---
title: "Shift4 Limited SWIFT/BIC code CRXBMTMTXXX · Malta | Elucidate"
description: "Licensed in Malta: Payment institution (Malta Financial Services Authority). SWIFT/BIC code CRXBMTMTXXX for Shift4 Limited, Malta. Head-office BIC."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Malta](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/mt)
3.  Shift4 Limited

Malta · Payments & e-money

# Shift4 Limited

Shift4 Limited is a Maltese limited company with its seat in Valletta. The Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) authorises it as a financial institution (payment institution) under the Financial Institutions Act. Until 28 November 2024 it held a banking licence and traded as Credorax Bank Limited, later under the Finaro brand. It belongs to the group of Shift4 Payments, Inc., which is listed on the New York Stock Exchange and completed its acquisition of Credorax, Inc. (Finaro) on 26 October 2023. The firm provides card acquiring and payment processing services to merchants in the EU and EEA.

Register status

Licensed in Malta

Payment institution · Malta Financial Services Authority

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#licences)

BIC **CRXBMTMTXXX** LEI **[213800181YOLRJFDJF94](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/213800181YOLRJFDJF94)** [Licence no. **C 46342**](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#licences) Connected to Swift Head-office BIC only [Claim this profile](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#claim)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Shift4 Limited (LEI 213800181YOLRJFDJF94). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Malta Financial Services Authority Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | C 46342 | [Malta](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/mt) | Active | 2024-11-28 | — | - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring - Payment initiation - Account information | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
-   The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

- **BIC:** CRXBMTMTXXX head office
- **Connection to Swift:** Connected to Swift
- **Swift GPI:** Not on the member list
- **Payment schemes and systems:** [SCT](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#schemes)
- **Branch codes:** None: head-office BIC only
- **BIC first registered:** 2014-08-16
- **Last updated:** 2025-01-10

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#overview-sources)

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Shift4

- **Standing:** The firm was renamed from Credorax Bank Limited to Shift4 Limited on 25 November 2024. On 28 November 2024 it gave up its Maltese credit institution (banking) licence, and the MFSA granted it a financial institution licence under the Financial Institutions Act.
- **Ownership:** Shift4 Payments, Inc. controls the firm indirectly through its October 2023 acquisition of Credorax, Inc., a British Virgin Islands company trading as Finaro.
- **Ultimate owner:** Shift4 Payments, Inc., United States
- **Head office:** 80, Palazzo Homedes, Strait Street, VLT 1436 Valletta, Malta
- **Company register:** Malta Business Registry C 46342
- **Former name:** Credorax Bank Limited

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [shift4.com ↗](https://www.shift4.com/) did not load when checked [investors.shift4.com ↗](https://investors.shift4.com/) group investor relations site
- **Official social accounts:** None found

Sources · 8 pages consulted

1.  [lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/shift4-limited](https://www.lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/shift4-limited)
2.  [shift4.com/s4i-otc](https://www.shift4.com/s4i-otc)
3.  [shift4.com/pdf/Shift4-Limited-Limited\_Annual-Financial-Statements\_2024.pdf?refresh=20250430](https://www.shift4.com/pdf/Shift4-Limited-Limited_Annual-Financial-Statements_2024.pdf?refresh=20250430)
4.  [shift4.com/s4i-credorax-annual-reports](https://www.shift4.com/s4i-credorax-annual-reports)
5.  [investors.shift4.com/sec-filings/all-sec-filings/content/0001193125-23-263590/d560130d8k.htm](https://investors.shift4.com/sec-filings/all-sec-filings/content/0001193125-23-263590/d560130d8k.htm)
6.  [shift4.com/news/shift4-completes-acquisition-of-finaro](https://www.shift4.com/news/shift4-completes-acquisition-of-finaro)
7.  [investors.shift4.com/sec-filings/all-sec-filings/content/0001794669-25-000011/0001794669-25-000011.pdf](https://investors.shift4.com/sec-filings/all-sec-filings/content/0001794669-25-000011/0001794669-25-000011.pdf)
8.  [fiaumalta.org/app/uploads/2020/05/AP20-Publication-Credorax-Bank.-Ltd.pdf](https://fiaumalta.org/app/uploads/2020/05/AP20-Publication-Credorax-Bank.-Ltd.pdf)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The MFSA authorises the firm as a financial institution under the Financial Institutions Act (Cap. 376). The EBA register lists it as a payment institution for money remittance, card acquiring, payment initiation and account information services. The licence is passported to 30 other EU and EEA states without branches, according to the Bank of Lithuania.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Malta Financial Services Authority Malta | Financial institution licence (payment institution) under the Financial Institutions Act (Cap. 376) | C 46342 | In its own name | Active | — |
| Malta Financial Services Authority Malta | Credit institution licence under the Banking Act (Cap. 371) | — | In its own name | Withdrawn or expired | [shift4.com ↗](https://www.shift4.com/pdf/Shift4-Limited-Limited_Annual-Financial-Statements_2024.pdf?refresh=20250430) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it holds merchants' funds at regulated banking institutions, separately from its own business funds. [shift4.com ↗](https://www.shift4.com/s4i-otc)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** Visa Direct [shift4.com ↗](https://www.shift4.com/pdf/Shift4-Limited-Limited_Annual-Financial-Statements_2024.pdf?refresh=20250430) Mastercard Access not stated [shift4.com ↗](https://www.shift4.com/s4i-otc) American Express Access not stated [shift4.com ↗](https://www.shift4.com/s4i-otc) Discover Access not stated [shift4.com ↗](https://www.shift4.com/s4i-otc) Girocard Access not stated [shift4.com ↗](https://www.shift4.com/s4i-otc)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#overview-sources)

-   Merchant acquiring
-   Payment gateway

According to its 2024 financial statements, its principal activity is integrated acquiring and payment processing services for merchants. Its merchant terms name Mastercard, Visa, American Express, Discover and Girocard as card schemes.

It serves merchants across the EU and EEA from Malta. The Bank of Lithuania lists it as providing services without a branch in 30 other member states.

- **Revenue:** EUR 312.4mThis entity · 31 Dec 2024 · [annual report ↗](https://www.shift4.com/pdf/Shift4-Limited-Limited_Annual-Financial-Statements_2024.pdf?refresh=20250430)
- **Payment volume:** EUR 18.9bnVolume reported in the directors' report (the metric name was not visible in the excerpt seen) This entity · 31 Dec 2024 · [annual report ↗](https://www.shift4.com/pdf/Shift4-Limited-Limited_Annual-Financial-Statements_2024.pdf?refresh=20250430)
- **Sells to:** Enterprises · Small businesses
- **Serves customers in:** Malta

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#overview-sources)

1.  Nov 2024

    Licence

    The MFSA accepted the firm's surrender of its credit institution licence and granted it a financial institution licence on 28 November 2024.

    [shift4.com ↗](https://www.shift4.com/pdf/Shift4-Limited-Limited_Annual-Financial-Statements_2024.pdf?refresh=20250430)

2.  Nov 2024

    Other

    The firm changed its name from Credorax Bank Limited to Shift4 Limited with effect from 25 November 2024.

    [shift4.com ↗](https://www.shift4.com/pdf/Shift4-Limited-Limited_Annual-Financial-Statements_2024.pdf?refresh=20250430)

3.  Oct 2023

    Merger / acquisition

    Shift4 Payments, Inc. completed its acquisition of Credorax, Inc. (Finaro), the firm's parent group, on 26 October 2023.

    [investors.shift4.com ↗](https://investors.shift4.com/sec-filings/all-sec-filings/content/0001193125-23-263590/d560130d8k.htm)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

Head-office record

- **BIC:** CRXBMTMTXXX
- **How the BIC breaks down:** 1. CRXB Bank 2. MT Country · Malta 3. MT Location 4. XXX Branch · head office
- **Branch description:** Not recorded in the directory
- **LEI:** 213800181YOLRJFDJF94
- **LEI record:** [View on GLEIF ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/213800181YOLRJFDJF94)
- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** C 46342
- **How the LEI was matched:** BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file. Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- **Register-entry ID:** 9817494bda1a
- **National bank code:** [Sort code 21142](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#bank-codes)

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Register licences:** [1 entry on 1 register](https://elucidate.co/directory/shift4-limited-crxbmtmt#licences)
- **Activities:** - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring - Payment initiation - Account information
- **Licensed in:** [Malta](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/mt)
- **Country · region:** Malta · Middle East & North Africa
- **Banking supervision:** Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- **Trading venues (MIC):** No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- **OFAC sanctions:** No listing cites this BIC
- **EU sanctions:** No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- **Country sanctions:** No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

## Addresses

- **Registered address:** 80 STRAIT STREET PALAZZO HOMEDES VALLETTA 1436 MALTA
- **Operational address:** PALAZZO HOMEDES 80 STRAIT STREET VALLETTA 1436 VALLETTA MALTA

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

- **Identified by:** BIC, with its LEI
- **Roles in CBPR+:** Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

### CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CRXBMTMTXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800181YOLRJFDJF94</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
```

### Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>CRXBMTMTXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800181YOLRJFDJF94</LEI>
  <Nm>SHIFT4 LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>VALLETTA</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>MT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>80 STRAIT STREET PALAZZO HOMEDES VALLETTA 1436</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

## Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2018-01-08 | Head office | — |

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

## National bank codes

### Sort code · Malta

1 code file of 2026-09-29

| Code | Routes to BIC | Name in the national file | City |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 21142 | CRXBMTMT | Credorax Bank Ltd. | Valletta |

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in Malta

-   [Bequant Pro Limited · trading as Bequant No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Malta · Licensed by Malta Financial Services Authority · C88065 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 213800Y834JOMU87Z285](https://elucidate.co/directory/bequant-pro-limited-a17d8ecce632)
-   [CF Technologies LTD · trading as Xcoins No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Malta · Licensed by Malta Financial Services Authority · C87860 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 98450091A6D61FB36406](https://elucidate.co/directory/cf-technologies-ltd-797a942bd2b4)
-   [Damex Digital LTD · trading as DAMEX | DAMEX.IO, Damex No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Malta · Licensed by Malta Financial Services Authority · C110325 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 9845008E8QA4CCFE5F68](https://elucidate.co/directory/damex-digital-ltd-9df49b5898ec)
-   [FalconX Limited · trading as FalconX No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Malta · Licensed by Malta Financial Services Authority · C88950 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500F6A0762F9LA923](https://elucidate.co/directory/falconx-limited-d6cfce8aeb99)
-   [Finance Incorporated Limited BIC PYMXMTMT Payments & e-money Prudential licence Malta · Licensed by Malta Financial Services Authority · C55838 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 213800LV3887OL9JK947](https://elucidate.co/directory/finance-incorporated-limited-pymxmtmt)
-   [Foris DAX MT Limited · trading as Crypto.com No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Malta · Licensed by Malta Financial Services Authority · C 88392 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 2549005CVR5HH70FDO07](https://elucidate.co/directory/foris-dax-mt-limited-e03fe635da50)
-   [Gate Technology Limited · trading as Gate No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Malta · Licensed by Malta Financial Services Authority · C 89337 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500D6A0F945BB5A15](https://elucidate.co/directory/gate-technology-limited-d127a0cb9ae6)
-   [Moneybase LTD BIC CCUHMTMT Payments & e-money Prudential licence Malta · Licensed by Malta Financial Services Authority · C87193 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 391200JN2V0ATIUTT988](https://elucidate.co/directory/moneybase-ltd-ccuhmtmt)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=MT)

Claim this profile

## Work at Shift4 Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

1.  01 **Submit** Tell us who you are, using your work email.
2.  02 **We verify** We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
3.  03 **Profile claimed** The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Credits for this page

-   **Payment schemes and systems**—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate.
-   **National bank codes**—Malta (Source: Central Bank of Malta).
-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
