---
title: "Vipps Mobilepay AS · Electronic money institution (The Financial Authority of Norway) · Norway | Elucidate"
description: "Vipps Mobilepay AS is authorised by The Financial Authority of Norway as an electronic money institution in Norway. Licence 918713867. LEI 54930060USJALCWWC821. Register status, licences, activities and ownership."
url: https://elucidate.co/directory/vipps-mobilepay-as-4515b6ff206f
---

1.  [Directory](https://elucidate.co/directory)
2.  [Norway](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/no)
3.  Vipps Mobilepay AS

Norway · Payments & e-money

# Vipps Mobilepay AS

Vipps MobilePay AS is a Norwegian limited company with its head office in Oslo. Finanstilsynet, the Financial Supervisory Authority of Norway, authorises it as an electronic money institution. Vipps Holding AS, which Norwegian banks own, holds 72.22% of its shares and Danske Bank A/S holds 27.78%. It runs the Vipps mobile wallet in Norway and Sweden and MobilePay in Denmark and Finland for consumers and merchants, and it took its current form when Vipps and MobilePay merged in November 2022.

Register status

Licensed in Norway

Electronic money institution · The Financial Authority of Norway

Prudential licence

[1 licence or registration ↓](https://elucidate.co/directory/vipps-mobilepay-as-4515b6ff206f#licences)

BIC **No BIC** LEI **[54930060USJALCWWC821](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/54930060USJALCWWC821)** [Licence no. **918713867**](https://elucidate.co/directory/vipps-mobilepay-as-4515b6ff206f#licences)

## Licences and registrations

Held by Vipps Mobilepay AS (LEI 54930060USJALCWWC821). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [EBA PSD2 Register](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2) The Financial Authority of Norway | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | 918713867 | [Norway](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/no) | Active | 2023-02-24 | — | - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring - Payment initiation - Account information - E-money / stored value | [Search the register ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) |

-   Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
-   Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

## Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

## Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/vipps-mobilepay-as-4515b6ff206f#overview-sources)

Customers

12,400,000

users · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · [company statement ↗](https://www.sttinfo.fi/files/69821730/72035243/382370/fi)

Employees

583

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · [annual report ↗](https://www.sttinfo.fi/files/69821730/72035243/382370/fi)

Ownership

Group subsidiary

72.22% Vipps Holding AS

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Vipps MobilePay (Vipps, MobilePay)

- **Ownership:** Vipps Holding AS, which a group of Norwegian banks owns, holds 72.22% of the firm and Danske Bank A/S holds 27.78%, under a shareholder agreement between the two.
- **Direct parent:** [Vipps Holding AS ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/254900YTR15QTEPA4P31), Norway 72.22%
- **Major shareholder:** Danske Bank A/S 27.78% · 31 Dec 2025
- **Head office:** Dronning Eufemias gate 11, 0150 Oslo, Norway
- **Company register:** Brønnøysund Register Centre 918 713 867
- **Former names:** Vipps AS · VBB AS · SpareBank 1 Newco AS

### Online

- **Websites & references:** [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/) [vipps.no ↗](https://vipps.no/) consumer site for Vipps in Norway [vipps.se ↗](https://vipps.se/) consumer site for Vipps in Sweden [help.vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://help.vippsmobilepay.com/) help centre [status.vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://status.vippsmobilepay.com/) operational status page [Wikipedia ↗](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vipps) group article
- **Official social accounts:** [LinkedIn ↗](https://www.linkedin.com/company/vipps/) · [Facebook ↗](https://www.facebook.com/Vipps) · [Instagram ↗](https://www.instagram.com/vipps/)
- **Apps:** [App Store ↗](https://apps.apple.com/no/app/vipps/id984380185) · [Google Play ↗](https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=no.dnb.vipps)

Sources · 15 pages consulted

1.  [virksomhet.brreg.no/nb/oppslag/enheter/918713867](https://virksomhet.brreg.no/nb/oppslag/enheter/918713867)
2.  [vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/terms-and-conditions](https://vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/terms-and-conditions)
3.  [vippsmobilepay.com/terms-and-conditions/no/private-user](https://vippsmobilepay.com/terms-and-conditions/no/private-user)
4.  [sttinfo.fi/files/69821730/72035243/382370/fi](https://www.sttinfo.fi/files/69821730/72035243/382370/fi)
5.  [vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/leadership](https://vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/leadership)
6.  [vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/board-of-directors](https://vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/board-of-directors)
7.  [vipps.no/news/vipps-mobilepay-naermer-seg-lonnsomhet-etter-kraftig-resultatloft](https://vipps.no/news/vipps-mobilepay-naermer-seg-lonnsomhet-etter-kraftig-resultatloft)
8.  [vippsmobilepay.com/](https://vippsmobilepay.com/)
9.  [finanstilsynet.no/nyhetsarkiv/tilsynsrapporter/2024/tilsynsrapport---vipps-mobilepay-as/](https://www.finanstilsynet.no/nyhetsarkiv/tilsynsrapporter/2024/tilsynsrapport---vipps-mobilepay-as/)
10.  [finanstilsynet.no/contentassets/84248ab49d184e48b7fd3f43c6376397/tilsynsrapport-vipps-mobilepay-as.pdf](https://www.finanstilsynet.no/contentassets/84248ab49d184e48b7fd3f43c6376397/tilsynsrapport-vipps-mobilepay-as.pdf)
11.  [vippsmobilepay.com/sv-SE/news/vipps-mobilepay-utnaemner-sverigechef](https://vippsmobilepay.com/sv-SE/news/vipps-mobilepay-utnaemner-sverigechef)
12.  [storage02.forbrukerradet.no/media/2025/03/2025-03-17-varsel-om-vipps-behandling-av-personopplysninger-for-markedsfori](https://storage02.forbrukerradet.no/media/2025/03/2025-03-17-varsel-om-vipps-behandling-av-personopplysninger-for-markedsforingsformal.pdf)
13.  [via.tt.se/pressmeddelande/4377832/vipps-mobilepay-narmar-sig-lonsamhet-efter-stark-turnaround?publi](https://via.tt.se/pressmeddelande/4377832/vipps-mobilepay-narmar-sig-lonsamhet-efter-stark-turnaround?publisherId=3237340&lang=sv)
14.  [vipps.no/news/eu-kommisjonen-gir-gront-lys-for-vipps-mobilepay](https://vipps.no/news/eu-kommisjonen-gir-gront-lys-for-vipps-mobilepay)
15.  [en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vipps](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vipps)

## Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/vipps-mobilepay-as-4515b6ff206f#overview-sources)

- **Operates under:** Its own licences

Finanstilsynet, the Financial Supervisory Authority of Norway, authorises the firm as an electronic money institution. The firm operates in Denmark and Finland through branches of the Norwegian entity.

| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Finanstilsynet (Financial Supervisory Authority of Norway) Norway | Electronic money institution (e-pengeforetak) | 918713867 | In its own name | Active | [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/terms-and-conditions) |

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

## Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/vipps-mobilepay-as-4515b6ff206f#overview-sources)

- **Safeguarding:** Not disclosedIts 2025 accounts report NOK 1,091 million of client funds held off balance sheet at 31 December 2025, without naming the bank that holds them. [sttinfo.fi ↗](https://www.sttinfo.fi/files/69821730/72035243/382370/fi)
- **Payment schemes and card networks:** BankAxept Access not stated [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/terms-and-conditions/no/private-user) Visa Access not stated [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/terms-and-conditions/no/private-user) Mastercard Access not stated [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/terms-and-conditions/no/private-user)

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

## Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/vipps-mobilepay-as-4515b6ff206f#overview-sources)

-   E-money wallet
-   Domestic payments
-   Merchant acquiring
-   Payment gateway
-   International money transfer
-   Bill payments
-   Account information (open banking)

It runs a mobile wallet for person-to-person payments, including transfers between the four Nordic markets, and processes wallet and card payments for merchants online and in store.

It serves customers in Norway, Denmark, Finland and Sweden, with branches in Denmark and Finland, and offers the MobilePay app in Greenland.

- **Revenue:** NOK 2.09bnThis entity · 31 Dec 2025 · [annual report ↗](https://www.sttinfo.fi/files/69821730/72035243/382370/fi)
- **Sells to:** Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
- **Serves customers in 5 countries:** Norway · Denmark · Finland · Sweden · Greenland

## Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/vipps-mobilepay-as-4515b6ff206f#overview-sources)

- **Chief executive:** Rune Garborg CEO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/leadership)
- **Chair:** Kjerstin Rasmussen Braathen Chair of the Board (CEO of DNB) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/board-of-directors)
- **Chief financial officer:** Andreas Saastad Chief Financial Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/leadership)
- **Executive:** Silke Øverby Chief Risk Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/leadership)
- **Executive:** Vegar Heir Chief Commercial Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/leadership)
- **Executive:** Morten Kjelsø Chief Technology Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/en-NO/leadership)

## Recent events 2 enforcement or investigation items

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · [Sources](https://elucidate.co/directory/vipps-mobilepay-as-4515b6ff206f#overview-sources)

1.  Mar 2026

    Merger / acquisition

    The firm agreed to sell its Vipps Checkout solution and related Norwegian merchant relationships to Kustom AB for about NOK 490 million.

    [sttinfo.fi ↗](https://www.sttinfo.fi/files/69821730/72035243/382370/fi)

2.  Mar 2026

    Leadership

    The firm appointed Ida Ryde as Country Manager for Sweden, effective 1 June 2026.

    [vippsmobilepay.com ↗](https://vippsmobilepay.com/sv-SE/news/vipps-mobilepay-utnaemner-sverigechef)

3.  Nov 2025

    Merger / acquisition

    The firm absorbed its wholly owned subsidiary Vipps Mobil AS in a parent-subsidiary merger completed on 22 November 2025.

    [sttinfo.fi ↗](https://www.sttinfo.fi/files/69821730/72035243/382370/fi)

4.  Jun 2025

    Investigation

    Finanstilsynet carried out an ICT inspection of the firm on 19 and 20 June 2025 and published an inspection report.

    [finanstilsynet.no ↗](https://www.finanstilsynet.no/contentassets/84248ab49d184e48b7fd3f43c6376397/tilsynsrapport-vipps-mobilepay-as.pdf)

5.  Mar 2025

    Other

    The Norwegian Consumer Council asked Datatilsynet to examine how the firm processes personal data for marketing purposes.

    [storage02.forbrukerradet.no ↗](https://storage02.forbrukerradet.no/media/2025/03/2025-03-17-varsel-om-vipps-behandling-av-personopplysninger-for-markedsforingsformal.pdf)

6.  Sep 2024

    Other

    The firm launched Vipps in Sweden for domestic and cross-border person-to-person payments.

    [sttinfo.fi ↗](https://www.sttinfo.fi/files/69821730/72035243/382370/fi)

7.  Apr 2024

    Investigation

    Finanstilsynet published its report on an ICT inspection of the firm's Norwegian operations carried out in October 2023.

    [finanstilsynet.no ↗](https://www.finanstilsynet.no/nyhetsarkiv/tilsynsrapporter/2024/tilsynsrapport---vipps-mobilepay-as/)

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

## Identifiers

- **Licence no. · EBA-PSD2:** 918713867
- **BIC:** Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- **LEI:** [54930060USJALCWWC821 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/54930060USJALCWWC821)
- **How the LEI was matched:** Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- **Elucidate firm ID:** 4515b6ff206f

## Profile

- **Type:** Payments & e-money
- **Regulation:** Prudential licence
- **Main licence class:** E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- **Activities:** - Money remittance - Payment services - Card acquiring - Payment initiation - Account information - E-money / stored value
- **Licensed in:** [Norway](https://elucidate.co/directory/country/no) · Europe & Central Asia
- **First registered:** 2023-02-24

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

## Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

- **Direct parent:** Vipps Holding AS · Norway[254900YTR15QTEPA4P31 ↗](https://search.gleif.org/#/record/254900YTR15QTEPA4P31)

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

## Addresses

- **Address on the register:** Dronning Eufemias gate 11, Oslo, 0150
- **Country:** Norway

## ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

- **Identified by:** Name and postal address, with its LEI
- **Postal address:** Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line

```xml
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>54930060USJALCWWC821</LEI>
  <Nm>Vipps Mobilepay AS</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>0150</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Oslo</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>NO</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Dronning Eufemias gate 11</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
```

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

## Related institutions

### Other register entries with this LEI

-   [Vipps AS No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Inactive since 27 September 2017 Norway · Licensed by The Financial Authority of Norway · 918713867 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 54930060USJALCWWC821 LEI matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Not merged: the register name differs from the legal name in GLEIF.](https://elucidate.co/directory/vipps-as-f7c1aee9d9aa)

### Other payments & e-money institutions in Norway

-   [Evry Card Payments AS No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Norway · Licensed by The Financial Authority of Norway · 921572085 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/evry-card-payments-as-3e69dc82da30)
-   [Firi AS No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Norway · Licensed by The Financial Authority of Norway · 919932465 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 9845003B8462B18FHE35](https://elucidate.co/directory/firi-as-2574fe1f42e0)
-   [NorgesGruppen Finans AS No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Norway · Licensed by The Financial Authority of Norway · 920428959 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 636700I3T4M9KX755T08](https://elucidate.co/directory/norgesgruppen-finans-as-5306f42434b8)
-   [Norwegian Block Exchange AS · trading as NBX No BIC Payments & e-money Crypto Prudential licence Norway · Licensed by The Financial Authority of Norway · 920245676 (EBA-PSD2) · also on ESMA-CASP · LEI 5493004WNVZP9EMYI834](https://elucidate.co/directory/norwegian-block-exchange-as-99d075fd6ac4)
-   [Aera Payment & Identification AS No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Norway · Licensed by The Financial Authority of Norway · 917351538 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 636700I3CJTCIEMXEW92](https://elucidate.co/directory/aera-payment-and-identification-as-21d5a8bd6ec4)
-   [Bill Kill AS No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Norway · Licensed by The Financial Authority of Norway · 917461732 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 894500XDR57XMTEOWB10](https://elucidate.co/directory/bill-kill-as-a09f450ebdbd)
-   [Buypass Payment AS No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Norway · Licensed by The Financial Authority of Norway · 980932753 (EBA-PSD2) · No LEI mapped](https://elucidate.co/directory/buypass-payment-as-45910c03f2e5)
-   [CheckinPay AS No BIC Payments & e-money Prudential licence Norway · Licensed by The Financial Authority of Norway · 931706179 (EBA-PSD2) · LEI 636700M4G9SOZYDXJN60](https://elucidate.co/directory/checkinpay-as-9cddf7edf2b9)

[See all →](https://elucidate.co/directory/search?type=payments&cc=NO) [Other entries on EBA-PSD2 →](https://elucidate.co/directory/register/eba-psd2)

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

[Read the methodology →](https://elucidate.co/directory/methodology)

Register for this page

-   **EBA PSD2 Register**—European Banking Authority (EBA) · [source ↗](https://euclid.eba.europa.eu/register/pir/search) as at 25 September 2026
-   **Ownership and group**—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
-   **Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events**—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

## Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The [Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI)](https://elucidate.co/ratings) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

[Book a demo](https://elucidate.co/demo-request)

Licence and registration data are drawn from the public registers of the regulators named on each page and shown for information only; the official register is always the authority. LEIs and ownership are from GLEIF. Directory and gpi data are drawn from SWIFT's public sources. SWIFT, Swift gpi and UETR are trademarks of S.W.I.F.T. SC, Avenue Adèle 1, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium. Elucidate is not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by SWIFT or any regulator named here. Elucidate does not provide payment or other financial services.
