---
title: "Modulr Finance B.V. · Electronic money institution (The Netherlands Bank) · Netherlands | Elucidate"
description: "Modulr Finance B.V. is authorised by The Netherlands Bank as an electronic money institution in the Netherlands. Licence R182870. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/modulr-finance-b-v-93aca107f0ea
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl)
3.  Modulr Finance B.V.

Netherlands · Payments & e-money

# Modulr Finance B.V.

Trading as Modulr

Modulr Finance B.V. is a Dutch private limited company based in Amsterdam. De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) authorises it as an electronic money institution under relation number R182870. It is the European subsidiary of the UK-based Modulr group, whose UK business runs through Modulr FS Limited. It provides e-money business accounts, SEPA payments and virtual and physical cards to businesses and to platforms that embed its payments across the EEA. In July 2026 the group named Jakub Zmuda chair of the firm's Management Board and Mark Buitenhek independent chair of its Supervisory Board.

Register status

Licensed in the Netherlands

Electronic money institution · The Netherlands Bank

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/modulr-finance-b-v-93aca107f0ea#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **No LEI mapped** [Licence no. **R182870**](https://elucidate.co/directory/modulr-finance-b-v-93aca107f0ea#licences)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Modulr Finance B.V.. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) The Netherlands Bank | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | R182870 | [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl) | Active | 2021-12-24 | — | - Payment services - Card acquiring - Payment initiation - Account information - E-money / stored value | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

Trading names on the register: Modulr (EBA-PSD2)

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/modulr-finance-b-v-93aca107f0ea#overview-sources)

Customers

6,000

customers · Group · 16 Jul 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://itbrief.co.uk/story/modulr-appoints-jakub-zmuda-mark-buitenhek-for-europe)

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Modulr

- **Ownership:** The firm is the European subsidiary of the UK-based Modulr group, whose group board is the Modulr Holdings board.
- **Head office:** Strawinskylaan 4117, 1077 ZX Amsterdam, Netherlands
- **Company register:** Netherlands Chamber of Commerce (KvK) 81852401
- **Incorporated:** 10 Feb 2021
- **Founder:** Myles Stephenson

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/) [modulr.readme.io ↗](https://modulr.readme.io/) developer documentation (group-wide) [modulr.statuspage.io ↗](https://modulr.statuspage.io/) service status page (group-wide)
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/modulr-finance/) · [X ↗](https://twitter.com/ModulrFinance) · [YouTube ↗](https://www.youtube.com/@modulr-video/videos)

Sources · 10 pages consulted

1.  [dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R182870](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R182870)
2.  [lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/2138009BPIB3N98CK876](https://lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/2138009BPIB3N98CK876)
3.  [modulrfinance.com/eu-safeguarding-information](https://www.modulrfinance.com/eu-safeguarding-information)
4.  [modulrfinance.com/delegate-onboarding-terms-of-business-eu](https://www.modulrfinance.com/delegate-onboarding-terms-of-business-eu)
5.  [modulrfinance.com/the-team](https://www.modulrfinance.com/the-team)
6.  [modulrfinance.com/newsroom/modulr-raises-108m-in-series-c-funding-round-led-by-general-atlantic](https://www.modulrfinance.com/newsroom/modulr-raises-108m-in-series-c-funding-round-led-by-general-atlantic)
7.  [modulrfinance.com/newsroom/payments-fintech-modulr-becomes-a-principal-issuing-member-of-visa](https://www.modulrfinance.com/newsroom/payments-fintech-modulr-becomes-a-principal-issuing-member-of-visa)
8.  [modulrfinance.com/newsroom/modulr-becomes-a-principal-issuing-member-of-mastercard](https://www.modulrfinance.com/newsroom/modulr-becomes-a-principal-issuing-member-of-mastercard)
9.  [itbrief.co.uk/story/modulr-appoints-jakub-zmuda-mark-buitenhek-for-europe](https://itbrief.co.uk/story/modulr-appoints-jakub-zmuda-mark-buitenhek-for-europe)
10.  [nala.com/terms-of-service-eu](https://www.nala.com/terms-of-service-eu)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/modulr-finance-b-v-93aca107f0ea#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

DNB authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Dutch Financial Supervision Act (Wft). Its DNB register entry lists cross-border services in 29 other EEA states from 23 December 2021.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands | Authorisation to carry out the business of an electronic-money institution (PSD2 - Wft 2:10a) | R182870 | In its own name | Active | [dnb.nl ↗](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R182870) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/modulr-finance-b-v-93aca107f0ea#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that funds received for e-money are segregated and held at banks in designated accounts belonging to Stichting Custodian Modulr Finance, which exists only to safeguard customer funds. [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/eu-safeguarding-information)
- **Safeguarding bank:** Stichting Custodian Modulr Finance Netherlands [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/eu-safeguarding-information)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/delegate-onboarding-terms-of-business-eu) Visa Access not stated [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/newsroom/payments-fintech-modulr-becomes-a-principal-issuing-member-of-visa) Mastercard Access not stated [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/newsroom/modulr-becomes-a-principal-issuing-member-of-mastercard)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/modulr-finance-b-v-93aca107f0ea#overview-sources)

-   E-money wallet
-   Domestic payments
-   Payouts and mass payments
-   Prepaid cards
-   Card-issuing platform
-   Banking as a service

The firm provides e-money accounts for businesses with SEPA payments and Visa or Mastercard cards, used directly and through partner platforms that embed its payments.

It serves business customers in the Netherlands and holds cross-border service notifications for 29 other EEA states under its Dutch licence.

- **Payment volume:** GBP 180bnannualised payment value processed across the Modulr platform Group · 16 Jul 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://itbrief.co.uk/story/modulr-appoints-jakub-zmuda-mark-buitenhek-for-europe)
- **Sells to:** Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
- **Serves customers in 30 countries:** Netherlands · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Ireland · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden
- **Latest funding round:** Series C · USD 108m May 2022 Led by General Atlantic [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/newsroom/modulr-raises-108m-in-series-c-funding-round-led-by-general-atlantic)

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/modulr-finance-b-v-93aca107f0ea#overview-sources)

- **Executive:** Jakub Zmuda Managing Director, Europe; Chair of the Management Board of Modulr Finance B.V. Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/the-team)
- **Chair:** Mark Buitenhek Chair of Supervisory Board Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/the-team)
- **Compliance / MLRO:** Siemaab Mahmood Head of Risk & Compliance, Europe (Management Board member) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/the-team)
- **Executive:** Elanie Steyn General Manager, Europe (Management Board member) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/the-team)
- **Executive:** Cristina Buckingham Director of Financial Control (Management Board member) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/the-team)
- **Executive:** Ben Taylor Chief Operating Officer (Management Board member) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [modulrfinance.com ↗](https://www.modulrfinance.com/the-team)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/modulr-finance-b-v-93aca107f0ea#overview-sources)

1.  Jul 2026

    Leadership

    Modulr named Jakub Zmuda chair of the firm's Management Board and Mark Buitenhek independent chair of its Supervisory Board.

    [itbrief.co.uk ↗](https://itbrief.co.uk/story/modulr-appoints-jakub-zmuda-mark-buitenhek-for-europe)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** R182870
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** No LEI mapped
- **Elucidate firm ID:** 93aca107f0ea

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Card acquiring - Payment initiation - Account information - E-money / stored value
- **Licensed in:** [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2021-12-24

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** Strawinskylaan 4117, AMSTERDAM, 1077ZX
- **Country:** Netherlands

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <Nm>Modulr Finance B.V.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>1077ZX</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>AMSTERDAM</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>NL</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Strawinskylaan 4117</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in the Netherlands

-   [Embed B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R190510 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 7245008QNCN73DRH1D55](https://elucidate.co/directory/embed-b-v-3350e86f06a8)
-   [Fiat Republic Netherlands B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R190553 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500GVWT7QULV8CR59](https://elucidate.co/directory/fiat-republic-netherlands-b-v-c74c69f778a8)
-   [GoCredible B.V. · trading as GoCredible Payment Services/Autobetaalservice/GoCredible Smart Contracts/GoCredible Smart Contracts Betaalservice/GoCredible Conditional Payments/Conditional Payments/GoCredible Conditioneel Betalen/Conditioneel Betalen/SmartP/SplitP/GoCredible B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R130345 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 724500VLAROLGLLIRF88](https://elucidate.co/directory/gocredible-b-v-383f3f77aa81)
-   [Mollie B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · F0038 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/mollie-b-v-c621e78ce9dd)
-   [Taxameter Centrale B.V. · trading as TMC/Htmc/Eltra Parkeergroep/Taxameter Centrale B.V./Payflux Payment Service Provider No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R102815 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/taxameter-centrale-b-v-41bea341d98b)
-   [World First Netherlands B.V. BIC WOFTNL22 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R161090 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 549300KOOW3B2WK0K818](https://elucidate.co/directory/world-first-netherlands-b-v-woftnl22)
-   [Zebedee Europe B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R194916 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500B2I1LR33CAWG54](https://elucidate.co/directory/zebedee-europe-b-v-1d21b8061ba1)
-   [zerohash europe B.V. · trading as zerohash europe No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R193684 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500G7QSOMFR1GQA47](https://elucidate.co/directory/zerohash-europe-b-v-57fb2eb4b2a3)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=NL) [Other entries on EBA-PSD2 →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [source ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
