---
title: "Pleo Financial Services UK LTD · Authorised E-Money Institution (FCA) · United Kingdom | Elucidate"
description: "Pleo Financial Services UK LTD is authorised by FCA as an authorised e-money institution in the United Kingdom. Licence 1020730. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/pleo-financial-services-uk-ltd-d9081140a474
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb)
3.  Pleo Financial Services UK LTD

United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

# Pleo Financial Services UK LTD

Trading as Pleo

Pleo Financial Services UK Ltd is a private limited company registered in England and Wales, with its office in London. The FCA authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, with firm reference number 1020730. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of Pleo Holding ApS of Denmark. Under the Pleo brand it provides e-money accounts, Pleo Commercial Mastercard cards and payments to businesses registered in the UK. Its sister company Pleo Technologies A/S supplies the spend-management software.

Register status

Licensed in the United Kingdom

Authorised E-Money Institution · FCA

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/pleo-financial-services-uk-ltd-d9081140a474#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **No LEI mapped** [Licence no. **1020730**](https://elucidate.co/directory/pleo-financial-services-uk-ltd-d9081140a474#licences)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Pleo Financial Services UK LTD. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/fca-emi) FCA | Authorised E-Money InstitutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 1020730 | [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb) | Active | 2025-05-16 | — | - Payment services - E-money / stored value | [Search the register ↗](https://register.fca.org.uk/s/) |

Trading names on the register: Pleo (FCA-EMI)

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pleo-financial-services-uk-ltd-d9081140a474#overview-sources)

Customers

40,000

customers · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://www.pleo.io/en)

Employees

800

headcount · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://www.pleo.io/en/about)

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Pleo Holding ApS

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Pleo

- **Standing:** Pleo Financial Services UK Ltd was incorporated on 16 July 2024. The FCA authorised it as an electronic money institution on 16 May 2025. It is the Pleo group's issuer of e-money and cards for UK-registered business customers.
- **Ownership:** Pleo Holding ApS of Copenhagen, Denmark, owns 100% of the firm, according to its 2024 audited financial statements.
- **Direct parent:** Pleo Holding ApS, Denmark 100%
- **Head office:** 3rd Floor, 11 St John Street, Farringdon, EC1M 4AA London, United Kingdom
- **Company register:** Companies House 15842283
- **Incorporated:** 16 Jul 2024
- **Founders:** Jeppe Rindom · Niccolo Perra

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [pleo.io ↗](https://www.pleo.io/) [embedded.pleo.io ↗](https://embedded.pleo.io/) Pleo Embedded (white-label spend management) site [developers.pleo.io ↗](https://developers.pleo.io/reference/api-introduction) developer documentation [status.pleo.io ↗](https://status.pleo.io/) status page [help.pleo.io ↗](https://help.pleo.io/en/support/home) help centre
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/pleo-company) · [Instagram ↗](https://www.instagram.com/pleo.io) · [YouTube ↗](https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQQitvQIlEgIxNyLlOgilXQ)

Sources · 9 pages consulted

1.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283)
2.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/officers](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/officers)
3.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/persons-with-significant-control](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/persons-with-significant-control)
4.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/filing-history](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/filing-history)
5.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/filing-history/MzQ4MjEzOTExOGFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/filing-history/MzQ4MjEzOTExOGFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0)
6.  [pleo.io/en](https://www.pleo.io/en)
7.  [pleo.io/en/legal](https://www.pleo.io/en/legal)
8.  [pleo.io/legal-documents/pleo-master-service-agreement-uk-pfs.pdf](https://www.pleo.io/legal-documents/pleo-master-service-agreement-uk-pfs.pdf)
9.  [pleo.io/en/about](https://www.pleo.io/en/about)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pleo-financial-services-uk-ltd-d9081140a474#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The FCA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, with firm reference number 1020730. The firm issues the e-money and the cards itself. Its sister company Pleo Technologies A/S provides the software, card production and technology systems.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Electronic Money Institution | 1020730 | In its own name | Active | [pleo.io ↗](https://www.pleo.io/en/legal) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pleo-financial-services-uk-ltd-d9081140a474#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm's terms say it holds funds received for e-money in a safeguarded bank account, separate from its own funds, and that the Financial Services Compensation Scheme does not apply. [pleo.io ↗](https://www.pleo.io/legal-documents/pleo-master-service-agreement-uk-pfs.pdf)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** Mastercard Direct [pleo.io ↗](https://www.pleo.io/legal-documents/pleo-master-service-agreement-uk-pfs.pdf) Faster Payments Access not stated [pleo.io ↗](https://www.pleo.io/legal-documents/pleo-master-service-agreement-uk-pfs.pdf) Bacs Access not stated [pleo.io ↗](https://www.pleo.io/legal-documents/pleo-master-service-agreement-uk-pfs.pdf)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pleo-financial-services-uk-ltd-d9081140a474#overview-sources)

-   Prepaid cards
-   E-money wallet
-   Multi currency accounts
-   Domestic payments
-   International money transfer
-   FX conversion
-   Payouts and mass payments

The firm issues e-money accounts and Pleo Commercial Mastercard cards (physical, virtual, vendor and temporary cards) to UK businesses. It also offers invoice payments, employee expense reimbursements and multi-currency accounts in EUR, GBP, USD, DKK, SEK and NOK. According to its terms, the Pleo savings or investment account is provided by a third party under a separate agreement.

Its terms limit the payment service to companies, partnerships and other registered entities incorporated or registered in the UK. The group serves customers in the EEA through its Danish e-money institution.

- **Sells to:** Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
- **Serves customers in:** United Kingdom

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pleo-financial-services-uk-ltd-d9081140a474#overview-sources)

- **Executive:** Paul Joseph Tarrant Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/officers)
- **Executive:** Søren Westh Lonning Director (Chief Financial Officer of the Pleo group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/officers)
- **Executive:** Adrienne Gormley Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/officers)
- **Executive:** Vanessa Ann Bailey Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/officers)
- **Executive:** Martin Richard Cerullo Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/officers)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/pleo-financial-services-uk-ltd-d9081140a474#overview-sources)

1.  Jan 2026

    Leadership

    Martin Richard Cerullo became a director on 1 January 2026, replacing Thorbjorn Fink, who resigned the same day.

    [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/filing-history)

2.  Oct 2025

    Leadership

    Paul Joseph Tarrant became a director on 1 October 2025, replacing Meredith Williams, who resigned the same day.

    [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/filing-history)

3.  May 2025

    Licence

    The FCA authorised the firm as an electronic money institution on 16 May 2025, with firm reference number 1020730.

    [pleo.io ↗](https://www.pleo.io/en/legal)

4.  Oct 2024

    Other

    The firm allotted shares on 8 October 2024, raising its share capital to GBP 1.7 million.

    [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/15842283/filing-history)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · FCA-EMI:** 1020730
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** No LEI mapped
- **Elucidate firm ID:** d9081140a474

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- **Activities:** - Payment services - E-money / stored value
- **Licensed in:** [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2025-05-16
- **Website:** [www.pleo.io/en ↗](https://www.pleo.io/en)

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** Porters Place, 3rd Floor, 11 Saint John Street, Farringdon, EC1M 4AA
- **Country:** United Kingdom

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in two address lines

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <Nm>PLEO FINANCIAL SERVICES UK LTD</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>EC1M 4AA</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Farringdon</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Porters Place, 3rd Floor</AdrLine>
    <AdrLine>11 Saint John Street</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in the United Kingdom

-   [Stonex Financial LTD BIC IGLUGB2L Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 446717 (FCA-PSD) · also on FINTRAC-MSB · LEI 549300AWF3TOHRYL7754](https://elucidate.co/directory/stonex-financial-ltd-iglugb2l)
-   [Dex International Limited · trading as DEXREMIT No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 503929 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR, FINTRAC-MSB · LEI 9845003995D06S994R04](https://elucidate.co/directory/dex-international-limited-ff2b0c01c725)
-   [Euronet Payment Services Ltd · trading as Ria Money Transfer, Ria No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 504630 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/euronet-payment-services-ltd-6f4dec33a392)
-   [Instinet Europe Limited BIC ISNTGB2L Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 140822 (FCA-PSD) · LEI 213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44](https://elucidate.co/directory/instinet-europe-limited-isntgb2l)
-   [Isx Financial UK LTD BIC ISFIGB22 Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 901034 (FCA-EMI) · LEI 2138007BDV9IRS8AYD07](https://elucidate.co/directory/isx-financial-uk-ltd-isfigb22)
-   [Western Union Payment Services GB Limited · trading as Manning House, WU No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 816890 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/western-union-payment-services-gb-limited-0741de977896)
-   [A to Z 4U Ltd · trading as SAAK REMIT, Saakpay No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 570837 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/a-to-z-4u-ltd-25c2ca0fa3b5)
-   [Allied Wallet Limited No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 900124 (FCA-EMI) · also on FCA-PSD · LEI 213800HO66BDXP716G24](https://elucidate.co/directory/allied-wallet-limited-8983cc2e32eb)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=GB) [Other entries on FCA-EMI →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/fca-emi)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **FCA Financial Services Register - E-Money Institutions**—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · [source ↗](https://register.fca.org.uk/s/) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
