---
title: "Sibs Pagamentos, S.A. SWIFT/BIC code SIAOPTP1XXX · Portugal | Elucidate"
description: "Licensed in Portugal: Payment institution (Bank of Portugal). SWIFT/BIC code SIAOPTP1XXX for Sibs Pagamentos, S.A., Portugal. Head-office BIC."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Portugal](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/pt)
3.  Sibs Pagamentos, S.A.

![SIBS logo](https://elucidate.co/images/banks/c6/c65e3f4433ae8b7f.svg)

Portugal · Payments & e-money

# Sibs Pagamentos, S.A.

SIBS Pagamentos is a Portuguese sociedade anónima (public limited company). Banco de Portugal authorises it as a payment institution under IF code 8703, and it has operated since 5 May 2011. The SIBS group, owner of the Multibanco network and MB WAY, set it up in 2011 to hold the group's acquiring business. SIBS SGPS, S.A. owns all of it. It acquires card payments for merchants at points of sale and online, and card withdrawals at ATMs. It serves merchants in Portugal and in other European markets.

Register status

Licensed in Portugal

Payment institution · Bank of Portugal

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1#licences)

BIC **SIAOPTP1XXX** LEI **[213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69)** [Licence no. **8703**](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1#licences) Passive participant (no connection) Head-office BIC only [Group: Sibs - Sgps, S.A.](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/2138008D1ALX65NCVO62) [Claim this profile](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1#claim)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Sibs Pagamentos, S.A. (LEI 213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Bank of Portugal Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 8703 | [Portugal](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/pt) | Active | 2011-05-05 | — | - Payment services - Card acquiring | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
-   The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

- **BIC:** SIAOPTP1XXX head office
- **Connection to Swift:** Passive participant (no connection)
- **Swift GPI:** Not on the member list
- **Payment schemes and systems:** No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- **Branch codes:** None: head-office BIC only
- **BIC first registered:** 2017-01-07
- **Last updated:** 2018-01-06

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1#overview-sources)

Customers

Not published

Employees

5

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2024 · [annual report ↗](https://www.corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf)

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% SIBS - SGPS, S.A.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as SIBS

- **Ownership:** SIBS SGPS, S.A. holds 100% of the firm's share capital. According to press reports, Portuguese banks own SIBS SGPS.
- **Direct parent:** [SIBS - SGPS, S.A. ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/2138008D1ALX65NCVO62), Portugal 100%
- **Head office:** Alfrapark, Edifício E, Estrada de Alfragide, nº67, 2610-008 Amadora, Portugal
- **Company register:** Conservatória do Registo Comercial de Lisboa / NIPC 509 776 965
- **Incorporated:** 2011

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [sibs.com ↗](https://www.sibs.com/) [corporate.sibs.com ↗](https://www.corporate.sibs.com/) SIBS group corporate site, which publishes the entity's annual reports
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/sibs/) · [X ↗](https://twitter.com/multibanco) · [YouTube ↗](https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCIDsAQPhJNxxqvP4-dJpmQ)

Sources · 9 pages consulted

1.  [bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/sibs-pagamentos-sa](https://www.bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/sibs-pagamentos-sa)
2.  [lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/sibs-pagamentos-s-a](https://www.lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/sibs-pagamentos-s-a)
3.  [corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf](https://www.corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf)
4.  [sibs.com/](https://www.sibs.com/)
5.  [sibs.com/acquiring-services/](https://www.sibs.com/acquiring-services/)
6.  [eco.sapo.pt/2026/04/06/novo-ceo-da-sibs-toma-posse-com-desafios-exigentes-pela-frente/](https://eco.sapo.pt/2026/04/06/novo-ceo-da-sibs-toma-posse-com-desafios-exigentes-pela-frente/)
7.  [dinheirovivo.dn.pt/empresas/grupo-sibs-anuncia-joo-mello-franco-como-presidente-da-comisso-executiva](https://dinheirovivo.dn.pt/empresas/grupo-sibs-anuncia-joo-mello-franco-como-presidente-da-comisso-executiva)
8.  [eco.sapo.pt/2024/03/19/sibs-vai-contestar-coima-de-14-milhoes-aplicada-pela-concorrencia/](https://eco.sapo.pt/2024/03/19/sibs-vai-contestar-coima-de-14-milhoes-aplicada-pela-concorrencia/)
9.  [publico.pt/2024/03/19/economia/noticia/sibs-recebe-multa-139-milhoes-abuso-posicao-dominante-2084091](https://www.publico.pt/2024/03/19/economia/noticia/sibs-recebe-multa-139-milhoes-abuso-posicao-dominante-2084091)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

Banco de Portugal authorises the firm as a payment institution under IF code 8703. The authorisation covers payment services and card acquiring. The firm provides services in other EU states under the EU freedom to provide services, for example in Lithuania without a branch.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Banco de Portugal Portugal | Payment institution | 8703 | In its own name | Active | [bportugal.pt ↗](https://www.bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/sibs-pagamentos-sa) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Not disclosedThe firm does not publish how it protects merchants' funds. Its 2024 accounts state that it holds restricted bank deposits for its acquiring business at Millennium BCP and Caixa Geral de Depósitos. [corporate.sibs.com ↗](https://www.corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf)
- **Deposit-holding bank:** Banco Comercial Português (Millennium BCP) Portugal [corporate.sibs.com ↗](https://www.corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf)
- **Deposit-holding bank:** Caixa Geral de Depósitos Portugal [corporate.sibs.com ↗](https://www.corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** MB (Multibanco scheme) Access not stated [corporate.sibs.com ↗](https://www.corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf) Visa Access not stated [sibs.com ↗](https://www.sibs.com/acquiring-services/) Mastercard Access not stated [sibs.com ↗](https://www.sibs.com/acquiring-services/) UnionPay International (UPI) Access not stated [sibs.com ↗](https://www.sibs.com/acquiring-services/) Diners Club Access not stated [sibs.com ↗](https://www.sibs.com/acquiring-services/)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1#overview-sources)

-   Merchant acquiring
-   Payment gateway

The firm acquires card payments at physical and online points of sale and card withdrawals at ATMs, and offers dynamic currency conversion (DCC).

According to its 2024 report, it operates in Portugal, Romania, Poland, France and the Netherlands, and the SIBS website also lists Spain for acquiring. The Bank of Lithuania lists it as providing services in Lithuania without a branch.

- **Revenue:** EUR 55mThis entity · 31 Dec 2024 · [annual report ↗](https://www.corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf)
- **Payment volume:** EUR 2.71bnValue of card transactions accepted in the e-commerce channel (digital POS) This entity · 31 Dec 2024 · [annual report ↗](https://www.corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf)
- **Sells to:** Enterprises · Small businesses
- **Serves customers in 7 countries:** Portugal · Spain · France · Poland · Romania · Netherlands · Lithuania

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1#overview-sources)

- **Chair:** Hélder Pereira Neves President of the Board of Directors Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [bportugal.pt ↗](https://www.bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/sibs-pagamentos-sa)
- **Executive:** Ana Teresa Carvalho Mesquita Borba da Silva Member of the Board of Directors Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [bportugal.pt ↗](https://www.bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/sibs-pagamentos-sa)
- **Executive:** Rui Filipe Carvalho Diogo Mendonça de Lima Member of the Board of Directors Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [bportugal.pt ↗](https://www.bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/sibs-pagamentos-sa)
- **Executive:** Ricardo Sandro de Chaves Madeira Member of the Board of Directors Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [bportugal.pt ↗](https://www.bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/sibs-pagamentos-sa)

## Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1#overview-sources)

1.  Apr 2026

    Leadership

    The SIBS group co-opted João Mello Franco as chief executive of the group, with Vítor Fernandes remaining chairman.

    [eco.sapo.pt ↗](https://eco.sapo.pt/2026/04/06/novo-ceo-da-sibs-toma-posse-com-desafios-exigentes-pela-frente/)

2.  Sep 2025

    Leadership

    Madalena Cascais Tomé, group chief executive and chair of the firm's board in 2024, left SIBS to join Worldline.

    [dinheirovivo.dn.pt ↗](https://dinheirovivo.dn.pt/empresas/grupo-sibs-anuncia-joo-mello-franco-como-presidente-da-comisso-executiva)

3.  Dec 2024

    Other

    The firm began e-commerce acquiring in Romania with its first local client, according to its 2024 annual report.

    [corporate.sibs.com ↗](https://www.corporate.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/07/Relatorio-e-Contas-SIBS-Pagamentos-2024.pdf)

4.  Mar 2024

    Enforcement

    Portugal's Competition Authority fined the SIBS group EUR 13,869,000 for tying processing to scheme access. The decision named four sister companies, not this firm.

    [eco.sapo.pt ↗](https://eco.sapo.pt/2024/03/19/sibs-vai-contestar-coima-de-14-milhoes-aplicada-pela-concorrencia/)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

Head-office record

- **BIC:** SIAOPTP1XXX
- **How the BIC breaks down:** 1. SIAO Bank 2. PT Country · Portugal 3. P1 Location · passive 4. XXX Branch · head office
- **Branch description:** Not recorded in the directory
- **LEI:** 213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69
- **LEI record:** [View on GLEIF ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69)
- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** 8703
- **How the LEI was matched:** BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file. Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only.
- **Register-entry ID:** 3384694c0194

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Register licences:** [1 entry on 1 register](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-pagamentos-s-a-siaoptp1#licences)
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Card acquiring
- **Licensed in:** [Portugal](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/pt)
- **Country · region:** Portugal · Europe & Central Asia
- **Banking supervision:** Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- **Trading venues (MIC):** No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- **OFAC sanctions:** No listing cites this BIC
- **EU sanctions:** No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- **Country sanctions:** No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

- **Direct parent:** Sibs - Sgps, S.A. · Portugal[2138008D1ALX65NCVO62 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/2138008D1ALX65NCVO62)

The Sibs - Sgps, S.A. group has 2 institutions in the directory, in 1 country: all hold a BIC.

Including [Sibs Forward Payment Solutions SA](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-forward-payment-solutions-sa-sisrptp1).

[See the Sibs - Sgps, S.A. group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/2138008D1ALX65NCVO62)

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

## Addresses

- **Registered address:** EDIFICIO DA BOLSA FLOOR 13 RUA SOEIRO PEREIRA GOMES 1 LISBON 1649-031 PORTUGAL
- **Operational address:** EDIFICIO DA BOLSA LOTE 1 FLOOR 13 RUA SOEIRO PEREIRA GOMES LISBON 1649-031 LISBON PORTUGAL

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

- **Identified by:** BIC, with its LEI
- **Roles in CBPR+:** Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

### CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SIAOPTP1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
```

### Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SIAOPTP1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800EFKXASBIQ5IR69</LEI>
  <Nm>SIBS PAGAMENTOS, S.A.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>LISBON</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>PT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>EDIFICIO DA BOLSA FLOOR 13 RUA SOEIRO PEREIRA GOMES 1 LISBON 1649-031</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Same group

-   [Sibs Forward Payment Solutions SA BIC SISRPTP1 Financial institution Not on a tracked register Portugal · Not on a tracked register · LEI 21380018Q5GTQD6REI36](https://elucidate.co/directory/sibs-forward-payment-solutions-sa-sisrptp1)

[All 2 institutions in the Sibs - Sgps, S.A. group →](https://elucidate.co/directory/group/2138008D1ALX65NCVO62)

### Other payments & e-money institutions in Portugal

-   [ALTICE Pay, S.A. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8705 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 894500VERWYG8KWKTX87](https://elucidate.co/directory/altice-pay-s-a-b2d02fff188a)
-   [Easypay Instituição DE Pagamento, Lda No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8706 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 984500BBF9WC71D0SC15](https://elucidate.co/directory/easypay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-8c7fc49e20a0)
-   [Eupago - Instituição de Pagamento Lda · trading as Eupago No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8709 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 2549000UHD22MXB5N107](https://elucidate.co/directory/eupago-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-0cd00b772632)
-   [Ifthenpay Lda BIC IFLDPTP2 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8707 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 9845001E48WI813CF323](https://elucidate.co/directory/ifthenpay-lda-ifldptp2)
-   [Lusopay Instituicao de Pagamento, Lda BIC LIPDPTP2 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8700 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 213800ALAYXML9EXV983](https://elucidate.co/directory/lusopay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-lipdptp2)
-   [Martrust Europe, S.A. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 7501 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 254900RPJ55VFMEXE244](https://elucidate.co/directory/martrust-europe-s-a-50d2cefcc9ed)
-   [Maxpay-Instituição DE Pagamento, Lda No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 8708 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 95980073F0FK1Y3ESG25](https://elucidate.co/directory/maxpay-instituicao-de-pagamento-lda-eb143b888331)
-   [NovaCâmbios - Instituição de Pagamento, S.A. No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Portugal · Licensed by Bank of Portugal · 812 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 213800ORPQK2H6XH7348](https://elucidate.co/directory/novacambios-instituicao-de-pagamento-s-a-58d98852de91)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=PT)

Claim this profile

## Work at Sibs Pagamentos, S.A.?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

1.  01 **Submit** Tell us who you are, using your work email.
2.  02 **We verify** We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
3.  03 **Profile claimed** The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Credits for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Ownership and group**—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
-   **Images**—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: [sibs.com](https://www.sibs.com/) (official website) · [original](https://www.sibs.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/Logos-02-hor-pos.svg).

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
