Romania · Payments & e-money

BT Direct Ifn S.A.

BT Direct IFN S.A. is a Romanian joint-stock non-bank financial institution (IFN) with its registered office in Cluj-Napoca. The EBA PSD2 register lists it as a payment institution under the National Bank of Romania (NBR), active since April 2011. Banca Transilvania S.A. holds 98.68% of its share capital, and the Banca Transilvania group holds 100% directly and indirectly. It offers individuals in Romania consumer loans, in-store and online instalment financing and Mastercard-branded credit cards, including cards co-branded with retailers. It was formerly ERB Retail Services IFN S.A., which Banca Transilvania bought from Eurobank Group in 2018 and later merged with the group's earlier BT Direct business.

Licences and registrations

Held by BT Direct Ifn S.A. (LEI 549300KT385R56JK9P77). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterNational Bank of Romania Payment institutionPayment Institution 16036850 Romania Active 2011-04-28 —
  • Payment services
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

98.68% Banca Transilvania S.A.

Firm type

Lending or buy now, pay later

Trades as BT Direct

Ownership
Banca Transilvania S.A. holds 98.68% of the firm's share capital directly, and the Banca Transilvania group holds 100% directly and indirectly.
Direct parent
Banca Transilvania S.A., Romania 98.68%
Head office
Bd. 21 Decembrie 1989 nr. 77, The Office, clădirea C-D, parter, 400603 Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Company register
ONRC J2018001566126 (CUI RO16036850)
Former name
ERB RETAIL SERVICES IFN S.A.

Online

Websites & references
btdirect.ro ↗
Official social accounts
None found
Sources · 9 pages consulted
  1. btdirect.ro/
  2. btdirect.ro/politica-de-confidentialitate/
  3. btdirect.ro/termeni-si-conditii/
  4. btdirect.ro/cardul-direct/
  5. btdirect.ro/informatii-utile/
  6. bancatransilvania.ro/files/app/media/Investor-Relations/General-Shareholders-Meeting/2026/Consolidated-Separat
  7. en.bancatransilvania.ro/news/comunicate-de-presa/banca-transilvania-a-achizitionat-bancpost-erb-retail-services-i
  8. bankingnews.ro/bt-direct-erb-retail-services-fuziune-bt.html
  9. alccr.ro/membri/bt-direct-ifn-s-a/

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The NBR supervises the firm as a non-bank financial institution. The EBA PSD2 register lists it as a payment institution under reference 16036850. Its articles of association limit its payment services to the credit cards it issues as part of its lending.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
National Bank of Romania Romania Payment Institution 16036850 In its own name Active —
National Bank of Romania Romania Non-bank financial institution (IFN) — In its own name Active btdirect.ro ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's website has no statement on safeguarding customer funds.
Payment schemes and card networks
Mastercard Access not stated alccr.ro ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Lending
  • Buy now, pay later

It offers personal loans, an online loan, point-of-sale instalment financing at partner retailers and Mastercard-branded credit cards, including cards co-branded with Dedeman, Carrefour and Flanco.

It serves individual customers in Romania online, at partner retailers and through Banca Transilvania branches.

Sells to
Consumers
Serves customers in
Romania

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Executive
Florentina-Virginia Mircea Member of the Board of Directors Confirmed 24 Mar 2026 · bancatransilvania.ro ↗
Executive
Ioana-Mihaela Ilaș Director (member of the Board of Directors) Confirmed 24 Mar 2026 · bancatransilvania.ro ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    The shareholders extended the board mandate of Ioana-Mihaela Ilaș by four years from January 2026.

    bancatransilvania.ro ↗
  2. Other

    The board moved the registered office to Bd. 21 Decembrie 1989 nr. 77, The Office, Cluj-Napoca.

    bancatransilvania.ro ↗
  3. Leadership

    The shareholders extended the board mandate of Florentina-Virginia Mircea until October 2029.

    bancatransilvania.ro ↗
  4. Other

    The shareholders amended the articles of association to list credit card issuance and credit-line card payment operations among its activities.

    bancatransilvania.ro ↗
  5. Funding

    Banca Transilvania contributed RON 30 million in cash, raising the firm's share capital to RON 146,330,775.

    bancatransilvania.ro ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
16036850
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
f3d8709af8a0

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Payment services
Licensed in
Romania · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2011-04-28

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

The Banca Transilvania SA group has 4 institutions in the directory, in 2 countries: 3 hold a BIC and 1 does not.

Including Banca Transilvania S.A, Banca Transilvania S.A., Bt Capital Partners S.A..

See the Banca Transilvania SA group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
Bd. 21 DECEMBRIE 1989 nr. 77, THE OFFICE, clădirea C-D, parter, jud. Cluj, CLUJ NAPOCA, 400603
Country
Romania

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Does not fit the CBPR+ limits
  • The address does not fit in the two address lines of 35 characters that CBPR+ allows next to a town and country.
  • CBPR+ does not accept the character ă in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.

The LEI record in GLEIF holds a structured legal address.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo