---
title: "pay.cetera B.V. · Electronic money institution (The Netherlands Bank) · Netherlands | Elucidate"
description: "pay.cetera B.V. is authorised by The Netherlands Bank as an electronic money institution in the Netherlands. Licence R189095. LEI 529900B5V4QGORKVA683. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/pay-cetera-b-v-a8a2af80dac4
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl)
3.  pay.cetera B.V.

Netherlands · Payments & e-money

# pay.cetera B.V.

pay.cetera B.V. is a Dutch private limited company (besloten vennootschap) based in Venlo. De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Dutch Financial Supervision Act (Wft), register number R189095. It is wholly owned by REWE International Finance B.V., the financing company and in-house bank of the German REWE Group. It provides clearing and payment collection services to businesses, mainly REWE Group companies in Germany. These include girocard clearing and SEPA direct debit collection for the REWE Pay app payment method. It started operating in May 2025.

Register status

Licensed in the Netherlands

Electronic money institution · The Netherlands Bank

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/pay-cetera-b-v-a8a2af80dac4#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **[529900B5V4QGORKVA683](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/529900B5V4QGORKVA683)** [Licence no. **R189095**](https://elucidate.co/directory/pay-cetera-b-v-a8a2af80dac4#licences) [Group: Rewe-Zentralfinanz eG](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/5299009CUQ7OPH9OIO05)

## Licences and registrations

Held by pay.cetera B.V. (LEI 529900B5V4QGORKVA683). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) The Netherlands Bank | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | R189095 | [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl) | Active | 2023-10-26 | — | - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring - E-money / stored value | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pay-cetera-b-v-a8a2af80dac4#overview-sources)

Customers

Not published

Employees

19

FTE · Group · 31 Dec 2025 · [annual report ↗](https://www.rewe-group.com/content/uploads/2026/06/2025_REWE-International-Finance-BV.pdf?t=2026061702)

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% REWE International Finance B.V.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

- **Standing:** De Nederlandsche Bank granted the firm its electronic money institution licence in September 2023. According to its parent's 2025 annual report, the firm began operating on 1 May 2025.
- **Ownership:** REWE International Finance B.V. owns 100% of the firm and is in turn wholly owned by REWE Deutscher Supermarkt AG & Co. KGaA, a subsidiary of REWE-ZENTRALFINANZ eG.
- **Direct parent:** REWE International Finance B.V., Netherlands 100%
- **Ultimate owner:** REWE-ZENTRALFINANZ eG, Germany
- **Head office:** Kaldenkerkerweg 2, 5913 AD Venlo, Netherlands
- **Company register:** KvK 85531073
- **Incorporated:** 16 Feb 2022

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [paycetera.nl ↗](https://paycetera.nl/)
- **Official social accounts:** None found

Sources · 8 pages consulted

1.  [dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R189095](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R189095)
2.  [paycetera.nl/](https://paycetera.nl/)
3.  [rewe-group.com/content/uploads/2026/06/2025\_REWE-International-Finance-BV.pdf?t=2026061702](https://www.rewe-group.com/content/uploads/2026/06/2025_REWE-International-Finance-BV.pdf?t=2026061702)
4.  [rewe-group.com/content/uploads/2025/06/2024\_RIF\_Testat.pdf?t=2025062701](https://www.rewe-group.com/content/uploads/2025/06/2024_RIF_Testat.pdf?t=2025062701)
5.  [rewe-group.com/en/investors/financial-reporting/](https://www.rewe-group.com/en/investors/financial-reporting/)
6.  [rewe.de/service/nutzungsbedingungen-rewe-pay/](https://www.rewe.de/service/nutzungsbedingungen-rewe-pay/)
7.  [rewe-group.com/de/presse-und-medien/newsroom/pressemitteilungen/bequem-schnell-und-sicher-mit-der-rewe-a](https://www.rewe-group.com/de/presse-und-medien/newsroom/pressemitteilungen/bequem-schnell-und-sicher-mit-der-rewe-app-bezahlen/)
8.  [hoganlovells.com/de/news/hogan-lovells-beraet-rewe-group-beim-einstieg-in-den-europaeischen-zahlungsmarkt](https://www.hoganlovells.com/de/news/hogan-lovells-beraet-rewe-group-beim-einstieg-in-den-europaeischen-zahlungsmarkt)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pay-cetera-b-v-a8a2af80dac4#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under section 2:10a of the Dutch Financial Supervision Act (Wft). DNB's register shows cross-border services passported to two EEA states, Germany from April 2024 and Austria from April 2025. The passported services are issuing payment instruments, acquiring payment transactions and money remittance.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands | Electronic money institution (Elektronischgeldinstelling), authorisation under Wft 2:10a | R189095 | In its own name | Active | [dnb.nl ↗](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R189095) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pay-cetera-b-v-a8a2af80dac4#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it safeguards funds received for customers either with a bank guarantee or with trust accounts, and will tell customers on request which method applies. [paycetera.nl ↗](https://paycetera.nl/)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** girocard Access not stated [paycetera.nl ↗](https://paycetera.nl/) SEPA Core Direct Debit Access not stated [paycetera.nl ↗](https://paycetera.nl/)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pay-cetera-b-v-a8a2af80dac4#overview-sources)

-   Merchant acquiring
-   Domestic payments

The firm acts as a collecting payment service provider for retailers. It receives girocard and other card payments from acquirers, collects SEPA direct debits and pays the combined amounts out to its merchant customers.

The firm serves business customers from the Netherlands and has passported its services to Germany and Austria, with its first products launched at REWE Group Germany.

