---
title: "American Express Services Europe Limited SWIFT/BIC code AESUGB21XXX · United Kingdom | Elucidate"
description: "Licensed in the United Kingdom: Authorised Payment Institution (FCA). SWIFT/BIC code AESUGB21XXX for American Express Services Europe Limited, United Kingdom."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb)
3.  American Express Services Europe Limited

![American Express logo](https://elucidate.co/images/banks/02/028f643755987211.svg)

United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

# American Express Services Europe Limited

American Express Services Europe Limited (AESEL) is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with its registered office in London. The FCA authorises it as an authorised payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017, reference 661836. The FCA also authorises it for consumer credit and insurance mediation. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of American Express Company, held 90.75% through American Express Holdings Limited and the rest through American Express International Inc. It issues American Express charge and credit cards to consumers, small businesses and corporate clients in the UK. It also provides technology, operational and servicing support to other American Express group companies.

Register status

Licensed in the United Kingdom

Authorised Payment Institution · FCA

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21#licences)

BIC **AESUGB21XXX** LEI **[549300GH8KY3M2QD3W46](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/549300GH8KY3M2QD3W46)** [Licence no. **661836**](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21#licences) Passive participant (no connection) Head-office BIC only [Group: American Express Company](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/R4PP93JZOLY261QX3811) [Claim this profile](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21#claim)

## Licences and registrations

Held by American Express Services Europe Limited (LEI 549300GH8KY3M2QD3W46). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/fca-psd) FCA Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution | 661836 | [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb) | Active | 2018-06-14 | — | - Payment services | [Search the register ↗](https://register.fca.org.uk/s/) |

Trading names on the register: American Express (FCA-PSD)

-   Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
-   The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

- **BIC:** AESUGB21XXX head office
- **Connection to Swift:** Passive participant (no connection)
- **Swift GPI:** Not on the member list
- **Payment schemes and systems:** No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- **Branch codes:** None: head-office BIC only
- **Other BIC with this LEI:** [AESUDEF1](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-zweigniederlassung-frankfurt-am-main-aesudef1)
- **BIC first registered:** 2016-08-06
- **Last updated:** 2016-08-06

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21#overview-sources)

Customers

Not published

Employees

4,234

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · [annual report ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/uk/company/legal/aesel-2025-financial-statement.pdf)

Ownership

Group subsidiary

90.75% American Express Holdings Limited

Firm type

Other

Trades as American Express

- **Ownership:** American Express Holdings Limited owns 90.75% of the firm and American Express International Inc. owns the remaining 9.25%, both within the American Express Company group.
- **Direct parent:** [American Express Holdings Limited ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/549300PMUGNBUOS21511), United Kingdom 90.75%
- **Ultimate owner:** American Express Company, United States
- **Head office:** Belgrave House, 76 Buckingham Palace Road, SW1W 9AX London, United Kingdom
- **Company register:** Companies House 01833139
- **Incorporated:** 16 Jul 1984
- **Former names:** AMERICAN EXPRESS SERVICES LIMITED · CABLEHERON LIMITED

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [americanexpress.com ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/en-gb/)
- **Official social accounts:** [X ↗](https://x.com/AmexUK) · [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/AmericanExpressUK)
- **Apps:** [App Store ↗](https://m.amex/ZSB3Nh) · [Google Play ↗](https://m.amex/pX25fW)

Sources · 6 pages consulted

1.  [americanexpress.com/en-gb/company/about/information/](https://www.americanexpress.com/en-gb/company/about/information/)
2.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01833139](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01833139)
3.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01833139/officers](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01833139/officers)
4.  [americanexpress.com/uk/company/legal/governance-reporting/](https://www.americanexpress.com/uk/company/legal/governance-reporting/)
5.  [americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/uk/company/legal/aesel-2025-financial-statement.pdf](https://www.americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/uk/company/legal/aesel-2025-financial-statement.pdf)
6.  [americanexpress.com/uk/customer-service/digital/amex-mobile-app.html](https://www.americanexpress.com/uk/customer-service/digital/amex-mobile-app.html)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an authorised payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017, reference 661836. The FCA also authorises it for consumer credit and insurance mediation, and it uses the consumer credit permission to lend to UK cardmembers.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Payment Institution (Payment Services Regulations 2017) | 661836 | In its own name | Active | [americanexpress.com ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/en-gb/company/about/information/) |
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Consumer credit and insurance mediation permissions | 661836 | In its own name | Active | [americanexpress.com ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/uk/company/legal/aesel-2025-financial-statement.pdf) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Not disclosedThe firm states that it safeguards relevant funds daily under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 and that a third party reviews its safeguarding process each year, but it does not name the method. [americanexpress.com ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/uk/company/legal/aesel-2025-financial-statement.pdf)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** American Express network Access not stated [americanexpress.com ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/uk/company/legal/aesel-2025-financial-statement.pdf)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21#overview-sources)

-   Lending

It issues American Express charge and revolving credit cards with rewards programmes such as Membership Rewards to UK consumer, small-business and corporate clients, and offers instalment loans and lines of credit.

