Belgium · Payments & e-money
Banqup S.A.
Legal name in the LEI recordBanqup
Banqup SA is a Belgian société anonyme based in La Hulpe and was formerly named Unifiedpost Payments SA. The National Bank of Belgium authorises it as a payment institution under the Law of 11 March 2018. It provides services in 18 other EEA states through branches. It is wholly owned by Banqup Group SA, which is listed on Euronext Brussels. It provides the payment services within the Banqup e-invoicing platform. These include business payment accounts with IBANs, Mastercard debit cards, payment initiation, account information and invoice payment collection.
Licences and registrations
Held by Banqup (LEI 5493000RZ2KSLKCYNN98). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterNational Bank of BelgiumLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 0649860804 | Belgium | Active | 2016-10-11 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- PANXBEB1XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of PANXBEB1 marks a passive participant.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- SCT · SDD Core · VOP
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2018-08-04
- Last updated
- 2025-12-31
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
100% Banqup Group SA
Firm type
E-money and accounts
Trades as Banqup Payments
- Standing
- The firm was renamed from Unifiedpost Payments SA to Banqup SA in 2025, after its parent adopted the Banqup Group name on 20 May 2025. In June 2026 Banqup Group SA started a process to explore strategic alternatives, including the possible sale of individual business units.
- Ownership
- Banqup Group SA (formerly Unifiedpost Group SA), which is listed on Euronext Brussels, owns 100% of the firm.
- Direct parent
- Banqup Group SA ↗, Belgium 100%
- Head office
- Avenue Reine Astrid 92A, 1310 La Hulpe, Belgium
- Company register
- Belgian Crossroads Bank for Enterprises (KBO/BCE) 0649.860.804
- Incorporated
- 11 Mar 2016
- Former names
- Unifiedpost Payments SA · PAY-NXT
Online
- Websites & references
- banqup.com ↗
investors.banqup.com ↗ investor relations site of the parent, Banqup Group SA - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
- Apps
- App Store ↗ · Google Play ↗
Sources · 17 pages consulted
- a.storyblok.com/f/318078/x/579e4e2c6d/terms_and_conditions_payment_services_consolidated_v2-2_202607.pdf
- a.storyblok.com/f/318078/x/2fcd9a251d/overview-banqup-sa-branch-offices-last-updated-17-04-2026.pdf
- a.storyblok.com/f/318078/x/5a99b13205/banqup_wolfsberg_questionnaire_signed.pdf
- banqup.com/legal/complaints
- banqup.com/legal/legal-documents
- banqup.com/solutions/banqup-payments
- fi.ee/en/payment-services/payment-institutions/payment-services/branches-foreign-payment-instit
- investors.banqup.com/corporate-governance/management
- investors.banqup.com/management/anouk-arendt
- banqup.com/resources/news/branding-update-unifying-our-future-under-the-banqup-brand
- investors.banqup.com/news-releases/news-release-details/unifiedpost-payments-receives-authorisation-national-b
- globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/02/18/3240387/0/en/banqup-and-visa-enter-strategic-partnership-to-deliv
- globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/08/17/3345829/0/en/banqup-group-announces-h1-2026-results-date-and-webc
- globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/06/15/3311497/0/en/banqup-group-announces-strategic-simplification-plan
- globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/05/28/3302497/0/en/banqup-group-announces-change-at-the-helm-of-its-man
- globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/05/21/3299765/0/en/banqup-delivers-40-3-y-y-growth-in-subscription-reve
- investors.banqup.com/news-releases/news-release-details/unifiedpost-group-rebrands-banqup-group-reinforcing-it
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The National Bank of Belgium authorises the firm as a payment institution under the Belgian Law of 11 March 2018. Its branch overview dated 17 April 2026 says the licence is passported to 18 EEA states by freedom of establishment. In August 2024 the National Bank of Belgium also authorised it to purchase receivables under this licence.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| National Bank of Belgium Belgium | Payment institution (Law of 11 March 2018) | 0649.860.804 | In its own name | Active | a.storyblok.com ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm's terms say customer funds are safeguarded as the law requires. They also say the funds of payment accounts are held in a segregated account at a credit institution, which the terms do not name.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Direct globenewswire.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Core Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗
Swift Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗
Bancontact Access not stated a.storyblok.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm provides payment accounts, debit cards, payment initiation, account information and invoice payment collection inside the Banqup invoicing platform and partner applications. It mainly serves SMEs.
It serves customers in Belgium and, through branches under its Belgian licence, in 18 other EEA states.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Consumers
- Serves customers in 19 countries
- Belgium · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Italy · Latvia · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Netherlands · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Spain · Sweden
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Compliance / MLRO
- Karl Janssen MLRO (signatory of the firm's Wolfsberg CBDDQ)
- Executive
- Anouk Arendt Head of Banqup Payments (Banqup Group payments division)
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Leadership
Banqup Group named Anouk Arendt Head of Payments as part of a new divisional leadership team.
globenewswire.com ↗ -
Other
The parent, Banqup Group SA, mandated Lazard to explore strategic options, including selling individual business units or the whole group.
globenewswire.com ↗ -
Leadership
Nicolas de Beco left as CEO of the parent by mutual consent, and Koen De Brabander became interim CEO.
globenewswire.com ↗ -
Merger / acquisition
Banqup Group completed the sale of its Baltic operations to Fitek OÜ.
globenewswire.com ↗ -
Other
The firm announced a partnership with Visa and said it would issue virtual commercial cards as a Visa principal issuing member.
globenewswire.com ↗ -
Other
The parent's shareholders approved renaming it Banqup Group SA, and the firm was later renamed from Unifiedpost Payments SA to Banqup SA.
banqup.com ↗ -
Licence
The National Bank of Belgium authorised the firm to purchase receivables under its existing payment institution licence.
investors.banqup.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- PANXBEB1XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- PANXBank
- BECountry · Belgium
- B1Location · passive
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 5493000RZ2KSLKCYNN98
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 0649860804
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- 9c65cc06f7e3
- National bank code
- Bank identification code 504
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- Payment initiation
- Account information
- Licensed in
- Belgium
- Country · region
- Belgium · Europe & Central Asia
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Banqup Group · Belgium254900QIETDP1T932G86 ↗
The Banqup Group group has 19 institutions in the directory, in 18 countries: 18 hold a BIC and 1 does not.
Including Unifiedpost Payments, UNIFIEDPOST SPÓŁKA Z OGRANICZONĄ ODPOWIEDZIALNOŚCIĄ (d.Banqware spółka z ograniczoną odpowiedzialnością).
See the Banqup Group group →Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Registered address
- 92A, AVENUE REINE ASTRID LA HULPE 1310 BELGIUM
- Operational address
- NYSDAM FLOOR 2 AV REINE ASTRID 92A LA HULPE 1310 LA HULPE BELGIUM
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>PANXBEB1XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>5493000RZ2KSLKCYNN98</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>PANXBEB1XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>5493000RZ2KSLKCYNN98</LEI>
<Nm>BANQUP S.A.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>LA HULPE</TwnNm>
<Ctry>BE</Ctry>
<AdrLine>92A, AVENUE REINE ASTRID LA HULPE 1310</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2018-11-06 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages | 2018-11-06 | Head office | — |
| Verification of Payee | 2025-07-09 | Head office | — |
SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme.
An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
National bank codes
Bank identification code · Belgium
1 code file of 2026-09-01
| Code | Routes to BIC | Name in the national file |
|---|---|---|
| 504 | PANXBEB1 | Unifiedpost Payments |
Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.
Claim this profile
Work at Banqup S.A.?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate.
- National bank codes—Belgium (Source: National Bank of Belgium).
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: banqup.com (official website).
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo