France · Payments & e-money

Smile and Pay

SMILE & PAY is a French société anonyme with its head office in Neuilly-sur-Seine. The Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) authorises it as a payment institution under number 17228. It provides card acceptance, processing and acquiring to merchants, craftspeople and associations in France. Its offer covers payment terminals, Tap to Pay on phones and remote payment links. Truffle Capital incubated the firm. In February 2021 Truffle Capital, Evolem Start and business angels invested EUR 5 million in it.

BICSMPAFR22XXX LEI969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31 Licence no.500872023 Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of SMPAFR22 marks reverse billing. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Smile & Pay (LEI 969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterPrudential Supervisory and Resolution AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Payment institutionPayment Institution 500872023 France Active 2019-12-03 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
SMPAFR22XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of SMPAFR22 marks reverse billing.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2020-03-07
Last updated
2021-03-18

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

40,000

customers · This entity · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Venture-backed

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Smile&Pay

Ownership
The firm is privately held by venture investors, including Truffle Capital, which incubated it, and Evolem Start. Current shareholdings are not published.
Head office
60 avenue Charles de Gaulle, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Company register
RCS Nanterre 500 872 023
Incorporated
29 Oct 2007
Founders
Marc Le Mouel · Samuel Manassé · Didier Hallepée

Online

Websites & references
smileandpay.com ↗
aide.smileandpay.com ↗ help centre
app.smileandpay.com ↗ customer portal and online sign-up
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
  1. smileandpay.com/
  2. smileandpay.com/mentions-legales
  3. smileandpay.com/contrat-cadre-de-services-de-paiement-smilepay
  4. smileandpay.com/blog/solutions-de-paiement
  5. smileandpay.com/blog/smilepay-la-solution-de-paiement-simple-pour-les-commerces-de-proximite
  6. annuaire-entreprises.data.gouv.fr/entreprise/smile-pay-smile-pay-500872023
  7. next-finance.net/Smile-Pay-leve-5-MEUR-pour
  8. finyear.com/smilepay-leve-5me-pour-accelerer-la-digitalisation-des-commerces-francais_a43686.html
  9. evolem.com/en/entreprise/smile-pay-2/
  10. journaldunet.com/fintech/1206789-smile-pay-leve-2-5-millions-d-euros-pour-sa-solution-d-encaissement-par-c
  11. jaimelesstartups.fr/news/smilepay/
  12. itespresso.fr/smile-pay-fintech-truffle-capital-leve-2-5-millions-euros-181966.html

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The ACPR authorises the firm as a payment institution under number 17228. The EBA payment institutions register lists it from 3 December 2019 for card acquiring and payment services.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel et de Résolution (ACPR) France Établissement de paiement (payment institution) 17228 In its own name Active smileandpay.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe framework contract states that funds credited to merchants' payment accounts are deposited in a separate account at a credit institution. The firm does not name the bank.smileandpay.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
CB (Groupement des Cartes Bancaires) Direct smileandpay.com ↗
Visa Access not stated smileandpay.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated smileandpay.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway

It provides card acceptance and acquiring for CB, Visa and Mastercard cards through its own terminals, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android, and payment links. It pays collected funds out to the merchant's bank account, in 24 business hours according to the firm.

Its framework contract states that its ACPR authorisation covers payment services in France.

Sells to
Small businesses · Other
Serves customers in
France
Latest funding round
EUR 5m Feb 2021Led by Evolem Start, Truffle Capitalnext-finance.net ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Erwann Bruyelle CEO (Directeur général) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · smileandpay.com ↗
Executive
Alexis Canestrier Directeur Général Délégué (Deputy CEO) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · smileandpay.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
SMPAFR22XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. SMPABank
  2. FRCountry · France
  3. 22Location · reverse billing
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
500872023
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
f72e609b21d5
National bank code
Code interbancaire (CIB) 17228

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
France
Country · region
France · Europe & Central Asia
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
60 AVENUE CHARLES DE GAULLES NEUILLY SUR SEINE 92200 FRANCE
Operational address
60 AVENUE CHARLES DE GAULLES NEUILLY SUR SEINE 92200 NEUILLY SUR SEINE FRANCE

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SMPAFR22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>SMPAFR22XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>969500ET4KI2QIBIPS31</LEI>
  <Nm>SMILE AND PAY</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>NEUILLY SUR SEINE</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>FR</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>60 AVENUE CHARLES DE GAULLES NEUILLY SUR SEINE 92200</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

National bank codes

Code interbancaire (CIB) · France

1 code

CodeRoutes to BICName in the national fileCity
17228 SMPAFR22XXX SMILE & PAY NEUILLY SUR SEINE

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

Claim this profile

Work at Smile and Pay?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • National bank codes—France (Source: ACPR – REGAFI).
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: smileandpay.com (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo