---
title: "Bitvavo B.V. · Crypto-asset service provider (AFM) · Netherlands | Elucidate"
description: "Bitvavo B.V. is authorised by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) as a crypto-asset service provider in the Netherlands. Licence 724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56. LEI 724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/bitvavo-b-v-e7bc3b441bea
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl)
3.  Bitvavo B.V.

Netherlands · Crypto

# Bitvavo B.V.

Bitvavo B.V. is a Dutch private limited company based in Amsterdam and a subsidiary of Bitvavo Group B.V. The Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) authorises it under MiCA as a crypto-asset service provider for custody, trading platform and transfer services. Since 30 June 2026, De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) has also authorised it as a payment institution, limited to services involving e-money tokens. It runs the Bitvavo crypto-asset exchange for retail and institutional clients in the EEA.

Register status

Licensed in the Netherlands

Crypto-asset service provider · Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM)

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitvavo-b-v-e7bc3b441bea#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **[724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56)** [Licence no. **724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56**](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitvavo-b-v-e7bc3b441bea#licences)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Bitvavo B.V. (LEI 724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providers](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/esma-casp) Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) | Crypto-asset service providerCrypto-Asset Service Provider | 724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56 | [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl) | Active | 2025-06-26 | — | - Crypto-assets | [Search the register ↗](https://www.esma.europa.eu/esmas-activities/digital-finance-and-innovation/markets-crypto-assets-regulation-mica) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitvavo-b-v-e7bc3b441bea#overview-sources)

Customers

2,000,000

active customers · This entity · 29 Sep 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://bitvavo.com/nl)

Employees

500

headcount · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://bitvavo.com/nl/about)

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Bitvavo Group B.V.

Firm type

Crypto exchange or broker

Trades as Bitvavo

- **Ownership:** Bitvavo Group B.V. is the direct parent of the firm and, according to its LEI record, also its ultimate parent.
- **Direct parent:** [Bitvavo Group B.V. ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/724500H5G42H1IFIXE50), Netherlands
- **Head office:** Keizersgracht 281, 1016 ED Amsterdam, Netherlands
- **Company register:** KvK 68743424
- **Founders:** Mark Nuvelstijn · Tim Baardse · Jelle de Boer

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [bitvavo.com ↗](https://bitvavo.com/) [support.bitvavo.com ↗](https://support.bitvavo.com/hc/en-us) help centre [docs.bitvavo.com ↗](https://docs.bitvavo.com/) API documentation [status.bitvavo.com ↗](https://status.bitvavo.com/) status page [bitvavo.be ↗](https://bitvavo.be/) country site for Belgium, linked from the countries page [bitvavo.es ↗](https://bitvavo.es/) country site for Spain, linked from the countries page [Wikipedia ↗](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bitvavo)
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/bitvavocom) · [X ↗](https://x.com/bitvavocom) · [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/Bitvavo/) · [Instagram ↗](https://www.instagram.com/bitvavo/)

Sources · 18 pages consulted

1.  [dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTBI&relationNumber=R163129](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTBI&relationNumber=R163129)
2.  [bitvavo.com/nl](https://bitvavo.com/nl)
3.  [bitvavo.com/en/imprint](https://bitvavo.com/en/imprint)
4.  [bitvavo.com/nl/terms](https://bitvavo.com/nl/terms)
5.  [bitvavo.com/en/risk-disclosure](https://bitvavo.com/en/risk-disclosure)
6.  [bitvavo.com/nl/about](https://bitvavo.com/nl/about)
7.  [bitvavo.com/en/countries](https://bitvavo.com/en/countries)
8.  [bitvavo.com/en/proof-of-reserves](https://bitvavo.com/en/proof-of-reserves)
9.  [bitvavo.com/en/news](https://bitvavo.com/en/news)
10.  [bitvavo.com/en/news/bitvavo-restructures](https://bitvavo.com/en/news/bitvavo-restructures)
11.  [bitvavo.com/en/news/bitvavo-obtains-mica-licence](https://bitvavo.com/en/news/bitvavo-obtains-mica-licence)
12.  [bitvavo.com/en/news/mark-nuvelstijn-steps-down-as-ceo](https://bitvavo.com/en/news/mark-nuvelstijn-steps-down-as-ceo)
13.  [amf-france.org/en/warnings/white-lists/casp/bitvavo-bv](https://www.amf-france.org/en/warnings/white-lists/casp/bitvavo-bv)
14.  [support.bitvavo.com/hc/en-us/articles/4405243980945-What-does-Bitvavo-s-MiCAR-license-from-the-AFM-mean-for-m](https://support.bitvavo.com/hc/en-us/articles/4405243980945-What-does-Bitvavo-s-MiCAR-license-from-the-AFM-mean-for-me)
15.  [fd.nl/financiele-markten/1583621/bitvavo-wil-britse-voormalig-deliveroo-directeur-aanstellen-al](https://fd.nl/financiele-markten/1583621/bitvavo-wil-britse-voormalig-deliveroo-directeur-aanstellen-als-topman)
16.  [newsbit.nl/crypto-beurs-bitvavo-wil-deliveroo-directeur-als-nieuwe-ceo/](https://newsbit.nl/crypto-beurs-bitvavo-wil-deliveroo-directeur-als-nieuwe-ceo/)
17.  [bnr.nl/nieuws/tech-innovatie/10609517/bitvavo-reorganiseert-tientallen-medewerkers-op-straat](https://www.bnr.nl/nieuws/tech-innovatie/10609517/bitvavo-reorganiseert-tientallen-medewerkers-op-straat)
18.  [en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bitvavo](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bitvavo)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitvavo-b-v-e7bc3b441bea#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The AFM authorises the firm under MiCA as a crypto-asset service provider for custody, operation of a trading platform and transfer of crypto-assets. DNB has authorised it as a payment institution since 30 June 2026 for payment services 3, 5 and 6, limited to e-money tokens. DNB's register shows this authorisation passported to the other EEA states. The French AMF lists the firm as providing crypto-asset services in France under the free provision of services.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) Netherlands | Crypto-asset service provider under Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 (MiCA): custody and administration, operation of a trading platform, transfer services | 41000010 | In its own name | Active | [bitvavo.com ↗](https://bitvavo.com/en/risk-disclosure) |
| De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands | Payment institution (Betaalinstelling), authorisation under Wft 2:3a, limited to payment services 3, 5 and 6 relating to e-money tokens | R163129 | In its own name | Active | [dnb.nl ↗](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTBI&relationNumber=R163129) |
| De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands | Service provider excluded from scope of PSD2 (Wft 1:5a(2) k and l), limited-network payment instrument | R163129 | Exemption | Active | [dnb.nl ↗](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTBI&relationNumber=R163129) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitvavo-b-v-e7bc3b441bea#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that a separate Dutch foundation (stichting) holds customers' euro funds and crypto-assets apart from its own assets, with euro funds held in designated accounts at a credit institution. [bitvavo.com ↗](https://bitvavo.com/nl/terms)
- **Crypto-asset custody:** Held by the firmCustomers' crypto-assets sit in omnibus wallets held by a separate foundation. According to the firm, some of these assets may be kept in cold storage with third-party custodians. The firm publishes a proof-of-reserves attestation by The Network Firm LLP. [bitvavo.com ↗](https://bitvavo.com/nl/terms) · [Proof of reserves ↗](https://bitvavo.com/en/proof-of-reserves)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated [bitvavo.com ↗](https://bitvavo.com/en/countries) iDEAL | Wero Access not stated [bitvavo.com ↗](https://bitvavo.com/en/countries)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitvavo-b-v-e7bc3b441bea#overview-sources)

-   Crypto trading
-   Crypto custody
-   Crypto on- and off-ramp
-   E-money wallet

It runs a crypto-asset exchange with euro trading pairs, custody and transfers, and says it lists more than 400 crypto-assets. It also offers staking, lending through its sister company Bitvavo Custody B.V. and margin trading, and it states these services fall outside MiCA.

It lists 25 EEA countries on its countries page and serves them under its Dutch MiCA authorisation.

- **Sells to:** Consumers · Enterprises
- **Serves customers in 25 countries:** Netherlands · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Hungary · Ireland · Italy · Latvia · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitvavo-b-v-e7bc3b441bea#overview-sources)

1.  Sep 2026

    Other

    Bitvavo announced a reorganisation involving staff reductions. BNR reported that 94 jobs were affected.

    [bitvavo.com ↗](https://bitvavo.com/en/news/bitvavo-restructures)

2.  Jun 2026

    Licence

    DNB authorised the firm as a payment institution from 30 June 2026, limited to payment services relating to e-money tokens.

    [dnb.nl ↗](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTBI&relationNumber=R163129)

3.  Jan 2026

    Leadership

    Het Financieele Dagblad reported that Akshay Navle was the proposed chief executive, subject to AFM screening, and that the interim chief executive would leave.

    [fd.nl ↗](https://fd.nl/financiele-markten/1583621/bitvavo-wil-britse-voormalig-deliveroo-directeur-aanstellen-als-topman)

4.  Jul 2025

    Leadership

    Co-founder Mark Nuvelstijn stepped down as CEO on 4 July 2025 after press allegations. CFO Johan van Olffen became interim CEO.

    [bitvavo.com ↗](https://bitvavo.com/en/news/mark-nuvelstijn-steps-down-as-ceo)

5.  Jun 2025

    Licence

    The AFM authorised the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA.

    [bitvavo.com ↗](https://bitvavo.com/en/news/bitvavo-obtains-mica-licence)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · ESMA-CASP:** 724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** [724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56)
- **How the LEI was matched:** Published by the register
- **Market identifier code:** [VAVO](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitvavo-b-v-e7bc3b441bea#markets)
- **Elucidate firm ID:** e7bc3b441bea

## Profile

- **Type:** Crypto
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** Crypto-Asset Service Provider
- **Activities:** - Crypto-assets
- **Licensed in:** [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2025-06-26
- **Website:** [bitvavo.com/nl ↗](https://bitvavo.com/nl)

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

- **Direct parent:** Bitvavo Group B.V. · Netherlands[724500H5G42H1IFIXE50 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/724500H5G42H1IFIXE50)

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** Keizersgracht 28 - 1016ED Amsterdam - The Netherlands
- **Country:** Netherlands

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address, with its LEI
- **Postal address:** Incomplete: no town published
-   The register publishes no town as a separate field. A CBPR+ postal address needs at least a town name (TwnNm) and a country (Ctry).

The LEI record in GLEIF holds a structured legal address.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Market identifiers

One trading venue or reporting service run under this LEI

| MIC | Market | Kind | Category |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| VAVO | BITVAVO | Operating MIC | Crypto-asset service provider |

## Related institutions

### Other crypto institutions in the Netherlands

-   [Fiat Republic Netherlands B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R190553 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500GVWT7QULV8CR59](https://elucidate.co/directory/fiat-republic-netherlands-b-v-c74c69f778a8)
-   [Zebedee Europe B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R194916 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500B2I1LR33CAWG54](https://elucidate.co/directory/zebedee-europe-b-v-1d21b8061ba1)
-   [zerohash europe B.V. · trading as zerohash europe No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R193684 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500G7QSOMFR1GQA47](https://elucidate.co/directory/zerohash-europe-b-v-57fb2eb4b2a3)
-   [Acheron Europe B.V. · trading as Acheron | Acheron Trading No BIC Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) · 699400TPXCI7R4A0NG65 (ESMA-CASP) · LEI 699400TPXCI7R4A0NG65](https://elucidate.co/directory/acheron-europe-b-v-ea05d39ca122)
-   [Amdax B.V. · trading as Amdax B.V.|Amdax Group|Novelist No BIC Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) · 724500T7PFN30PF3ZQ87 (ESMA-CASP) · LEI 724500T7PFN30PF3ZQ87](https://elucidate.co/directory/amdax-b-v-29109a4a7e57)
-   [AvianLabs Netherlands B.V. No BIC Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) · 894500KQLQQYOD1PPX55 (ESMA-CASP) · LEI 894500KQLQQYOD1PPX55](https://elucidate.co/directory/avianlabs-netherlands-b-v-f45a52439216)
-   [Bitmymoney B.V. No BIC Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) · 724500H1WRSMD7CAS549 (ESMA-CASP) · LEI 724500H1WRSMD7CAS549](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitmymoney-b-v-81f061663132)
-   [Bitonic B.V. No BIC Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) · 7245001BEJ6U6AUU1S58 (ESMA-CASP) · LEI 7245001BEJ6U6AUU1S58](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitonic-b-v-5df11cb30d6b)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=crypto&cc=NL) [Other entries on ESMA-CASP →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/esma-casp)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providers**—European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) · [source ↗](https://www.esma.europa.eu/esmas-activities/digital-finance-and-innovation/markets-crypto-assets-regulation-mica) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Ownership and group**—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
