Sweden · Payments & e-money
Svensk Betaltjänst AB
Svensk Betaltjänst AB is a Swedish limited company (aktiebolag) based in Vällingby, Stockholm. Finansinspektionen (FI) authorises it as a payment institution for money remittance under the Swedish Payment Services Act (2010:751). According to its Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) record, its parent is Aisle Systems Sweden AB. The firm lets consumers pay bills to Bankgiro and Plusgiro numbers over the counter at retail agents, with cash or card. It describes its main audience as people who are digitally excluded or who need to pay in person.
Licences and registrations
Held by Svensk Betaltjänst AB (LEI 636700TNYQE3UL9HTI08). 2 entries on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterSwedish Financial Supervisory Authority | Payment institutionPayment Institution | 559417-4012 | Sweden | Active | 2026-04-08 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
| EBA PSD2 RegisterSwedish Financial Supervisory Authority | Exempted payment institutionPayment Institution | 71181 | Sweden | Withdrawn | 2023-10-10 | Ended 2026-04-07 |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Aisle Systems Sweden AB
Firm type
Money remittance
Trades as Svensk Betaltjänst
- Standing
- Finansinspektionen authorised the firm as a payment institution for money remittance on 8 April 2026. This replaced the registration as a payment service provider, exempt from the authorisation requirement, which it had held since 10 October 2023.
- Ownership
- According to the firm's LEI record, Aisle Systems Sweden AB is its direct and ultimate accounting parent.
- Direct parent
- Aisle Systems Sweden AB ↗, Sweden
- Head office
- Sorterargatan 12, 162 50 Vällingby, Sweden
- Company register
- Bolagsverket 559417-4012
Online
- Websites & references
- svenskbetaltjanst.se ↗
- Official social accounts
- None found
Sources · 11 pages consulted
- fi.se/en/our-registers/company-register/details?id=664224
- svenskbetaltjanst.se/
- svenskbetaltjanst.se/om-oss
- svenskbetaltjanst.se/tjanster
- svenskbetaltjanst.se/ombud
- svenskbetaltjanst.se/villkor
- svenskbetaltjanst.se/allmanna-villkor-2024-03-15.pdf
- svenskbetaltjanst.se/kontakt
- riksdagen.se/sv/dokument-och-lagar/dokument/proposition/atgarder-for-att-starka-kontanternas-funktions
- lansstyrelsen.se/download/18.2cccdb1c19a769f7402bd7bc/1764257467771/Bevakning%20av%20grundl%C3%A4ggande%20
- svenskforfattningssamling.se/sites/default/files/sfs/2025-03/SFS2025-253.pdf
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
Finansinspektionen authorises the firm as a payment institution for money remittance, effective 8 April 2026. It provides its service through payment service agents that it has notified to Finansinspektionen.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Finansinspektionen (Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority) Sweden | Betalningsinstitut (payment institution): penningöverföring (money remittance) | 71181 | In its own name | Active | fi.se ↗ |
| Finansinspektionen (Swedish Financial Supervisory Authority) Sweden | Registrerad betaltjänstleverantör (registered payment service provider, exempt from the authorisation requirement) | 71181 | Exemption | Withdrawn or expired | svenskbetaltjanst.se ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe firm does not state on its website or in its terms how it protects customers' funds.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Bankgiro Access not stated svenskbetaltjanst.se ↗
Plusgiro Access not stated svenskbetaltjanst.se ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Consumers pay bills to Swedish Bankgiro and Plusgiro accounts at the counters of partner shops, which act as the firm's payment service agents. The firm charges a fee of 2% of the amount, with a minimum of SEK 80 per bill.
The firm serves customers in Sweden only, through a pilot network of eight retail agents in towns including Gothenburg, Malmö, Helsingborg, Linköping, Gävle and Junsele.
- Sells to
- Consumers
- Serves customers in
- Sweden
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Licence
Finansinspektionen authorised the firm as a payment institution for money remittance, replacing its earlier registration as a payment service provider.
fi.se ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 559417-4012
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- 71181
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
- Elucidate firm ID
- e9d0f590acd1
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- Payment Institution
- Activities
- Money remittance
- Payment services
- Licensed in
- Sweden · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2023-10-10
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Aisle Systems Sweden AB · Sweden549300O5RIMRYSWHT694 ↗
Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Sorterargatan 12, Vällingby, 162 50
- Country
- Sweden
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
<LEI>636700TNYQE3UL9HTI08</LEI>
<Nm>Svensk Betaltjänst AB</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<PstCd>162 50</PstCd>
<TwnNm>Vällingby</TwnNm>
<Ctry>SE</Ctry>
<AdrLine>Sorterargatan 12</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
- CBPR+ does not accept the character ä in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo