France · Payments & e-money
American Express Carte France
American Express Carte France is a French société anonyme based in Rueil-Malmaison. The Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) authorises it as a payment institution. ORIAS registers it as an insurance broker. A 2021 ACPR decision states that American Express France held 99.99% of its shares, within the American Express Company group. The firm issues American Express and AIR FRANCE KLM – AMERICAN EXPRESS charge cards to consumers, businesses and corporates in France, and it signs up merchants to accept American Express cards.
Licences and registrations
Held by American Express Carte France (LEI 969500OQNI4UI7WF8N48). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterPrudential Supervisory and Resolution AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 313536898 | France | Active | 2017-07-06 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- AECFFR21XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of AECFFR21 marks a passive participant.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2001-09-01
- Last updated
- 2015-01-03
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
99.99% American Express France
Firm type
Other
Trades as American Express
- Standing
- The Swift directory still shows the firm's former address at 4 rue Louis Blériot, Rueil-Malmaison. The firm now publishes its registered office as 8-10 rue Henri Sainte-Claire Deville, Rueil-Malmaison.
- Ownership
- According to a July 2021 ACPR decision, American Express France held 99.99% of the firm, which belongs to the American Express Company group.
- Direct parent
- American Express France, France 99.99%
- Ultimate owner
- American Express Company, United States
- Head office
- Bâtiment Voyager, 8-10 rue Henri Sainte-Claire Deville, 92500 Rueil-Malmaison, France
- Company register
- RCS Nanterre 313 536 898
- Incorporated
- 1978
Online
- Websites & references
- americanexpress.com ↗
americanexpress.com/fr/merchant ↗ merchant acceptance site
voyages.americanexpress.fr ↗ travel booking site for cardholders - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
- Apps
- App Store ↗ · Google Play ↗ · App Store ↗ · Google Play ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
- americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/fr/staticassets/pdf/cards/CAM8701_FR_0726_CGs.pdf
- americanexpress.com/fr/assurance/mentions-legales.html
- americanexpress.com/fr-fr/professionnel/contact/
- acpr.banque-france.fr/system/files/import/acpr/media/2021/07/16/20210716_decision_aecf_vf.pdf
- cnil.fr/en/cookies-american-express-fined-eu15-million-cnil
- cnil.fr/fr/cookies-la-cnil-sanctionne-american-express-dune-amende-de-15-million-deuros
- americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/fr/benefits/lp/a-propos/CP_AirFranceKLM_FR.pdf
- americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/fr/benefits/lp/a-propos/CP_Amex_Partenariat-Credit-Agricole-American-Exp
- americanexpress.com/fr/benefices/services-securises/services-mobiles/appli-mobile/amex-mobile-app.html
- annuaire-entreprises.data.gouv.fr/entreprise/american-express-carte-france-aecf-313536898
- americanexpress.com/content/dam/amex/fr/staticassets/pdf/cards/CAM8584/FR/CNS/1121
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The ACPR authorises the firm as a payment institution under French law (interbank code CIB 16820). ORIAS registers it as an insurance intermediary under number 07 023 512.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) France | Établissement de paiement (payment institution) | 313536898 | In its own name | Active | americanexpress.com ↗ |
| ORIAS (Organisme pour le Registre unique des Intermédiaires en Assurance, Banque et Finance) France | Intermédiaire en assurance – société de courtage d'assurances (insurance broker) | 07 023 512 | In its own name | Active | americanexpress.com ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe firm publishes no safeguarding statement. Its cards are charge cards, and cardholders settle the full monthly balance by SEPA direct debit.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- American Express network Access not stated americanexpress.com ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated americanexpress.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It issues charge cards whose balance is paid in full each month by SEPA direct debit, including the AIR FRANCE KLM – AMERICAN EXPRESS co-branded range. It also acquires merchants for the American Express network and acts as an insurance broker for optional cover.
The firm serves cardholders and merchants in France under its French payment-institution authorisation.
- Sells to
- Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
- Serves customers in
- France
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Caroline Gaye Directrice Générale France, American Express
Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
American Express and Air France-KLM relaunched the AIR FRANCE KLM – AMERICAN EXPRESS co-branded cards for consumers and business owners in France.
americanexpress.com ↗ -
Enforcement
The CNIL fined the firm EUR 1.5 million for placing and reading cookies without valid user consent.
cnil.fr ↗ -
Other
American Express and Crédit Agricole agreed a national partnership letting Crédit Agricole merchant clients accept American Express cards.
americanexpress.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- AECFFR21XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- AECFBank
- FRCountry · France
- 21Location · passive
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 969500OQNI4UI7WF8N48
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 313536898
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- c1daa24721af
- National bank code
- Code interbancaire (CIB) 16820
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Licensed in
- France
- Country · region
- France · Europe & Central Asia
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- 4 RUE LOUIS BLERIOT RUEIL- MALMAISON 92506 FRANCE
- Operational address
- 4 RUE LOUIS BLERIOT RUEIL MALMAISON 92506 RUEIL MALMAISON FRANCE
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>AECFFR21XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>969500OQNI4UI7WF8N48</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>AECFFR21XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>969500OQNI4UI7WF8N48</LEI>
<Nm>AMERICAN EXPRESS CARTE FRANCE</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>RUEIL MALMAISON</TwnNm>
<Ctry>FR</Ctry>
<AdrLine>4 RUE LOUIS BLERIOT RUEIL- MALMAISON 92506</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
National bank codes
Code interbancaire (CIB) · France
1 code
| Code | Routes to BIC | Name in the national file | City |
|---|---|---|---|
| 16820 | AECFFR21XXX | American Express carte France | RUEIL MALMAISON |
Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.
Claim this profile
Work at American Express Carte France?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- National bank codes—France (Source: ACPR – REGAFI).
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: americanexpress.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo