---
title: "Monext · Payment institution (Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority) · France | Elucidate"
description: "Monext is authorised by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority as a payment institution in France. Licence 503185001. LEI 969500W54Z5M7YRYNJ62. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/monext-c4201fb3970c
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [France](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/fr)
3.  Monext

France · Payments & e-money

# Monext

MONEXT is a French société par actions simplifiée based in Aix-en-Provence. The Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) authorises it as a payment institution, and the firm obtained this status in 2019. Crédit Mutuel Arkéa has been its sole shareholder since 2010. Monext provides online, in-store and omnichannel payment acceptance, merchant acquiring, and card issuing and acquiring processing to banks, fintechs and merchants. In July 2026 it acquired Alcinéo, a developer of embedded payment software.

Register status

Licensed in France

Payment institution · Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/monext-c4201fb3970c#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **[969500W54Z5M7YRYNJ62](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/969500W54Z5M7YRYNJ62)** [Licence no. **503185001**](https://elucidate.co/directory/monext-c4201fb3970c#licences) [Group: Confederation Nationale Credit Mutuel](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/9695000CG7B84NLR5984)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Monext (LEI 969500W54Z5M7YRYNJ62). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 503185001 | [France](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/fr) | Active | 2019-07-10 | — | - Payment services - Card acquiring | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/monext-c4201fb3970c#overview-sources)

Customers

12,000

customers · This entity · 7 Jul 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://www.cm-arkea.com/arkea/banque/assurances/pa_37536/fr/monext-fait-l-acquisition-d-alcineo-et-integre-une-technologie-cle-dans-la-maitrise-integrale-de-la-chaine-de-valeur-du-paiement)

Employees

400

headcount · This entity · 7 Jul 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://www.cm-arkea.com/arkea/banque/assurances/pa_37536/fr/monext-fait-l-acquisition-d-alcineo-et-integre-une-technologie-cle-dans-la-maitrise-integrale-de-la-chaine-de-valeur-du-paiement)

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% CREDIT MUTUEL ARKEA

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Monext

- **Ownership:** Crédit Mutuel Arkéa has been the sole shareholder of the firm since 2010.
- **Direct parent:** [CREDIT MUTUEL ARKEA](https://elucidate.co/directory/credit-mutuel-arkea-cmbrfr2b), France 100%
- **Ultimate owner:** CONFEDERATION NATIONALE CREDIT MUTUEL, France
- **Major shareholder:** Crédit Mutuel Arkéa 100%
- **Head office:** Le M, 80 chemin de la faisanderie, 13290 Aix-en-Provence, France
- **Company register:** RCS Aix-en-Provence 503 185 001
- **Incorporated:** 2008

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/) [docs.monext.fr ↗](https://docs.monext.fr/spaces/DT/pages/747146813/Documentation+Monext+Online) developer documentation (Monext Online) [api-docs.retail.monext.com ↗](https://api-docs.retail.monext.com/reference/getting-started-with-your-api) API documentation [github.com ↗](https://github.com/monext) integrations (GitHub)
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/monext/) · [Instagram ↗](https://www.instagram.com/monextcom/) · [Podcast (Ausha) ↗](https://podcast.ausha.co/monext-on-air)

Sources · 11 pages consulted

1.  [monext.com/legal/mentions-legales](https://www.monext.com/legal/mentions-legales)
2.  [monext.com/a-propos](https://www.monext.com/a-propos)
3.  [monext.com/services/acquisition](https://www.monext.com/services/acquisition)
4.  [monext.com/services/emission-de-cartes](https://www.monext.com/services/emission-de-cartes)
5.  [regafi.fr/spip.php?cat=21-TBR07&id\_secteur=1&lang=fr&page=export&retrait=0&sort=sta\_asc&type=advanc](https://regafi.fr/spip.php?cat=21-TBR07&id_secteur=1&lang=fr&page=export&retrait=0&sort=sta_asc&type=advanced)
6.  [actu-juridique.fr/app/uploads/2022/05/PA20220520\_BILls606225-1.pdf](https://www.actu-juridique.fr/app/uploads/2022/05/PA20220520_BILls606225-1.pdf)
7.  [cm-arkea.com/arkea/banque/assurances/pa\_36354/en/incident-monetique](https://www.cm-arkea.com/arkea/banque/assurances/pa_36354/en/incident-monetique)
8.  [monext.com/blog/monext-fait-lacquisition-dalcineo](https://www.monext.com/blog/monext-fait-lacquisition-dalcineo)
9.  [cm-arkea.com/arkea/banque/assurances/pa\_37536/fr/monext-fait-l-acquisition-d-alcineo-et-integre-une-te](https://www.cm-arkea.com/arkea/banque/assurances/pa_37536/fr/monext-fait-l-acquisition-d-alcineo-et-integre-une-technologie-cle-dans-la-maitrise-integrale-de-la-chaine-de-valeur-du-paiement)
10.  [monext.com/blog/samuel-john-gaultier-nomme-directeur-du-developpement-et-des-partenariats-strategiqu](https://www.monext.com/blog/samuel-john-gaultier-nomme-directeur-du-developpement-et-des-partenariats-strategiques)
11.  [fr.tradingview.com/news/afp:270bfc258b66b:0/](https://fr.tradingview.com/news/afp:270bfc258b66b:0/)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/monext-c4201fb3970c#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The ACPR authorises the firm as a payment institution, and the EBA register lists its activities as payment services and card acquiring. Monext describes itself as a hybrid payment institution. It keeps separate accounts for its payment services and its processing business.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) France | Etablissement de paiement | 17028 | In its own name | Active | [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/legal/mentions-legales) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/monext-c4201fb3970c#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsAccording to its published annual accounts, funds collected on settlement accounts and not yet paid out are protected by transfer to a segregated safeguarding account (compte de cantonnement). [actu-juridique.fr ↗](https://www.actu-juridique.fr/app/uploads/2022/05/PA20220520_BILls606225-1.pdf)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** CB (Cartes Bancaires) Access not stated [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/services/acquisition) Visa Access not stated [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/services/acquisition) Mastercard Access not stated [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/services/acquisition) Bancontact Access not stated [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/services/acquisition)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/monext-c4201fb3970c#overview-sources)

-   Payment gateway
-   Merchant acquiring
-   Card-issuing platform

Monext sells payment acceptance to merchants (online, in-store, omnichannel, pay-by-link and recurring payments). It also sells card issuing and acquiring processing to banks, payment institutions and neobanks, including Nickel and Keytrade Bank, according to its website.

The firm is based in France and describes its card issuing and acquiring services as covering France and Europe, including clients in Spain, Belgium and Portugal.

- **Sells to:** Enterprises · Small businesses · Financial institutions
- **Serves customers in 4 countries:** France · Spain · Belgium · Portugal

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/monext-c4201fb3970c#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Guillaume Prin Président du Directoire Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/a-propos)
- **Executive:** Samuel-John Gaultier Membre du directoire, Directeur du Développement et des Partenariats Stratégiques Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/blog/samuel-john-gaultier-nomme-directeur-du-developpement-et-des-partenariats-strategiques)
- **Executive:** Sébastien Cohidon Membre du directoire Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/a-propos)

## Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/monext-c4201fb3970c#overview-sources)

1.  Jul 2026

    Merger / acquisition

    Monext announced the acquisition of Alcinéo, a developer of certified embedded payment and Tap to Pay software.

    [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/blog/monext-fait-lacquisition-dalcineo)

2.  Jan 2026

    Incident

    A technical incident at Monext on 27 January 2026 re-presented card transactions from 2023 to 2025 on some cardholders' accounts. Crédit Mutuel Arkéa said all affected transactions were being reversed.

    [cm-arkea.com ↗](https://www.cm-arkea.com/arkea/banque/assurances/pa_36354/en/incident-monetique)

3.  Jan 2026

    Leadership

    Monext appointed Samuel-John Gaultier as director of development and strategic partnerships and a member of its management board.

    [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/blog/samuel-john-gaultier-nomme-directeur-du-developpement-et-des-partenariats-strategiques)

4.  Jan 2024

    Other

    Monext moved its head office to a new campus in Aix-en-Provence.

    [monext.com ↗](https://www.monext.com/a-propos)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** 503185001
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** [969500W54Z5M7YRYNJ62 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/969500W54Z5M7YRYNJ62)
- **How the LEI was matched:** Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- **National bank code:** [FR-CIB 17028](https://elucidate.co/directory/monext-c4201fb3970c#bank-codes)
- **Elucidate firm ID:** c4201fb3970c

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** Payment Institution
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Card acquiring
- **Licensed in:** [France](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/fr) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2019-07-10

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

- **Direct parent:** [Credit Mutuel Arkea](https://elucidate.co/directory/credit-mutuel-arkea-cmbrfr2b) · France[96950041VJ1QP0B69503 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/96950041VJ1QP0B69503)
- **Ultimate parent:** Confederation Nationale Credit Mutuel · France[9695000CG7B84NLR5984 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/9695000CG7B84NLR5984)

The Confederation Nationale Credit Mutuel group has 41 institutions in the directory, in 13 countries: 38 hold a BIC and 3 do not.

Including [Credit Mutuel Arkea](https://elucidate.co/directory/credit-mutuel-arkea-cmbrfr2b), [Banque Federative du Credit Mutuel](https://elucidate.co/directory/banque-federative-du-credit-mutuel-cmcifrpa), [Banque Federative du Credit Mutuel](https://elucidate.co/directory/banque-federative-du-credit-mutuel-cmcifr2a), [Credit Industriel et Commercial](https://elucidate.co/directory/credit-industriel-et-commercial-cmcifrpp), [Credit Industriel et Commercial, New York Branch](https://elucidate.co/directory/credit-industriel-et-commercial-new-york-branch-cmcius33).

[See the Confederation Nationale Credit Mutuel group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/9695000CG7B84NLR5984)

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** 80 Chemin de la Faisanderie, AIX EN PROVENCE, 13290
- **Country:** France

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address, with its LEI
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>969500W54Z5M7YRYNJ62</LEI>
  <Nm>MONEXT</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>13290</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>AIX EN PROVENCE</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>FR</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>80 Chemin de la Faisanderie</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## National bank codes

National bank-code directories, matched by LEI

| Code | Scheme | Name in the directory | City |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 17028 | FR-CIB | MONEXT | AIX EN PROVENCE |

## Related institutions

### Same group

-   [Credit Mutuel Arkea BIC CMBRFR2B Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI 96950041VJ1QP0B69503](https://elucidate.co/directory/credit-mutuel-arkea-cmbrfr2b)
-   [Banque Federative du Credit Mutuel BIC CMCIFRPA Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI VBHFXSYT7OG62HNT8T76](https://elucidate.co/directory/banque-federative-du-credit-mutuel-cmcifrpa)
-   [Banque Federative du Credit Mutuel BIC CMCIFR2A Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI 969500CXBDY2KMHP0J53](https://elucidate.co/directory/banque-federative-du-credit-mutuel-cmcifr2a)
-   [Credit Industriel et Commercial BIC CMCIFRPP Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI N4JDFKKH2FTD8RKFXO39](https://elucidate.co/directory/credit-industriel-et-commercial-cmcifrpp)
-   [Federal Finance BIC FEFIFR21 Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI 969500ZO0UK0ACQQHO98](https://elucidate.co/directory/federal-finance-fefifr21)
-   [Caisse Bretagne Credit Agricole Mutuel BIC CBCRFR21 Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI 969500YOM7PBQMJLNE66](https://elucidate.co/directory/caisse-bretagne-credit-agricole-mutuel-cbcrfr21)
-   [Cofidis BIC CFFIFR21 Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI 969500EJMFFRSWFDJG41](https://elucidate.co/directory/cofidis-cffifr21)
-   [Credit Foncier et Communal D'alsace et de Lorraine-Banque BIC CFCLFR21 Credit institution Prudential licence France · On the ECB list of supervised entities · LEI 969500YEPXWE78XJIB31](https://elucidate.co/directory/credit-foncier-et-communal-d-alsace-et-de-lorraine-banque-cfclfr21)

[All 41 institutions in the Confederation Nationale Credit Mutuel group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/9695000CG7B84NLR5984)

### Other payments & e-money institutions in France

-   [Aplo Sas · trading as APLO No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 878929405 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500YKHZ31GZ7AAU02](https://elucidate.co/directory/aplo-sas-d10450e1dc56)
-   [Circle Internet Financial Europe Sas · trading as CIRCLE No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 953990934 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500OYUDADGZKCR583](https://elucidate.co/directory/circle-internet-financial-europe-sas-44b976c8a384)
-   [Coinhouse Sas · trading as COINHOUSE No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 815254545 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500E5GFHK2RKF8251](https://elucidate.co/directory/coinhouse-sas-6300d2a90c94)
-   [Cometh Sas · trading as COMETH No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 892021577 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 894500R5KSX3ZKIHSA46](https://elucidate.co/directory/cometh-sas-0790176952a5)
-   [Deblock No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 948264163 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 254900XTUI35BGIBXP21](https://elucidate.co/directory/deblock-6ef351dbc619)
-   [Ezyness BIC GAILFRP1 Payments & e-money Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 522058544 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 969500LC14WDCRNTV833](https://elucidate.co/directory/ezyness-gailfrp1)
-   [Finary Sas · trading as FINARY No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · FR\_ACPR!758984 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500RQH18PU24DM081](https://elucidate.co/directory/finary-sas-19e286f4b6ca)
-   [Franfinance BIC FRANFR21 Payments & e-money Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 719807406 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 969500FOY8TU4THH6S92](https://elucidate.co/directory/franfinance-franfr21)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=FR) [Other entries on EBA-PSD2 →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [source ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Ownership and group**—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
