Slovenia · Payments & e-money

Sparkasse Pay poslovanje s kreditnimi karticami, d. o. o.

Sparkasse Pay is a limited liability company based in Ljubljana, Slovenia. The Bank of Slovenia authorises it as a payment institution to issue payment instruments, acquire card payments and execute payment transactions covered by a credit line. Banka Sparkasse d.d., part of Erste Group, owns the firm and completed its purchase from Erste Card Club d.o.o. of Croatia on 21 June 2022. Under a franchise agreement with Diners Club International, it issues co-badged Diners Club – Mastercard cards to consumers and businesses in Slovenia and contracts merchants to accept them.

Licences and registrations

Held by Sparkasse Pay poslovanje s kreditnimi karticami, d. o. o. (LEI 4851004MG2BADG8J3L79). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of Slovenia Payment institutionPayment Institution 6395791000 Slovenia Active 2018-12-18 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

80,000

customers · This entity · 3 Jun 2024 · company statement ↗

Employees

70

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · regulatory filing ↗

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Banka Sparkasse d.d.

Firm type

Other

Trades as Diners Club Slovenija

Standing
The firm changed its name from Erste Card d.o.o. to Sparkasse Pay d.o.o. on 29 May 2024. It moved its head office to Cesta v Kleče 15, Ljubljana, in 2026.
Ownership
Banka Sparkasse d.d. of Ljubljana owns the firm, and Erste Group Bank AG is the ultimate parent according to the LEI record.
Direct parent
Banka Sparkasse d.d., Slovenia
Ultimate owner
Erste Group Bank AG, Austria
Head office
Cesta v Kleče 15, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia
Company register
Slovenian Business Register (AJPES) registration number 6395791000
Former name
ERSTE CARD poslovanje s kreditnimi karticami, d.o.o.

Online

Websites & references
sparkassepay.si ↗
digital.dinersclub.si ↗ online card application
dcstore.si ↗ DC Store, linked from the site footer
dinersclub.si ↗ former domain
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 12 pages consulted
  1. sparkassepay.si/pravna-podlaga/
  2. sparkassepay.si/wp-content/uploads/2026/02/2026.02.02-pravila-in-pogoji-za-osebno-kartico-vclear-final.pd
  3. sparkassepay.si/
  4. sparkassepay.si/o-podjetju/
  5. sparkassepay.si/dokumenti/splosna-pravila-in-pogoji/
  6. sparkasse.si/sl/novice/2022/06/21/erste-card-je-postal-del-skupine-sparkasse-v-sloveniji
  7. sparkasse.si/sl/novice/2024/6/4/erste-card-z-novim-imenom--sparkasse-pay
  8. sparkasse.si/sl/o-banki-sparkasse/dodatna-razkritja
  9. sparkassepay.si/novice/en-svet-ena-kartica/
  10. zps.si/novice/zps-pozvala-sparkasse-pay-k-odpravi-tezav-s-katerimi-se-soocajo-uporabniki-kartic-
  11. lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/4851004MG2BADG8J3L79
  12. 24ur.com/novice/slovenija/erste-card-novi-lastnik-diners-cluba-slovenija-dobil-dovoljenje-za-zagon

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Bank of Slovenia authorises the firm as a payment institution to issue payment instruments, acquire payment transactions and execute payment transactions covered by a credit line. Its card terms state that the Ministry of Economic Development and Technology licensed it for consumer credit and that the Market Inspectorate supervises that activity.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Bank of Slovenia Slovenia Payment institution (issuing of payment instruments and/or acquiring of payment transactions; payment transactions covered by a credit line) 6395791000 In its own name Active sparkassepay.si ↗
Ministry of Economic Development and Technology (Slovenia) Slovenia Licence to provide consumer credit — In its own name Active sparkassepay.si ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's card terms say that early payments may only settle existing obligations and are not deposits. The firm transfers any other funds on a card account back to the cardholder.sparkassepay.si ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Diners Club International Direct sparkassepay.si ↗
Mastercard Access not stated sparkassepay.si ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Lending

It issues personal and business Diners Club – Mastercard deferred-payment cards with separate limits for one-off purchases and instalment purchases, and it contracts Slovenian merchants to accept Diners Club cards.

It issues cards to Slovenian citizens, residents and registered businesses, and it holds the exclusive Diners Club franchise for Slovenia.

Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses · Enterprises
Serves customers in
Slovenia

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Rok Perkovič Direktor (predsednik poslovodstva) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · sparkassepay.si ↗
Executive
Rok Rozman Direktor Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · sparkassepay.si ↗
Chair
Tomaž Šalamon Predsednik nadzornega sveta (Chair of the Supervisory Board) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · sparkassepay.si ↗
Executive
Thomas Jurkowitsch Član nadzornega sveta (Supervisory Board member) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · sparkassepay.si ↗
Executive
Wolfgang Malle Član nadzornega sveta (Supervisory Board member) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · sparkassepay.si ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    The Slovene Consumers' Association asked the firm about billing and complaint handling, and the firm said it found no systemic billing irregularities.

    zps.si ↗
  2. Other

    The firm launched the co-badged Diners Club – Mastercard credit card at an event in Ljubljana on 29 January 2026.

    sparkassepay.si ↗
  3. Other

    The firm changed its name from Erste Card d.o.o. to Sparkasse Pay d.o.o. on 29 May 2024.

    sparkasse.si ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
6395791000
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
9f11d44dd36c

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
Slovenia · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2018-12-18

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Ultimate parent
Erste Group Bank AG · AustriaPQOH26KWDF7CG10L6792 ↗

The Erste Group Bank AG group has 68 institutions in the directory, in 15 countries: 67 hold a BIC and 1 does not.

Including Erste Bank der Oesterreichischen Sparkassen AG, Sparkasse Oberosterreich Bank AG, Sparkasse Eferding- Peuerbach- Waizenkirchen, Kaerntner Sparkasse Aktiengesellschaft, Erste Steiermaerkische Bank D.D..

See the Erste Group Bank AG group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
Dunajska cesta 129, Ljubljana, 1000
Country
Slovenia

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>4851004MG2BADG8J3L79</LEI>
  <Nm>Sparkasse Pay poslovanje s kreditnimi karticami, d. o. o.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>1000</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Ljubljana</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>SI</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Dunajska cesta 129</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo