---
title: "Mooney S.p.a. · Electronic money institution (Bank of Italy) · Italy | Elucidate"
description: "Mooney S.p.a. is authorised by Bank of Italy as an electronic money institution in Italy. Licence 06529501006. LEI 815600F590879571B665. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/mooney-s-p-a-304865c7b5ab
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Italy](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/it)
3.  Mooney S.p.a.

Italy · Payments & e-money

# Mooney S.p.a.

Mooney S.p.A. is an Italian joint-stock company based in Milan. The Bank of Italy authorises it as an electronic money institution, entered as no. 6 in the register of e-money institutions. Its sole shareholder is Mooney Group S.p.A., which Enel X and Isybank (Intesa Sanpaolo group) hold in equal shares. It sells bill and pagoPA payments, SEPA transfers, cash services, phone top-ups and prepaid cards through a network of retail outlets in Italy and through its app. Since 15 April 2024 a Bank of Italy order has barred it from issuing new payment cards and opening the related accounts.

Register status

Licensed in Italy

Electronic money institution · Bank of Italy

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/mooney-s-p-a-304865c7b5ab#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **[815600F590879571B665](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/815600F590879571B665)** [Licence no. **06529501006**](https://elucidate.co/directory/mooney-s-p-a-304865c7b5ab#licences)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Mooney S.p.a. (LEI 815600F590879571B665). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Bank of Italy | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 06529501006 | [Italy](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/it) | Active | 2018-01-14 | — | - Payment services - Card acquiring - E-money / stored value | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/mooney-s-p-a-304865c7b5ab#overview-sources)

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Mooney Group S.p.A.

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Mooney

- **Standing:** On 15 April 2024 the Bank of Italy barred Mooney from issuing new payment cards and opening the related e-money and payment accounts until it has fixed anti-money laundering (AML) deficiencies. In September 2026 the firm's website still said new prepaid cards could not be requested. Cards already issued and the firm's other services keep operating.
- **Ownership:** Mooney Group S.p.A. owns 100% of the firm and directs and coordinates it; Enel X and Isybank (Intesa Sanpaolo group) each hold 50% of Mooney Group.
- **Direct parent:** [Mooney Group S.p.A. ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/815600A354E81B97D398), Italy 100%
- **Head office:** Via Privata Nino Bonnet 6/A, 20154 Milano, Italy
- **Company register:** Registro delle Imprese di Milano Monza Brianza Lodi 06529501006 (REA MI 2572927)

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [mooney.it ↗](https://www.mooney.it/) [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/) group corporate and investor relations site [mymooney.it ↗](https://www.mymooney.it/) retailer portal [mooneygo.it ↗](https://www.mooneygo.it/) MooneyGo mobility app site (group) [Wikipedia ↗](https://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mooney_\(azienda\)) group article
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/mooneygroup/) · [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/mooneygroup) · [Instagram ↗](https://www.instagram.com/mooney.official/) · [YouTube ↗](https://www.youtube.com/c/MooneyChannel)
- **Apps:** [Google Play ↗](https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.sisal.sisalpay) · [App Store ↗](https://apps.apple.com/it/app/sisalpay/id994910506)

Sources · 16 pages consulted

1.  [mooney.it/](https://www.mooney.it/)
2.  [mooney.it/cms/uploads/Foglio\_Informativo\_Carta\_Mooney\_v10\_5bbb2b7eb0.pdf](https://www.mooney.it/cms/uploads/Foglio_Informativo_Carta_Mooney_v10_5bbb2b7eb0.pdf)
3.  [mooney.it/provvedimento-banca-ditalia-2024](https://www.mooney.it/provvedimento-banca-ditalia-2024)
4.  [mooney.it/trasparenza-termini-e-condizioni](https://www.mooney.it/trasparenza-termini-e-condizioni)
5.  [mooneygroup.it/company-details/](https://mooneygroup.it/company-details/)
6.  [mooneygroup.it/investor-relations-en/](https://mooneygroup.it/investor-relations-en/)
7.  [mooneygroup.it/our-company/who-we-are/](https://mooneygroup.it/our-company/who-we-are/)
8.  [mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/20240415\_Press-Release-Mooney-order-issued-by-Bank-of-Italy.pd](https://mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/20240415_Press-Release-Mooney-order-issued-by-Bank-of-Italy.pdf)
9.  [mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/20240529\_Press-Release-Mooney\_Order-issued-by-Italian-Competit](https://mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/20240529_Press-Release-Mooney_Order-issued-by-Italian-Competition-Authority.pdf)
10.  [mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/03/IR\_20250324\_\_Press-Release-Mooney\_Order-issued-by-BoI.pdf](https://mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/03/IR_20250324__Press-Release-Mooney_Order-issued-by-BoI.pdf)
11.  [mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/Mooney-Group\_-Consolidated-Interim-Financials\_6M-2025.pdf](https://mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/Mooney-Group_-Consolidated-Interim-Financials_6M-2025.pdf)
12.  [group.intesasanpaolo.com/en/newsroom/press-releases/2022/07/enel-and-intesa-sanpaolo-jointly-finalized-acquisition](https://group.intesasanpaolo.com/en/newsroom/press-releases/2022/07/enel-and-intesa-sanpaolo-jointly-finalized-acquisition-of-mooney)
13.  [milanofinanza.it/news/mooney-intesa-sanpaolo-e-enel-rinunciano-al-lock-up-sulle-azioni-e-ca-de-sass-svalut](https://www.milanofinanza.it/news/mooney-intesa-sanpaolo-e-enel-rinunciano-al-lock-up-sulle-azioni-e-ca-de-sass-svaluta-la-202608192058175799)
14.  [milanofinanza.it/news/altra-ispezione-di-bankitalia-in-mooney-focus-sulla-tecnologia-202504220130562830](https://www.milanofinanza.it/news/altra-ispezione-di-bankitalia-in-mooney-focus-sulla-tecnologia-202504220130562830)
15.  [milanotoday.it/cronaca/attacco-hacker-mooney-atm.html](https://www.milanotoday.it/cronaca/attacco-hacker-mooney-atm.html)
16.  [it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mooney\_(azienda)](https://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mooney_\(azienda\))

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/mooney-s-p-a-304865c7b5ab#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The Bank of Italy authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under Article 114-quater of the Italian Consolidated Banking Act (register no. 6, code 32532). It holds Visa membership as an associate member sponsored by Intesa Sanpaolo, the principal member.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Bank of Italy Italy | Electronic money institution (Albo degli Istituti di Moneta Elettronica, art. 114-quater TUB, no. 6) | 32532 | In its own name | Active | [mooney.it ↗](https://www.mooney.it/cms/uploads/Foglio_Informativo_Carta_Mooney_v10_5bbb2b7eb0.pdf) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/mooney-s-p-a-304865c7b5ab#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe group's interim accounts report restricted bank deposits holding funds received from customers under PSD2 for the services of Mooney S.p.A. Card balances are not deposits and are not covered by the Italian interbank deposit guarantee fund (FITD). [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/Mooney-Group_-Consolidated-Interim-Financials_6M-2025.pdf)
- **Sponsor bank:** Intesa Sanpaolo Italy [mooney.it ↗](https://www.mooney.it/cms/uploads/Foglio_Informativo_Carta_Mooney_v10_5bbb2b7eb0.pdf)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** Visa Through a partner [mooney.it ↗](https://www.mooney.it/cms/uploads/Foglio_Informativo_Carta_Mooney_v10_5bbb2b7eb0.pdf) SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated [mooney.it ↗](https://www.mooney.it/cms/uploads/Foglio_Informativo_Carta_Mooney_v10_5bbb2b7eb0.pdf) SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated [mooney.it ↗](https://www.mooney.it/cms/uploads/Foglio_Informativo_Carta_Mooney_v10_5bbb2b7eb0.pdf) SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated [mooney.it ↗](https://www.mooney.it/cms/uploads/Foglio_Informativo_Carta_Mooney_v10_5bbb2b7eb0.pdf)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/mooney-s-p-a-304865c7b5ab#overview-sources)

-   Bill payments
-   Domestic payments
-   Mobile top-up
-   Prepaid cards
-   E-money wallet

The firm collects bill, pagoPA, car-tax, F24 and MAV/RAV payments, sends SEPA transfers, sells phone top-ups and offers cash withdrawals and deposits for partner banks' customers at tobacconists, bars and newsagents in Italy. The Carta Mooney is a Visa prepaid card with an IBAN, and no new cards have been issued since April 2024.

It serves customers in Italy through a retail network of about 30,000 points of sale, as it describes it, and through its website and app.

- **Sells to:** Consumers · Small businesses · Financial institutions · Public sector
- **Serves customers in:** Italy

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/mooney-s-p-a-304865c7b5ab#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Claudio Moro Chief Executive Officer (group management page); CEO since March 2025, board member since May 2024 Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/investor-relations-en/)
- **Chief financial officer:** Matteo Cariglia Chief Financial Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/investor-relations-en/)
- **Compliance / MLRO:** Emanuele Ranghetti Head of Anti Financial Crime, Mooney Group (since April 2024) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/investor-relations-en/)
- **Compliance / MLRO:** Leonardo Limiti Head of Compliance & Anticorruption, Mooney Group (since August 2023) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/investor-relations-en/)
- **Executive:** Marianna Carvelli Head of Risk Management & Information Security, Mooney Group (since October 2025) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/investor-relations-en/)
- **Executive:** Rossella Platini General Counsel, Mooney Group (since January 2026) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/investor-relations-en/)

## Recent events 5 enforcement or investigation items

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/mooney-s-p-a-304865c7b5ab#overview-sources)

1.  May 2026

    Other

    The shareholders of Mooney Group, Enel X and Isybank, removed the lock-up on transfers of their stakes from the holding's articles, MF-Milano Finanza reported.

    [milanofinanza.it ↗](https://www.milanofinanza.it/news/mooney-intesa-sanpaolo-e-enel-rinunciano-al-lock-up-sulle-azioni-e-ca-de-sass-svaluta-la-202608192058175799)

2.  Apr 2025

    Security incident

    Sister company Mooney Servizi S.p.A. reported a cyber attack on 5 April 2025 that exposed registration and contact data of MyCicero and ATM Milano app users.

    [milanotoday.it ↗](https://www.milanotoday.it/cronaca/attacco-hacker-mooney-atm.html)

3.  Mar 2025

    Investigation

    The Bank of Italy began a follow-up inspection of the firm's remedial measures and a prudential inspection, MF-Milano Finanza reported.

    [milanofinanza.it ↗](https://www.milanofinanza.it/news/mooney-intesa-sanpaolo-e-enel-rinunciano-al-lock-up-sulle-azioni-e-ca-de-sass-svaluta-la-202608192058175799)

4.  Mar 2025

    Enforcement

    The Bank of Italy fined the firm EUR 2.5 million for irregularities in its anti-money laundering activities found in inspections from October 2023 to January 2024.

    [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/03/IR_20250324__Press-Release-Mooney_Order-issued-by-BoI.pdf)

5.  May 2024

    Enforcement

    The Italian Competition Authority fined Mooney S.p.A. and Mooney Group S.p.A. EUR 2.52 million jointly for unfair commercial practices involving the Card product.

    [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/20240529_Press-Release-Mooney_Order-issued-by-Italian-Competition-Authority.pdf)

6.  Apr 2024

    Enforcement

    The Bank of Italy barred the firm from issuing new payment cards and opening related accounts until it fixed AML deficiencies, and opened sanction proceedings.

    [mooneygroup.it ↗](https://mooneygroup.it/wp-content/uploads/2024/04/20240415_Press-Release-Mooney-order-issued-by-Bank-of-Italy.pdf)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** 06529501006
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** [815600F590879571B665 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/815600F590879571B665)
- **How the LEI was matched:** Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- **Elucidate firm ID:** 304865c7b5ab

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Card acquiring - E-money / stored value
- **Licensed in:** [Italy](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/it) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2018-01-14

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

- **Direct parent:** Mooney Group S.P.A. · Italy[815600A354E81B97D398 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/815600A354E81B97D398)

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** VIA PRIVATA NINO BONNET 6/A, MILANO, 20154
- **Country:** Italy

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address, with its LEI
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>815600F590879571B665</LEI>
  <Nm>MOONEY S.P.A.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>20154</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>MILANO</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>VIA PRIVATA NINO BONNET 6/A</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in Italy

-   [Buffetti Finance S.P.A. BIC SEPFIT31 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Italy · Licensed by Bank of Italy · 07783020725 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 9845001Y5046DZ9Q8315](https://elucidate.co/directory/buffetti-finance-s-p-a-sepfit31)
-   [Fabrick S.P.A. BIC AXEVIT22 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Italy · Licensed by Bank of Italy · 02654890025 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 815600E1EFC5260F4726](https://elucidate.co/directory/fabrick-s-p-a-axevit22)
-   [Hercle S.r.l. · trading as Hercle No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Italy · Licensed by Bank of Italy · 10942550962 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500AEBA8A0HQ44988](https://elucidate.co/directory/hercle-s-r-l-406208777a1f)
-   [Monetic S.P.A. BIC MOECITR2 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Italy · Licensed by Bank of Italy · 17934661004 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 815600944FCC95982179](https://elucidate.co/directory/monetic-s-p-a-moecitr2)
-   [Tppay S.R.L. BIC TPPAITM2 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Italy · Licensed by Bank of Italy · 12511320967 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 815600001A6487168E37](https://elucidate.co/directory/tppay-s-r-l-tppaitm2)
-   [Xoldy S.P.A. BIC XOLDITM2 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Italy · Licensed by Bank of Italy · 11932890962 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 81560016DF740E487C02](https://elucidate.co/directory/xoldy-s-p-a-xolditm2)
-   [Zpay Srl BIC ZPAYIT22 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Italy · Licensed by Bank of Italy · 11865370966 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 9845005BDVBFIA9EC546](https://elucidate.co/directory/zpay-srl-zpayit22)
-   [Admiral Pay Istituto DI Pagamento - Società A Responsabilità Limitata · trading as ADMIRAL PAY IP SRL No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Italy · Licensed by Bank of Italy · 04335420404 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/admiral-pay-istituto-di-pagamento-societa-a-responsabilita-limitata-efac103ac4ba)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=IT) [Other entries on EBA-PSD2 →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [source ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Ownership and group**—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
