- Directory
- Luxembourg
- Mangopay SA

Luxembourg · Payments & e-money
Mangopay SA
Legal name in the LEI recordMANGOPAY S.A.
MANGOPAY S.A. is a Luxembourg public limited company (société anonyme). The Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF) authorises it as an electronic money institution, and it provides payment services across the European Economic Area. Advent International acquired the firm in 2022. The firm's terms describe it as a subsidiary of a US-based company. It provides online marketplaces and platforms with API-based wallet infrastructure, pay-ins, payouts, FX, virtual IBANs and fraud-prevention tools. The users of those platforms hold Mangopay accounts under its terms. It has branches in France, Spain and Germany. Users of UK-based platforms are served by a separate entity, Mangopay U.K., which the Financial Conduct Authority authorises.
Licences and registrations
Held by Mangopay S.A. (LEI 222100BHJ657QD6M2U49). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterCommission for the Supervision of Financial SectorLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | W00000005 | Luxembourg | Active | 2012-12-31 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
European registers
ECB · monetary financial institutions
List as at 2026-09-25
- Category
- Other monetary financial institution
- Minimum reserves
- Not on the ECB reserve list
- Listed as
- MANGOPAY S.A.
- RIAD code
- LUW00005
Entries are matched on the LEI. Each register is quoted as its publisher lists it.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- MAGYLUL1XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of MAGYLUL1 marks a passive participant.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- SCT · SCT Inst · VOP · TIPS
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2016-06-04
- Last updated
- 2017-10-17
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Privately held
Firm type
E-money and accounts
Trades as Mangopay
- Ownership
- Funds managed by Advent International acquired the firm in April 2022, and its terms describe it as a subsidiary of a company based in the United States.
- Ultimate owner
- Advent International, United States
- Head office
- 4 rue du Fort Wallis, L-2714 Luxembourg, Luxembourg
- Company register
- Luxembourg RCS B173459
- Founder
- Romain Mazeries
Online
- Websites & references
- mangopay.com ↗
docs.mangopay.com ↗ developer documentation
blog.mangopay.com ↗ blog
hub.mangopay.com ↗ client dashboard login
mangopay.com/en-gb ↗ UK site of the sister entity Mangopay U.K.
Wikipedia ↗ group article - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
- mangopay.com/legal-notice
- mangopay.com/terms-and-conditions
- mangopay.com/terms/payment-services/2026/Terms%20and%20conditions%20for%20Mangopay%20Payment%20Service
- eu-central-1-shared-euc1-02.graphassets.com/A6NPNWwURR3aAqvSW3l08z/cmihducuga7xg07vyrs69upxt
- mangopay.com/en-gb/terms-and-conditions/e-money
- mangopay.com/about-us
- mangopay.com/press-and-media/mangopay-announces-sergi-herrero-as-new-ceo
- mangopay.com/press-and-media/mangopay-extends-long-standing-payments-partnership-with-vinted
- mangopay.com/press-and-media/mangopay-announces-the-appointment-of-mark-fleming-as-chief-commercial-of
- fintechfutures.com/job-cuts-new-hires/andy-wiggan-joins-mangopay-as-new-cpo
- pymnts.com/newswire-announcements/mangopay-report-platforms-still-struggle-with-fragmented-and-manua
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mangopay
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The CSSF authorises the firm as an electronic money institution, and it provides payment services throughout the European Economic Area. It also operates through branches in Paris, Madrid and Berlin.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF) Luxembourg | Electronic money institution | W00000005 | In its own name | Active | mangopay.com ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that funds it holds for users are protected under Luxembourg's law of 10 November 2009, and its e-money terms state that collected funds are deposited daily with credit institutions and kept outside its assets in an insolvency.
- Safeguarding bank
- Crédit Mutuel Arkéa France
- Safeguarding bank
- ING Luxembourg Luxembourg
- Payment schemes and card networks
- SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated mangopay.com ↗
Visa Access not stated eu-central-1-shared-euc1-02.graphassets.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated eu-central-1-shared-euc1-02.graphassets.com ↗
CB (Cartes Bancaires) Access not stated eu-central-1-shared-euc1-02.graphassets.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It supplies marketplaces and platforms with wallets, pay-in processing, payouts, virtual IBANs, FX and fraud and identity tools, and the platforms' buyers and sellers hold e-money accounts with it.
It serves users of platforms located in the EU and EEA under its Luxembourg licence, while a separate UK entity serves users of UK-based platforms.
- Sells to
- Platforms and marketplaces · Enterprises · Small businesses · Consumers
- Serves customers in 30 countries
- Luxembourg · France · Germany · Spain · Italy · Netherlands · Belgium · Austria · Ireland · Portugal · Poland · Sweden · Denmark · Finland · Lithuania · Latvia · Estonia · Czechia · Slovakia · Slovenia · Croatia · Hungary · Romania · Bulgaria · Greece · Cyprus · Malta · Iceland · Liechtenstein · Norway
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Sergi Herrero Chief Executive Officer
- Executive
- Mark Fleming Chief Commercial Officer
- Executive
- Andy Wiggan Chief Product Officer
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
Vinted extended its partnership with the firm as its payment service provider across Europe.
mangopay.com ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed Andy Wiggan, formerly of GoCardless and Spotify, as Chief Product Officer.
fintechfutures.com ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed Sergi Herrero as Chief Executive Officer, succeeding Romain Mazeries, who remained on the board.
mangopay.com ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed Mark Fleming, formerly of Worldpay, as Chief Commercial Officer.
mangopay.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- MAGYLUL1XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- MAGYBank
- LUCountry · Luxembourg
- L1Location · passive
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 222100BHJ657QD6M2U49
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- W00000005
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- dc74c07d6721
- National bank code
- IBAN bank code 805
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Luxembourg
- Country · region
- Luxembourg · Europe & Central Asia
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- 59 BOULEVARD ROYAL LUXEMBOURG 2266 LUXEMBOURG
- Operational address
- 59 BOULEVARD ROYAL LUXEMBOURG 2266 LUXEMBOURG LUXEMBOURG
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>MAGYLUL1XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>222100BHJ657QD6M2U49</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>MAGYLUL1XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>222100BHJ657QD6M2U49</LEI>
<Nm>MANGOPAY SA</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>LUXEMBOURG</TwnNm>
<Ctry>LU</Ctry>
<AdrLine>59 BOULEVARD ROYAL LUXEMBOURG 2266</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2016-07-18 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2024-10-07 | Head office | — |
| Verification of Payee | 2025-10-05 | Head office | — |
| TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages | — | Head office | — |
SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.
An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
National bank codes
IBAN bank code · Luxembourg
1 code
| Code | Routes to BIC | Name in the national file |
|---|---|---|
| 805 | MAGYLUL1 | MANGOPAY S.A. |
Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.
Claim this profile
Work at Mangopay SA?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
- National bank codes—Luxembourg (Source: ABBL).
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- European registers—Source: European Central Bank (ECB), list of monetary financial institutions and list of institutions subject to minimum reserves. Matched on LEI by Elucidate.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: mangopay.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo