---
title: "Remitly, Inc. · (FinCEN) · United States | Elucidate"
description: "Remitly, Inc. is registered with FinCEN for anti-money-laundering supervision as a in the United States. LEI 254900MONORRA8AB4X24. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/remitly-inc-97ffdc878bdf
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [United States](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/us)
3.  Remitly, Inc.

United States · Money service business

# Remitly, Inc.

Remitly, Inc. is a Delaware corporation headquartered in Seattle. The US Department of the Treasury registers it as a money services business, and it holds state money transmitter licences under NMLS ID 1028236. These include a licence from the New York State Department of Financial Services. The firm is a wholly owned subsidiary of Remitly Global, Inc., which is listed on Nasdaq. It sends international money transfers from the United States for consumers and businesses. Two of its products run under other firms' licences: Lead Bank issues the Remitly debit card, and the Remitly Wallet is provided by Stripe Payments Company.

Register status

Registered for AML supervision in the United States

FinCEN

AML registration only

[2 licences and registrations ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/remitly-inc-97ffdc878bdf#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **[254900MONORRA8AB4X24](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/254900MONORRA8AB4X24)** [Licence no. **Not published by the register**](https://elucidate.co/directory/remitly-inc-97ffdc878bdf#licences)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Remitly, Inc. (LEI 254900MONORRA8AB4X24). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [MSB Registrant Search](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/fincen-msb) FinCEN | —Money Transmitter / Remittance | Not published by the register | [United States](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/us) | Active | 2025-09-15 | — | - Money remittance - Prepaid access | [Search the register ↗](https://www.fincen.gov/msb-registrant-search) |
| [Money Services Business Registry](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/fintrac-msb) FINTRAC | MSB (foreign indicator not selected)Money Transmitter / Remittance | M15444251 | [Canada](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/ca) | Ceased | 2015-03-17 | Ended 2015-07-21 | - Money remittance | [Search the register ↗](https://fintrac-canafe.canada.ca/msb-esm/msb-eng) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/remitly-inc-97ffdc878bdf#overview-sources)

Customers

10,200,000

active customers · Group · 30 Jun 2026 · [interim report ↗](https://ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-reports-record-second-quarter-results-and-raises-full)

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Remitly Global, Inc.

Firm type

Money remittance

Trades as Remitly

- **Ownership:** Remitly Global, Inc., a Delaware company listed on Nasdaq, owns 100% of the firm.
- **Direct parent:** Remitly Global, Inc., United States 100%
- **Head office:** 401 Union Street, Suite 1000, 98101 Seattle, United States (registered office: C/O Corporation Service Company, 251 Little Falls Drive, Wilmington, DE 19808, United States)
- **Founder:** Matt Oppenheimer

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [remitly.com ↗](https://www.remitly.com/) [ir.remitly.com ↗](https://ir.remitly.com/) investor relations site of the parent, Remitly Global, Inc. [news.remitly.com ↗](https://news.remitly.com/) newsroom [careers.remitly.com ↗](https://careers.remitly.com/) careers site
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/remitly) · [X ↗](https://x.com/remitly) · [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/Remitly) · [Instagram ↗](https://www.instagram.com/remitly) · [YouTube ↗](https://www.youtube.com/@remitly) · [TikTok ↗](https://www.tiktok.com/@remitly)
- **Apps:** [Google Play ↗](https://remitly.onelink.me/94Wt/qohnph32) · [App Store ↗](https://remitly.onelink.me/94Wt/nwsym95m)

Sources · 12 pages consulted

1.  [remitly.com/us/en/home/licenses](https://www.remitly.com/us/en/home/licenses)
2.  [remitly.com/us/en/home/agreement](https://www.remitly.com/us/en/home/agreement)
3.  [remitly.com/us/en/landing/remitly-card](https://www.remitly.com/us/en/landing/remitly-card)
4.  [assets.ctfassets.net/fzn2n1nzq965/7MFQVxwZ78XPpxkG93b59V/6d178cdc9844ffa9fcc28445ff4d0a98/remitly-wallet-tos-2](https://assets.ctfassets.net/fzn2n1nzq965/7MFQVxwZ78XPpxkG93b59V/6d178cdc9844ffa9fcc28445ff4d0a98/remitly-wallet-tos-20260514.pdf)
5.  [remitly.com/us/en/home/about](https://www.remitly.com/us/en/home/about)
6.  [ir.remitly.com/](https://ir.remitly.com/)
7.  [ir.remitly.com/corporate-governance/management](https://ir.remitly.com/corporate-governance/management)
8.  [ir.remitly.com/static-files/534c81c2-004b-4415-8479-4669e2a6273d](https://ir.remitly.com/static-files/534c81c2-004b-4415-8479-4669e2a6273d)
9.  [ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-reports-record-second-quarter-results-and-rais](https://ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-reports-record-second-quarter-results-and-raises-full)
10.  [ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-appoints-sebastian-j-gunningham-chief-executiv](https://ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-appoints-sebastian-j-gunningham-chief-executive-officer)
11.  [ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-launches-global-card-worlds-first-card-built-c](https://ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-launches-global-card-worlds-first-card-built-cross)
12.  [remitly.com/blog/money-transfer/what-is-remitly-one/](https://www.remitly.com/blog/money-transfer/what-is-remitly-one/)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/remitly-inc-97ffdc878bdf#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Several models
- **Licensed firm it operates under:** Lead Bank, United States issuer of the Remitly debit card pursuant to licensing by Visa U.S.A. Inc.

The firm transmits money under its own state money transmitter licences and its registration with the US Department of the Treasury as a money services business. Lead Bank issues the Remitly debit card. The Remitly Wallet is a money transmission service of Stripe Payments Company, which holds its own licence. Coastal Community Bank issues Remitly Pay Later credit, which Remitly services.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) United States | Money services business registration (money transmitter, prepaid access) | — | In its own name | Active | — |
| US state regulators (NMLS) United States | Money transmitter licences in 48 states, plus Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands | 1028236 | In its own name | Active | [remitly.com ↗](https://www.remitly.com/us/en/home/licenses) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/remitly-inc-97ffdc878bdf#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Not disclosedThe firm does not state on its US pages how it protects funds held for money transfers. Its wallet terms state that Remitly Wallet balances are held by Stripe Payments Company, a licensed money transmitter. [assets.ctfassets.net ↗](https://assets.ctfassets.net/fzn2n1nzq965/7MFQVxwZ78XPpxkG93b59V/6d178cdc9844ffa9fcc28445ff4d0a98/remitly-wallet-tos-20260514.pdf)
- **Card issuer:** Lead Bank United States [remitly.com ↗](https://www.remitly.com/us/en/landing/remitly-card)
- **Deposit-holding bank:** Stripe Payments Company United States [assets.ctfassets.net ↗](https://assets.ctfassets.net/fzn2n1nzq965/7MFQVxwZ78XPpxkG93b59V/6d178cdc9844ffa9fcc28445ff4d0a98/remitly-wallet-tos-20260514.pdf)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** Visa Through a partner [remitly.com ↗](https://www.remitly.com/us/en/landing/remitly-card) ACH Access not stated [remitly.com ↗](https://www.remitly.com/us/en/home/agreement)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/remitly-inc-97ffdc878bdf#overview-sources)

-   International money transfer
-   Cash pick-up
-   E-money wallet
-   Debit cards
-   Payouts and mass payments

The firm sends money from the United States to recipients in other countries, by bank deposit and cash pick-up among other methods. According to the group, its network covers more than 175 countries. Its wallet, debit card and Pay Later credit are provided with partner firms.

Its User Agreement limits the money transfer service to US residents. The firm states that it is authorised to transmit money in all US states and Washington, D.C.

- **Payment volume:** USD 86bnsend volume, last twelve months Group · 30 Jun 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://ir.remitly.com/)
- **Sells to:** Consumers · Small businesses · Platforms and marketplaces
- **Serves customers in 4 countries:** United States · Puerto Rico · Guam · Northern Mariana Islands

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/remitly-inc-97ffdc878bdf#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Sebastian J. Gunningham Chief Executive Officer (Remitly Global, Inc.) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [ir.remitly.com ↗](https://ir.remitly.com/corporate-governance/management)
- **Chair:** Matt Oppenheimer Chairman of the Board and co-founder (Remitly Global, Inc.) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [ir.remitly.com ↗](https://ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-appoints-sebastian-j-gunningham-chief-executive-officer)
- **Chief financial officer:** Vikas Mehta Chief Financial Officer (Remitly Global, Inc.) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [ir.remitly.com ↗](https://ir.remitly.com/corporate-governance/management)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/remitly-inc-97ffdc878bdf#overview-sources)

1.  Jul 2026

    Other

    The Remitly group launched the Remitly Global Card, a Visa debit card issued by Lead Bank, in a phased rollout.

    [ir.remitly.com ↗](https://ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-launches-global-card-worlds-first-card-built-cross)

2.  Feb 2026

    Leadership

    Remitly Global appointed Sebastian J. Gunningham as chief executive. Co-founder Matt Oppenheimer moved to the role of chairman.

    [ir.remitly.com ↗](https://ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-appoints-sebastian-j-gunningham-chief-executive-officer)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · FINTRAC-MSB:** M15444251
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** [254900MONORRA8AB4X24 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/254900MONORRA8AB4X24)
- **How the LEI was matched:** Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- **Elucidate firm ID:** 97ffdc878bdf
- **Merged register entry:** 94cb8d6af7b5 · FINTRAC-MSB

## Profile

- **Type:** Money service business
- **Regulation:** AML registration only
- **Main licence class:** Money Transmitter / Remittance
- **Activities:** - Money remittance - Prepaid access
- **Licensed in:** [United States](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/us) · North America
- **First registered:** 2025-09-15

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** 401 Union Street, Suite 1000, Seattle, 98101
- **Country:** United States

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address, with its LEI
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>254900MONORRA8AB4X24</LEI>
  <Nm>Remitly, Inc.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>98101</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Seattle</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>US</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>401 Union Street, Suite 1000</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other money service businesses in the United States

-   [Envios Express Inc No BIC Money service business AML registration only United States · Registered with FinCEN (FINCEN-MSB) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/envios-express-inc-c0823b914930)
-   [EL Mercadito LLC · trading as EL MERCADITO MINOT, El Mercadito No BIC Money service business AML registration only United States · Registered with FinCEN (FINCEN-MSB) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/el-mercadito-llc-ca792f233581)
-   [LA Michoacana LLC · trading as La MIchoacana, DBA LA MICHOACANA MUSICA Y VIDEO No BIC Money service business AML registration only United States · Registered with FinCEN (FINCEN-MSB) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/la-michoacana-llc-aefa6462674e)
-   [Tienda El Quetzal LLC · trading as Mercado Chihuahua, Tienda El Quetzal No BIC Money service business AML registration only United States · Registered with FinCEN (FINCEN-MSB) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/tienda-el-quetzal-llc-6ced94619b56)
-   [Tienda La Bendicion LLC · trading as TIENDA LA BENDICION, LA BENDICION BAKERY No BIC Money service business AML registration only United States · Registered with FinCEN (FINCEN-MSB) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/tienda-la-bendicion-llc-c35469140f19)
-   [Umb Bank N.A BIC UMKCUS44 Money service business AML registration only United States · Registered with FinCEN (FINCEN-MSB) · LEI VNOO6EITDJ2YUEBMSZ83](https://elucidate.co/directory/umb-bank-n-a-umkcus44)
-   [Guatemex LLC · trading as GUATEMEX 1 No BIC Money service business AML registration only United States · Registered with FinCEN (FINCEN-MSB) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/guatemex-llc-810a5ad10a10)
-   [LA Azteca LLC · trading as La Azteca Mexican Grocery No BIC Money service business AML registration only United States · Registered with FinCEN (FINCEN-MSB) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/la-azteca-llc-b844c35143c3)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=msb&cc=US) [Other entries on FINCEN-MSB →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/fincen-msb)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Registers for this page

-   **MSB Registrant Search**—Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) · [source ↗](https://www.fincen.gov/msb-registrant-search) as at 24 September 2026
-   **Money Services Business Registry**—Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) · [source ↗](https://fintrac-canafe.canada.ca/msb-esm/msb-eng) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
