---
title: "Epbf SWIFT/BIC code EPBFBEBBXXX · Belgium | Elucidate"
description: "Licensed in Belgium: Payment institution (National Bank of Belgium). SWIFT/BIC code EPBFBEBBXXX for Epbf, Belgium. Head-office BIC, LEI 6994001OJHXTSUW2X478."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Belgium](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/be)
3.  Epbf

Belgium · Payments & e-money

# Epbf

EPBF is a Belgian société anonyme with its office in Watermael-Boitsfort, Brussels. The National Bank of Belgium authorises it as a payment institution. BRED Banque Populaire created the firm in 2011 and owns 100% of it. BRED belongs to Groupe BPCE. EPBF processes SEPA Credit Transfers and SEPA Direct Debits for corporate and institutional clients, and offers cash management, cash pooling, bank connectivity and e-signature services.

Register status

Licensed in Belgium

Payment institution · National Bank of Belgium

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#licences)

BIC **EPBFBEBBXXX** LEI **[6994001OJHXTSUW2X478](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/6994001OJHXTSUW2X478)** [Licence no. **0837808497**](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#licences) Connected to Swift [In a G-SIB group · Groupe BPCE](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#group) Head-office BIC only [Group: Bpce](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/9695005MSX1OYEMGDF46) [Claim this profile](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#claim)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Epbf (LEI 6994001OJHXTSUW2X478). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) National Bank of Belgium Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 0837808497 | [Belgium](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/be) | Active | 2011-06-27 | — | - Payment services - Card acquiring | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
-   The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

## Regulatory status

### FSB · global systemically important banks

2025 list

- **G-SIB:** Groupe BPCE
- **Relation:** In a G-SIB groupGLEIF records a G-SIB entity as this legal entity’s ultimate parent. The bucket applies to the group, and membership does not make this entity a bank.
- **Bucket:** 1 of 5 · extra capital buffer 1.0% of risk-weighted assets
- **On the list since:** 2018

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

- **BIC:** EPBFBEBBXXX head office
- **Connection to Swift:** Connected to Swift
- **Swift GPI:** Not on the member list
- **Payment schemes and systems:** [SCT · SCT Inst · SDD Core · SDD B2B · VOP · TIPS](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#schemes)
- **Branch codes:** None: head-office BIC only
- **BIC first registered:** 2011-09-10
- **Last updated:** 2022-02-14

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#overview-sources)

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% BRED Banque Populaire

Firm type

Payment infrastructure

- **Ownership:** BRED Banque Populaire, a member of Groupe BPCE, owns 100% of the firm.
- **Direct parent:** [BRED Banque Populaire](https://elucidate.co/directory/bred-banque-populaire-bredfrpp), France 100%
- **Ultimate owner:** BPCE, France
- **Head office:** Chaussée de la Hulpe 181 B11, 1170 Watermael-Boitsfort, Belgium
- **Company register:** Crossroads Bank for Enterprises (KBO/BCE) 0837.808.497
- **Incorporated:** 2011

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [epbf.be ↗](https://www.epbf.be/)
- **Official social accounts:** None found

Sources · 7 pages consulted

1.  [epbf.be/](https://www.epbf.be/)
2.  [epbf.be/about-epbf](https://www.epbf.be/about-epbf)
3.  [epbf.be/sepa](https://www.epbf.be/sepa)
4.  [epbf.be/fr/propos-depbf](https://www.epbf.be/fr/propos-depbf)
5.  [epbf.be/ebpf-now-available-also-isabel](https://www.epbf.be/ebpf-now-available-also-isabel)
6.  [bredbanquedu21emesiecle.com/2017/03/30/la-bred-etend-ses-activites-de-paiement-en-belgique/](https://bredbanquedu21emesiecle.com/2017/03/30/la-bred-etend-ses-activites-de-paiement-en-belgique/)
7.  [njr.be/](https://www.njr.be/)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The National Bank of Belgium authorises the firm as a payment institution. The EBA PSD2 register lists it under number 0837808497 since 27 June 2011, for payment services and card acquiring.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| National Bank of Belgium Belgium | Payment institution | 0837808497 | In its own name | Active | [epbf.be ↗](https://www.epbf.be/about-epbf) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#overview-sources)

- **Payment schemes and card networks:** SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated [epbf.be ↗](https://www.epbf.be/sepa) SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated [epbf.be ↗](https://www.epbf.be/sepa) Swift Direct

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#overview-sources)

-   Domestic payments

According to the firm, it processes SEPA Credit Transfers and SEPA Direct Debits for corporate and institutional clients in sectors such as energy, telecoms and retail. It also offers reporting, cash pooling, bank connectivity (Isabel, Swift and EBICS) and e-signature.

The firm operates from Brussels and describes its clients as European corporate and institutional clients. It says its main market is SEPA Direct Debit processing in Belgium.

- **Payment volume:** EUR 17bnSEPA transactions processed (137 million transactions) This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · [company statement ↗](https://www.epbf.be/about-epbf)
- **Sells to:** Enterprises · Financial institutions
- **Serves customers in:** Belgium

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#overview-sources)

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

Head-office record

- **BIC:** EPBFBEBBXXX
- **How the BIC breaks down:** 1. EPBF Bank 2. BE Country · Belgium 3. BB Location 4. XXX Branch · head office
- **Branch description:** Not recorded in the directory
- **LEI:** 6994001OJHXTSUW2X478
- **LEI record:** [View on GLEIF ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/6994001OJHXTSUW2X478)
- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** 0837808497
- **How the LEI was matched:** BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file. Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- **Register-entry ID:** 68464c4fa150
- **National bank code:** [Bank identification code 913](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#bank-codes)

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Register licences:** [1 entry on 1 register](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#licences)
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Card acquiring
- **Licensed in:** [Belgium](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/be)
- **Country · region:** Belgium · Europe & Central Asia
- **FSB G-SIB list:** [In a G-SIB group · Groupe BPCE](https://elucidate.co/directory/epbf-epbfbebb#regulatory) list of 2025
- **Banking supervision:** Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- **Trading venues (MIC):** No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- **OFAC sanctions:** No listing cites this BIC
- **EU sanctions:** No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- **Country sanctions:** No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

- **Direct parent:** [Bred Banque Populaire](https://elucidate.co/directory/bred-banque-populaire-bredfrpp) · France[NICH5Q04ADUV9SN3Q390 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/NICH5Q04ADUV9SN3Q390)
- **Ultimate parent:** [Bpce](https://elucidate.co/directory/bpce-sa-bpcefrpp) · France[9695005MSX1OYEMGDF46 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/9695005MSX1OYEMGDF46)
- **FSB G-SIB list:** [In a G-SIB group · Groupe BPCE](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/9695005MSX1OYEMGDF46) bucket 1 · 2025 list GLEIF records a G-SIB entity as this legal entity’s ultimate parent. The bucket applies to the group, and membership does not make this entity a bank.

The Bpce group has 100 institutions in the directory, in 28 countries: 98 hold a BIC and 2 do not.

Including [Natixis SA](https://elucidate.co/directory/natixis-sa-natxfrpp), [Bred Banque Populaire](https://elucidate.co/directory/bred-banque-populaire-bredfrpp), [Bpce SA](https://elucidate.co/directory/bpce-sa-bpcefrpp), [Credit Foncier de France](https://elucidate.co/directory/credit-foncier-de-france-cffrfrpp), [Natixis Corporate and Investment Banking Luxembourg](https://elucidate.co/directory/natixis-corporate-and-investment-banking-luxembourg-natxlull).

[See the Bpce group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/9695005MSX1OYEMGDF46)

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

## Addresses

- **Registered address:** CHAUSSEE DE LA HULPE 181 WATERMAEL BOITSFORT 1170 BELGIUM
- **Operational address:** CHAUSSEE DE LA HULPE 181 WATERMAEL BOITSFORT 1170 WATERMAEL BOITSFORT BELGIUM

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

- **Identified by:** BIC, with its LEI
- **Roles in CBPR+:** Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

### CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>EPBFBEBBXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>6994001OJHXTSUW2X478</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
```

### Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>EPBFBEBBXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>6994001OJHXTSUW2X478</LEI>
  <Nm>EPBF</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>WATERMAEL BOITSFORT</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>BE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>CHAUSSEE DE LA HULPE 181 WATERMAEL BOITSFORT 1170</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

## Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2011-11-07 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2018-10-08 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages | 2011-11-07 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Direct Debit Business-to-BusinessISO 20022 messages | 2026-03-16 | Head office | — |
| Verification of Payee | 2025-08-22 | Head office | — |
| TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages | — | Head office | — |

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

## National bank codes

### Bank identification code · Belgium

1 code file of 2026-09-01

| Code | Routes to BIC | Name in the national file |
| --- | --- | --- |
| 913 | EPBFBEBB | EPBF |

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

## Related institutions

### Same group

-   [Bank Nagelmackers NV BIC BNAGBEBB Credit institution Prudential licence Belgium · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI 549300F0CVELHBU9A156](https://elucidate.co/directory/bank-nagelmackers-nv-bnagbebb)
-   [Caisse D'epargne et de Prevoyance Hauts de France BIC CEPABEB2 Financial institution Not on a tracked register Belgium · Not on a tracked register · LEI 699400O9NSUWZ0L99758](https://elucidate.co/directory/caisse-d-epargne-et-de-prevoyance-hauts-de-france-cepabeb2)
-   [Natixis SA BIC NATXFRPP Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI KX1WK48MPD4Y2NCUIZ63](https://elucidate.co/directory/natixis-sa-natxfrpp)
-   [Bred Banque Populaire BIC BREDFRPP Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI NICH5Q04ADUV9SN3Q390](https://elucidate.co/directory/bred-banque-populaire-bredfrpp)
-   [Bpce SA BIC BPCEFRPP Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI 9695005MSX1OYEMGDF46](https://elucidate.co/directory/bpce-sa-bpcefrpp)
-   [Credit Foncier de France BIC CFFRFRPP Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI 969500EYG6U339D3TI84](https://elucidate.co/directory/credit-foncier-de-france-cffrfrpp)
-   [Natixis Corporate and Investment Banking Luxembourg BIC NATXLULL Credit institution Prudential licence Luxembourg · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI AELIZRVUG3YVEFFUVL97](https://elucidate.co/directory/natixis-corporate-and-investment-banking-luxembourg-natxlull)
-   [Compagnie de Financement Foncier BIC CFFOFRPP Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI DKGVVH5FKILG8R13CO13](https://elucidate.co/directory/compagnie-de-financement-foncier-cffofrpp)

[All 100 institutions in the Bpce group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/9695005MSX1OYEMGDF46)

### Other payments & e-money institutions in Belgium

-   [Mastercard Transaction Services (Europe) S.A. BIC HOMNBEB2 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Belgium · Licensed by National Bank of Belgium · 0549987921 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 549300QSDFLY87110W54](https://elucidate.co/directory/mastercard-transaction-services-europe-s-a-homnbeb2)
-   [Billit NV No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Belgium · Licensed by National Bank of Belgium · 0563846944 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 875500V1E3XS0E7O7J64](https://elucidate.co/directory/billit-nv-f54b30ab056c)
-   [Buy Way Personal Finance No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Belgium · Licensed by National Bank of Belgium · 0400282277 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 9676006T5BCXWL257R75](https://elucidate.co/directory/buy-way-personal-finance-9b966c8d5aa6)
-   [Money International No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Belgium · Licensed by National Bank of Belgium · 0475445104 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 98450015E3BF56376870](https://elucidate.co/directory/money-international-38db28f97610)
-   [Paynovate No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Belgium · Licensed by National Bank of Belgium · 0506763929 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/paynovate-74457ca4ffc8)
-   [Wise Europe S.A BIC TRWIBEB1 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Belgium · Licensed by National Bank of Belgium · 0713629988 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 699400U6W3SV7TR4TM73](https://elucidate.co/directory/wise-europe-s-a-trwibeb1)
-   [Axepta BNP Paribas Benelux No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Belgium · Licensed by National Bank of Belgium · 0719319138 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 5299009V7WUI7MHSD945](https://elucidate.co/directory/axepta-bnp-paribas-benelux-c0e01ca5eca5)
-   [Bancontact Company No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Belgium · Licensed by National Bank of Belgium · 0675984882 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/bancontact-company-0bbb028f5f7a)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=BE)

Claim this profile

## Work at Epbf?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

1.  01 **Submit** Tell us who you are, using your work email.
2.  02 **We verify** We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
3.  03 **Profile claimed** The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Credits for this page

-   **Payment schemes and systems**—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
-   **National bank codes**—Belgium (Source: National Bank of Belgium).
-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Ownership and group**—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