It issues cards in the UK and has branches in Germany and Italy that service group entities and employee obligations, and its EEA card issuing is carried out by subsidiaries.

- **Revenue:** GBP 2.53bnThis entity · 31 Dec 2025 · [annual report ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/uk/company/legal/aesel-2025-financial-statement.pdf)
- **Sells to:** Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
- **Serves customers in:** United Kingdom

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21#overview-sources)

- **Chair:** Hannah Louise Lewis Chairperson and UK Country Manager Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [americanexpress.com ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/uk/company/legal/aesel-2025-financial-statement.pdf)
- **Chief financial officer:** Julia Anne Huson Chief Financial Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [americanexpress.com ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/uk/company/legal/aesel-2025-financial-statement.pdf)
- **Executive:** Gurinderjit Kaur Gill Company Secretary Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01833139/officers)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21#overview-sources)

1.  Mar 2026

    Other

    The firm created a Board Risk Committee, supported by a Risk Management Committee that replaced its Operational Risk Committee.

    [americanexpress.com ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/uk/company/legal/aesel-2025-financial-statement.pdf)

2.  Jan 2026

    Leadership

    The firm appointed Julia Huson as director and Chief Financial Officer on 15 January 2026.

    [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01833139/officers)

3.  Dec 2025

    Leadership

    The firm appointed Caroline Bouvet as a director on 1 December 2025.

    [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01833139/officers)

4.  Nov 2025

    Leadership

    Chief Financial Officer David Bailey resigned as a director on 28 November 2025.

    [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01833139/officers)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

Head-office record

- **BIC:** AESUGB21XXX
- **How the BIC breaks down:** 1. AESU Bank 2. GB Country · United Kingdom 3. 21 Location · passive 4. XXX Branch · head office
- **Branch description:** Not recorded in the directory
- **LEI:** 549300GH8KY3M2QD3W46
- **LEI record:** [View on GLEIF ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/549300GH8KY3M2QD3W46)
- **Licence no. · FCA-PSD:** 661836
- **How the LEI was matched:** BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file. Register entry: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
- **Register-entry ID:** b49fb7d2800c

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Register licences:** [1 entry on 1 register](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-aesugb21#licences)
- **Activities:** - Payment services
- **Licensed in:** [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb)
- **Website (register):** [www.americanexpress.com ↗](https://www.americanexpress.com/)
- **Country · region:** United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- **Trading venues (MIC):** No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- **OFAC sanctions:** No listing cites this BIC
- **EU sanctions:** No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- **Country sanctions:** No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

- **Direct parent:** American Express Holdings Limited · United Kingdom[549300PMUGNBUOS21511 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/549300PMUGNBUOS21511)
- **Ultimate parent:** American Express Company · United States[R4PP93JZOLY261QX3811 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/R4PP93JZOLY261QX3811)

The American Express Company group has 9 institutions in the directory, in 6 countries: 7 hold a BIC and 2 do not.

Including [American Express Europe, S.A.](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-europe-s-a-e952ddbf13be), [American Express Payment Services Limited](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-payment-services-limited-acf836273e1f), [American Express Travel Related Services Company, Inc.](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-travel-related-services-company-inc-aetcus3a), [American Express Australia Limited](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-australia-limited-amxaau22), [American Express Bank LLC](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-bank-llc-aegbrumm).

[See the American Express Company group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/R4PP93JZOLY261QX3811)

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

## Addresses

- **Registered address:** BELGRAVE HOUSE 76 BUCKINGHAM PALACE ROAD LONDON SW1W 9AX UNITED KINGDOM
- **Operational address:** BELGRAVE HOUSE 76 BUCKINGHAM PALACE ROAD LONDON LONDON SW1W 9AX UNITED KINGDOM

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

- **Identified by:** BIC, with its LEI
- **Roles in CBPR+:** Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

### CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>AESUGB21XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>549300GH8KY3M2QD3W46</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
```

### Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>AESUGB21XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>549300GH8KY3M2QD3W46</LEI>
  <Nm>AMERICAN EXPRESS SERVICES EUROPE LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>BELGRAVE HOUSE 76 BUCKINGHAM PALACE ROAD LONDON SW1W 9AX</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Same legal entity

-   [American Express Services Europe Limited, Zweigniederlassung Frankfurt Am Main BIC AESUDEF1 Financial institution Not on a tracked register Germany · Not on a tracked register · LEI 549300GH8KY3M2QD3W46](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-services-europe-limited-zweigniederlassung-frankfurt-am-main-aesudef1)

Other BICs mapped to the same LEI.

### Subsidiaries in the directory

-   [American Express Europe, S.A. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Spain · Licensed by Bank of Spain · 6837 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 549300MZDW5XNH3F6F85](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-europe-s-a-e952ddbf13be)

Entities that GLEIF records with this LEI as their direct parent.

### Same group

-   [American Express Payment Services Limited · trading as American Express No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 484347 (FCA-PSD) · LEI 5493002EJ11E5XUNFT62](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-payment-services-limited-acf836273e1f)
-   [American Express Travel Related Services Company, Inc. BIC AETCUS3A Money service business AML registration only United States · Registered with FinCEN (FINCEN-MSB) · also on FINTRAC-MSB · LEI SV60HQBVB2DXO09D8H53](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-travel-related-services-company-inc-aetcus3a)
-   [American Express Australia Limited BIC AMXAAU22 Financial institution Not on a tracked register Australia · Not on a tracked register · LEI 549300EY0GEGN85IG135](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-australia-limited-amxaau22)
-   [American Express Bank LLC BIC AEGBRUMM Financial institution Not on a tracked register Country under broad sanctions · Russia · Not on a tracked register · LEI 549300WFYYJY4T93E871](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-bank-llc-aegbrumm)
-   [American Express Europe LLC BIC AEECUS31 Financial institution Not on a tracked register United States · Not on a tracked register · LEI 5493000PZ159BW18FR76](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-europe-llc-aeecus31)
-   [American Express International Inc (Australia Branch) BIC AEIAAU21 Financial institution Not on a tracked register Australia · Not on a tracked register · LEI 529900JUEZO6DICGJN97](https://elucidate.co/directory/american-express-international-inc-australia-branch-aeiaau21)

[All 9 institutions in the American Express Company group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/R4PP93JZOLY261QX3811)

### Other payments & e-money institutions in the United Kingdom

-   [Stonex Financial LTD BIC IGLUGB2L Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 446717 (FCA-PSD) · also on FINTRAC-MSB · LEI 549300AWF3TOHRYL7754](https://elucidate.co/directory/stonex-financial-ltd-iglugb2l)
-   [Dex International Limited · trading as DEXREMIT No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 503929 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR, FINTRAC-MSB · LEI 9845003995D06S994R04](https://elucidate.co/directory/dex-international-limited-ff2b0c01c725)
-   [Euronet Payment Services Ltd · trading as Ria Money Transfer, Ria No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 504630 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/euronet-payment-services-ltd-6f4dec33a392)
-   [Instinet Europe Limited BIC ISNTGB2L Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 140822 (FCA-PSD) · LEI 213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44](https://elucidate.co/directory/instinet-europe-limited-isntgb2l)
-   [Isx Financial UK LTD BIC ISFIGB22 Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 901034 (FCA-EMI) · LEI 2138007BDV9IRS8AYD07](https://elucidate.co/directory/isx-financial-uk-ltd-isfigb22)
-   [Western Union Payment Services GB Limited · trading as Manning House, WU No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 816890 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/western-union-payment-services-gb-limited-0741de977896)
-   [A to Z 4U Ltd · trading as SAAK REMIT, Saakpay No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 570837 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/a-to-z-4u-ltd-25c2ca0fa3b5)
-   [Allied Wallet Limited No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 900124 (FCA-EMI) · also on FCA-PSD · LEI 213800HO66BDXP716G24](https://elucidate.co/directory/allied-wallet-limited-8983cc2e32eb)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=GB)

Claim this profile

## Work at American Express Services Europe Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

1.  01 **Submit** Tell us who you are, using your work email.
2.  02 **We verify** We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
3.  03 **Profile claimed** The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Credits for this page

-   **FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs**—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · [register ↗](https://register.fca.org.uk/s/) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Ownership and group**—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
-   **Images**—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: [americanexpress.com](https://www.americanexpress.com/en-gb/) (official website) · [original](https://www.aexp-static.com/cdaas/one/statics/axp-static-assets/1.8.0/package/dist/img/logos/dls-logo-bluebox-solid.svg).

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
