---
title: "MoonPay Europe B.V. · Crypto-asset service provider (AFM) · Netherlands | Elucidate"
description: "MoonPay Europe B.V. is authorised by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) as a crypto-asset service provider in the Netherlands. Licence 254900KXWAZ3B1340G26. LEI 254900KXWAZ3B1340G26. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/moonpay-europe-b-v-413c81fca285
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl)
3.  MoonPay Europe B.V.

Netherlands · Crypto

# MoonPay Europe B.V.

MoonPay Europe B.V. is a Dutch private limited company based in Amsterdam. The Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) has authorised it as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA since 30 December 2024, under reference 41000002. MoonPay announced that De Nederlandsche Bank granted the firm an electronic money institution licence on 8 September 2026. The firm is the MoonPay group's contracting entity for customers in the European Economic Area (EEA). It sells crypto-assets for fiat currency, buys them back and swaps them, directly and through partner wallets and apps.

Register status

Licensed in the Netherlands

Crypto-asset service provider · Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM)

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/moonpay-europe-b-v-413c81fca285#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **[254900KXWAZ3B1340G26](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/254900KXWAZ3B1340G26)** [Licence no. **254900KXWAZ3B1340G26**](https://elucidate.co/directory/moonpay-europe-b-v-413c81fca285#licences)

## Licences and registrations

Held by MoonPay Europe B.V. (LEI 254900KXWAZ3B1340G26). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providers](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/esma-casp) Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) | Crypto-asset service providerCrypto-Asset Service Provider | 254900KXWAZ3B1340G26 | [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl) | Active | 2024-12-30 | — | - Crypto-assets | [Search the register ↗](https://www.esma.europa.eu/esmas-activities/digital-finance-and-innovation/markets-crypto-assets-regulation-mica) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/moonpay-europe-b-v-413c81fca285#overview-sources)

Customers

35,000,000

accounts · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/)

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Crypto exchange or broker

Trades as MoonPay

- **Ownership:** The firm belongs to the MoonPay group, but the sources reviewed do not name its direct shareholder.
- **Head office:** Herengracht 420, 1017 BZ Amsterdam, Netherlands
- **Company register:** Dutch Chamber of Commerce (KvK) 93501153
- **Founders:** Ivan Soto-Wright · Victor Faramond

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [moonpay.com ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/) [dev.moonpay.com ↗](https://dev.moonpay.com/) developer documentation [support.moonpay.com ↗](https://support.moonpay.com/) help centre [status.moonpay.com ↗](https://status.moonpay.com/) status page
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/moonpay) · [X ↗](https://twitter.com/moonpay) · [Facebook ↗](https://facebook.com/officialmoonpay/) · [Instagram ↗](https://instagram.com/moonpay) · [YouTube ↗](https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9hQtWpGGNaZ8yiwFsBkRBg)
- **Apps:** [App Store ↗](https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/moonpay/id1635031432) · [Google Play ↗](https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.moonpay)

Sources · 16 pages consulted

1.  [moonpay.com/](https://www.moonpay.com/)
2.  [moonpay.com/legal/licenses](https://www.moonpay.com/legal/licenses)
3.  [moonpay.com/legal/terms\_of\_use\_europe](https://www.moonpay.com/legal/terms_of_use_europe)
4.  [amf-france.org/en/warnings/white-lists/daspcasp/moonpay-europe-bv](https://www.amf-france.org/en/warnings/white-lists/daspcasp/moonpay-europe-bv)
5.  [moonpay.com/newsroom/mica-what-it-means-for-eu-crypto-holders](https://www.moonpay.com/newsroom/mica-what-it-means-for-eu-crypto-holders)
6.  [moonpay.com/newsroom/mica](https://www.moonpay.com/newsroom/mica)
7.  [moonpay.com/legal/privacy\_policy](https://www.moonpay.com/legal/privacy_policy)
8.  [moonpay.com/about-us](https://www.moonpay.com/about-us)
9.  [moonpay.com/newsroom/funding-round](https://www.moonpay.com/newsroom/funding-round)
10.  [businesswire.com/news/home/20211122006158/en/Leading-Crypto-Payments-Infrastructure-Provider-MoonPay-Close](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20211122006158/en/Leading-Crypto-Payments-Infrastructure-Provider-MoonPay-Closes-$555-Million-Series-A)
11.  [stablecoininsider.org/moonpay-secures-emi-licence/](https://stablecoininsider.org/moonpay-secures-emi-licence/)
12.  [thepaypers.com/crypto-web3-and-cbdc/news/moonpay-obtains-emi-licence-in-the-netherlands](https://thepaypers.com/crypto-web3-and-cbdc/news/moonpay-obtains-emi-licence-in-the-netherlands)
13.  [cryptobenelux.com/europa/moonpay-krijgt-dnb-vergunning-en-opent-deur-voor-euro-stablecoin](https://cryptobenelux.com/europa/moonpay-krijgt-dnb-vergunning-en-opent-deur-voor-euro-stablecoin)
14.  [finextra.com/pressarticle/103711/moonpay-secures-mica-approval](https://www.finextra.com/pressarticle/103711/moonpay-secures-mica-approval)
15.  [coindesk.com/business/2021/11/22/payments-infrastructure-firm-moonpay-raises-555m-at-a-34b-valuation](https://www.coindesk.com/business/2021/11/22/payments-infrastructure-firm-moonpay-raises-555m-at-a-34b-valuation)
16.  [coinspectator.com/other/2026/09/23/moonpay-to-acquire-sec-registered-north-capital-in-60-million-all-stock-](https://coinspectator.com/other/2026/09/23/moonpay-to-acquire-sec-registered-north-capital-in-60-million-all-stock-deal/)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/moonpay-europe-b-v-413c81fca285#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The AFM authorises the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA, reference 41000002, for three services: exchanging crypto-assets for funds, exchanging crypto-assets for other crypto-assets and transferring crypto-assets. The authorisation is passported across the EEA. The firm announced that De Nederlandsche Bank granted it an electronic money institution licence on 8 September 2026.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) Netherlands | Crypto-asset service provider authorisation under MiCA | 41000002 | In its own name | Active | [moonpay.com ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/legal/licenses) |
| De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands | Electronic money institution licence | — | In its own name | Active | — |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/moonpay-europe-b-v-413c81fca285#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsUnder its EU terms, customers' MoonPay Balance funds are held by a Dutch foundation, registered with the Chamber of Commerce under 96164638. The foundation acts as a bankruptcy-remote custodian and shields the funds from claims by the firm's creditors. [moonpay.com ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/legal/terms_of_use_europe)
- **Crypto-asset custody:** Non-custodial: customers hold their own keysThe firm says it does not take custody of customers' crypto-assets, which are delivered to a wallet address the customer supplies. Custody is not among its AFM-authorised services. [moonpay.com ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/newsroom/mica-what-it-means-for-eu-crypto-holders)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** Visa Access not stated [moonpay.com ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/) Mastercard Access not stated [moonpay.com ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/) SEPA Access not stated [moonpay.com ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/moonpay-europe-b-v-413c81fca285#overview-sources)

-   Crypto on- and off-ramp
-   Crypto trading
-   E-money wallet

It sells crypto-assets for fiat currency, buys them back and swaps them, both through its own site and apps and embedded in partner wallets and apps. It also offers a fiat MoonPay Balance and virtual account services.

The firm says it can serve customers across all 30 EEA states under its Dutch MiCA authorisation.

- **Sells to:** Consumers · Platforms and marketplaces · Enterprises
- **Serves customers in 30 countries:** Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Ireland · Italy · Latvia · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden · Iceland · Liechtenstein · Norway
- **Latest funding round:** Series A · USD 555m Nov 2021 Led by Tiger Global Management, Coatue [moonpay.com ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/newsroom/funding-round)
- **Total raised:** USD 555m to Nov 2021 · [moonpay.com ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/newsroom/funding-round)

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/moonpay-europe-b-v-413c81fca285#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Ivan Soto-Wright Co-founder and CEO, MoonPay (group level) Confirmed 23 Sep 2026 · [coinspectator.com ↗](https://coinspectator.com/other/2026/09/23/moonpay-to-acquire-sec-registered-north-capital-in-60-million-all-stock-deal/)
- **Executive:** Max von Wallenberg CEO, MoonPay Enterprise (group level) Confirmed 8 Sep 2026 · [stablecoininsider.org ↗](https://stablecoininsider.org/moonpay-secures-emi-licence/)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/moonpay-europe-b-v-413c81fca285#overview-sources)

1.  Sep 2026

    Licence

    MoonPay announced that De Nederlandsche Bank had granted the firm an electronic money institution licence on 8 September 2026.

    [stablecoininsider.org ↗](https://stablecoininsider.org/moonpay-secures-emi-licence/)

2.  Dec 2024

    Licence

    The AFM authorised the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA on 30 December 2024.

    [finextra.com ↗](https://www.finextra.com/pressarticle/103711/moonpay-secures-mica-approval)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · ESMA-CASP:** 254900KXWAZ3B1340G26
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** [254900KXWAZ3B1340G26 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/254900KXWAZ3B1340G26)
- **How the LEI was matched:** Published by the register
- **Elucidate firm ID:** 413c81fca285

## Profile

- **Type:** Crypto
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** Crypto-Asset Service Provider
- **Activities:** - Crypto-assets
- **Licensed in:** [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2024-12-30
- **Website:** [www.moonpay.com ↗](https://www.moonpay.com/)

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** Herengracht 420 - 1017BZ Amsterdam - The Netherlands
- **Country:** Netherlands

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address, with its LEI
- **Postal address:** Incomplete: no town published
-   The register publishes no town as a separate field. A CBPR+ postal address needs at least a town name (TwnNm) and a country (Ctry).

The LEI record in GLEIF holds a structured legal address.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other crypto institutions in the Netherlands

-   [Fiat Republic Netherlands B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R190553 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500GVWT7QULV8CR59](https://elucidate.co/directory/fiat-republic-netherlands-b-v-c74c69f778a8)
-   [Zebedee Europe B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R194916 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500B2I1LR33CAWG54](https://elucidate.co/directory/zebedee-europe-b-v-1d21b8061ba1)
-   [zerohash europe B.V. · trading as zerohash europe No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R193684 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500G7QSOMFR1GQA47](https://elucidate.co/directory/zerohash-europe-b-v-57fb2eb4b2a3)
-   [Acheron Europe B.V. · trading as Acheron | Acheron Trading No BIC Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) · 699400TPXCI7R4A0NG65 (ESMA-CASP) · LEI 699400TPXCI7R4A0NG65](https://elucidate.co/directory/acheron-europe-b-v-ea05d39ca122)
-   [Amdax B.V. · trading as Amdax B.V.|Amdax Group|Novelist No BIC Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) · 724500T7PFN30PF3ZQ87 (ESMA-CASP) · LEI 724500T7PFN30PF3ZQ87](https://elucidate.co/directory/amdax-b-v-29109a4a7e57)
-   [AvianLabs Netherlands B.V. No BIC Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) · 894500KQLQQYOD1PPX55 (ESMA-CASP) · LEI 894500KQLQQYOD1PPX55](https://elucidate.co/directory/avianlabs-netherlands-b-v-f45a52439216)
-   [Bitmymoney B.V. No BIC Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) · 724500H1WRSMD7CAS549 (ESMA-CASP) · LEI 724500H1WRSMD7CAS549](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitmymoney-b-v-81f061663132)
-   [Bitonic B.V. No BIC Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by Netherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) · 7245001BEJ6U6AUU1S58 (ESMA-CASP) · LEI 7245001BEJ6U6AUU1S58](https://elucidate.co/directory/bitonic-b-v-5df11cb30d6b)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=crypto&cc=NL) [Other entries on ESMA-CASP →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/esma-casp)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providers**—European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) · [source ↗](https://www.esma.europa.eu/esmas-activities/digital-finance-and-innovation/markets-crypto-assets-regulation-mica) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
