Hungary · Payments & e-money

SimplePay Zártkörűen Működő Részvénytársaság

SimplePay Zrt. is a Hungarian private company limited by shares based in Budapest. The Magyar Nemzeti Bank (MNB) authorises it as a payment institution under activity licence H-EN-I-21/2023. OTP Bank Nyrt. is its parent. It sells online card and qvik instant-payment acceptance, POS terminals and phone-based POS to merchants, and it runs the Simple app for consumers. It operated as OTP Mobil Kft. until 1 July 2025, when it became SimplePay Zrt.

Licences and registrations

Held by SimplePay Zártkörűen Működő Részvénytársaság (LEI 529900E5Z1W5VI3EBS61). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of Hungary Payment institutionPayment Institution 32835155 Hungary Active 2025-07-01 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

3,500,000

users · This entity · 13 Jan 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

OTP Bank Nyrt.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as SimplePay

Standing
On 1 July 2025 OTP Mobil Kft. began operating as SimplePay Zrt. The change moved it from a limited liability company to a private company limited by shares and gave it a new company number, 01-10-143303. The company number of OTP Mobil Kft. was 01-09-174466.
Ownership
OTP Bank Nyrt. is the direct and ultimate accounting parent of the firm, and the firm describes itself as a payment institution under OTP Bank's controlling influence.
Direct parent
OTP Bank Nyrt., Hungary
Head office
Váci út 135-139. B. ép. 5. em., 1138 Budapest, Hungary
Company register
Cégjegyzékszám 01-10-143303 (Fővárosi Törvényszék Cégbírósága)
Incorporated
1 Jul 2025
Former name
OTP Mobil Szolgáltató Korlátolt Felelősségű Társaság

Online

Websites & references
simplepay.hu ↗
simple.hu ↗ Simple consumer app site
portal.simplepay.hu ↗ merchant partner portal
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
  1. simplepay.hu/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/SimplePay_PSPL_aszf_uzletszabalyzat_20260915.pdf
  2. simplepay.hu/impresszum/
  3. simplepay.hu/
  4. simplepay.hu/vezetoseg/
  5. simplepay.hu/2025/07/01/az-otp-mobil-mostantol-simplepay-kent-mukodik-tovabb/
  6. simplepay.hu/kereskedo-aszf/
  7. simplepay.hu/rolunk/
  8. simplepay.hu/2026/01/30/arculatot-valt-a-simplepay-egyseges-marka-innovativ-megoldasok/
  9. simplepay.hu/wp-content/uploads/2024/08/simplepay_hirdetmeny_20240829.pdf
  10. fintechzone.hu/kategoria/elektronikus-fizetes/simplepay/
  11. fintechradar.hu/hirek/0127/atalakul-a-simplepay/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The MNB authorises the firm as a payment institution under activity licence H-EN-I-21/2023, dated 22 February 2023. The firm says it connects to the card schemes indirectly through OTP Bank Nyrt. OTP Bank also performs transaction authorisation as the firm's outsourced service provider.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Magyar Nemzeti Bank (Central Bank of Hungary) Hungary Payment institution activity licence (card acquiring and payment services) H-EN-I-21/2023 In its own name Active simplepay.hu ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's merchant terms reviewed did not say how it safeguards funds in transit. They only say that amounts withheld during disputes are held separately until the case is closed.simplepay.hu ↗
Acquirer / processor · Settlement bank
OTP Bank Nyrt. Hungary simplepay.hu ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Through a partner simplepay.hu ↗
Mastercard Through a partner simplepay.hu ↗
JCB Through a partner simplepay.hu ↗
UnionPay Through a partner simplepay.hu ↗
American Express Through a partner simplepay.hu ↗
qvik (Hungarian instant payment scheme) Access not stated simplepay.hu ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • Bill payments

It sells online card acceptance (with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Click to Pay), POS terminals, a phone-based SoftPOS app and qvik instant-payment acceptance to merchants. It also runs the Simple consumer app.

It serves merchants and consumers in Hungary under its MNB licence.

Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Consumers
Serves customers in
Hungary

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Bese Péter Vezérigazgató (Chief Executive Officer) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · simplepay.hu ↗
Chief financial officer
Dunca János Pénzügyi és kontrolling vezető (Head of Finance and Controlling) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · simplepay.hu ↗
Compliance / MLRO
Dr. Füredi Orsolya Head of Regulatory & Compliance Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · simplepay.hu ↗
Executive
Weiner János Vezérigazgató-helyettes, Chief Operating Officer Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · simplepay.hu ↗
Executive
Varga Norbert Fizikai fizetéselfogadási üzletágvezető (Head of Physical Payment Acceptance) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · simplepay.hu ↗
Executive
Prém Dániel IT üzemeltetési és biztonsági vezető - CIO, CISO Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · simplepay.hu ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    SimplePay adopted a new brand identity from 28 January 2026. It also renamed the HelloPay tipping terminals as SimplePay Borravalós POS.

    simplepay.hu ↗
  2. Other

    OTP Mobil Kft. began operating as SimplePay Zrt. on 1 July 2025 and grouped its business services under the SimplePay brand.

    simplepay.hu ↗
  3. Merger / acquisition

    The firm brought the HelloPay physical card-acceptance business into its own organisation. The OTP Group had acquired HelloPay in 2023.

    simplepay.hu ↗
  4. Other

    The firm, then OTP Mobil Kft., added qvik instant-payment acceptance to its online checkout and phone POS app.

    fintechzone.hu ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
32835155
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
ea734a2fc5aa

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
Hungary · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2025-07-01

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
OTP Bank Nyrt. · Hungary529900W3MOO00A18X956 ↗

The OTP Bank Nyrt. group has 18 institutions in the directory, in 9 countries: 15 hold a BIC and 3 do not.

Including OTP Banka D.D., Dsk Bank Ad, OTP Banka D.D., 'ipoteka- Bank' Joint- Stock Commercial Mortgage Bank, Banka OTP Albania Sh.a..

See the OTP Bank Nyrt. group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
Váci út 135-139. 5. em. B. ép., Budapest, 1138
Country
Hungary

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>529900E5Z1W5VI3EBS61</LEI>
  <Nm>SimplePay Zártkörűen Működő Részvénytársaság</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>1138</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Budapest</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>HU</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Váci út 135-139. 5. em. B. ép.</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
  • CBPR+ does not accept the characters á ö ű ő é ú in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo