---
title: "Ratepay GmbH · Payment institution (Federal Financial Supervisory Authority) · Germany | Elucidate"
description: "Ratepay GmbH is authorised by Federal Financial Supervisory Authority as a payment institution in Germany. Licence 136305. LEI 391200BLKAV4L1WNUI77. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/ratepay-gmbh-05d9d495aa53
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Germany](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/de)
3.  Ratepay GmbH

Germany · Payments & e-money

# Ratepay GmbH

Ratepay GmbH is a limited liability company based in Berlin. The Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) supervises and authorises it as a payment institution under the German Payment Services Supervision Act (ZAG). It belongs to the Nexi Group through its direct parent Nexi Germany Holding GmbH, and Nexi S.p.A. is the ultimate parent. It provides white-label buy-now-pay-later payment methods to online merchants and marketplaces. These are purchase on invoice, SEPA direct debit, instalments and prepayment, and merchants assign the purchase receivables to Ratepay.

Register status

Licensed in Germany

Payment institution · Federal Financial Supervisory Authority

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/ratepay-gmbh-05d9d495aa53#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **[391200BLKAV4L1WNUI77](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/391200BLKAV4L1WNUI77)** [Licence no. **136305**](https://elucidate.co/directory/ratepay-gmbh-05d9d495aa53#licences) [Group: Nexi SPA](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/5493000P70CQRQG8SN85)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Ratepay GmbH (LEI 391200BLKAV4L1WNUI77). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Federal Financial Supervisory Authority | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 136305 | [Germany](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/de) | Active | 2018-06-20 | — | - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/ratepay-gmbh-05d9d495aa53#overview-sources)

Customers

Not published

Employees

200

headcount · This entity · 8 Dec 2025 · [company statement ↗](https://www.ratepay.com/ueber-uns)

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Nexi Germany Holding GmbH

Firm type

Lending or buy now, pay later

Trades as Ratepay

- **Ownership:** Nexi S.p.A. controls the firm through Nexi Germany Holding GmbH, its direct parent according to the firm's LEI record.
- **Direct parent:** [Nexi Germany Holding GmbH ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/391200NFLZ9YIHHRUL82), Germany
- **Ultimate owner:** Nexi S.p.A., Italy
- **Head office:** Ritterstr. 12-14, 10969 Berlin, Germany
- **Company register:** Amtsgericht Charlottenburg (Berlin) HRB 124156 B
- **Founders:** Miriam Wohlfarth · Alexis Giesen · Michael Röbbecke

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [ratepay.com ↗](https://www.ratepay.com/) [docs.ratepay.com ↗](https://docs.ratepay.com/) developer documentation [career.ratepay.com ↗](https://career.ratepay.com/) careers site [Wikipedia ↗](https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ratepay)
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/ratepay/) · [X ↗](https://x.com/RatePAY) · [Instagram ↗](https://www.instagram.com/ratepay_de/) · [Xing ↗](https://www.xing.com/jobs/t-ratepay-gmbh)

Sources · 10 pages consulted

1.  [ratepay.com/impressum](https://www.ratepay.com/impressum)
2.  [ratepay.com/legal-payment-partners](https://www.ratepay.com/legal-payment-partners)
3.  [ratepay.com/legal-payment-terms](https://www.ratepay.com/legal-payment-terms)
4.  [ratepay.com/ueber-uns](https://www.ratepay.com/ueber-uns)
5.  [ratepay.com/legal](https://www.ratepay.com/legal)
6.  [bafin.de/SharedDocs/Veroeffentlichungen/DE/Massnahmen/60b\_KWG\_84\_WpIG\_und\_57\_GwG/meldung\_2025\_03\_0](https://www.bafin.de/SharedDocs/Veroeffentlichungen/DE/Massnahmen/60b_KWG_84_WpIG_und_57_GwG/meldung_2025_03_06_Ratepay_GmbH.html)
7.  [bundesjustizamt.de/DE/Themen/Verbraucherrechte/VerbandsklageregisterMusterfeststellungsklagenregister/Verban](https://www.bundesjustizamt.de/DE/Themen/Verbraucherrechte/VerbandsklageregisterMusterfeststellungsklagenregister/Verbandsklagenregister/Unterlassungsklagen/Klagen/2025/070/UKlag_070_2025_node.html)
8.  [ratepay.com/en/press-release/ratepay-unicredit-securitization/](https://www.ratepay.com/en/press-release/ratepay-unicredit-securitization/)
9.  [boersen-zeitung.de/banken-finanzen/ratepay-verbleibt-im-ueppigen-deutschland-portfolio-von-nexi](https://www.boersen-zeitung.de/banken-finanzen/ratepay-verbleibt-im-ueppigen-deutschland-portfolio-von-nexi)
10.  [de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ratepay](https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ratepay)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/ratepay-gmbh-05d9d495aa53#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

BaFin authorises the firm as a payment institution under the German Payment Services Supervision Act (ZAG). The EBA register lists money remittance and card acquiring among its authorised services.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin) Germany | Payment institution (Zahlungsinstitut) under the ZAG | 136305 | In its own name | Active | [ratepay.com ↗](https://www.ratepay.com/legal-payment-partners) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/ratepay-gmbh-05d9d495aa53#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Not disclosedThe firm does not state on its website how it safeguards payment funds.
- **Acquirer / processor:** Hanseatic Bank GmbH & Co KG Germany [ratepay.com ↗](https://www.ratepay.com/legal-payment-partners)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated [ratepay.com ↗](https://www.ratepay.com/legal-payment-terms)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/ratepay-gmbh-05d9d495aa53#overview-sources)

-   Buy now, pay later
-   Payment gateway

It offers merchants purchase on invoice, SEPA direct debit, pay-in-3 instalments, prepayment and a hosted payment page, all under the merchant's own brand.

According to its website, it serves online merchants in Germany, Austria, Switzerland and the Netherlands.

- **Sells to:** Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
- **Serves customers in 4 countries:** Germany · Austria · Switzerland · Netherlands

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/ratepay-gmbh-05d9d495aa53#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Sabrina Flunkert-Glinzer CEO and Managing Director (Geschäftsführerin) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [ratepay.com ↗](https://www.ratepay.com/impressum)
- **Compliance / MLRO:** Denny Axt Managing Director (Geschäftsführer Marktfolge), responsible for compliance, anti-money laundering and risk management Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [ratepay.com ↗](https://www.ratepay.com/ueber-uns)
- **Executive:** Sidharth Chugh CTO and Managing Director (Geschäftsführer) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [ratepay.com ↗](https://www.ratepay.com/impressum)
- **Executive:** Carlos Sanchez Chief Product Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [ratepay.com ↗](https://www.ratepay.com/ueber-uns)

## Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/ratepay-gmbh-05d9d495aa53#overview-sources)

1.  Jan 2026

    Other

    In a consumer association lawsuit, the Kammergericht barred the firm from charging German consumers flat reminder fees without agreement, and the ruling became final.

    [bundesjustizamt.de ↗](https://www.bundesjustizamt.de/DE/Themen/Verbraucherrechte/VerbandsklageregisterMusterfeststellungsklagenregister/Verbandsklagenregister/Unterlassungsklagen/Klagen/2025/070/UKlag_070_2025_node.html)

2.  Apr 2025

    Other

    The firm and UniCredit closed a EUR 125 million securitisation of German and Austrian buy-now-pay-later receivables.

    [ratepay.com ↗](https://www.ratepay.com/en/press-release/ratepay-unicredit-securitization/)

3.  Mar 2025

    Enforcement

    BaFin fined the firm EUR 25,000 because it lacked adequate data-processing systems to ensure compliance with the Money Laundering Act.

    [bafin.de ↗](https://www.bafin.de/SharedDocs/Veroeffentlichungen/DE/Massnahmen/60b_KWG_84_WpIG_und_57_GwG/meldung_2025_03_06_Ratepay_GmbH.html)

4.  May 2024

    Leadership

    The firm appointed CFO Sabrina Flunkert as CEO in succession to Nina Pütz, and Nexi dropped its plans to sell the firm.

    [boersen-zeitung.de ↗](https://www.boersen-zeitung.de/banken-finanzen/ratepay-verbleibt-im-ueppigen-deutschland-portfolio-von-nexi)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** 136305
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** [391200BLKAV4L1WNUI77 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/391200BLKAV4L1WNUI77)
- **How the LEI was matched:** Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- **Elucidate firm ID:** 05d9d495aa53

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** Payment Institution
- **Activities:** - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring
- **Licensed in:** [Germany](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/de) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2018-06-20

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

- **Direct parent:** Nexi Germany Holding GmbH · Germany[391200NFLZ9YIHHRUL82 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/391200NFLZ9YIHHRUL82)
- **Ultimate parent:** [Nexi SPA](https://elucidate.co/directory/nexi-s-p-a-nexiitm1) · Italy[5493000P70CQRQG8SN85 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/5493000P70CQRQG8SN85)

The Nexi SPA group has 9 institutions in the directory, in 6 countries: 2 hold a BIC and 7 do not.

Including [Paytrail Oyj](https://elucidate.co/directory/paytrail-oyj-0536cace6618), [NETS Denmark A/S](https://elucidate.co/directory/nets-denmark-a-s-583a19667482), [Nexi Croatia d.o.o.](https://elucidate.co/directory/nexi-croatia-d-o-o-d74e8c6d24d3), [Nexi Germany GmbH](https://elucidate.co/directory/nexi-germany-gmbh-3e677f003d0a), [Nexi Payments S.P.A.](https://elucidate.co/directory/nexi-payments-s-p-a-nepyitm1).

[See the Nexi SPA group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/5493000P70CQRQG8SN85)

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** Ritterstraße 12 - 14 | 10969 Berlin, Berlin, 10969
- **Country:** Germany

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address, with its LEI
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>391200BLKAV4L1WNUI77</LEI>
  <Nm>Ratepay GmbH</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>10969</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Berlin</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>DE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Ritterstraße 12 - 14 | 10969 Berlin</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

-   The address line repeats the town or postcode. Remove the repeat if your payment system rejects it.
-   CBPR+ does not accept the character ß in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Same group

-   [Nexi Germany GmbH No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Germany · Licensed by Federal Financial Supervisory Authority · 122964 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 391200IRR1BA8QTKZA40](https://elucidate.co/directory/nexi-germany-gmbh-3e677f003d0a)
-   [Paytrail Oyj No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Finland · Licensed by Finnish Financial Supervisory Authority · 21228397 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 7437003D9H4OC3YGZU05](https://elucidate.co/directory/paytrail-oyj-0536cace6618)
-   [NETS Denmark A/S No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Denmark · Licensed by Danish Financial Supervisory Authority · 20016175 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 254900BRZQKTDEMO5239](https://elucidate.co/directory/nets-denmark-a-s-583a19667482)
-   [Nexi Croatia d.o.o. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Croatia · Licensed by Croatian National Bank · IPP415 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 549300KASZN8C573DH87](https://elucidate.co/directory/nexi-croatia-d-o-o-d74e8c6d24d3)
-   [Nexi Payments S.P.A. BIC NEPYITM1 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Italy · Licensed by Bank of Italy · 04107060966 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 815600DCF6BC04F21767](https://elucidate.co/directory/nexi-payments-s-p-a-nepyitm1)
-   [Paypro S.A. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Poland · Licensed by Polish Financial Supervision Authority · 7792369887 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 2594003WN57JYPFYEG58](https://elucidate.co/directory/paypro-s-a-a468cf68fb4a)
-   [Polskie ePłatności spółka z ograniczoną odpowiedzialnością (d. PayLane Sp. z o.o.) No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Poland · Licensed by Polish Financial Supervision Authority · 5862141089 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 259400XUH7UJTU9IUT49](https://elucidate.co/directory/polskie-ep-atnosci-spo-ka-z-ograniczona-odpowiedzialnoscia-d-paylane-sp-z-o-o-2e076915739e)
-   [Nexi S.P.A. BIC NEXIITM1 Financial institution Not on a tracked register Italy · Not on a tracked register · LEI 5493000P70CQRQG8SN85](https://elucidate.co/directory/nexi-s-p-a-nexiitm1)

[All 9 institutions in the Nexi SPA group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/5493000P70CQRQG8SN85)

### Other payments & e-money institutions in Germany

-   [Voeb-Zvd Processing GMBH BIC VZVDDED1 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Germany · Licensed by Federal Financial Supervisory Authority · 123960 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 529900XGDXLEX5L16R90](https://elucidate.co/directory/voeb-zvd-processing-gmbh-vzvdded1)
-   [Boerse Stuttgart Digital Custody GmbH No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Germany · Licensed by Federal Financial Supervisory Authority · 157207 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 529900RC04FR9EHUT228](https://elucidate.co/directory/boerse-stuttgart-digital-custody-gmbh-fd1f366c6402)
-   [Bullish Europe GmbH No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Germany · Licensed by Federal Financial Supervisory Authority · 162355 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 2549008CBASK5Q680X12](https://elucidate.co/directory/bullish-europe-gmbh-a2608dc5996d)
-   [Reisebank AG BIC RBAGDEF1 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Germany · Licensed by Federal Financial Supervisory Authority · 108643 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 529900CMFR5GQHWTXY51](https://elucidate.co/directory/reisebank-ag-rbagdef1)
-   [Tangany GmbH No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Germany · Licensed by Federal Financial Supervisory Authority · 157349 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 529900WKXS5ZPJY9W498](https://elucidate.co/directory/tangany-gmbh-fe7a312a5cfb)
-   [AGw Allgemeine Geldwechsel Förster GmbH Wechselstube am Steindamm No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Germany · Licensed by Federal Financial Supervisory Authority · 110140 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 529900O3RKSCO36SCH80](https://elucidate.co/directory/agw-allgemeine-geldwechsel-forster-gmbh-wechselstube-am-steindamm-fa1df98445cc)
-   [Aifinyo Payments GMBH BIC AIPGDE82 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Germany · Licensed by Federal Financial Supervisory Authority · 156864 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 894500F7TW6DGUZCZZ87](https://elucidate.co/directory/aifinyo-payments-gmbh-aipgde82)
-   [AirPlus International GmbH No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Germany · Licensed by Federal Financial Supervisory Authority · 119736 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/airplus-international-gmbh-1514a814a1b4)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=DE) [Other entries on EBA-PSD2 →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2)

### In Elucidate research

-   [Fraugster and Elucidate announce partnership to tackle Financial Crime](https://elucidate.co/press-release/fraugster-and-elucidate-announce-partnership-to-tackle-financial-crime) 9 November 2024

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [source ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Ownership and group**—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