- **Payment volume:** EUR 162.2mCash inflow from clearing services related to pay.cetera, as shown in the consolidated cash flow statement of REWE International Finance B.V. for 2025 Group · 31 Dec 2025 · [annual report ↗](https://www.rewe-group.com/content/uploads/2026/06/2025_REWE-International-Finance-BV.pdf?t=2026061702)
- **Sells to:** Enterprises
- **Serves customers in 3 countries:** Germany · Austria · Netherlands

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pay-cetera-b-v-a8a2af80dac4#overview-sources)

- **Executive:** Dr. Oliver Bernards Managing director and authorised signatory Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [paycetera.nl ↗](https://paycetera.nl/)
- **Executive:** Christoph Stolz Managing director and authorised signatory Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [paycetera.nl ↗](https://paycetera.nl/)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pay-cetera-b-v-a8a2af80dac4#overview-sources)

1.  Jul 2025

    Other

    REWE launched REWE Pay, an app payment method under which the firm collects shoppers' payments by SEPA direct debit on behalf of participating retailers.

    [rewe.de ↗](https://www.rewe.de/service/nutzungsbedingungen-rewe-pay/)

2.  May 2025

    Other

    The firm began operating and launched its first clearing product, according to its parent's 2025 annual report.

    [rewe-group.com ↗](https://www.rewe-group.com/content/uploads/2026/06/2025_REWE-International-Finance-BV.pdf?t=2026061702)

3.  Apr 2025

    Licence

    DNB recorded the firm's passport for cross-border acquiring, payment instrument issuing and money remittance services into Austria.

    [dnb.nl ↗](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R189095)

4.  Apr 2024

    Licence

    DNB recorded the firm's passport for cross-border acquiring, payment instrument issuing and money remittance services into Germany.

    [dnb.nl ↗](https://www.dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R189095)

5.  Sep 2023

    Licence

    De Nederlandsche Bank granted the firm an electronic money institution licence, following an application made in April 2022.

    [rewe-group.com ↗](https://www.rewe-group.com/content/uploads/2026/06/2025_REWE-International-Finance-BV.pdf?t=2026061702)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** R189095
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** [529900B5V4QGORKVA683 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/529900B5V4QGORKVA683)
- **How the LEI was matched:** Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- **Elucidate firm ID:** a8a2af80dac4

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- **Activities:** - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring - E-money / stored value
- **Licensed in:** [Netherlands](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/nl) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2023-10-26

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

- **Direct parent:** [Rewe-Zentralfinanz eG](https://elucidate.co/directory/rewe-zentralfinanz-eg-rewede33) · Germany[5299009CUQ7OPH9OIO05 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/5299009CUQ7OPH9OIO05)

The Rewe-Zentralfinanz eG group has 2 institutions in the directory, in 2 countries: 1 holds a BIC and 1 does not.

Including [Rewe Zentralfinanz EG](https://elucidate.co/directory/rewe-zentralfinanz-eg-rewede33).

[See the Rewe-Zentralfinanz eG group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/5299009CUQ7OPH9OIO05)

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** Kaldenkerkerweg 2, VENLO, 5913AD
- **Country:** Netherlands

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address, with its LEI
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>529900B5V4QGORKVA683</LEI>
  <Nm>pay.cetera B.V.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>5913AD</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>VENLO</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>NL</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Kaldenkerkerweg 2</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Same group

-   [Rewe Zentralfinanz EG BIC REWEDE33 Non-financial corporate Not on a tracked register Germany · Not on a tracked register · LEI 5299009CUQ7OPH9OIO05](https://elucidate.co/directory/rewe-zentralfinanz-eg-rewede33)

[All 2 institutions in the Rewe-Zentralfinanz eG group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/5299009CUQ7OPH9OIO05)

### Other payments & e-money institutions in the Netherlands

-   [Embed B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R190510 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 7245008QNCN73DRH1D55](https://elucidate.co/directory/embed-b-v-3350e86f06a8)
-   [Fiat Republic Netherlands B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R190553 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500GVWT7QULV8CR59](https://elucidate.co/directory/fiat-republic-netherlands-b-v-c74c69f778a8)
-   [GoCredible B.V. · trading as GoCredible Payment Services/Autobetaalservice/GoCredible Smart Contracts/GoCredible Smart Contracts Betaalservice/GoCredible Conditional Payments/Conditional Payments/GoCredible Conditioneel Betalen/Conditioneel Betalen/SmartP/SplitP/GoCredible B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R130345 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 724500VLAROLGLLIRF88](https://elucidate.co/directory/gocredible-b-v-383f3f77aa81)
-   [Mollie B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · F0038 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/mollie-b-v-c621e78ce9dd)
-   [Taxameter Centrale B.V. · trading as TMC/Htmc/Eltra Parkeergroep/Taxameter Centrale B.V./Payflux Payment Service Provider No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R102815 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/taxameter-centrale-b-v-41bea341d98b)
-   [World First Netherlands B.V. BIC WOFTNL22 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R161090 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 549300KOOW3B2WK0K818](https://elucidate.co/directory/world-first-netherlands-b-v-woftnl22)
-   [Zebedee Europe B.V. No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R194916 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500B2I1LR33CAWG54](https://elucidate.co/directory/zebedee-europe-b-v-1d21b8061ba1)
-   [zerohash europe B.V. · trading as zerohash europe No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Netherlands · Licensed by The Netherlands Bank · R193684 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 724500G7QSOMFR1GQA47](https://elucidate.co/directory/zerohash-europe-b-v-57fb2eb4b2a3)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=NL) [Other entries on EBA-PSD2 →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [source ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Ownership and group**—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
