Austria · Payments & e-money

Bitpanda Payments GmbH

Bitpanda Payments GmbH is a limited liability company in Vienna. The Austrian Financial Market Authority (FMA) authorises it as an electronic money institution under the E-Money Act 2010. Bitpanda GmbH is its sole shareholder. The firm issues and redeems e-money in customers' wallets and runs transfers, money remittance and e-money token transfers for verified customers of the Bitpanda investment platform. The FMA granted the e-money licence on 24 February 2022, replacing the payment institution licence the firm had held since 2019.

Licences and registrations

Held by Bitpanda Payments GmbH (LEI 984500D896B3F6O74248). 2 entries on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterAustrian Financial Market Authority Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 501412x Austria Active 2022-02-22 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
EBA PSD2 RegisterAustrian Financial Market Authority Payment institutionPayment Institution 501412x Austria Withdrawn 2019-03-25 Ended 2022-02-21
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Payment initiation
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

100% Bitpanda GmbH

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Bitpanda Payments

Ownership
Bitpanda GmbH (FN 569240v, Vienna) is the sole shareholder recorded in the company register.
Direct parent
Bitpanda GmbH, Austria 100%
Head office
Stella-Klein-Löw Weg 17, 1020 Vienna, Austria
Company register
Firmenbuch (Commercial Court Vienna) FN 501412x
Incorporated
8 May 2019

Online

Websites & references
bitpanda.com ↗
group.bitpanda.com ↗ Bitpanda group corporate site (about, press, careers)
support.bitpanda.com ↗ help centre
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · Reddit ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
  1. fma.gv.at/en/granting-of-licence-bitpanda-payments-gmbh/
  2. evi.gv.at/f/501412x
  3. bitpanda.com/en/legal/legal-notice
  4. cdn.bitpanda.com/terms-and-conditions/payments-bitpanda-en-5.0.0.pdf
  5. cdn.bitpanda.com/terms-and-conditions/payments-bitpanda-en-3.0.0.pdf
  6. bitpanda.com/de/legal/bitpanda-payments-terms-conditions
  7. bitpanda.com/en/legal
  8. support.bitpanda.com/hc/en-us/articles/360009281820-Frequently-asked-questions-about-Bitpanda-Pay
  9. support.bitpanda.com/hc/en-us/articles/21349921015836-Crypto-Pay-by-Bitpanda
  10. bitpanda.com/en/card
  11. fma.gv.at/bekanntmachung-fma-verhaengt-sanktion-gegen-die-bitpanda-gmbh-wegen-verstoessen-gegen-die

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The FMA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the E-Money Act 2010 (E-Geldgesetz 2010). Its payment services come under the Payment Services Act 2018 (ZaDiG 2018). The firm and the FMA do not say how many EEA states the licence is passported to.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Market Authority (FMA) Austria E-money institution (E-Geld-Institut) pursuant to Article 3 para. 1 in conjunction with Article 4 para. 4 E-Geldgesetz 2010 501412x In its own name Active fma.gv.at ↗
Financial Market Authority (FMA) Austria Payment institution under ZaDiG 2018 (payment business, money remittance, payment initiation) 501412x In its own name Withdrawn or expired —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's published payment terms do not say how customers' funds are safeguarded or which bank holds them.cdn.bitpanda.com ↗
Crypto-asset custody
Not disclosedThe firm initiates and processes customers' external transfers of e-money tokens, and Bitpanda GmbH carries out the transfers technically.cdn.bitpanda.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
SEPA Credit Transfer Through a partner support.bitpanda.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • E-money wallet
  • Domestic payments
  • Crypto payments
  • Payment initiation (open banking)

It serves only verified customers of the Bitpanda platform. It issues e-money wallets, makes transfers to IBAN accounts and makes Crypto Pay remittances to partner merchants, funded from the sale of crypto-assets.

It serves customers of Bitpanda GmbH in Austria and of Bitpanda Asset Management GmbH in Germany. The FMA lists it among Austrian e-money institutions providing services in the EEA under the freedom to provide services.

Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses · Platforms and marketplaces
Serves customers in 2 countries
Austria · Germany

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Executive
Fabian Reinisch Managing Director (Geschäftsführer) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · evi.gv.at ↗
Executive
Barbara Edelmann Managing Director (Geschäftsführerin) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · evi.gv.at ↗
Executive
Maria Mercedes Sanchez De Rojas Rodriguez De Zuloaga Managing Director (Geschäftsführerin) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · evi.gv.at ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    The firm published version 5.0.0 of its payment terms, adding e-money token transfers and Crypto Pay remittances.

    cdn.bitpanda.com ↗
  2. Leadership

    Maria Mercedes Sanchez De Rojas Rodriguez De Zuloaga became a managing director of the firm.

    evi.gv.at ↗
  3. Leadership

    Philipp Bohrn stepped down as managing director and was registered as an authorised signatory (Prokurist).

    evi.gv.at ↗
  4. Leadership

    Barbara Edelmann became a managing director of the firm.

    evi.gv.at ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
501412x
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
df6f7f02fcf2

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Austria · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2019-03-25

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
Stella-Klein-Löw Weg 17, Vienna, 1020
Country
Austria

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>984500D896B3F6O74248</LEI>
  <Nm>Bitpanda Payments GmbH</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>1020</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Vienna</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>AT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Stella-Klein-Löw Weg 17</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
  • CBPR+ does not accept the character ö in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo