Ireland · Payments & e-money

SumUp Limited

SumUp Limited is a private company limited by shares, incorporated in Ireland in 2011 and based in Dublin. Since 27 October 2020 the Central Bank of Ireland has authorised it as an electronic money institution under reference C195030. It is the Irish operating company of the SumUp group, which describes the Irish entity as a gateway to its European markets. It mainly serves small businesses, offering card acceptance, online payments, e-money business accounts with a prepaid Mastercard and a consumer wallet.

BICNo BIC LEINo LEI mapped Licence no.C195030

Licences and registrations

Held by SumUp Limited. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCentral Bank of Ireland Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution C195030 Ireland Active 2020-10-27 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: SumUp (EBA-PSD2)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

4,000,000

merchants · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as SumUp

Ownership
The firm is the Irish operating company of the SumUp group, and its LEI record does not name a parent.
Head office
Block 8, Harcourt Centre, Charlotte Way, D02 K580 Dublin, Ireland
Company register
CRO 505893
Incorporated
10 Nov 2011
Founder
Marc-Alexander Christ

Online

Websites & references
sumup.com ↗
developer.sumup.com ↗ developer docs
status.sumup.com ↗ status page
help.sumup.com ↗ support centre
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 14 pages consulted
  1. registers.centralbank.ie/FirmRegisterDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C195030&register=63
  2. registers.centralbank.ie/FirmDataPage.aspx?firmReferenceNumber=C195030
  3. lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/635400JUXY4CDECWNR76
  4. sumup.com/en-ie/
  5. sumup.com/en-ie/product-and-services-regulation/
  6. sumup.com/en-mt/terms-sumup-card/
  7. sumup.com/en-ie/about/
  8. sumup.com/en-gb/press/sumup-limited-appoints-ceo-cfo-and-new-board-members/
  9. businessandfinance.com/news/if-its-endurable-endure-it-60-seconds-with-niall-mac-an-tsionnaigh-ceo-of-sumup-limi
  10. form3.tech/news/press-releases/form3-expands-strategic-partnership-with-sumup
  11. baincapital.com/news/global-fintech-sumup-raises-590-million-and-celebrates-10-years-supporting-small-mer
  12. cnbc.com/2023/12/11/sumup-defies-fintech-funding-slump-with-307-million-fundraise.html
  13. thepaypers.com/payments/news/sumup-reportedly-explores-european-ipo-with-london-and-amsterdam-in-focus
  14. bloomberg.com/news/articles/2026-04-14/fintech-sumup-is-said-to-line-up-banks-for-possible-london-ipo

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Central Bank of Ireland authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under Regulation 9 of the European Communities (Electronic Money) Regulations 2011. The register shows the licence passported on a freedom-of-services basis to 23 EEA states.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Central Bank of Ireland Ireland E-Money Institution (authorised pursuant to Regulation 9 of the European Communities (Electronic Money) Regulations 2011) C195030 In its own name Active registers.centralbank.ie ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that it holds customer funds in segregated safeguarding accounts at financial institutions in Ireland and the EEA, apart from its own funds, as Irish law requires.
Payment schemes and card networks
Mastercard Direct sumup.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated form3.tech ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated form3.tech ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated form3.tech ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • E-money wallet
  • Prepaid cards
  • Domestic payments

The firm offers in-person card acceptance through its card readers and Tap to Pay, plus online checkout and payment links. It also offers e-money business accounts with a SumUp Business Prepaid Mastercard and the SumUp Pay consumer wallet.

The firm serves customers in Ireland under its Irish licence. The Central Bank of Ireland register shows the licence passported on a freedom-of-services basis to 23 EEA states.

Sells to
Small businesses · Consumers · Enterprises
Serves customers in 24 countries
Ireland · Malta · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Czechia · Denmark · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Italy · Liechtenstein · Luxembourg · Netherlands · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Slovakia · Spain · Sweden
Latest funding round
EUR 285m Dec 2023Led by Sixth Street Growth, Bain Capital Tech Opportunitiescnbc.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Niall Mac an tSionnaigh CEO, SumUp Limited Confirmed 4 Nov 2025 · businessandfinance.com ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    Bloomberg reported that the SumUp group was lining up banks for a possible London initial public offering (IPO). SumUp did not comment publicly.

    bloomberg.com ↗
  2. Other

    Form3 announced that the SumUp group had adopted its platform for SEPA Instant, SEPA Credit Transfer and SEPA Direct Debit payments.

    form3.tech ↗
  3. Licence

    The SumUp group announced that it was preparing to seek banking licences in the EU and the UK, according to The Paypers.

    thepaypers.com ↗
  4. Leadership

    SumUp appointed Niall Mac an tSionnaigh CEO of SumUp Limited. Former CEO Gareth Walsh became a non-executive director.

    sumup.com ↗
  5. Funding

    The SumUp group raised EUR 1.5 billion in a private credit debt deal led by Goldman Sachs Asset Management.

    fintechfutures.com ↗
  6. Funding

    The SumUp group raised EUR 285 million in a round led by Sixth Street Growth and Bain Capital Tech Opportunities.

    cnbc.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
C195030
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
LEI
No LEI mapped
Elucidate firm ID
b74252ce0f1b

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Ireland · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2020-10-27

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.

Addresses

Address on the register
Block 8, Harcourt Centre, Charlotte Way, D02 K580
Country
Ireland

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <Nm>SumUp Limited</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>D02 K580</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Charlotte Way</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>IE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Block 8, Harcourt Centre</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo