Sweden · Payments & e-money

Bankomat AB

Bankomat AB is a Swedish limited company based in Stockholm. Finansinspektionen authorised it as a payment institution on 20 August 2019. Danske Bank, Nordea, SEB and Handelsbanken each own 20% of the firm. ATM Holding AB, owned by Swedbank and the savings banks, holds the other 20%. It runs the Bankomat network of cash withdrawal and deposit machines in Sweden for card-issuing banks and sells foreign currency through its machines. The banks formed it in 2010, it merged with BDB Bankernas Depå AB in 2017 and it has run its own cash-in-transit operation since 2025.

BICBAUBSES1XXX LEI6367004XPYLNNNNXZL49 Licence no.48384 Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of BAUBSES1 marks a passive participant. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Bankomat AB (LEI 6367004XPYLNNNNXZL49). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterSwedish Financial Supervisory AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Payment institutionPayment Institution 48384 Sweden Active 2019-08-20 —
  • Payment services
  • Account information
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
BAUBSES1XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of BAUBSES1 marks a passive participant.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2011-11-05
Last updated
2020-07-03

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

118

headcount · This entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗

Ownership

Privately held

Firm type

Payment infrastructure

Trades as Bankomat

Standing
On 6 July 2026 the Patent and Market Court (Patent- och marknadsdomstolen) revoked the registration of the company name Bankomat AB in full. It also revoked part of the Bankomat trademark registration, in a dispute with Google group companies. The firm has said it will appeal. It continues to operate its machines.
Ownership
Danske Bank A/S (Swedish branch), Nordea Bank Abp (Swedish branch), Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken AB (publ), Svenska Handelsbanken AB (publ) and ATM Holding AB each own 20%. Swedbank AB and the savings banks own ATM Holding AB, and the savings banks hold 30% of it.
Head office
Holländargatan 10, 111 36 Stockholm, Sweden
Company register
Bolagsverket 556817-9716
Incorporated
2010

Online

Websites & references
bankomat.se ↗
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
  1. bankomat.se/
  2. bankomat.se/om-oss/
  3. bankomat.se/om-oss/bankomats-chefer-och-styrelse/
  4. bankomat.se/om-oss/vara-kunder/
  5. bankomat.se/app/uploads/2026/05/Arsredovisning-2025.pdf
  6. fi.se/sv/vara-register/foretagsregistret/?query=betalningsinstitut&format=csv
  7. bankomat.se/nyheter/press/
  8. bankomat.se/nyheter/press/bankomat-blir-betalningsinstitut/
  9. bankomat.se/valuta/bestall-hem/
  10. riksbank.se/sv/betalningar--kontanter/sa-betalar-svenskarna/betalningsrapport-2026/hur-sakra-effektiv
  11. realtid.se/bors-finans/bank-fintech/bankomat-ar-for-kant-forlorar-tvist-mot-amerikanska-jatten/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

Finansinspektionen authorises the firm as a payment institution under the Swedish Payment Services Act. The authorisation covers cash deposits to and cash withdrawals from payment accounts and account information services.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Finansinspektionen (Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority) Sweden Betalningsinstitut (payment institution): cash deposit and cash withdrawal services, account information services — In its own name Active bankomat.se ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated bankomat.se ↗
Mastercard Access not stated bankomat.se ↗
American Express Access not stated bankomat.se ↗
Diners Club Access not stated bankomat.se ↗
UnionPay Access not stated bankomat.se ↗
EUFISERV Access not stated bankomat.se ↗
JCB Access not stated bankomat.se ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Bureau de change
  • Account information (open banking)

It runs cash withdrawal and deposit machines that also offer foreign currency withdrawal, account statements, transfers and PIN changes, depending on what each card issuer offers its customers. It also runs cash depots and buys and sells cash directly from and to Sveriges Riksbank.

According to its 2025 annual report, it had 1,169 machines in all 290 Swedish municipalities at the end of 2025. It offers its base services to card issuers in the EU/EEA.

Revenue
SEK 891.1mThis entity · 31 Dec 2025 · annual report ↗
Sells to
Financial institutions · Consumers · Small businesses
Serves customers in
Sweden

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Lena Gredenhag Vd (Chief Executive Officer) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bankomat.se ↗
Chair
Pia Warnerman Ordförande (Chair of the Board) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bankomat.se ↗
Chief financial officer
Nasim Sabah Nasim Sabah Chef ekonomi (Head of Finance) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bankomat.se ↗
Executive
Maria Bruse Maria Bruse Chef styrning, risk och säkerhet (Head of Governance, Risk and Security) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bankomat.se ↗
Executive
Stefan Wikman Stefan Wikman Chef värdehantering (Head of Cash Handling) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · bankomat.se ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    The Patent and Market Court revoked the firm's company name and part of its trademark registration in a dispute with Google group companies.

    bankomat.se ↗
  2. Leadership

    Lena Gredenhag, previously head of payments at Handelsbanken, succeeded Nina Wenning as chief executive on 1 June 2026.

    bankomat.se ↗
  3. Other

    The firm took over cash handling for all its machines on 1 July 2025, replacing the cash-in-transit service it had bought from Loomis.

    bankomat.se ↗
  4. Incident

    According to the Riksbank, up to 30% of the firm's withdrawal and deposit machines were out of service at times between May and September 2025.

    riksbank.se ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
BAUBSES1XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. BAUBBank
  2. SECountry · Sweden
  3. S1Location · passive
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
6367004XPYLNNNNXZL49
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
48384
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
cce903d4b905

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Account information
Licensed in
Sweden
Country · region
Sweden · Europe & Central Asia
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
REGERINGSGATAN 60 STOCKHOLM 111 43 SWEDEN
Operational address
REGERINGSGATAN 60 STOCKHOLM 111 43 STOCKHOLM SWEDEN

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>BAUBSES1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>6367004XPYLNNNNXZL49</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>BAUBSES1XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>6367004XPYLNNNNXZL49</LEI>
  <Nm>BANKOMAT AB</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>STOCKHOLM</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>SE</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>REGERINGSGATAN 60 STOCKHOLM 111 43</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Claim this profile

Work at Bankomat AB?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: bankomat.se (official website) · original; Nasim Sabah: bankomat.se (official website) · original; Maria Bruse: bankomat.se (official website) · original; Stefan Wikman: bankomat.se (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo