Netherlands · Payments & e-money

European Merchant Services B.V.

European Merchant Services B.V. (EMS) is a Dutch private limited company based in Amsterdam. De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) authorises it as a payment institution under the Dutch Financial Supervision Act (Wft). The firm was founded in 2005 as a joint venture. Fiserv, Inc. has owned all of its shares since September 2023, when it bought ABN AMRO's 49% stake. EMS offers card acquiring, online payment processing and Clover point-of-sale terminals to merchants. It trades as EMS, Fiserv and Clover.

Licences and registrations

Held by European Merchant Services B.V. (LEI 9845005D9C6DE9A80138). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterThe Netherlands Bank Payment institutionPayment Institution F0007 Netherlands Active 2019-02-19 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: EMS/European Merchant Services B.V./Fiserv/Clover (EBA-PSD2)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as EMS / Fiserv / Clover

Standing
The firm now markets its services in the Netherlands under the Fiserv and Clover names. Its former emspay.eu website redirects to Fiserv's Dutch country site.
Ownership
Fiserv, Inc. owns 100% of the firm after buying ABN AMRO's 49% stake in September 2023. The intermediate holding entity is not disclosed in the sources reviewed.
Ultimate owner
Fiserv, Inc., United States
Head office
Herikerbergweg 25, 1101 CN Amsterdam, Netherlands
Company register
KvK (Dutch Chamber of Commerce) 34226533

Online

Websites & references
fiserv.com ↗
emspay.eu ↗ former EMS domain, now redirects to Fiserv's Dutch site
emspay.nl ↗ website listed on the DNB register (not fetched)
one.merchantportal.app ↗ merchant portal
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 7 pages consulted
  1. dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTBI&relationNumber=F0007
  2. fiserv.com/content/dam/fiserv-ent/final-files/marketing-collateral/documents-handouts-flyers/nl-nl-t
  3. fiserv.com/nl-nl/legal/disclaimer.html
  4. fiserv.com/nl-nl/legal.html
  5. fiserv.com/nl-nl.html
  6. abnamro.com/en/news/abn-amro-sells-minority-stake-in-ems-to-fiserv
  7. investors.worldline.com/en/home/news-events/financial-press-releases/2025/pr-2025_04_23_01

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

DNB authorises the firm as a payment institution under Article 2:3a of the Financial Supervision Act (PSD2), relation number F0007, since 19 February 2019. The authorisation covers acquiring of payment transactions, issuing of payment instruments, direct debits, card transactions and credit transfers.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
De Nederlandsche Bank Netherlands Authorisation to carry out the business of a payment service provider (PSD2 - Wft 2:3a) F0007 In its own name Active dnb.nl ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsMerchant funds are held and managed by a separate legal entity, Stichting Third Party Funds EMS. DNB's register states that it supervises this foundation as the firm's escrow party.fiserv.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated fiserv.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated fiserv.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway

It acquires and processes card and other electronic payments for merchants in stores and online. It supplies Clover point-of-sale terminals and processes contactless fare payments for public transport, including the Dutch OVpay scheme.

It serves merchants in the Netherlands and Belgium. The DNB register shows its payment institution licence passported on a cross-border services basis to 29 other EEA states.

Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in 2 countries
Netherlands · Belgium

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Licence

    DNB registered the extension of the firm's payment institution passport to Croatia, effective 18 April 2026.

    dnb.nl ↗
  2. Leadership

    Worldline announced that Joachim Goyvaerts, CEO of the firm since 2022, would join Worldline as Head of SMB.

    investors.worldline.com ↗
  3. Merger / acquisition

    Fiserv acquired ABN AMRO's remaining 49% stake in the firm, taking full ownership.

    abnamro.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
F0007
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
3d3b03c5812c

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
Netherlands · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2019-02-19

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
Herikerbergweg 25, AMSTERDAM, 1101CN
Country
Netherlands

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>9845005D9C6DE9A80138</LEI>
  <Nm>European Merchant Services B.V.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>1101CN</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>AMSTERDAM</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>NL</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Herikerbergweg 25</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo