---
title: "SumUp Limited · Electronic money institution (Central Bank of Ireland) · Ireland | Elucidate"
description: "SumUp Limited is authorised by Central Bank of Ireland as an electronic money institution in Ireland. Licence C195030. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/sumup-limited-b74252ce0f1b
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Ireland](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/ie)
3.  SumUp Limited

Ireland · Payments & e-money

# SumUp Limited

Trading as SumUp

SumUp Limited is a private company limited by shares, incorporated in Ireland in 2011 and based in Dublin. Since 27 October 2020 the Central Bank of Ireland has authorised it as an electronic money institution under reference C195030. It is the Irish operating company of the SumUp group, which describes the Irish entity as a gateway to its European markets. It mainly serves small businesses, offering card acceptance, online payments, e-money business accounts with a prepaid Mastercard and a consumer wallet.

Register status

Licensed in Ireland

Electronic money institution · Central Bank of Ireland

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/sumup-limited-b74252ce0f1b#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **No LEI mapped** [Licence no. **C195030**](https://elucidate.co/directory/sumup-limited-b74252ce0f1b#licences)

## Licences and registrations

Held by SumUp Limited. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Central Bank of Ireland | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | C195030 | [Ireland](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/ie) | Active | 2020-10-27 | — | - Payment services - Card acquiring - E-money / stored value | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

Trading names on the register: SumUp (EBA-PSD2)

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sumup-limited-b74252ce0f1b#overview-sources)

Customers

4,000,000

merchants · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://www.sumup.com/en-ie/)

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as SumUp

- **Ownership:** The firm is the Irish operating company of the SumUp group, and its LEI record does not name a parent.
- **Head office:** Block 8, Harcourt Centre, Charlotte Way, D02 K580 Dublin, Ireland
- **Company register:** CRO 505893
- **Incorporated:** 10 Nov 2011
- **Founder:** Marc-Alexander Christ

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [sumup.com ↗](https://www.sumup.com/en-ie/) [developer.sumup.com ↗](https://developer.sumup.com/) developer docs [status.sumup.com ↗](https://status.sumup.com/europe/) status page [help.sumup.com ↗](https://help.sumup.com/hc/en-ie/) support centre
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://linkedin.com/company/sumup) · [X ↗](https://twitter.com/SumUp) · [Facebook ↗](https://facebook.com/SumUp) · [Instagram ↗](https://instagram.com/sumup) · [YouTube ↗](https://www.youtube.com/SumUpGlobal)

Sources · 14 pages consulted

1.  [registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C195030&register=63](http://registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C195030&register=63)
2.  [registers.centralbank.ie/FirmDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C195030](http://registers.centralbank.ie/FirmDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C195030)
3.  [lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/635400JUXY4CDECWNR76](https://lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/635400JUXY4CDECWNR76)
4.  [sumup.com/en-ie/](https://www.sumup.com/en-ie/)
5.  [sumup.com/en-ie/product-and-services-regulation/](https://www.sumup.com/en-ie/product-and-services-regulation/)
6.  [sumup.com/en-mt/terms-sumup-card/](https://www.sumup.com/en-mt/terms-sumup-card/)
7.  [sumup.com/en-ie/about/](https://www.sumup.com/en-ie/about/)
8.  [sumup.com/en-gb/press/sumup-limited-appoints-ceo-cfo-and-new-board-members/](https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/press/sumup-limited-appoints-ceo-cfo-and-new-board-members/)
9.  [businessandfinance.com/news/if-its-endurable-endure-it-60-seconds-with-niall-mac-an-tsionnaigh-ceo-of-sumup-limi](https://businessandfinance.com/news/if-its-endurable-endure-it-60-seconds-with-niall-mac-an-tsionnaigh-ceo-of-sumup-limited/)
10.  [form3.tech/news/press-releases/form3-expands-strategic-partnership-with-sumup](https://www.form3.tech/news/press-releases/form3-expands-strategic-partnership-with-sumup)
11.  [baincapital.com/news/global-fintech-sumup-raises-590-million-and-celebrates-10-years-supporting-small-mer](https://www.baincapital.com/news/global-fintech-sumup-raises-590-million-and-celebrates-10-years-supporting-small-merchants)
12.  [cnbc.com/2023/12/11/sumup-defies-fintech-funding-slump-with-307-million-fundraise.html](https://www.cnbc.com/2023/12/11/sumup-defies-fintech-funding-slump-with-307-million-fundraise.html)
13.  [thepaypers.com/payments/news/sumup-reportedly-explores-european-ipo-with-london-and-amsterdam-in-focus](https://thepaypers.com/payments/news/sumup-reportedly-explores-european-ipo-with-london-and-amsterdam-in-focus)
14.  [bloomberg.com/news/articles/2026-04-14/fintech-sumup-is-said-to-line-up-banks-for-possible-london-ipo](https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2026-04-14/fintech-sumup-is-said-to-line-up-banks-for-possible-london-ipo)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sumup-limited-b74252ce0f1b#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The Central Bank of Ireland authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under Regulation 9 of the European Communities (Electronic Money) Regulations 2011. The register shows the licence passported on a freedom-of-services basis to 23 EEA states.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Central Bank of Ireland Ireland | E-Money Institution (authorised pursuant to Regulation 9 of the European Communities (Electronic Money) Regulations 2011) | C195030 | In its own name | Active | [registers.centralbank.ie ↗](http://registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C195030&register=63) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sumup-limited-b74252ce0f1b#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it holds customer funds in segregated safeguarding accounts at financial institutions in Ireland and the EEA, apart from its own funds, as Irish law requires.
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** Mastercard Direct [sumup.com ↗](https://www.sumup.com/en-mt/terms-sumup-card/) SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated [form3.tech ↗](https://www.form3.tech/news/press-releases/form3-expands-strategic-partnership-with-sumup) SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated [form3.tech ↗](https://www.form3.tech/news/press-releases/form3-expands-strategic-partnership-with-sumup) SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated [form3.tech ↗](https://www.form3.tech/news/press-releases/form3-expands-strategic-partnership-with-sumup)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sumup-limited-b74252ce0f1b#overview-sources)

-   Merchant acquiring
-   Payment gateway
-   E-money wallet
-   Prepaid cards
-   Domestic payments

The firm offers in-person card acceptance through its card readers and Tap to Pay, plus online checkout and payment links. It also offers e-money business accounts with a SumUp Business Prepaid Mastercard and the SumUp Pay consumer wallet.

The firm serves customers in Ireland under its Irish licence. The Central Bank of Ireland register shows the licence passported on a freedom-of-services basis to 23 EEA states.

- **Sells to:** Small businesses · Consumers · Enterprises
- **Serves customers in 24 countries:** Ireland · Malta · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Czechia · Denmark · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Italy · Liechtenstein · Luxembourg · Netherlands · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Slovakia · Spain · Sweden
- **Latest funding round:** EUR 285m Dec 2023 Led by Sixth Street Growth, Bain Capital Tech Opportunities [cnbc.com ↗](https://www.cnbc.com/2023/12/11/sumup-defies-fintech-funding-slump-with-307-million-fundraise.html)

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sumup-limited-b74252ce0f1b#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Niall Mac an tSionnaigh CEO, SumUp Limited Confirmed 4 Nov 2025 · [businessandfinance.com ↗](https://businessandfinance.com/news/if-its-endurable-endure-it-60-seconds-with-niall-mac-an-tsionnaigh-ceo-of-sumup-limited/)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/sumup-limited-b74252ce0f1b#overview-sources)

1.  Apr 2026

    Other

    Bloomberg reported that the SumUp group was lining up banks for a possible London initial public offering (IPO). SumUp did not comment publicly.

    [bloomberg.com ↗](https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2026-04-14/fintech-sumup-is-said-to-line-up-banks-for-possible-london-ipo)

2.  Feb 2026

    Other

    Form3 announced that the SumUp group had adopted its platform for SEPA Instant, SEPA Credit Transfer and SEPA Direct Debit payments.

    [form3.tech ↗](https://www.form3.tech/news/press-releases/form3-expands-strategic-partnership-with-sumup)

3.  Oct 2025

    Licence

    The SumUp group announced that it was preparing to seek banking licences in the EU and the UK, according to The Paypers.

    [thepaypers.com ↗](https://thepaypers.com/payments/news/sumup-reportedly-explores-european-ipo-with-london-and-amsterdam-in-focus)

4.  Aug 2024

    Leadership

    SumUp appointed Niall Mac an tSionnaigh CEO of SumUp Limited. Former CEO Gareth Walsh became a non-executive director.

    [sumup.com ↗](https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/press/sumup-limited-appoints-ceo-cfo-and-new-board-members/)

5.  May 2024

    Funding

    The SumUp group raised EUR 1.5 billion in a private credit debt deal led by Goldman Sachs Asset Management.

    [fintechfutures.com ↗](https://www.fintechfutures.com/job-cuts-new-hires/sumup-s-irish-division-makes-series-of-senior-leadership-appointments)

6.  Dec 2023

    Funding

    The SumUp group raised EUR 285 million in a round led by Sixth Street Growth and Bain Capital Tech Opportunities.

    [cnbc.com ↗](https://www.cnbc.com/2023/12/11/sumup-defies-fintech-funding-slump-with-307-million-fundraise.html)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** C195030
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** No LEI mapped
- **Elucidate firm ID:** b74252ce0f1b

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Card acquiring - E-money / stored value
- **Licensed in:** [Ireland](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/ie) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2020-10-27

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** Block 8, Harcourt Centre, Charlotte Way, D02 K580
- **Country:** Ireland

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <Nm>SumUp Limited</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>D02 K580</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Charlotte Way</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Block 8, Harcourt Centre</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in Ireland

-   [Stripe Technology Europe, Limited BIC STTOIE22 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C187865 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 549300T7WU87LQYO0K16](https://elucidate.co/directory/stripe-technology-europe-limited-sttoie22)
-   [Confirmo Limited No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C570624 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500F75CJ82D8B7D76](https://elucidate.co/directory/confirmo-limited-c2a76bc67a5c)
-   [Paysafe Payment Solutions Limited. · trading as Skrill, Skrill, NETELLER No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C184986 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 213800QBQVHWRBHJTA89](https://elucidate.co/directory/paysafe-payment-solutions-limited-484fd6cb5229)
-   [Payward Europe Solutions Limited · trading as Kraken, Kraken Digital Asset Exchange (�Kraken�) No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C468360 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 254900641D8KNHUZYX24](https://elucidate.co/directory/payward-europe-solutions-limited-5d256d2fa542)
-   [Pionew Ireland Limited · trading as Webot No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C496936 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500FD0NZ8949F4363](https://elucidate.co/directory/pionew-ireland-limited-5faee6932ac9)
-   [ACE Money Transfer IE Limited · trading as ACE Money Transfer No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C500488 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/ace-money-transfer-ie-limited-a27bfe4b58f0)
-   [Associated Foreign Exchange Ireland Limited BIC AFEEIE2D Payments & e-money Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C188323 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 254900PMVMUC5G2DRM93](https://elucidate.co/directory/associated-foreign-exchange-ireland-limited-afeeie2d)
-   [Barclaycard International Payments Limited No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C155145 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 984500BCB3D03EC42C40](https://elucidate.co/directory/barclaycard-international-payments-limited-c13fc4c645b1)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=IE) [Other entries on EBA-PSD2 →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [source ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
