---
title: "Smile and Pay SWIFT/BIC code SMPAFR22XXX · France | Elucidate"
description: "Licensed in France: Payment institution (Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority). SWIFT/BIC code SMPAFR22XXX for Smile and Pay, France."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [France](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/fr)
3.  Smile and Pay

![Smile&Pay logo](https://elucidate.co/images/banks/0e/0ee28c6f8873df2f.svg)

France · Payments & e-money

# Smile and Pay

Legal name in the LEI record SMILE & PAY

SMILE & PAY is a French société anonyme with its head office in Neuilly-sur-Seine. The Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) authorises it as a payment institution under number 17228. It provides card acceptance, processing and acquiring to merchants, craftspeople and associations in France. Its offer covers payment terminals, Tap to Pay on phones and remote payment links. Truffle Capital incubated the firm. In February 2021 Truffle Capital, Evolem Start and business angels invested EUR 5 million in it.

Register status

Licensed in France

Payment institution · Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#licences)

BIC **SMPAFR22XXX** LEI **[969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31)** [Licence no. **500872023**](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#licences) Reverse billing Head-office BIC only [Claim this profile](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#claim)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Smile & Pay (LEI 969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority Linked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 500872023 | [France](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/fr) | Active | 2019-12-03 | — | - Payment services - Card acquiring | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
-   The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

- **BIC:** SMPAFR22XXX head office
- **Connection to Swift:** Reverse billing
- **Swift GPI:** Not on the member list
- **Payment schemes and systems:** No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- **Branch codes:** None: head-office BIC only
- **BIC first registered:** 2020-03-07
- **Last updated:** 2021-03-18

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#overview-sources)

Customers

40,000

customers · This entity · 29 Sep 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://www.smileandpay.com/)

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Venture-backed

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Smile&Pay

- **Ownership:** The firm is privately held by venture investors, including Truffle Capital, which incubated it, and Evolem Start. Current shareholdings are not published.
- **Head office:** 60 avenue Charles de Gaulle, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
- **Company register:** RCS Nanterre 500 872 023
- **Incorporated:** 29 Oct 2007
- **Founders:** Marc Le Mouel · Samuel Manassé · Didier Hallepée

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [smileandpay.com ↗](https://www.smileandpay.com/) [aide.smileandpay.com ↗](https://aide.smileandpay.com/hc/fr) help centre [app.smileandpay.com ↗](https://app.smileandpay.com/) customer portal and online sign-up
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/smileandpay/) · [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/smileandpay/) · [Instagram ↗](https://www.instagram.com/smileandpay/) · [YouTube ↗](https://www.youtube.com/@smileandpayfrance)

Sources · 12 pages consulted

1.  [smileandpay.com/](https://www.smileandpay.com/)
2.  [smileandpay.com/mentions-legales](https://www.smileandpay.com/mentions-legales)
3.  [smileandpay.com/contrat-cadre-de-services-de-paiement-smilepay](https://www.smileandpay.com/contrat-cadre-de-services-de-paiement-smilepay)
4.  [smileandpay.com/blog/solutions-de-paiement](https://www.smileandpay.com/blog/solutions-de-paiement)
5.  [smileandpay.com/blog/smilepay-la-solution-de-paiement-simple-pour-les-commerces-de-proximite](https://www.smileandpay.com/blog/smilepay-la-solution-de-paiement-simple-pour-les-commerces-de-proximite)
6.  [annuaire-entreprises.data.gouv.fr/entreprise/smile-pay-smile-pay-500872023](https://annuaire-entreprises.data.gouv.fr/entreprise/smile-pay-smile-pay-500872023)
7.  [next-finance.net/Smile-Pay-leve-5-MEUR-pour](https://www.next-finance.net/Smile-Pay-leve-5-MEUR-pour)
8.  [finyear.com/smilepay-leve-5me-pour-accelerer-la-digitalisation-des-commerces-francais\_a43686.html](https://finyear.com/smilepay-leve-5me-pour-accelerer-la-digitalisation-des-commerces-francais_a43686.html)
9.  [evolem.com/en/entreprise/smile-pay-2/](https://evolem.com/en/entreprise/smile-pay-2/)
10.  [journaldunet.com/fintech/1206789-smile-pay-leve-2-5-millions-d-euros-pour-sa-solution-d-encaissement-par-c](https://www.journaldunet.com/fintech/1206789-smile-pay-leve-2-5-millions-d-euros-pour-sa-solution-d-encaissement-par-carte-bancaire/)
11.  [jaimelesstartups.fr/news/smilepay/](https://www.jaimelesstartups.fr/news/smilepay/)
12.  [itespresso.fr/smile-pay-fintech-truffle-capital-leve-2-5-millions-euros-181966.html](https://www.itespresso.fr/smile-pay-fintech-truffle-capital-leve-2-5-millions-euros-181966.html)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The ACPR authorises the firm as a payment institution under number 17228. The EBA payment institutions register lists it from 3 December 2019 for card acquiring and payment services.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) France | Établissement de paiement (payment institution) | 17228 | In its own name | Active | [smileandpay.com ↗](https://www.smileandpay.com/mentions-legales) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe framework contract states that funds credited to merchants' payment accounts are deposited in a separate account at a credit institution. The firm does not name the bank. [smileandpay.com ↗](https://www.smileandpay.com/contrat-cadre-de-services-de-paiement-smilepay)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** CB (Groupement des Cartes Bancaires) Direct [smileandpay.com ↗](https://www.smileandpay.com/blog/solutions-de-paiement) Visa Access not stated [smileandpay.com ↗](https://www.smileandpay.com/contrat-cadre-de-services-de-paiement-smilepay) Mastercard Access not stated [smileandpay.com ↗](https://www.smileandpay.com/contrat-cadre-de-services-de-paiement-smilepay)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#overview-sources)

-   Merchant acquiring
-   Payment gateway

It provides card acceptance and acquiring for CB, Visa and Mastercard cards through its own terminals, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android, and payment links. It pays collected funds out to the merchant's bank account, in 24 business hours according to the firm.

Its framework contract states that its ACPR authorisation covers payment services in France.

- **Sells to:** Small businesses · Other
- **Serves customers in:** France
- **Latest funding round:** EUR 5m Feb 2021 Led by Evolem Start, Truffle Capital [next-finance.net ↗](https://www.next-finance.net/Smile-Pay-leve-5-MEUR-pour)

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Erwann Bruyelle CEO (Directeur général) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [smileandpay.com ↗](https://www.smileandpay.com/blog/smilepay-la-solution-de-paiement-simple-pour-les-commerces-de-proximite)
- **Executive:** Alexis Canestrier Directeur Général Délégué (Deputy CEO) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [smileandpay.com ↗](https://www.smileandpay.com/mentions-legales)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#overview-sources)

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

Head-office record

- **BIC:** SMPAFR22XXX
- **How the BIC breaks down:** 1. SMPA Bank 2. FR Country · France 3. 22 Location · reverse billing 4. XXX Branch · head office
- **Branch description:** Not recorded in the directory
- **LEI:** 969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31
- **LEI record:** [View on GLEIF ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31)
- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** 500872023
- **How the LEI was matched:** BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file. Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- **Register-entry ID:** f72e609b21d5
- **National bank code:** [Code interbancaire (CIB) 17228](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#bank-codes)

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Register licences:** [1 entry on 1 register](https://elucidate.co/directory/smile-and-pay-smpafr22#licences)
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Card acquiring
- **Licensed in:** [France](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/fr)
- **Country · region:** France · Europe & Central Asia
- **Banking supervision:** Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- **Trading venues (MIC):** No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- **OFAC sanctions:** No listing cites this BIC
- **EU sanctions:** No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- **Country sanctions:** No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

## Addresses

- **Registered address:** 60 AVENUE CHARLES DE GAULLES NEUILLY SUR SEINE 92200 FRANCE
- **Operational address:** 60 AVENUE CHARLES DE GAULLES NEUILLY SUR SEINE 92200 NEUILLY SUR SEINE FRANCE

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

- **Identified by:** BIC, with its LEI
- **Roles in CBPR+:** Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

### CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SMPAFR22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
```

### Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SMPAFR22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31</LEI>
  <Nm>SMILE AND PAY</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>NEUILLY SUR SEINE</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>FR</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>60 AVENUE CHARLES DE GAULLES NEUILLY SUR SEINE 92200</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

## National bank codes

### Code interbancaire (CIB) · France

1 code

| Code | Routes to BIC | Name in the national file | City |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 17228 | SMPAFR22XXX | SMILE & PAY | NEUILLY SUR SEINE |

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in France

-   [Aplo Sas · trading as APLO No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 878929405 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500YKHZ31GZ7AAU02](https://elucidate.co/directory/aplo-sas-d10450e1dc56)
-   [Circle Internet Financial Europe Sas · trading as CIRCLE No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 953990934 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500OYUDADGZKCR583](https://elucidate.co/directory/circle-internet-financial-europe-sas-44b976c8a384)
-   [Coinhouse Sas · trading as COINHOUSE No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 815254545 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500E5GFHK2RKF8251](https://elucidate.co/directory/coinhouse-sas-6300d2a90c94)
-   [Cometh Sas · trading as COMETH No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 892021577 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 894500R5KSX3ZKIHSA46](https://elucidate.co/directory/cometh-sas-0790176952a5)
-   [Deblock No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 948264163 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 254900XTUI35BGIBXP21](https://elucidate.co/directory/deblock-6ef351dbc619)
-   [Ezyness BIC GAILFRP1 Payments & e-money Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 522058544 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 969500LC14WDCRNTV833](https://elucidate.co/directory/ezyness-gailfrp1)
-   [Finary Sas · trading as FINARY No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · FR\_ACPR!758984 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 969500RQH18PU24DM081](https://elucidate.co/directory/finary-sas-19e286f4b6ca)
-   [Franfinance BIC FRANFR21 Payments & e-money Prudential licence France · Licensed by Prudential Supervisory and Resolution Authority · 719807406 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 969500FOY8TU4THH6S92](https://elucidate.co/directory/franfinance-franfr21)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=FR)

Claim this profile

## Work at Smile and Pay?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

1.  01 **Submit** Tell us who you are, using your work email.
2.  02 **We verify** We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
3.  03 **Profile claimed** The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Credits for this page

-   **National bank codes**—France (Source: ACPR – REGAFI).
-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
-   **Images**—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: [smileandpay.com](https://www.smileandpay.com/) (official website) · [original](https://cdn.prod.website-files.com/66c3031f5a031fbc6d3ea62c/66c33e81c08ef1dfd9139f9c_Smile%20%26%20Pay%20Webdesign%20Calque%201.svg).

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
