pay.amazon.eu/help/201751610](https://pay.amazon.eu/help/201751610)
2.  [pay.amazon.eu/help/201212430](https://pay.amazon.eu/help/201212430)
3.  [pay.amazon.eu/help/201751590](https://pay.amazon.eu/help/201751590)
4.  [dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R112138](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R112138)
5.  [lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/2549008827G8VLY2AL33](https://lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/2549008827G8VLY2AL33)
6.  [pay.amazon.eu/help/201813100](https://pay.amazon.eu/help/201813100)
7.  [static-assets.business.amazon.com/assets/gb/marketing-assets/AB-EU-supplier-forms.pdf](https://static-assets.business.amazon.com/assets/gb/marketing-assets/AB-EU-supplier-forms.pdf)
8.  [pay.amazon.eu/secure-checkout/monthly-invoice](https://pay.amazon.eu/secure-checkout/monthly-invoice)
9.  [pay.amazon.eu/help/5087](https://pay.amazon.eu/help/5087)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/amazon-payments-europe-s-c-a-2e07cfa756b0#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The CSSF authorises the firm as an electronic money institution. The Dutch central bank (DNB) register shows it providing cross-border services in the Netherlands since 19 February 2019.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF) Luxembourg | Electronic Money Institution (licence number 36/10 as published by the firm) | W00000001 | In its own name | Active | [pay.amazon.eu ↗](https://pay.amazon.eu/help/201751610) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/amazon-payments-europe-s-c-a-2e07cfa756b0#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Not disclosedThe merchant agreement states that e-money is not a deposit and is not covered by the Luxembourg deposit guarantee scheme, but it does not describe how customer funds are safeguarded. [pay.amazon.eu ↗](https://pay.amazon.eu/help/201212430)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** Visa Access not stated [pay.amazon.eu ↗](https://pay.amazon.eu/help/201212430) Mastercard Access not stated [pay.amazon.eu ↗](https://pay.amazon.eu/help/201212430)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/amazon-payments-europe-s-c-a-2e07cfa756b0#overview-sources)

-   Merchant acquiring
-   Payment gateway
-   E-money wallet
-   Domestic payments

It runs Amazon Pay checkout for online merchants and issues e-money to merchant accounts for the proceeds of sales. Shoppers pay using the payment details stored in their Amazon accounts.

It serves customers in EEA countries under its Luxembourg licence, and its user agreement names its German, French, Italian and Spanish sites.

- **Sells to:** Small businesses · Enterprises · Consumers
- **Serves customers in 8 countries:** Luxembourg · Germany · France · Italy · Spain · Austria · Finland · Netherlands

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/amazon-payments-europe-s-c-a-2e07cfa756b0#overview-sources)

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** W00000001
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** [2549008827G8VLY2AL33 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/2549008827G8VLY2AL33)
- **How the LEI was matched:** Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- **Elucidate firm ID:** 2e07cfa756b0

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- **Activities:** - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring - E-money / stored value
- **Licensed in:** [Luxembourg](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/lu) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2010-09-24

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

- **Direct parent:** Amazon Eu S.à r.l. · Luxembourg[549300CLGXJ3ZDL9PZ27 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/549300CLGXJ3ZDL9PZ27)
- **Ultimate parent:** Amazon.com, Inc. · United States[ZXTILKJKG63JELOEG630 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/ZXTILKJKG63JELOEG630)

The Amazon.com, Inc. group has 2 institutions in the directory, in 2 countries: none holds a BIC.

Including [Amazon Payments, Inc.](https://elucidate.co/directory/amazon-payments-inc-136c471db229).

[See the Amazon.com, Inc. group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/ZXTILKJKG63JELOEG630)

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** 38 Avenue J.F. Kennedy, Luxembourg, 1855
- **Country:** Luxembourg

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address, with its LEI
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>2549008827G8VLY2AL33</LEI>
  <Nm>Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>1855</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Luxembourg</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>LU</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>38 Avenue J.F. Kennedy</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Same group

-   [Amazon Payments, Inc. No BIC Money service business AML registration only United States · Registered with FinCEN (FINCEN-MSB) · LEI 254900BN53XQ4RL52779](https://elucidate.co/directory/amazon-payments-inc-136c471db229)

[All 2 institutions in the Amazon.com, Inc. group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/ZXTILKJKG63JELOEG630)

### Other payments & e-money institutions in Luxembourg

-   [bitFlyer EUROPE S.A. · trading as bitFlyer EUROPE No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Luxembourg · Licensed by Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector · Z00000016 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500D4465EFA89EF38](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitflyer-europe-s-a-b881566be0b9)
-   [Bitstamp Europe S.A. · trading as Bitstamp No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Luxembourg · Licensed by Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector · Z00000012 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 549300XIBGTJ0PLIEO72](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitstamp-europe-s-a-71371ac4c8c0)
-   [Bridge Building S.A. · trading as Bridge No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Luxembourg · Licensed by Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector · W00000024 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 254900MVWQXMF77YZP65](https://elucidate.co/directory/bridge-building-s-a-0b56e0c37f2b)
-   [Coinbase Luxembourg S.A. · trading as Coinbase No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Luxembourg · Licensed by Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector · W00000022 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500F14CA4571AAC11](https://elucidate.co/directory/coinbase-luxembourg-s-a-01c4e5bfcaa0)
-   [CPS Europe S.A. · trading as CPS No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Luxembourg · Licensed by Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector · W000000019 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500CFB88366E9B834](https://elucidate.co/directory/cps-europe-s-a-ee03d022fd8b)
-   [Ripple Payments Europe S.A. No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Luxembourg · Licensed by Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector · W00000021 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 2549000KEHDV2LWRRZ45](https://elucidate.co/directory/ripple-payments-europe-s-a-1d707a8aeba4)
-   [Standard Chartered Luxembourg S.A. · trading as Standard Chartered No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Luxembourg · Licensed by Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector · W00000023 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 213800HAR45C9K18O294](https://elucidate.co/directory/standard-chartered-luxembourg-s-a-d957b2042f07)
-   [Stokr S.A. · trading as STOKR No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Luxembourg · Licensed by Commission for the Supervision of Financial Sector · Z00000033 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500BA521C5EMR1D63](https://elucidate.co/directory/stokr-s-a-c68ac911f3dc)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=LU) [Other entries on EBA-PSD2 →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [source ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Ownership and group**—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
