Malta · Payments & e-money
Finxp Limited
FinXP Limited is a Maltese company (registration C 65783) based in Naxxar, which the Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) authorises as an electronic money institution. The firm says its founders own it and that it has no external investors. It offers businesses euro IBAN accounts, Mastercard cards, SEPA Direct Debit collections, a payment gateway, cross-border payouts and Banking-as-a-Service. The firm was called Paymentworld Europe Ltd until it renamed itself FinXP in January 2021.
Licences and registrations
Held by Finxp Limited (LEI 391200WRNHYFTZKLY568). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterMalta Financial Services AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | C65783 | Malta | Active | 2015-07-14 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- PAUUMTM1XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Passive participant (no connection)This BIC is registered for identification only. The institution has no direct connection to the Swift network. Messages and payments reach it through a correspondent bank. The “1” in the eighth character of PAUUMTM1 marks a passive participant.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- SCT · SCT Inst · SDD Core · VOP · TIPS
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2018-08-04
- Last updated
- 2023-08-21
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Privately held
Firm type
E-money and accounts
Trades as FinXP
- Ownership
- The firm says it is still owned by its founders and has no external investors.
- Head office
- Ardent Business Centre 4, Oratory Street, NXR2505 Naxxar, Malta
- Company register
- Malta Business Registry C 65783
- Founders
- Jens Podewski · Stefan Haenel
- Former name
- Paymentworld Europe Ltd
Online
- Websites & references
- finxp.com ↗
iban4u.com ↗ IBAN4U account service site, named in the terms and conditions - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Financial Club ↗
Sources · 13 pages consulted
- finxp.com/
- finxp.com/terms-conditions/
- finxp.com/trust-and-compliance/
- finxp.com/about-us/
- finxp.com/legal/
- finxp.com/blog/finxp-launches-new-website-and-refreshed-positioning/
- finxp.com/blog/finxp-partners-with-thredd-to-strengthen-multi-region-card-issuing-capabilities/
- finxp.com/blog/finxp-appoints-new-chief-technology-officer-and-chief-commercial-product-officer-to-
- lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/finxp-limited
- maltatoday.com.mt/announcements/announcements/107134/leading_maltese_fintech_rebrands_to_finxp
- mondaq.com/financial-services/1846992/finxp-launches-new-positioning-as-it-expands-payments-infrastr
- techround.co.uk/interviews/meet-jens-podewski-finxp/
- finovate.com/buckzy-payments-and-finxp-enable-cross-border-payments-for-businesses/
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The MFSA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution. The firm says this licence is passported throughout the EU and EEA.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) Malta | Electronic money institution | C65783 | In its own name | Active | finxp.com ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Segregated safeguarding accountsThe firm says it keeps eligible client funds separate from its own and holds them in safeguarding accounts at regulated credit institutions. It says it never lends these funds out.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- SEPA Credit Transfer (via CENTROlink) Direct finxp.com ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated finxp.com ↗
SEPA Direct Debit Access not stated finxp.com ↗
Mastercard Direct finxp.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm offers dedicated euro IBAN4U business accounts, Mastercard cards and BIN sponsorship, SEPA Direct Debit collections and a payment gateway. It also sells FinXP PLUS payouts, which it says reach more than 130 countries. It names iGaming, FX and brokerage, digital-asset and cross-border commerce businesses among its clients.
The firm says its Maltese licence is passported across the EU and EEA and that it has offices in Cyprus, Lithuania and Germany.
- Payment volume
- EUR 4bnamount processed annually (the firm's figure of 'EUR 4B+')
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Financial institutions
- Serves customers in
- Malta
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Jens Podewski Co-founder and CEO
- Executive
- Marc Conway Chief Commercial and Product Officer
- Founder
-
Stefan Haenel
Co-Founder
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
The firm announced a partnership with Thredd for card issuer processing. It said it could act as a European BIN sponsor for Thredd's clients.
finxp.com ↗ -
Other
The firm announced a partnership with Buckzy Payments that gives eligible Buckzy clients access to its direct SEPA payment services.
finovate.com ↗ -
Leadership
The firm appointed Jon Vigier as Chief Technology Officer and Marc Conway as Chief Commercial and Product Officer.
finxp.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- PAUUMTM1XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- PAUUBank
- MTCountry · Malta
- M1Location · passive
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 391200WRNHYFTZKLY568
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- C65783
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- 09c35e6a9166
- National bank code
- Sort code 92005
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Malta
- Country · region
- Malta · Middle East & North Africa
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- ARDENT BUSINESS CENTRE 4 FLOOR 2 ORATORY STREET NAXXAR NXR2505 MALTA
- Operational address
- ARDENT BUSINESS CENTRE 4 FLOOR 2 ORATORY STREET NAXXAR NXR2505 NAXXAR MALTA
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Debtor agent, creditor agent or an intermediary agent
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>PAUUMTM1XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>391200WRNHYFTZKLY568</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>PAUUMTM1XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>391200WRNHYFTZKLY568</LEI>
<Nm>FINXP LIMITED</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>NAXXAR</TwnNm>
<Ctry>MT</Ctry>
<AdrLine>ARDENT BUSINESS CENTRE 4 FLOOR 2 ORATORY STREET NAXXAR NXR2505</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
This BIC is not connected to Swift. Messages reach the institution through a correspondent bank, so it cannot be the instructing or instructed agent.
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2019-05-06 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2023-02-06 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Direct Debit CoreISO 20022 messages | 2020-01-06 | Head office | — |
| Verification of Payee | 2025-10-05 | Head office | — |
| TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages | — | Head office | — |
SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.
An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
National bank codes
Sort code · Malta
1 code file of 2026-09-23
| Code | Routes to BIC | Name in the national file | City |
|---|---|---|---|
| 92005 | PAUUMTM1 | FinXP Ltd. | Pieta |
Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.
Claim this profile
Work at Finxp Limited?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
- National bank codes—Malta (Source: Central Bank of Malta).
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: finxp.com (official website) · original; Stefan Haenel: finxp.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo