France · Payments & e-money

Market Pay

Market Pay is a French société par actions simplifiée based in Paris, registered under RCS Paris 808 389 191. The Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) authorises the firm as an electronic money institution. The European Banking Authority (EBA) register lists card acquiring, payment initiation and e-money among its activities. Carrefour created the business in 2016, and the investment fund AnaCap became a 60% shareholder of the group in 2021, according to the firm. It offers in-store and online payment acceptance, payment terminals and a payment management platform to retailers, e-merchants, distributors and financial institutions.

BICMAKPFRP1XXX LEI969500U5O0CRIWYMZX38 Licence no.808389191 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of MAKPFRP1 marks a passive participant. Head-office BIC only Group: Carrefour Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Market Pay (LEI 969500U5O0CRIWYMZX38). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterPrudential Supervisory and Resolution AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution 808389191 France Active 2019-01-23 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

European registers

ECB · monetary financial institutions

List as at 2026-09-25

Category
Other monetary financial institution
Minimum reserves
Not on the ECB reserve list
Listed as
MARKET PAY
RIAD code
FR11508

Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
MAKPFRP1XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of MAKPFRP1 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2017-06-03
Last updated
2017-06-03

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

400

headcount · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Ownership

Privately held

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as MarketPay

Ownership
According to the firm, the investment fund AnaCap holds 60% of the Market Pay group, and Carrefour, which founded the business, remains a shareholder.
Head office
120-122 rue Réaumur, 75002 Paris, France
Company register
RCS Paris 808 389 191

Online

Websites & references
market-pay.com ↗
assist.market-pay.com ↗ help centre and documentation (MarketPay Assist)
api-hub.market-pay.com ↗ developer API hub
careers.market-pay.com ↗ careers site
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
  1. market-pay.com/en/legal/terms
  2. market-pay.com/en
  3. market-pay.com/en/about
  4. market-pay.com/en/pay-on-site
  5. market-pay.com/en/blog/interview-isabelle-clairac-focus-pme-en
  6. carrefour.com/en/news/carrefour-sells-60-its-fintech-market-pay-anacap-financial-partners-based-enterpr
  7. anacap.com/news/market-pay-expands-its-in-store-payment-capabilities-with-the-acquisition-of-novelpa
  8. prnewswire.com/news-releases/market-pay-completes-its-fourth-acquisition-with-the-purchase-of-altapay-st
  9. market-pay.com/en/blog/market-pay-expands-further-in-the-nordics-with-the-acquisition-of-alta-pay
  10. lsa-conso.fr/paiement-market-pay-dont-carrefour-detient-encore-30-poursuit-sa-conquete-europeenne,4656

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The ACPR authorises the firm as an electronic money institution. According to the EBA register, its authorisation also covers payment services, including card acquiring and payment initiation. Neither the firm nor the register says how many EEA states the licence is passported to.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Autorité de contrôle prudentiel et de résolution (ACPR) France Electronic money institution (établissement de monnaie électronique); EBA register activities: payment services, card acquiring, payment initiation, e-money 11508 In its own name Active market-pay.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's public pages do not say how it safeguards customer funds.
Payment schemes and card networks
CB (Cartes Bancaires) Access not stated market-pay.com ↗
Visa Access not stated market-pay.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated market-pay.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway

It provides omnichannel card acceptance for retailers and e-merchants, including acquiring, online checkout, PAX Android terminals, Tap to Pay software and the MarketPay Hub management platform. It also offers white-label solutions for distributors and software vendors.

According to the firm, the group serves more than 10 European countries and has offices in Paris, Brussels, Caen, Copenhagen, Helsinki, Milan, Madrid, Oslo, Warsaw and Vilnius.

Payment volume
EUR 30bnannual financial flows (the firm states "30+ B€"; acquired flows)Group · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗
Sells to
Enterprises · Small businesses · Financial institutions · Other
Serves customers in 10 countries
France · Italy · Spain · Belgium · Finland · Sweden · Norway · Lithuania · Denmark · Poland

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Isabelle Clairac Managing Director (CEO); head of publication Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · market-pay.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    Market Pay announced its expansion into Poland, according to the trade publication LSA.

    lsa-conso.fr ↗
  2. Merger / acquisition

    Market Pay Group agreed to acquire Altapay, a Copenhagen-based payment service provider, subject to foreign direct investment (FDI) approval.

    prnewswire.com ↗
  3. Other

    The firm moved its registered office from 9 rue du Quatre-Septembre to 120-122 rue Réaumur, Paris, following a supervisory board decision.

    pappers.fr ↗
  4. Merger / acquisition

    Market Pay Group agreed to acquire the Polish firm Novelpay, including its French subsidiary PAX France Novelpay.

    anacap.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
MAKPFRP1XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. MAKPBank
  2. FRCountry · France
  3. P1Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
969500U5O0CRIWYMZX38
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
808389191
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
562d2ae9bb28
National bank code
Code interbancaire (CIB) 11508

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
France
Country · region
France · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Carrefour · France549300B8P6MUJ1YWTS08 ↗

The Carrefour group has 5 institutions in the directory, in 2 countries: 4 hold a BIC and 1 does not.

Including Carrefour Banque, Servicios Financieros Carrefour, Establecimiento Financiero DE Credito, S.A., Carrefour Finance S.A., Finifac Sas.

See the Carrefour group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Registered address
52 AVENUE EMILE ZOLA BOULOGNE BILLANCOURT 92100 FRANCE
Operational address
52 AVENUE EMILE ZOLA BOULOGNE BILLANCOURT 92100 BOULOGNE BILLANCOURT FRANCE

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>MAKPFRP1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>969500U5O0CRIWYMZX38</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>MAKPFRP1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>969500U5O0CRIWYMZX38</LEI>
  <Nm>MARKET PAY</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>BOULOGNE BILLANCOURT</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>FR</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>52 AVENUE EMILE ZOLA BOULOGNE BILLANCOURT 92100</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

National bank codes

Code interbancaire (CIB) · France

1 code

CodeRoutes to BICName in the national fileCity
11508 MAKPFRP1XXX MARKET PAY PARIS

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

Claim this profile

Work at Market Pay?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • National bank codes—France (Source: ACPR – REGAFI).
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: market-pay.com (official website).

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo