---
title: "Lusopay Instituicao de Pagamento, Lda SWIFT/BIC code LIPDPTP2XXX · Portugal | Elucidate"
description: "Licensed in Portugal: Payment institution (Bank of Portugal). SWIFT/BIC code LIPDPTP2XXX for Lusopay Instituicao de Pagamento, Lda, Portugal. Head-office BIC."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Portugal](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/pt)
3.  Lusopay Instituicao de Pagamento, Lda

![Lusopay logo](https://elucidate.co/images/banks/f0/f0f7759005a5bba8.webp)

Portugal · Payments & e-money

# Lusopay Instituicao de Pagamento, Lda

Legal name in the LEI record LUSOPAY INSTITUIÇÃO DE PAGAMENTO, LDA

LUSOPAY, Instituição de Pagamento, Lda is a Portuguese private limited company (Lda) based in São Félix da Marinha, Vila Nova de Gaia. Banco de Portugal authorises it as a payment institution under register number 8700. The firm says its licence allows it to operate in all EU countries. It sells payment collection services to businesses, sole traders, associations and public bodies. These include Multibanco and Payshop references, MB WAY, direct debits, card acceptance online and at card terminals, and PIX. It was founded in 2007 as Magnimeios, Lda. It began operating as a payment institution on 12 July 2011 and took its current name in August 2014.

Register status

Licensed in Portugal

Payment institution · Bank of Portugal

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2#licences)

BIC **LIPDPTP2XXX** LEI **[213800ALAYXML9EXV983](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/213800ALAYXML9EXV983)** [Licence no. **8700**](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2#licences) Reverse billing Head-office BIC only [Claim this profile](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2#claim)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Lusopay Instituição de Pagamento, Lda (LEI 213800ALAYXML9EXV983). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Bank of Portugal Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 8700 | [Portugal](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/pt) | Active | 2011-07-12 | — | - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

Trading names on the register: LUSOPAY (EBA-PSD2)

-   Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
-   The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

- **BIC:** LIPDPTP2XXX head office
- **Connection to Swift:** Reverse billing
- **Swift GPI:** Not on the member list
- **Payment schemes and systems:** No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- **Branch codes:** None: head-office BIC only
- **BIC first registered:** 2024-04-10
- **Last updated:** 2024-04-10

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2#overview-sources)

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Privately held

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Lusopay

- **Ownership:** The firm is a private limited company with share capital of EUR 125,000. Its shareholders are not disclosed in the sources reviewed.
- **Head office:** Estrada de Brito, 536, 4410-206 São Félix da Marinha, Portugal
- **Company register:** NIPC 508285410
- **Incorporated:** 2007
- **Former names:** Magnimeios Instituição de Pagamento, Lda · Magnimeios, Lda

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [lusopay.com ↗](https://lusopay.com/) [app.lusopay.com ↗](https://app.lusopay.com:8443/web/#login) customer area (homebanking)
- **Official social accounts:** None found

Sources · 10 pages consulted

1.  [bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda](https://www.bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda)
2.  [lusopay.com](https://lusopay.com/)
3.  [lusopay.com/termos-de-adesao](https://lusopay.com/termos-de-adesao)
4.  [lusopay.com/en/sobre](https://lusopay.com/en/sobre)
5.  [lusopay.com/contactos](https://lusopay.com/contactos)
6.  [lusopay.com/documentos-legais](https://lusopay.com/documentos-legais)
7.  [lusopay.com/cartoes](https://lusopay.com/cartoes)
8.  [lusopay.com/instituicao-de-pagamento/](https://www.lusopay.com/instituicao-de-pagamento/)
9.  [lusopay.com/politica-de-privacidade/](https://lusopay.com/politica-de-privacidade/)
10.  [clientebancario.bportugal.pt/sites/default/files/precario/8700\_/8700\_pre.pdf](https://clientebancario.bportugal.pt/sites/default/files/precario/8700_/8700_pre.pdf)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

Banco de Portugal authorises the firm as a payment institution under register number 8700. The firm says it registered this licence with the central banks of all EU member states in December 2015 and January 2016.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Banco de Portugal Portugal | Payment institution (Instituição de Pagamento) | 8700 | In its own name | Active | [bportugal.pt ↗](https://www.bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Not disclosedThe firm's terms state that it complies with Banco de Portugal requirements for protecting customer funds. They do not describe the method or name a safeguarding bank. [lusopay.com ↗](https://lusopay.com/termos-de-adesao)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** Multibanco references (SIBS) Access not stated [lusopay.com ↗](https://lusopay.com/termos-de-adesao) MB WAY (SIBS) Access not stated [lusopay.com ↗](https://lusopay.com/termos-de-adesao) Payshop Access not stated [lusopay.com ↗](https://lusopay.com/termos-de-adesao) SEPA Direct Debit Through a partner [lusopay.com ↗](https://lusopay.com/termos-de-adesao) Visa Access not stated [lusopay.com ↗](https://lusopay.com/cartoes) Mastercard Access not stated [lusopay.com ↗](https://lusopay.com/cartoes) PIX Access not stated [lusopay.com ↗](https://lusopay.com/)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2#overview-sources)

-   Merchant acquiring
-   Payment gateway
-   Domestic payments

It lets merchants collect payments through Multibanco and Payshop references, MB WAY, SEPA direct debits, Visa, Mastercard and Maestro cards (online, by payment link and at card terminals) and PIX. It also sells a PEP and sanctions screening service.

It serves mainly merchants in Portugal. The firm says it is authorised to operate in every EU country under its Portuguese licence.

- **Sells to:** Small businesses · Enterprises · Public sector · Other
- **Serves customers in:** Portugal

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2#overview-sources)

- **Executive:** José António da Silva Ferreira Ribeiro Manager (gerente) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [bportugal.pt ↗](https://www.bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda)
- **Executive:** Paulo Jorge de Freitas Alexandre Manager (gerente) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [bportugal.pt ↗](https://www.bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda)
- **Executive:** Vanessa Martins Named contact, Compliance Department, fraud reporting section Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [lusopay.com ↗](https://lusopay.com/termos-de-adesao)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2#overview-sources)

1.  Jan 2025

    Other

    The firm began offering direct debit collection and card terminals accepting debit and credit cards, Google Pay and Apple Pay.

    [lusopay.com ↗](https://www.lusopay.com/instituicao-de-pagamento/)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

Head-office record

- **BIC:** LIPDPTP2XXX
- **How the BIC breaks down:** 1. LIPD Bank 2. PT Country · Portugal 3. P2 Location · reverse billing 4. XXX Branch · head office
- **Branch description:** Not recorded in the directory
- **LEI:** 213800ALAYXML9EXV983
- **LEI record:** [View on GLEIF ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/213800ALAYXML9EXV983)
- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** 8700
- **How the LEI was matched:** BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file. Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- **Register-entry ID:** 84e1d6ccc926

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Register licences:** [1 entry on 1 register](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2#licences)
- **Activities:** - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring
- **Licensed in:** [Portugal](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/pt)
- **Country · region:** Portugal · Europe & Central Asia
- **Banking supervision:** Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- **Trading venues (MIC):** No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- **OFAC sanctions:** No listing cites this BIC
- **EU sanctions:** No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- **Country sanctions:** No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

## Addresses

- **Registered address:** AVENIDA MANUEL VIOLAS, 476, S.28.1 SAO FELIX DA MARINHA 4410-137 PORTUGAL
- **Operational address:** AVENIDA MANUEL VIOLAS, 476, S.28.1 SAO FELIX DA MARINHA 4410-137 SAO FELIX DA MARINHA PORTUGAL

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

- **Identified by:** BIC, with its LEI
- **Roles in CBPR+:** Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

### CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>LIPDPTP2XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800ALAYXML9EXV983</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
```

### Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>LIPDPTP2XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800ALAYXML9EXV983</LEI>
  <Nm>LUSOPAY INSTITUICAO DE PAGAMENTO, LDA</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>SAO FELIX DA MARINHA</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>PT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>AVENIDA MANUEL VIOLAS, 476, S.28.1 SAO FELIX DA MARINHA 4410-137</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in Portugal

-   [ALTICE Pay, S.A. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8705 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 894500VERWYG8KWKTX87](https://elucidate.co/directory/altice-pay-s-a-b2d02fff188a)
-   [Easypay Instituição DE Pagamento, Lda No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8706 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 984500BBF9WC71D0SC15](https://elucidate.co/directory/easypay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-8c7fc49e20a0)
-   [Eupago - Instituição de Pagamento Lda · trading as Eupago No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8709 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 2549000UHD22MXB5N107](https://elucidate.co/directory/eupago-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-0cd00b772632)
-   [Ifthenpay Lda BIC IFLDPTP2 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8707 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 9845001E48WI813CF323](https://elucidate.co/directory/ifthenpay-lda-ifldptp2)
-   [Martrust Europe, S.A. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 7501 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 254900RPJ55VFMEXE244](https://elucidate.co/directory/martrust-europe-s-a-50d2cefcc9ed)
-   [Maxpay-Instituição DE Pagamento, Lda No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8708 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 95980073F0FK1Y3ESG25](https://elucidate.co/directory/maxpay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-eb143b888331)
-   [NovaCâmbios - Instituição de Pagamento, S.A. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 812 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 213800ORPQK2H6XH7348](https://elucidate.co/directory/novacambios-instituicao-de-pagamento-s-a-58d98852de91)
-   [PAYPAYUE - Instituição de Pagamentos, Unipessoal, Lda. · trading as PayPay No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8710 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/paypayue-instituicao-de-pagamentos-unipessoal-lda-561bc72bdca0)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=PT)

Claim this profile

## Work at Lusopay Instituicao de Pagamento, Lda?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

1.  01 **Submit** Tell us who you are, using your work email.
2.  02 **We verify** We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
3.  03 **Profile claimed** The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Credits for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
-   **Images**—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: [lusopay.com](https://lusopay.com/en) (official website) · [original](https://lusopay.com/api/asset/logo?v=1790756400948).

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
