- Directory
- Luxembourg
- eBay S.à r.l.
Luxembourg · Payments & e-money
eBay S.à r.l.
eBay S.à r.l. is a Luxembourg société à responsabilité limitée based at 22-24, Boulevard Royal, Luxembourg. The Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF) authorises it as a payment institution. It belongs to the eBay Inc. group. Its Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) record names eBay International Management B.V. as its direct parent. The firm runs eBay's managed payments for items listed on eBay's EEA sites and ebay.ch. It acquires and settles buyers' payments and pays out proceeds to sellers in the EEA and Switzerland. Its LEI record gives StubHub Services S.à r.l. as a previous legal name.
Licences and registrations
Held by eBay S.à r.l. (LEI 549300OU69QE1LSHXF45). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterCommission for the Supervision of Financial Sector | Payment institutionPayment Institution | Z00000007 | Luxembourg | Active | 2014-01-17 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
eBay International Management B.V.
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as eBay
- Ownership
- eBay Inc. owns the firm through eBay International Management B.V., its direct parent according to the LEI record.
- Direct parent
- eBay International Management B.V. ↗, Netherlands
- Ultimate owner
- eBay Inc., United States
- Head office
- 22-24, Boulevard Royal, L-2449 Luxembourg, Luxembourg
- Company register
- Luxembourg Business Registers (RCS) B164557
- Incorporated
- 14 Nov 2011
- Former name
- StubHub Services S.à r.l.
Sources · 6 pages consulted
- pages.ebay.com/payment/2.0/terms.html
- ir.ebaystatic.com/pictures/aw/pics/au-payments-terms-of-use-2026-3-29.pdf
- lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/ebay-s-a-r-l
- lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/549300OU69QE1LSHXF45
- ir.ebaystatic.com/pictures/aw/pics/uk/pdf/Payments%20Terms%20of%20Use%20-%20eBay.co.uk.v1.1.pdf
- ebay.com/help/policies/member-behaviour-policies/user-privacy-notice-privacy-policy?id=4260
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The CSSF authorises the firm as a payment institution under the Luxembourg Law of 10 November 2009 on payment services. eBay's terms give its licence as no. 33/19. The Bank of Lithuania lists it as an EU payment institution providing services in Lithuania without a branch. The total number of host states was not found.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF) Luxembourg | Payment institution (licence no. 33/19 as stated in the firm's terms) | Z00000007 | In its own name | Active | pages.ebay.com ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedeBay's Payments Terms of Use do not say how the firm safeguards sellers' funds.
- Acquirer / processor
- Adyen N.V. Netherlands
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Access not stated pages.ebay.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated pages.ebay.com ↗
Discover Access not stated pages.ebay.com ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated pages.ebay.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm is the payment entity for sales on eBay's EEA sites and ebay.ch. It acquires and settles buyers' payments on behalf of private and business sellers. It also holds payment accounts for sellers in the EEA and Switzerland and pays out their proceeds.
It pays out to sellers who live or are established in the EEA (except Iceland) or Switzerland. It also processes payments for items listed on eBay's EEA sites and ebay.ch.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Consumers · Enterprises
- Serves customers in 30 countries
- Germany · France · Italy · Spain · Austria · Ireland · Belgium · Netherlands · Poland · Switzerland · Luxembourg · Portugal · Greece · Finland · Sweden · Denmark · Norway · Liechtenstein · Estonia · Latvia · Lithuania · Czechia · Slovakia · Hungary · Slovenia · Croatia · Romania · Bulgaria · Cyprus · Malta
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- Z00000007
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- Elucidate firm ID
- a9d7442760a1
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- Payment Institution
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Licensed in
- Luxembourg · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2014-01-17
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Ebay International Management B.V. · Netherlands5493004HE25OPM55X882 ↗
- Ultimate parent
- Ebay Inc. · United StatesOML71K8X303XQONU6T67 ↗
The Ebay Inc. group has 4 institutions in the directory, in 3 countries: 1 holds a BIC and 3 do not.
Including Ebay Commerce Australia PTY LTD, eBay Commerce Inc., Ebay Inc..
See the Ebay Inc. group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- 22-24, boulevard Royal, Luxembourg, 2449
- Country
- Luxembourg
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
<LEI>549300OU69QE1LSHXF45</LEI>
<Nm>eBay S.à r.l.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>2449</PstCd>
<TwnNm>Luxembourg</TwnNm>
<Ctry>LU</Ctry>
<AdrLine>22-24, boulevard Royal</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
- CBPR+ does not accept the character à in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo