---
title: "Bureau Buttercrane LTD SWIFT/BIC code BUEEGB22XXX · United Kingdom | Elucidate"
description: "Licensed in the United Kingdom: Authorised Payment Institution (FCA). SWIFT/BIC code BUEEGB22XXX for Bureau Buttercrane LTD, United Kingdom. Head-office BIC."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb)
3.  Bureau Buttercrane LTD

![TransferLab logo](https://elucidate.co/images/banks/04/043134c5841619e1.webp)

United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

# Bureau Buttercrane LTD

Bureau Buttercrane Ltd is a private limited company incorporated in Northern Ireland and based in Newry. The FCA authorises it as a payment institution (reference 747167), and HMRC registers it as a money service business. Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd has held 75% or more of its shares since October 2024. It trades as TransferLab for online international money transfers and as CurrencyLab for its bureau de change in the Buttercrane Shopping Centre.

Register status

Licensed in the United Kingdom

Authorised Payment Institution · FCA

Prudential licence

[2 licences and registrations ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22#licences)

BIC **BUEEGB22XXX** LEI **[8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10)** [Licence no. **747167**](https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22#licences) Reverse billing Head-office BIC only [Claim this profile](https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22#claim)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Bureau Buttercrane LTD (LEI 8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/fca-psd) FCA Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution | 747167 | [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb) | Active | 2018-04-20 | — | - Payment services | [Search the register ↗](https://register.fca.org.uk/s/) |
| [HMRC MLR Supervised Business Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/hmrc-mlr) HMRC Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Money Service BusinessMoney Transmitter / Remittance | XQML00000111555 | [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb) | Active | 2016-09-28 | — | - Money remittance - Currency exchange | [Search the register ↗](https://www.gov.uk/guidance/money-laundering-regulations-supervised-business-register) |

Trading names on the register: TransferLab (FCA-PSD, HMRC-MLR), The Bureau (FCA-PSD, HMRC-MLR)

-   Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
-   The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

- **BIC:** BUEEGB22XXX head office
- **Connection to Swift:** Reverse billing
- **Swift GPI:** Not on the member list
- **Payment schemes and systems:** No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- **Branch codes:** None: head-office BIC only
- **BIC first registered:** 2019-05-04
- **Last updated:** 2021-03-18

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22#overview-sources)

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Privately held

Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd

Firm type

Money remittance

Trades as TransferLab

- **Standing:** Since 2021 the firm has traded as CurrencyLab (bureau de change) and TransferLab (online transfers). In January 2025 LemFi acquired a separate Irish company, Bureau Buttercrane Limited (Central Bank of Ireland reference C182347). That company is not this entity.
- **Ownership:** Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd, a Northern Ireland company (NI722267), has held 75% or more of the shares and voting rights since 14 October 2024, replacing John and Marie Gildea as persons with significant control.
- **Direct parent:** Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd, United Kingdom
- **Head office:** Unit 20, Buttercrane Shopping Centre, Buttercrane Quay, BT35 8HJ Newry, United Kingdom
- **Company register:** Companies House NI603454
- **Incorporated:** 14 Jun 2010

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [transferlab.io ↗](https://transferlab.io/) [currencylab.io ↗](https://currencylab.io/) bureau de change site (CurrencyLab brand) [bureaubuttercrane.com ↗](https://www.bureaubuttercrane.com/) former domain, now points visitors to CurrencyLab and TransferLab
- **Official social accounts:** [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/bureaubuttercrane/)

Sources · 13 pages consulted

1.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454)
2.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/persons-with-significant-control](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/persons-with-significant-control)
3.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/officers](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/officers)
4.  [transferlab.io](https://transferlab.io/)
5.  [transferlab.io/terms-and-conditions](https://transferlab.io/terms-and-conditions)
6.  [transferlab.io/regulatory](https://www.transferlab.io/regulatory)
7.  [currencylab.io/](https://currencylab.io/)
8.  [bureaubuttercrane.com/](https://www.bureaubuttercrane.com/)
9.  [bureaubuttercrane.com/regulatory](https://www.bureaubuttercrane.com/regulatory)
10.  [bureaubuttercrane.com/about](https://www.bureaubuttercrane.com/about)
11.  [transferlab.io/transferlab-ireland-transfer-terms](https://www.transferlab.io/transferlab-ireland-transfer-terms)
12.  [kenyanwallstreet.com/central-bank-of-ireland-approves-lemfi-acquisition-of-irish-fintech-bureau-buttercrane](https://kenyanwallstreet.com/central-bank-of-ireland-approves-lemfi-acquisition-of-irish-fintech-bureau-buttercrane)
13.  [newrychamber.com/member/currencylab/](https://newrychamber.com/member/currencylab/)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 (reference 747167). HMRC registers it as a money service business.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Payment Institution | 747167 | In its own name | Active | [register.fca.org.uk ↗](https://register.fca.org.uk/s/firm?id=001b000003MyA4SAAV) |
| HM Revenue & Customs United Kingdom | Money Service Business (Money Transmitter / Remittance) | XQML00000111555 | In its own name | Active | [transferlab.io ↗](https://transferlab.io/terms-and-conditions) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that funds received for payment transactions are held apart from its own money in designated safeguarding accounts with an authorised credit institution by the end of the next business day, and that funds for currency exchange delivered directly to the customer are not safeguarded. [transferlab.io ↗](https://transferlab.io/terms-and-conditions)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** Faster Payments Access not stated [transferlab.io ↗](https://transferlab.io/) SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated [transferlab.io ↗](https://transferlab.io/)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22#overview-sources)

-   International money transfer
-   Bureau de change
-   FX conversion

TransferLab sends GBP and EUR from UK senders to bank accounts in more than 20 European countries. CurrencyLab exchanges over 50 currencies at the Newry branch.

It serves UK-based senders under its FCA authorisation, and its Newry branch serves customers from Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.

- **Sells to:** Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
- **Serves customers in:** United Kingdom

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** John Gildea Director (described as CEO in a Newry Chamber announcement) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/officers)
- **Executive:** Colum Gildea Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/officers)
- **Executive:** Marie Gildea Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/officers)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22#overview-sources)

1.  Oct 2024

    Other

    Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd became the firm's sole person with significant control, holding 75% or more of shares and votes.

    [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/persons-with-significant-control)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

Head-office record

- **BIC:** BUEEGB22XXX
- **How the BIC breaks down:** 1. BUEE Bank 2. GB Country · United Kingdom 3. 22 Location · reverse billing 4. XXX Branch · head office
- **Branch description:** Not recorded in the directory
- **LEI:** 8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10
- **LEI record:** [View on GLEIF ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10)
- **Licence no. · FCA-PSD:** 747167
- **Licence no. · HMRC-MLR:** XQML00000111555
- **How the LEI was matched:** BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file. Register entries: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
- **Register-entry ID:** 8d4b7a193094
- **Companies House no.:** [NI603454 ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454)

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money · Money service business
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Register licences:** [2 entries on 2 registers](https://elucidate.co/directory/bureau-buttercrane-ltd-bueegb22#licences)
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Money remittance - Currency exchange
- **Licensed in:** [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb)
- **Website (register):** [www.transferlab.io ↗](https://www.transferlab.io/)
- **Country · region:** United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- **Trading venues (MIC):** No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- **OFAC sanctions:** No listing cites this BIC
- **EU sanctions:** No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- **Country sanctions:** No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

## Persons with significant control

Companies House · company [NI603454 ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454) · as at 9 October 2026

Companies House lists 1 person with significant control for Bureau Buttercrane Ltd: 1 company.

| Name | Type | Nature of control | Notified |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI722267) | Company · UK | 75–100% of shares · 75–100% of votes · Can appoint or remove directors | 14 October 2024 |
| Colum Gildea | Individual · through Cjg Holdings Ni Ltd | 75–100% of shares · 75–100% of votes · Can appoint or remove directors | 9 October 2024 |

Companies report persons with significant control to Companies House. Elucidate has not verified them.

A person with significant control holds more than 25% of the shares or votes, can appoint or remove the board, or has significant influence or control. Dates of birth and addresses are not shown.

Matched on the Companies House number that the FCA register gives for this firm.

[See the register at Companies House ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/NI603454/persons-with-significant-control)

## Addresses

- **Registered address:** BUTTERCRANE CENTRE UNIT 20 BUTTERCRANE QUAY NEWRY BT35 8HJ UNITED KINGDOM
- **Operational address:** BUTTERCRANE CENTRE UNIT 20 BUTTERCRANE QUAY NEWRY NEWRY BT35 8HJ UNITED KINGDOM

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

- **Identified by:** BIC, with its LEI
- **Roles in CBPR+:** Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

### CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>BUEEGB22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
```

### Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>BUEEGB22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>8945003MF1R1NYYNPR10</LEI>
  <Nm>BUREAU BUTTERCRANE LTD</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>NEWRY</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>BUTTERCRANE CENTRE UNIT 20 BUTTERCRANE QUAY NEWRY BT35 8HJ</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in the United Kingdom

-   [Stonex Financial LTD BIC IGLUGB2L Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 446717 (FCA-PSD) · also on FINTRAC-MSB · LEI 549300AWF3TOHRYL7754](https://elucidate.co/directory/stonex-financial-ltd-iglugb2l)
-   [Dex International Limited · trading as DEXREMIT No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 503929 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR, FINTRAC-MSB · LEI 9845003995D06S994R04](https://elucidate.co/directory/dex-international-limited-ff2b0c01c725)
-   [Euronet Payment Services Ltd · trading as Ria Money Transfer, Ria No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 504630 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/euronet-payment-services-ltd-6f4dec33a392)
-   [Instinet Europe Limited BIC ISNTGB2L Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 140822 (FCA-PSD) · LEI 213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44](https://elucidate.co/directory/instinet-europe-limited-isntgb2l)
-   [Isx Financial UK LTD BIC ISFIGB22 Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 901034 (FCA-EMI) · LEI 2138007BDV9IRS8AYD07](https://elucidate.co/directory/isx-financial-uk-ltd-isfigb22)
-   [Western Union Payment Services GB Limited · trading as Manning House, WU No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 816890 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/western-union-payment-services-gb-limited-0741de977896)
-   [A to Z 4U Ltd · trading as SAAK REMIT, Saakpay No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 570837 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/a-to-z-4u-ltd-25c2ca0fa3b5)
-   [Allied Wallet Limited No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 900124 (FCA-EMI) · also on FCA-PSD · LEI 213800HO66BDXP716G24](https://elucidate.co/directory/allied-wallet-limited-8983cc2e32eb)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=GB)

Claim this profile

## Work at Bureau Buttercrane LTD?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

1.  01 **Submit** Tell us who you are, using your work email.
2.  02 **We verify** We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
3.  03 **Profile claimed** The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Credits for this page

-   **FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs**—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · [register ↗](https://register.fca.org.uk/s/) as at 25 September 2026
-   **HMRC MLR Supervised Business Register**—HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) · [register ↗](https://www.gov.uk/guidance/money-laundering-regulations-supervised-business-register) as at 24 September 2026
-   **Persons with significant control**—Companies House · [source ↗](https://download.companieshouse.gov.uk/en_pscdata.html) as at 9 October 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
-   **Images**—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: [transferlab.io](https://transferlab.io/) (official website) · [original](https://transferlab.io/images/logo-vertical.png).

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
