Lithuania · Payments & e-money

Flywire Europe, UAB

Flywire Europe, UAB is a private limited company (UAB) based in Vilnius, Lithuania. The Bank of Lithuania authorises it as a payment institution under licence LB001924, valid from 19 September 2019. Flywire Payments Limited of the United Kingdom set up the firm in February 2019. It belongs to the group of Flywire Corporation, which is listed on Nasdaq. Within the Flywire platform, it collects payments for education, healthcare, travel and business-to-business clients. It also acts as merchant of record for card payments.

Licences and registrations

Held by Flywire Europe, UAB (LEI 984500F1A046CA6BF696). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterBank of Lithuania Payment institutionPayment Institution LB001924 Lithuania Active 2019-09-19 —
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

5,300

customers · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Flywire Payments Limited

Firm type

FX and business payments

Trades as Flywire

Ownership
Flywire Payments Limited of the United Kingdom is the direct parent, and Flywire Corporation, listed on Nasdaq as FLYW, is the ultimate parent.
Direct parent
Flywire Payments Limited, United Kingdom
Ultimate owner
Flywire Corporation, United States
Head office
Gynėjų g. 14-120, LT-01109 Vilnius, Lithuania
Company register
Register of Legal Entities of Lithuania 305020885
Incorporated
2019

Online

Websites & references
flywire.com ↗
pay.flywire.com ↗ payer payment portal (group)
ir.flywire.com ↗ investor relations site of Flywire Corporation
help.flywire.com ↗ payer help centre (group)
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · Vimeo ↗
Sources · 10 pages consulted
  1. lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/flywire-europe-uab
  2. lb.lt/lt/naujienos/lietuvos-banko-finansu-rinkos-prieziuros-komiteto-sprendimai-56
  3. flywire.com
  4. flywire.com/legal
  5. flywire.com/legal/terms-of-use
  6. flywire.com/aml-compliance
  7. assets.flywire.com/documents/Flywire-Compliance-Overview.pdf
  8. lrt.lt/naujienos/verslas/4/2380295/teismas-lb-nepagristai-skyre-40-tukst-euru-bauda-flywire-euro
  9. ir.flywire.com/news-releases/news-release-details/flywire-reports-first-quarter-2026-financial-results
  10. ir.flywire.com/static-files/f332b704-fe6a-4c05-af4c-b905afad9e96

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The Bank of Lithuania authorises the firm as a payment institution under licence LB001924. Its authorised activities are money remittance, issuing and acquiring of payment instruments, and cash placement and withdrawal on payment accounts. The Bank of Lithuania also lists the firm as a currency exchange operator. Flywire's AML compliance overview describes the Lithuanian licence as the group's passported licence for the European Union.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Bank of Lithuania Lithuania Payment institution licence LB001924 In its own name Active lb.lt ↗
Bank of Lithuania Lithuania Currency exchange operator (register category) — In its own name Active lb.lt ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedNeither the firm's public pages nor the group's terms of use set out how the firm safeguards payers' funds.
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated flywire.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated flywire.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Payment gateway
  • Merchant acquiring
  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion

Flywire collects cross-border and domestic payments, such as tuition, patient bills, travel bookings and invoices, on behalf of institutions and businesses. Payers pay in their local currency.

The Bank of Lithuania register lists the firm as providing services without a branch in 29 other EEA member states.

Sells to
Enterprises · Public sector · Consumers
Serves customers in
Lithuania

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Executive
Mike Massaro Chief Executive Officer, Flywire Corporation (group parent, not this entity) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · ir.flywire.com ↗

Recent events 2 enforcement or investigation items

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Merger / acquisition

    Flywire Corporation, the group parent, acquired Sertifi LLC for USD 330 million in upfront cash.

    ir.flywire.com ↗
  2. Enforcement

    The Regional Administrative Court annulled the part of the Bank of Lithuania decision that imposed the fine on the firm. The ruling could be appealed.

    lrt.lt ↗
  3. Enforcement

    The Bank of Lithuania fined the firm EUR 40,000 for breaching own-capital requirements in the third and fourth quarters of 2023.

    lb.lt ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
LB001924
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
999377892616

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Payment Institution
Activities
  • Money remittance
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
Licensed in
Lithuania · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2019-09-19

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Flywire Payments Limited · United Kingdom98450001CE8MZ8047016 ↗
Ultimate parent
Flywire Corporation · United States54930055DSV7NNY4VY66 ↗

The Flywire Corporation group has 2 institutions in the directory, in 2 countries: none holds a BIC.

Including Flywire Payments Limited.

See the Flywire Corporation group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
Gynėjų g. 14-120, Vilnius, 01109
Country
Lithuania

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>984500F1A046CA6BF696</LEI>
  <Nm>Flywire Europe, UAB</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>01109</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>Vilnius</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>LT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>Gynėjų g. 14-120</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
  • CBPR+ does not accept the characters ė ų in names and addresses. Transliterate before sending.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo