Australia · Money service business
Stripe Payments Australia Pty LTD
Stripe Payments Australia Pty Ltd is an Australian proprietary company based in Sydney. It is the Stripe group's contracting entity for users in Australia. The Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) authorises it under Australian Financial Services Licence 500105 to deal in non-cash payment products and foreign exchange contracts. According to Stripe's acquirer disclosure, the firm itself is the acquirer for Visa and Mastercard transactions of Stripe's Australian users. It offers businesses online and in-person payment acceptance and Connect payouts. Since August 2026 it has also offered Stripe Treasury multi-currency balances.
Licences and registrations
Held by Stripe Payments Australia Pty LTD (LEI 549300TW4DBR7TK3OX31). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 24 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Remittance Sector Register (RSR)AUSTRACLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Independent remittance dealer or remittance affiliate (not distinguished on public register)Money Transmitter / Remittance | Not published by the register | Australia | Active | — | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- SRPIAU22XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of SRPIAU22 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2026-04-04
- Last updated
- 2026-08-01
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Firm type
Merchant acquiring and processing
Trades as Stripe
- Ownership
- The firm is part of the Stripe group, whose ultimate parent is Stripe, Inc. of the United States. Its direct shareholder was not confirmed from a primary source.
- Ultimate owner
- Stripe, Inc., United States
- Head office
- Level 18, 383-395 Kent Street, 2000 Sydney, Australia
- Company register
- ASIC ACN 160 180 343 (ABN 66 160 180 343)
- Founders
- Patrick Collison · John Collison
Online
- Websites & references
- stripe.com ↗
docs.stripe.com ↗ developer documentation (group)
status.stripe.com ↗ API status page (group) - Official social accounts
- None found
Sources · 10 pages consulted
- stripe.com/au/legal/acquirer-disclosure
- stripe.com/au/legal/ssa
- assets.ctfassets.net/fzn2n1nzq965/7vdNyTmaVd4Fg3wao0AnrZ/f5735abf3d56697a6b93fa9022253208/Stripe_AU_-_Combined
- b.stripecdn.com/site-srv/assets/files/legal/au-fsg-pds-4ad39c2267b95e6412c38a164cc87b670b61ff1d.pdf
- support.stripe.com/questions/stripe-service-provider-in-australia
- stripe.com/au
- stripe.com/newsroom/news/tour-sydney-2026
- stripe.com/newsroom/news/tour-sydney-2025
- docs.stripe.com/payments/au-becs-debit/set-up-payment
- nzherald.co.nz/business/stripes-new-zealand-revenue-jumps-26-after-opening-local-office/premium/MSRPOWXJ
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
ASIC authorises the firm under Australian Financial Services Licence 500105. The licence covers issuing non-cash payment products and foreign exchange contracts to retail and wholesale clients, and giving general advice on them. It is also on AUSTRAC's Remittance Sector Register for money remittance.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) Australia | Australian Financial Services Licence (deposit and payment products limited to non-cash payment products and basic deposit products; foreign exchange contracts) | 500105 | In its own name | Active | assets.ctfassets.net ↗ |
| Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre (AUSTRAC) Australia | Remittance Sector Register: independent remittance dealer or remittance affiliate | — | In its own name | Active | — |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe firm's product disclosure statement says Stripe Account balances reflect funds held by Stripe in a bank account, on which Stripe earns the interest. It does not name the bank or describe segregation.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Direct stripe.com ↗
Mastercard Direct stripe.com ↗
BECS Direct Entry (direct debit, User ID 507156) Access not stated docs.stripe.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It provides card acquiring, online and in-person payment processing, BECS direct debit collection and Connect top-up and payout services to Australian businesses and platforms. It added Stripe Treasury multi-currency balances in AUD, USD, GBP and EUR in August 2026.
It serves businesses whose Stripe account country is Australia. Stripe users in other countries contract with other Stripe entities.
- Payment volume
- USD 1.9tntotal volume generated by businesses on Stripe worldwide
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
- Serves customers in
- Australia
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Executive
- Karl Durrance Managing Director, Australia and New Zealand
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
Stripe launched Stripe Treasury in Australia, letting businesses hold AUD, USD, GBP and EUR balances and pay recipients in nearly 100 countries.
stripe.com ↗ -
Other
Stripe announced plans to launch Stripe Capital business financing in Australia and said it had passed 1 million users across Australia and New Zealand.
stripe.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- SRPIAU22XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- SRPIBank
- AUCountry · Australia
- 22Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 549300TW4DBR7TK3OX31
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- 4bbb84873694
Profile
- Type
- Money service businessRemittance, currency exchange, cheque cashing and money orders. Usually registered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor rather than licensed prudentially. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- AML registration onlyRegistered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor (FinCEN, FINTRAC, HMRC, AUSTRAC, Hong Kong Customs…) without a prudential licence.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Money remittance
- Licensed in
- Australia
- Country · region
- Australia · East Asia & Pacific
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- 383-395 KENT STREET FLOOR 18 SYDNEY 2000 AUSTRALIA
- Operational address
- 383-395 KENT STREET FLOOR 18 SYDNEY SYDNEY 2000 AUSTRALIA
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>SRPIAU22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>549300TW4DBR7TK3OX31</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>SRPIAU22XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>549300TW4DBR7TK3OX31</LEI>
<Nm>STRIPE PAYMENTS AUSTRALIA PTY LTD</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>SYDNEY</TwnNm>
<Ctry>AU</Ctry>
<AdrLine>383-395 KENT STREET FLOOR 18 SYDNEY 2000</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Claim this profile
Work at Stripe Payments Australia Pty LTD?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Remittance Sector Register (RSR)—Australian Transaction Reports and Analysis Centre (AUSTRAC) · register ↗ as at 24 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: stripe.com (official website).
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo