Ireland · Payments & e-money

Remitly Europe Limited

Remitly Europe Limited is an Irish limited company with its head office in Cork. The Central Bank of Ireland has authorised it as a payment institution since 27 August 2019, under reference C185081. It is a subsidiary of Remitly Global, Inc., a Delaware holding company whose shares trade on Nasdaq. Under the Remitly brand it sends money abroad for consumers resident in Ireland. Through Remitly Business it also makes payments for businesses based in Ireland.

Licences and registrations

Held by Remitly Europe Limited (LEI 984500Q13CA870575621). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of Ireland Payment institutionPayment Institution C185081 Ireland Active 2019-08-27 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

10,000,000

active customers · Group · 30 Jun 2026 · interim report ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Money remittance

Trades as Remitly

Ownership
Remitly Global, Inc., a Nasdaq-listed Delaware holding company, lists the firm as one of its subsidiaries in an SEC filing.
Ultimate owner
Remitly Global, Inc., United States
Head office
Ground Floor, 1 Albert Quay, Ballintemple, T12 X8N6 Cork, Ireland
Company register
Companies Registration Office (Ireland) 629909
Founder
Matt Oppenheimer

Online

Websites & references
remitly.com ↗
remitly.com/ie/en/business ↗ Remitly Business site for Ireland
ir.remitly.com ↗ Investor relations site of the parent group, Remitly Global, Inc.
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · TikTok ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
  1. registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C185081&register=61
  2. remitly.com/ie/en
  3. remitly.com/ie/en/home/agreement
  4. remitly.com/pdf/en/ie/476c6e48-9362-4046-98ab-f80969329243
  5. remitly.com/ie/en/business
  6. sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1782170/000178217022000048/rely4q21-exhibit211.htm
  7. lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/984500Q13CA870575621
  8. bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/remitly-europe-limited
  9. ir.remitly.com/news-releases/news-release-details/remitly-appoints-sebastian-j-gunningham-chief-executiv
  10. ir.remitly.com/news-and-events/news-releases
  11. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Remitly

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Central Bank of Ireland authorises the firm as a payment institution under Regulation 18 of the European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018. The authorisation covers money remittance, card-based payment transactions and credit transfers. The register shows it passported to 29 EEA states on a freedom-of-services basis.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Central Bank of Ireland Ireland Payment Institution authorised under Regulation 18 of the European Union (Payment Services) Regulations 2018 C185081 In its own name Active registers.centralbank.ie ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's Irish user agreement does not say how it safeguards customer funds or which bank holds them.remitly.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated remitly.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • International money transfer
  • Cash pick-up
  • FX conversion

It sends money from Ireland to 175+ countries, according to the firm. Recipients are paid by bank deposit, mobile wallet, cash pickup or home delivery. Remitly Business offers the same service to businesses paying overseas contractors and suppliers.

It serves customers resident in Ireland. The Central Bank of Ireland register shows the authorisation passported to other EEA states on a freedom-of-services basis.

Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses
Serves customers in 23 countries
Ireland · Austria · Belgium · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Malta · Netherlands · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Spain · Sweden

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Sebastian J. Gunningham Chief Executive Officer, Remitly Global, Inc. (group level) Confirmed 19 Feb 2026 · ir.remitly.com ↗
Chair
Matt Oppenheimer Chairman of the Board, Remitly Global, Inc. (group level); co-founder Confirmed 19 Feb 2026 · ir.remitly.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    Remitly Global, Inc. appointed Sebastian J. Gunningham group chief executive in succession to co-founder Matt Oppenheimer, who stayed on as chairman.

    ir.remitly.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
C185081
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
6a769bc7629d

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
Licensed in
Ireland · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2019-08-27

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
Ground Floor, 1 Albert Quay, Cork, T12 X8N6
Country
Ireland

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>984500Q13CA870575621</LEI>
  <Nm>Remitly Europe Limited</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>T12 X8N6</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Cork</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Ground Floor, 1 Albert Quay</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo