Malta · Payments & e-money

Nium Financial Services Malta Ltd

Nium Financial Services Malta Limited is a Maltese limited company based in San Ġwann. The Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) authorises it under the Financial Institutions Act (Chapter 376) to issue electronic money and provide payment services. It was formerly named Ixaris Financial Services Malta Limited. It belongs to the Nium group, which completed its acquisition of Ixaris in August 2021. The firm provides funding accounts, virtual cards and payment services to business customers in the EEA, notably in the travel sector.

BICNo BIC LEINo LEI mapped Licence no.C 98342

Licences and registrations

Held by Nium Financial Services Malta Ltd. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterMalta Financial Services Authority Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution C 98342 Malta Active 2021-07-08 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Nium

Standing
The firm was formerly named Ixaris Financial Services Malta Limited. Its complaints policy, updated 22 September 2026, still gives the former name as the postal addressee. Several EEA host-state registers also still list it under the former name.
Ownership
The firm belongs to the Nium group, whose website is operated by Nium Pte. Ltd. of Singapore. Its direct shareholder was not confirmed from a primary source.
Head office
Penthouse B, Suite 1, Capital Business Centre, Triq taz-Zwejt, SGN 3000 San Ġwann, Malta
Company register
Malta Business Registry C 98342
Former name
Ixaris Financial Services Malta Limited

Online

Websites & references
nium.com ↗
docs.nium.com ↗ developer documentation
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 13 pages consulted
  1. nium.com/licenses
  2. nium.com/legal/nfsm-complaints-handling-policy
  3. docs.nium.com/travel/docs/ifsm
  4. nium.com/legal
  5. nium.com/legal/nium-travel-card-and-payment-services-agreement
  6. lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/ixaris-financial-services-malta-limited
  7. uzraudziba.bank.lv/en/market/payment-service-providers/electronic-money-institutions/service-providers-from-
  8. bde.es/webbe/en/estadisticas/otras-clasificaciones/clasificacion-entidades/listas-instituciones-
  9. nium.com/newsroom/nium-completes-acquisition-of-ixaris
  10. nium.com/newsroom/new-c-suite-hires-lead-next-era-of-global-payments-infrastructure
  11. nium.com/newsroom/nium-strengthens-executive-leadership-team-with-chief-financial-officer-and-chie
  12. nium.com/about-us
  13. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nium

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The MFSA authorises the firm under the Financial Institutions Act (Chapter 376) as an electronic money institution to issue e-money and provide payment services. It passports these services into other EEA states, and host-state regulators list it as providing them without a branch.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Malta Financial Services Authority Malta Electronic money institution (Financial Institutions Act, Chapter 376) C 98342 In its own name Active nium.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it set up EU bank accounts to safeguard the funds of EEA customers moved onto its Maltese licence. It does not name the banks.docs.nium.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated nium.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated nium.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Prepaid cards
  • Card-issuing platform
  • Multi currency accounts
  • Payouts and mass payments
  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion

It issues business-use virtual cards and runs funding accounts for EEA customers of Nium's travel card and payment services, which the Ixaris business moved onto its Maltese licence after Brexit.

It serves business customers in the EEA under its Maltese licence. The Lithuanian, Latvian, Estonian and Portuguese regulators list it as providing services cross-border without a branch.

Sells to
Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Financial institutions
Serves customers in 5 countries
Malta · Lithuania · Latvia · Estonia · Portugal
Latest funding round
Series E · USD 50m Jun 2024nium.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Prajit Nanu Founder and CEO, Nium (group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · nium.com ↗
Compliance / MLRO
Amaresh Mohan Chief Risk & Compliance Officer, Nium (group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · nium.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    The Nium group appointed Amaresh Mohan as Chief Risk & Compliance Officer, alongside new technology and marketing chiefs.

    nium.com ↗
  2. Funding

    The Nium group announced a USD 50 million Series E round led by a Southeast Asian sovereign wealth fund.

    nium.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
C 98342
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
LEI
No LEI mapped
Elucidate firm ID
216b831a0321

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Malta · Middle East & North Africa
First registered
2021-07-08

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.

Addresses

Address on the register
Penthouse B, Suite 1, Capital Business Centre, Triq Taz-Zejt, San Gwann, SGN 3000
Country
Malta

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
Postal address
Does not fit the CBPR+ limits
  • The address does not fit in the two address lines of 35 characters that CBPR+ allows next to a town and country.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo