---
title: "Smart Currency Exchange Limited SWIFT/BIC code SCEHGB2LXXX · United Kingdom | Elucidate"
description: "Licensed in the United Kingdom: Authorised Payment Institution (FCA). SWIFT/BIC code SCEHGB2LXXX for Smart Currency Exchange Limited, United Kingdom."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb)
3.  Smart Currency Exchange Limited

![Smart Currency Exchange logo](https://elucidate.co/images/banks/f2/f2a96b04b12945be.svg)

United Kingdom · Payments & e-money

# Smart Currency Exchange Limited

Smart Currency Exchange Limited is a private limited company registered in England and based in Hammersmith, London. The FCA authorises it as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017. For customers in the EEA, CurrencyCloud B.V. provides e-money issuance and the related payment services. It belongs to Smart Currency Group Limited and is held through SCE Holdings Limited. Its founder and CEO, John Charles Fairbairn Purdy, is the ultimate controlling party. It sells spot and forward foreign exchange, market orders and regular overseas payment plans to private clients. It also serves businesses under the Smart Currency Business brand.

Register status

Licensed in the United Kingdom

Authorised Payment Institution · FCA

Prudential licence

[2 licences and registrations ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#licences)

BIC **SCEHGB2LXXX** LEI **[213800PL15V1KMS75V62](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/213800PL15V1KMS75V62)** [Licence no. **504509**](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#licences) Connected to Swift Head-office BIC only [Claim this profile](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#claim)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Smart Currency Exchange Limited (LEI 213800PL15V1KMS75V62). 2 entries on 2 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/fca-psd) FCA Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Authorised Payment InstitutionPayment Institution | 504509 | [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb) | Active | 2018-03-16 | — | - Payment services | [Search the register ↗](https://register.fca.org.uk/s/) |
| [HMRC MLR Supervised Business Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/hmrc-mlr) HMRC Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives. | Money Service BusinessMoney Transmitter / Remittance | XEML00000172628 | [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb) | Active | 2022-04-01 | — | - Money remittance | [Search the register ↗](https://www.gov.uk/guidance/money-laundering-regulations-supervised-business-register) |

Trading names on the register: Smart Currency Exchange (FCA-PSD, HMRC-MLR), Smart Currency Business (FCA-PSD, HMRC-MLR)

-   Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
-   The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

- **BIC:** SCEHGB2LXXX head office
- **Connection to Swift:** Connected to Swift
- **Swift GPI:** Not on the member list
- **Payment schemes and systems:** No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- **Branch codes:** None: head-office BIC only
- **BIC first registered:** 2018-02-17
- **Last updated:** 2025-12-19

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#overview-sources)

Customers

50,000

customers · This entity · 13 Apr 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/)

Employees

144

headcount · Group · 28 Sep 2025 · [annual report ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/filing-history/MzUyNTkyMzc4MmFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0)

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% SCE Holdings Limited

Firm type

FX and business payments

Trades as Smart Currency Exchange

- **Ownership:** SCE Holdings Limited (Companies House 06366493) owns the firm and holds 75% or more of its shares and votes. The ultimate parent is Smart Currency Group Limited, and the ultimate controlling party is John Charles Fairbairn Purdy.
- **Direct parent:** SCE Holdings Limited, United Kingdom 100%
- **Ultimate owner:** Smart Currency Group Limited, United Kingdom
- **Head office:** 9th Floor, 1 Lyric Square, Hammersmith, W6 0NB London, United Kingdom
- **Company register:** Companies House 05282305
- **Incorporated:** 10 Nov 2004
- **Founder:** Charles Purdy

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/) [smartcurrencybusiness.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/) corporate client brand site (Smart Currency Business) [smartcurrencypremier.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencypremier.com/) high-net-worth client brand site (Smart Currency Premier) [portal.smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://portal.smartcurrencyexchange.com/login) client portal
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/smart-currency-exchange) · [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/smartcurrencyexchange/)

Sources · 13 pages consulted

1.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305)
2.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/officers](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/officers)
3.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/persons-with-significant-control](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/persons-with-significant-control)
4.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/filing-history](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/filing-history)
5.  [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/filing-history/MzUyNTkyMzc4MmFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/filing-history/MzUyNTkyMzc4MmFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0)
6.  [smartcurrencyexchange.com/](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/)
7.  [smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/)
8.  [smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/safeguarding-funds/](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/safeguarding-funds/)
9.  [smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/security/](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/security/)
10.  [smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/app-fraud/](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/app-fraud/)
11.  [smartcurrencyexchange.com/about/meet-the-team/](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/about/meet-the-team/)
12.  [smartcurrencybusiness.com/about-us/](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/about-us/)
13.  [fca.org.uk/news/warnings/smart-4ex-clone-authorised-firm](https://www.fca.org.uk/news/warnings/smart-4ex-clone-authorised-firm)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Several models
- **Licensed firm it operates under:** CurrencyCloud B.V., Netherlands issues e-money and provides the related payment services to the firm's EEA customers

The FCA authorises the firm as a payment institution under the Payment Services Regulations 2017 (FRN 504509). HMRC supervises it as a money service business. For EEA customers, CurrencyCloud B.V. provides the services under its authorisation from De Nederlandsche Bank as an electronic money institution. For US customers, Visa Global Services Inc. provides the payment services as a licensed money transmitter (NMLS ID 181032).

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Financial Conduct Authority United Kingdom | Authorised Payment Institution | 504509 | In its own name | Active | [smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/) |
| HM Revenue & Customs United Kingdom | Money Service Business (Money Transmitter / Remittance) | XEML00000172628 | In its own name | Active | — |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm says it holds client funds in a designated client account at Barclays Bank plc or Lloyds Bank plc, kept separate from its operating accounts. According to its 2025 accounts, GBP 9.5 million of client money was additionally covered by an insurance-backed safeguarding product. [smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/safeguarding-funds/)
- **Safeguarding bank:** Barclays Bank plc United Kingdom [smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/security/)
- **Safeguarding bank:** Lloyds Bank plc United Kingdom [smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/security/)
- **Safeguarding bank · Partner:** CurrencyCloud B.V. Netherlands [smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/safeguarding-funds/)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** Faster Payments Access not stated [smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/app-fraud/) CHAPS Access not stated [smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/legal/app-fraud/)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#overview-sources)

-   International money transfer
-   FX conversion
-   FX hedging

It arranges bank-to-bank currency transfers, forward contracts of up to 12 months, market orders and regular payment plans. Each client gets a dedicated account manager. It focuses on overseas property purchases, emigration and other large or recurring transfers, and it does not handle cash or travel money.

It serves mainly UK-based clients under its FCA authorisation and has offices on the Costa Blanca and the Costa del Sol in Spain. Services for EEA and US customers are provided by CurrencyCloud B.V. and Visa Global Services Inc. respectively.

- **Revenue:** GBP 28.2mGroup · 28 Sep 2025 · [annual report ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/filing-history/MzUyNTkyMzc4MmFkaXF6a2N4/document?format=pdf&download=0)
- **Sells to:** Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
- **Serves customers in 2 countries:** United Kingdom · Spain

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Charles Purdy Founder & CEO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/about/meet-the-team/)
- **Chief financial officer:** ![Jonathan Andrews](https://elucidate.co/images/banks/31/311670652240b341.webp) Jonathan Andrews Finance Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [smartcurrencybusiness.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/about-us/)
- **Compliance / MLRO:** ![Richard M'Crystal](https://elucidate.co/images/banks/bd/bd8566b9c0c143bb.webp) Richard M'Crystal Director of Risk and Compliance/MLRO; Company Secretary Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [smartcurrencybusiness.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/about-us/)
- **Executive:** ![Alex Bennett](https://elucidate.co/images/banks/a3/a36aa50e4cfff43e.webp) Alex Bennett Managing Director, Smart Currency Business; Director Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [smartcurrencybusiness.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/about-us/)
- **Executive:** Trevor Charnley Managing Director of Smart Currency Exchange Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/about/meet-the-team/)
- **Executive:** Jana Harris Director; Managing Director of Your Overseas Home Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk ↗](https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/05282305/officers)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#overview-sources)

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Regulator warnings

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#overview-sources)

1.  Undated

    Impersonation Financial Conduct Authority, United Kingdom

    The FCA warned that an unauthorised entity called SMART 4EX was posing as the firm, using its reference number and details.

    [fca.org.uk ↗](https://www.fca.org.uk/news/warnings/smart-4ex-clone-authorised-firm)

Entries on regulators’ consumer-warning lists that name the firm or its brand. An impersonation warning is about fraudsters posing as the firm, not about the firm itself.

## Identifiers

Head-office record

- **BIC:** SCEHGB2LXXX
- **How the BIC breaks down:** 1. SCEH Bank 2. GB Country · United Kingdom 3. 2L Location 4. XXX Branch · head office
- **Branch description:** Not recorded in the directory
- **LEI:** 213800PL15V1KMS75V62
- **LEI record:** [View on GLEIF ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/213800PL15V1KMS75V62)
- **Licence no. · FCA-PSD:** 504509
- **Licence no. · HMRC-MLR:** XEML00000172628
- **How the LEI was matched:** BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file. Register entries: Matched by Elucidate on the UK company number the register gives.
- **Register-entry ID:** d864b9fbb02d

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money · Money service business
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Register licences:** [2 entries on 2 registers](https://elucidate.co/directory/smart-currency-exchange-limited-scehgb2l#licences)
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Money remittance
- **Licensed in:** [United Kingdom](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/gb)
- **Website (register):** [www.smartcurrencyexchange.com ↗](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/)
- **Country · region:** United Kingdom · Europe & Central Asia
- **Trading venues (MIC):** No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- **OFAC sanctions:** No listing cites this BIC
- **EU sanctions:** No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- **Country sanctions:** No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

## Addresses

- **Registered address:** 1, LYRIC SQUARE, 9/ F LONDON W6 0NB UNITED KINGDOM
- **Operational address:** 1 LYRIC SQUARE FLOOR 9 LONDON LONDON W6 0NB UNITED KINGDOM

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

- **Identified by:** BIC, with its LEI
- **Roles in CBPR+:** Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

### CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SCEHGB2LXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800PL15V1KMS75V62</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
```

### Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SCEHGB2LXXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>213800PL15V1KMS75V62</LEI>
  <Nm>SMART CURRENCY EXCHANGE LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>LONDON</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>GB</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>1, LYRIC SQUARE, 9/ F LONDON W6 0NB</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in the United Kingdom

-   [Stonex Financial LTD BIC IGLUGB2L Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 446717 (FCA-PSD) · also on FINTRAC-MSB · LEI 549300AWF3TOHRYL7754](https://elucidate.co/directory/stonex-financial-ltd-iglugb2l)
-   [Dex International Limited · trading as DEXREMIT No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 503929 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR, FINTRAC-MSB · LEI 9845003995D06S994R04](https://elucidate.co/directory/dex-international-limited-ff2b0c01c725)
-   [Euronet Payment Services Ltd · trading as Ria Money Transfer, Ria No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 504630 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/euronet-payment-services-ltd-6f4dec33a392)
-   [Instinet Europe Limited BIC ISNTGB2L Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 140822 (FCA-PSD) · LEI 213800MXAKR2LA1VBM44](https://elucidate.co/directory/instinet-europe-limited-isntgb2l)
-   [Isx Financial UK LTD BIC ISFIGB22 Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 901034 (FCA-EMI) · LEI 2138007BDV9IRS8AYD07](https://elucidate.co/directory/isx-financial-uk-ltd-isfigb22)
-   [Western Union Payment Services GB Limited · trading as Manning House, WU No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 816890 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/western-union-payment-services-gb-limited-0741de977896)
-   [A to Z 4U Ltd · trading as SAAK REMIT, Saakpay No BIC Payments & e-money Money service business Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 570837 (FCA-PSD) · also on HMRC-MLR · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/a-to-z-4u-ltd-25c2ca0fa3b5)
-   [Allied Wallet Limited No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence United Kingdom · Licensed by FCA · 900124 (FCA-EMI) · also on FCA-PSD · LEI 213800HO66BDXP716G24](https://elucidate.co/directory/allied-wallet-limited-8983cc2e32eb)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=GB)

Claim this profile

## Work at Smart Currency Exchange Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

1.  01 **Submit** Tell us who you are, using your work email.
2.  02 **We verify** We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
3.  03 **Profile claimed** The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Credits for this page

-   **FCA Financial Services Register - Payment Institutions & RAISPs**—Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) · [register ↗](https://register.fca.org.uk/s/) as at 25 September 2026
-   **HMRC MLR Supervised Business Register**—HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) · [register ↗](https://www.gov.uk/guidance/money-laundering-regulations-supervised-business-register) as at 24 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
-   **Images**—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: [smartcurrencyexchange.com](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/) (official website) · [original](https://www.smartcurrencyexchange.com/wp-content/themes/framework/images/smart-anniversary-logo.svg); Jonathan Andrews: [smartcurrencybusiness.com](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/about-us/) (official website) · [original](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/media/Jonathan-Andrews-circle-bw-300x300.png); Richard M'Crystal: [smartcurrencybusiness.com](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/about-us/) (official website) · [original](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/media/Richard-McCrystal-circle-bw-500x500.png); Alex Bennett: [smartcurrencybusiness.com](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/about-us/) (official website) · [original](https://www.smartcurrencybusiness.com/media/Alex-Bennett-300x300.png).

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
