---
title: "TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited · Payment institution (Central Bank of Ireland) · Ireland | Elucidate"
description: "TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited is authorised by Central Bank of Ireland as a payment institution in Ireland. Licence C433487. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/truelayer-ireland-limited-0e213a91d036
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Ireland](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/ie)
3.  TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited

Ireland · Payments & e-money

# TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited

TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited is a private company limited by shares with its registered office in Dublin. Since 28 July 2021 the Central Bank of Ireland has authorised it as a payment institution under the European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018, reference C433487. It is the EEA entity of the TrueLayer group, which is based in London and was founded in 2016 by Francesco Simoneschi and Luca Martinetti. It provides payment initiation, account information, payout and bank-account verification services to merchants, which offer them to consumers as Pay by Bank.

Register status

Licensed in Ireland

Payment institution · Central Bank of Ireland

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/truelayer-ireland-limited-0e213a91d036#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **No LEI mapped** [Licence no. **C433487**](https://elucidate.co/directory/truelayer-ireland-limited-0e213a91d036#licences)

## Licences and registrations

Held by TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) Central Bank of Ireland | Payment institutionPayment Institution | C433487 | [Ireland](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/ie) | Active | 2021-07-28 | — | - Payment services - Payment initiation - Account information | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/truelayer-ireland-limited-0e213a91d036#overview-sources)

Customers

25,000,000

users · Group · 29 May 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-acquires-in3/)

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Open banking

Trades as TrueLayer

- **Ownership:** The firm is the Irish entity of the TrueLayer group, which is based in London. The sources reviewed do not name its direct shareholder.
- **Head office:** 6th Floor, 2 Grand Canal Square, D02 A342 Dublin 2, Ireland
- **Company register:** CRO (Companies Registration Office, Ireland) 671615
- **Incorporated:** 3 Jun 2020
- **Founders:** Francesco Simoneschi · Luca Martinetti

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/en-ie/) [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/) group and UK site (TrueLayer Limited) [docs.truelayer.com ↗](https://docs.truelayer.com/) developer documentation [console.truelayer.com ↗](https://console.truelayer.com/) merchant console
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/truelayer) · [X ↗](https://twitter.com/TrueLayer) · [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/TrueLayerAPI/) · [YouTube ↗](https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgCJvUI1ViLmlNzwPoRjcTw)

Sources · 12 pages consulted

1.  [registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C433487&register=61](https://registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C433487&register=61)
2.  [truelayer.com/en-ie/legal/enduser\_tos/](https://truelayer.com/en-ie/legal/enduser_tos/)
3.  [truelayer.com/en-ie/](https://truelayer.com/en-ie/)
4.  [lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/8945004TO4J8AM6VZN18](https://lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/8945004TO4J8AM6VZN18)
5.  [lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/truelayer-ireland-limited](https://www.lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/truelayer-ireland-limited)
6.  [truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-expands-dublin-operations-and-appoints-pamela-fegan-as-i](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-expands-dublin-operations-and-appoints-pamela-fegan-as-ireland-ceo/)
7.  [truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-acquires-in3/](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-acquires-in3/)
8.  [truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-completes-acquisition-of-zimpler-following-regulatory-ap](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-completes-acquisition-of-zimpler-following-regulatory-approval/)
9.  [truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/ebay-partners-with-truelayer-to-offer-pay-by-bank-at-checkout/](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/ebay-partners-with-truelayer-to-offer-pay-by-bank-at-checkout/)
10.  [truelayer.com/newsroom/](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/)
11.  [truelayer.com/blog/compliance-and-regulation/how-your-funds-are-protected-at-truelayer/](https://truelayer.com/blog/compliance-and-regulation/how-your-funds-are-protected-at-truelayer/)
12.  [docs.truelayer.com/docs/fund-your-eu-merchant-account](https://docs.truelayer.com/docs/fund-your-eu-merchant-account)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/truelayer-ireland-limited-0e213a91d036#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

The Central Bank of Ireland authorises the firm as a payment institution. Its permissions cover direct debits, credit transfers, payment initiation and account information services. According to the Central Bank register, the licence is passported to 29 other EEA states on a freedom-of-services basis, with a freedom-of-establishment notification for France.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Central Bank of Ireland Ireland | Payment Institution authorised under Regulation 18 of the European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018 | C433487 | In its own name | Active | [registers.centralbank.ie ↗](https://registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C433487&register=61) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/truelayer-ireland-limited-0e213a91d036#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Segregated safeguarding accountsThe TrueLayer group says it holds merchant funds in dedicated safeguarding accounts at credit institutions, apart from its operating funds, and has notified the Central Bank of Ireland of its EU safeguarding accounts. [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/blog/compliance-and-regulation/how-your-funds-are-protected-at-truelayer/)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated [docs.truelayer.com ↗](https://docs.truelayer.com/docs/fund-your-eu-merchant-account) SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated [docs.truelayer.com ↗](https://docs.truelayer.com/docs/fund-your-eu-merchant-account) MyBank (Italy) Access not stated [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/en-ie/legal/enduser_tos/)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/truelayer-ireland-limited-0e213a91d036#overview-sources)

-   Payment initiation (open banking)
-   Account information (open banking)
-   Payouts and mass payments
-   Domestic payments

The firm initiates account-to-account payments and recurring-payment mandates from consumers' bank accounts, shares account data with their consent and makes payouts and refunds from merchant accounts. It also verifies identity from bank data (Signup+) for merchants in e-commerce, iGaming, financial services and crypto.

The firm serves users located in the EEA under its Irish licence. TrueLayer Limited serves UK users under a separate FCA authorisation.

- **Payment volume:** USD 150bnannualised payment volume across the TrueLayer network (group statement, 'over USD 150bn') Group · 29 May 2026 · [company statement ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-acquires-in3/)
- **Sells to:** Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Financial institutions · Small businesses
- **Serves customers in 30 countries:** Ireland · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden
- **Latest funding round:** strategic investment Feb 2026 Led by eBay Ventures [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/ebay-partners-with-truelayer-to-offer-pay-by-bank-at-checkout/)

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/truelayer-ireland-limited-0e213a91d036#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Pamela Fegan CEO of TrueLayer Ireland (PCF-8) and European General Manager Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-expands-dublin-operations-and-appoints-pamela-fegan-as-ireland-ceo/)
- **Founder:** Francesco Simoneschi CEO and Co-founder, TrueLayer (group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-acquires-in3/)
- **Founder:** Luca Martinetti CTO and Co-founder, TrueLayer (group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-completes-acquisition-of-zimpler-following-regulatory-approval/)

## Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/truelayer-ireland-limited-0e213a91d036#overview-sources)

1.  May 2026

    Merger / acquisition

    The TrueLayer group acquired in3, a Dutch provider of buy-now-pay-later consumer credit. The terms were not disclosed.

    [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-acquires-in3/)

2.  May 2026

    Leadership

    The Central Bank of Ireland approved Pamela Fegan as CEO of TrueLayer Ireland. The group also opened a new Dublin office.

    [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-expands-dublin-operations-and-appoints-pamela-fegan-as-ireland-ceo/)

3.  Mar 2026

    Merger / acquisition

    The TrueLayer group completed its acquisition of Swedish payments firm Zimpler after approval from the Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority.

    [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/truelayer-completes-acquisition-of-zimpler-following-regulatory-approval/)

4.  Feb 2026

    Funding

    eBay Ventures made a strategic investment of undisclosed size in TrueLayer as part of a Pay by Bank partnership with eBay.

    [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/announcements/ebay-partners-with-truelayer-to-offer-pay-by-bank-at-checkout/)

5.  Oct 2025

    Merger / acquisition

    The TrueLayer group announced an agreement to acquire Zimpler, a Swedish Pay by Bank provider.

    [truelayer.com ↗](https://truelayer.com/newsroom/)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** C433487
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** No LEI mapped
- **Elucidate firm ID:** 0e213a91d036

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** Payment Institution
- **Activities:** - Payment services - Payment initiation - Account information
- **Licensed in:** [Ireland](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/ie) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2021-07-28

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** 6th Floor, 2 Grand Canal Square, Dublin 2, D02 A342
- **Country:** Ireland

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <Nm>TrueLayer (Ireland) Limited</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>D02 A342</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Dublin 2</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>6th Floor, 2 Grand Canal Square</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other payments & e-money institutions in Ireland

-   [Stripe Technology Europe, Limited BIC STTOIE22 Payments & e-money Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C187865 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 549300T7WU87LQYO0K16](https://elucidate.co/directory/stripe-technology-europe-limited-sttoie22)
-   [Confirmo Limited No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C570624 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500F75CJ82D8B7D76](https://elucidate.co/directory/confirmo-limited-c2a76bc67a5c)
-   [Paysafe Payment Solutions Limited. · trading as Skrill, Skrill, NETELLER No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C184986 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 213800QBQVHWRBHJTA89](https://elucidate.co/directory/paysafe-payment-solutions-limited-484fd6cb5229)
-   [Payward Europe Solutions Limited · trading as Kraken, Kraken Digital Asset Exchange (�Kraken�) No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C468360 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 254900641D8KNHUZYX24](https://elucidate.co/directory/payward-europe-solutions-limited-5d256d2fa542)
-   [Pionew Ireland Limited · trading as Webot No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C496936 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 984500FD0NZ8949F4363](https://elucidate.co/directory/pionew-ireland-limited-5faee6932ac9)
-   [ACE Money Transfer IE Limited · trading as ACE Money Transfer No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C500488 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/ace-money-transfer-ie-limited-a27bfe4b58f0)
-   [Associated Foreign Exchange Ireland Limited BIC AFEEIE2D Payments & e-money Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C188323 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 254900PMVMUC5G2DRM93](https://elucidate.co/directory/associated-foreign-exchange-ireland-limited-afeeie2d)
-   [Barclaycard International Payments Limited No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Ireland · Licensed by Central Bank of Ireland · C155145 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 984500BCB3D03EC42C40](https://elucidate.co/directory/barclaycard-international-payments-limited-c13fc4c645b1)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=IE) [Other entries on EBA-PSD2 →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [source ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
