Luxembourg · Payments & e-money

Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A.

Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A. is a Luxembourg société en commandite par actions. The Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF) authorises it as an electronic money institution, and the firm cites licence number 36/10. It belongs to the Amazon.com, Inc. group, and its direct parent is Amazon EU S.à r.l. It operates the Amazon Pay service in the EU, processing online payments for merchants and letting shoppers pay with their Amazon accounts.

Licences and registrations

Held by Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A. (LEI 2549008827G8VLY2AL33). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterCommission for the Supervision of Financial Sector Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution W00000001 Luxembourg Active 2010-09-24 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Amazon EU S.à r.l.

Firm type

Merchant acquiring and processing

Trades as Amazon Pay

Ownership
Amazon EU S.à r.l. is the direct parent and Amazon.com, Inc. the ultimate parent, according to the entity's LEI record.
Direct parent
Amazon EU S.à r.l. ↗, Luxembourg
Ultimate owner
Amazon.com, Inc., United States
Head office
38 avenue J.F. Kennedy, L-1855 Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Company register
RCS Luxembourg B153265
Incorporated
31 May 2010

Online

Websites & references
pay.amazon.eu ↗
developer.amazon.com ↗ developer docs
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 9 pages consulted
  1. pay.amazon.eu/help/201751610
  2. pay.amazon.eu/help/201212430
  3. pay.amazon.eu/help/201751590
  4. dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTEG&relationNumber=R112138
  5. lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/2549008827G8VLY2AL33
  6. pay.amazon.eu/help/201813100
  7. static-assets.business.amazon.com/assets/gb/marketing-assets/AB-EU-supplier-forms.pdf
  8. pay.amazon.eu/secure-checkout/monthly-invoice
  9. pay.amazon.eu/help/5087

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The CSSF authorises the firm as an electronic money institution. The Dutch central bank (DNB) register shows it providing cross-border services in the Netherlands since 19 February 2019.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF) Luxembourg Electronic Money Institution (licence number 36/10 as published by the firm) W00000001 In its own name Active pay.amazon.eu ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe merchant agreement states that e-money is not a deposit and is not covered by the Luxembourg deposit guarantee scheme, but it does not describe how customer funds are safeguarded.pay.amazon.eu ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated pay.amazon.eu ↗
Mastercard Access not stated pay.amazon.eu ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Merchant acquiring
  • Payment gateway
  • E-money wallet
  • Domestic payments

It runs Amazon Pay checkout for online merchants and issues e-money to merchant accounts for the proceeds of sales. Shoppers pay using the payment details stored in their Amazon accounts.

It serves customers in EEA countries under its Luxembourg licence, and its user agreement names its German, French, Italian and Spanish sites.

Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Consumers
Serves customers in 8 countries
Luxembourg · Germany · France · Italy · Spain · Austria · Finland · Netherlands

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
W00000001
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
2e07cfa756b0

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
E-Money / Stored Value Institution
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Luxembourg · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2010-09-24

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Amazon Eu S.à r.l. · Luxembourg549300CLGXJ3ZDL9PZ27 ↗
Ultimate parent
Amazon.com, Inc. · United StatesZXTILKJKG63JELOEG630 ↗

The Amazon.com, Inc. group has 2 institutions in the directory, in 2 countries: none holds a BIC.

Including Amazon Payments, Inc..

See the Amazon.com, Inc. group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
38 Avenue J.F. Kennedy, Luxembourg, 1855
Country
Luxembourg

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>2549008827G8VLY2AL33</LEI>
  <Nm>Amazon Payments Europe S.C.A.</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>1855</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Luxembourg</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>LU</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>38 Avenue J.F. Kennedy</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo