- Directory
- Netherlands
- Bitvavo B.V.
Netherlands · Crypto
Bitvavo B.V.
Bitvavo B.V. is a Dutch private limited company based in Amsterdam and a subsidiary of Bitvavo Group B.V. The Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) authorises it under MiCA as a crypto-asset service provider for custody, trading platform and transfer services. Since 30 June 2026, De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) has also authorised it as a payment institution, limited to services involving e-money tokens. It runs the Bitvavo crypto-asset exchange for retail and institutional clients in the EEA.
Licences and registrations
Held by Bitvavo B.V. (LEI 724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providersNetherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) | Crypto-asset service providerCrypto-Asset Service Provider | 724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56 | Netherlands | Active | 2025-06-26 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Bitvavo Group B.V.
Firm type
Crypto exchange or broker
Trades as Bitvavo
- Ownership
- Bitvavo Group B.V. is the direct parent of the firm and, according to its LEI record, also its ultimate parent.
- Direct parent
- Bitvavo Group B.V. ↗, Netherlands
- Head office
- Keizersgracht 281, 1016 ED Amsterdam, Netherlands
- Company register
- KvK 68743424
- Founders
- Mark Nuvelstijn · Tim Baardse · Jelle de Boer
Online
- Websites & references
- bitvavo.com ↗
support.bitvavo.com ↗ help centre
docs.bitvavo.com ↗ API documentation
status.bitvavo.com ↗ status page
bitvavo.be ↗ country site for Belgium, linked from the countries page
bitvavo.es ↗ country site for Spain, linked from the countries page
Wikipedia ↗ - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 18 pages consulted
- dnb.nl/en/public-register/information-detail/?registerCode=WFTBI&relationNumber=R163129
- bitvavo.com/nl
- bitvavo.com/en/imprint
- bitvavo.com/nl/terms
- bitvavo.com/en/risk-disclosure
- bitvavo.com/nl/about
- bitvavo.com/en/countries
- bitvavo.com/en/proof-of-reserves
- bitvavo.com/en/news
- bitvavo.com/en/news/bitvavo-restructures
- bitvavo.com/en/news/bitvavo-obtains-mica-licence
- bitvavo.com/en/news/mark-nuvelstijn-steps-down-as-ceo
- amf-france.org/en/warnings/white-lists/casp/bitvavo-bv
- support.bitvavo.com/hc/en-us/articles/4405243980945-What-does-Bitvavo-s-MiCAR-license-from-the-AFM-mean-for-m
- fd.nl/financiele-markten/1583621/bitvavo-wil-britse-voormalig-deliveroo-directeur-aanstellen-al
- newsbit.nl/crypto-beurs-bitvavo-wil-deliveroo-directeur-als-nieuwe-ceo/
- bnr.nl/nieuws/tech-innovatie/10609517/bitvavo-reorganiseert-tientallen-medewerkers-op-straat
- en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bitvavo
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The AFM authorises the firm under MiCA as a crypto-asset service provider for custody, operation of a trading platform and transfer of crypto-assets. DNB has authorised it as a payment institution since 30 June 2026 for payment services 3, 5 and 6, limited to e-money tokens. DNB's register shows this authorisation passported to the other EEA states. The French AMF lists the firm as providing crypto-asset services in France under the free provision of services.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) Netherlands | Crypto-asset service provider under Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 (MiCA): custody and administration, operation of a trading platform, transfer services | 41000010 | In its own name | Active | bitvavo.com ↗ |
| De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands | Payment institution (Betaalinstelling), authorisation under Wft 2:3a, limited to payment services 3, 5 and 6 relating to e-money tokens | R163129 | In its own name | Active | dnb.nl ↗ |
| De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands | Service provider excluded from scope of PSD2 (Wft 1:5a(2) k and l), limited-network payment instrument | R163129 | Exemption | Active | dnb.nl ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm states that a separate Dutch foundation (stichting) holds customers' euro funds and crypto-assets apart from its own assets, with euro funds held in designated accounts at a credit institution.
- Crypto-asset custody
- Held by the firmCustomers' crypto-assets sit in omnibus wallets held by a separate foundation. According to the firm, some of these assets may be kept in cold storage with third-party custodians. The firm publishes a proof-of-reserves attestation by The Network Firm LLP.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated bitvavo.com ↗
iDEAL | Wero Access not stated bitvavo.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It runs a crypto-asset exchange with euro trading pairs, custody and transfers, and says it lists more than 400 crypto-assets. It also offers staking, lending through its sister company Bitvavo Custody B.V. and margin trading, and it states these services fall outside MiCA.
It lists 25 EEA countries on its countries page and serves them under its Dutch MiCA authorisation.
- Sells to
- Consumers · Enterprises
- Serves customers in 25 countries
- Netherlands · Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Hungary · Ireland · Italy · Latvia · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Norway · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
Bitvavo announced a reorganisation involving staff reductions. BNR reported that 94 jobs were affected.
bitvavo.com ↗ -
Licence
DNB authorised the firm as a payment institution from 30 June 2026, limited to payment services relating to e-money tokens.
dnb.nl ↗ -
Leadership
Het Financieele Dagblad reported that Akshay Navle was the proposed chief executive, subject to AFM screening, and that the interim chief executive would leave.
fd.nl ↗ -
Leadership
Co-founder Mark Nuvelstijn stepped down as CEO on 4 July 2025 after press allegations. CFO Johan van Olffen became interim CEO.
bitvavo.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · ESMA-CASP
- 724500MX2WBKDJP9HE56
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Published by the register
- Market identifier code
- VAVO
- Elucidate firm ID
- e7bc3b441bea
Profile
- Type
- CryptoCrypto-asset service providers, virtual-asset trading platforms and stablecoin issuers. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- Crypto-Asset Service Provider
- Activities
- Crypto-assets
- Licensed in
- Netherlands · Europe & Central Asia
- First registered
- 2025-06-26
- Website
- bitvavo.com/nl ↗
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
- Direct parent
- Bitvavo Group B.V. · Netherlands724500H5G42H1IFIXE50 ↗
Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Keizersgracht 28 - 1016ED Amsterdam - The Netherlands
- Country
- Netherlands
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Incomplete: no town published
- The register publishes no town as a separate field. A CBPR+ postal address needs at least a town name (TwnNm) and a country (Ctry).
The LEI record in GLEIF holds a structured legal address.
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Market identifiers
One trading venue or reporting service run under this LEI
| MIC | Market | Kind | Category |
|---|---|---|---|
| VAVO | BITVAVO | Operating MIC | Crypto-asset service provider |
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providers—European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo