- Directory
- Netherlands
- Airwallex (Netherlands) B.V.
Netherlands · Payments & e-money
Airwallex (Netherlands) B.V.
Airwallex (Netherlands) B.V. is a Dutch private limited company based in Amsterdam. De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) authorises it as an electronic money institution under relation number R179622. The licence has applied since 30 April 2021. The firm belongs to the Airwallex group, which was founded in Melbourne in 2015 and now describes Singapore and San Francisco as its dual headquarters. The firm serves business customers across the EEA with multi-currency e-money accounts, FX and international transfers, Visa corporate cards, online and in-store payment acceptance and embedded-finance APIs. It issues the cards itself.
Licences and registrations
Held by Airwallex (Netherlands) B.V.. 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterThe Netherlands Bank | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | R179622 | Netherlands | Active | 2021-05-03 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory. No LEI is matched to this entry, and BICs are linked by LEI only.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Firm type
FX and business payments
Trades as Airwallex
- Ownership
- The firm is part of the privately held, venture-backed Airwallex group. Its direct shareholder is not named in the sources reviewed.
- Head office
- Keizersgracht 127, 1015 CJ Amsterdam, Netherlands
- Company register
- KvK (Netherlands Chamber of Commerce) 77519256
- Founders
- Jack Zhang · Lucy Liu · Max Li · Xijing Dai · Ki-lok Wong
Online
- Websites & references
- airwallex.com ↗
airwallex.com/nl-nl ↗ Dutch-language country site
help.airwallex.com ↗ help centre (licensing and safeguarding statements)
status.airwallex.com ↗ service status page
airwallex.com/docs ↗ developer documentation - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
- Apps
- App Store ↗ · Google Play ↗
Sources · 14 pages consulted
- dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R179622
- airwallex.com/eu/online-payments-capability
- airwallex.com/en-eu/nl/terms
- help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/4404265644185-How-does-Airwallex-keep-my-money-safe
- help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/900001757106-How-is-Airwallex-licensed-and-regulated
- assets.ctfassets.net/e6wv1zvbwa49/4ZLGp3U9JRku1Inw0i8LA9/91e4103b1e1393515d0f57fd762e1bde/20210909_-_Airwallex
- airwallex.com/en-eu/who-we-are
- airwallex.com/newsroom/airwallex-secures-emi-licence-in-the-netherlands
- airwallex.com/global/newsroom/airwallex-secures-320-million-in-series-h-funding-valuation-hits-11-billi
- austrac.gov.au/new-and-media/news/austrac-orders-audit-airwallex-suspected-amlctf-compliance-failures
- cnbc.com/2026/06/26/airwallex-series-h-funding-11-billion-valuation-ai-finance.html
- money.usnews.com/investing/news/articles/2026-01-05/tencent-backed-fintech-airwallex-to-invest-in-the-neth
- thepaypers.com/payments/news/airwallex-receives-a-mifid-licence-in-the-netherlands-to-launch-yield
- moneymag.com.au/airwallex-austrac-investigation
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
DNB authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under the Dutch Financial Supervision Act (Wft). The authorisation covers e-money issuance, payment accounts, card issuing, acquiring and money remittance. DNB's register lists cross-border services notifications to other EEA states from 14 May 2021.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands | Authorisation to carry out the business of an electronic-money institution (PSD2 - Wft 2:10a) | R179622 | In its own name | Active | dnb.nl ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that funds corresponding to customers' e-money are held in segregated safeguarding bank accounts of Airwallex Netherlands Foundation, a customer-funds foundation (stichting derdengelden) that DNB supervises as a related third-party account entity. Customer funds are not covered by the Dutch deposit guarantee scheme.
- Safeguarding bank
- Airwallex Netherlands Stichting (Airwallex Netherlands Foundation) Netherlands
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Visa Access not stated assets.ctfassets.net ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated airwallex.com ↗
Swift Access not stated airwallex.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm offers business-only e-money wallets and Global Accounts, FX conversions and forwards, payouts, Visa corporate cards, payment acceptance and embedded-finance APIs. A sister company, Airwallex Capital (Netherlands) B.V., provides the Yield money-market product under an AFM investment-firm licence.
The firm serves business customers across the EEA under its Dutch e-money licence, which it says it has passported throughout the EEA.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
- Serves customers in 30 countries
- Netherlands · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Iceland · Ireland · Italy · Latvia · Liechtenstein · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden
- Latest funding round
- Series H · USD 320m Jun 2026Led by Addition
- Total raised
- USD 1.8bn to Sep 2026 · airwallex.com ↗
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Jack Zhang Co-founder and CEO of Airwallex (group level)
Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Funding
The Airwallex group raised USD 320 million in a Series H round led by Addition, at a stated valuation of USD 11 billion.
airwallex.com ↗ -
Investigation
AUSTRAC ordered Airwallex Pty Ltd, the group's Australian entity, to appoint an external auditor over suspected AML/CTF non-compliance. The order does not concern this firm.
austrac.gov.au ↗ -
Other
The Airwallex group announced plans to invest about EUR 200 million in the Netherlands over five years and to expand its Amsterdam team.
money.usnews.com ↗ -
Funding
The Airwallex group raised USD 330 million in a Series G round led by Addition, at a reported valuation of USD 8 billion.
cnbc.com ↗ -
Licence
The AFM granted sister company Airwallex Capital (Netherlands) B.V. an investment-firm licence to offer the Yield product to the firm's account holders.
thepaypers.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- R179622
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- LEI
- No LEI mapped
- Elucidate firm ID
- 66be1cd90fab
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- E-Money / Stored Value Institution
- Activities
- Money remittance
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Netherlands · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2021-05-03
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
No LEI is matched to this entry, so GLEIF relationship records cannot be linked.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Vijzelstraat 68, AMSTERDAM, 1017HL
- Country
- Netherlands
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address. No LEI or clearing code is mapped in the directory
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
<Nm>Airwallex (Netherlands) B.V.</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>1017HL</PstCd>
<TwnNm>AMSTERDAM</TwnNm>
<Ctry>NL</Ctry>
<AdrLine>Vijzelstraat 68</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo