Malta · Crypto
Gemini Intergalactic EU Ltd
Trading asGemini
Legal name in the LEI recordGEMINI INTERGALACTIC EU, LTD.
Gemini Intergalactic EU, Ltd. is a private limited liability company incorporated in Malta. The Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) authorises it as a crypto-asset service provider under the Markets in Crypto-Assets Regulation (MiCA). It is the EU entity of the Gemini crypto-asset group, founded by Cameron and Tyler Winklevoss. The group's parent, Gemini Space Station, is listed on Nasdaq. The firm offered custody, exchange and transfer of crypto-assets to customers in the European Economic Area under its MiCA passport. The group closed all EEA customer accounts on 6 April 2026 as part of a withdrawal from Europe.
Licences and registrations
Held by Gemini Intergalactic EU Ltd (LEI 2138002QAMX8PPKSO715). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providersMalta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) | Crypto-asset service providerCrypto-Asset Service Provider | 2138002QAMX8PPKSO715 | Malta | Active | 2025-08-21 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
Trading names on the register: Gemini (ESMA-CASP)
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.
Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Firm type
Crypto exchange or broker
Trades as Gemini
- Standing · Unknown
- The Gemini group announced on 5 February 2026 that it would close all customer accounts in the European Economic Area. Accounts went into withdrawal-only mode on 5 March 2026 and were closed on 6 April 2026. The MiCA authorisation still showed as active on the ESMA interim register in the record, and no MFSA notice of surrender was found.
- Ownership
- The firm belongs to the Gemini group, whose parent company, Gemini Space Station, is listed on Nasdaq under the ticker GEMI. Its direct shareholder is not published.
- Ultimate owner
- Gemini Space Station, Inc., United States
- Head office
- Q2, Office C, Tigne' Point, SLM3190 Sliema, Malta (registered office: 171 Triq l-Ifran, Valletta VLT 1455, Malta)
- Company register
- Malta Business Registry C110029
- Founders
- Cameron Winklevoss · Tyler Winklevoss
Online
- Websites & references
- gemini.com ↗
support.gemini.com ↗ help centre, including the EU complaints page and the account-closure notice - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗ · Reddit ↗ · Threads ↗
Sources · 15 pages consulted
- support.gemini.com/hc/en-us/articles/18677885896475-Regulatory-Complaint
- gemini.com/legal/gemini-intergalactic-europe
- gemini.com/legal/custody-agreement
- gemini.com/legal/gieul-commercial-policy
- gemini.com/legal/gemini-eu-staking
- gemini.com/legal/gemini-intergalactic-europe-artemis
- gemini.com/blog/gemini-launches-staking-and-derivatives-for-eu-customers
- gemini.com/en-GB/blog/gemini-receives-its-mica-licence-supporting-ongoing-eu-expansion
- gemini.com
- support.gemini.com/hc/en-us/articles/46255474469275-Gemini-closing-accounts-in-the-UK-EU-and-Australia-Every
- amf-france.org/en/warnings/white-lists/daspcasp/gemini-intergalactic-eu-ltd
- coindesk.com/policy/2025/08/21/crypto-exchange-gemini-secures-mica-license-in-malta-expands-european-f
- coindesk.com/markets/2026/02/05/gemini-to-exit-u-k-eu-and-australia-reduce-staff-and-focus-on-u-s-and-
- fstech.co.uk/fst/Gemini_To_Cut_Quarter_Of_Workforce.php
- pymnts.com/cryptocurrency/2026/gemini-slashes-staff-and-exits-europe-to-chase-prediction-market-prof
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The MFSA authorises the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA, as implemented by Malta's Markets in Crypto-Assets Act (Chapter 647). The authorisation covers custody, exchange, execution, placing, reception and transmission of orders, and transfer of crypto-assets. France's AMF lists the firm as authorised to provide services in France under the free provision of services. A sister company, Gemini Intergalactic EU Artemis, Ltd., held the MiFID II licence for derivatives.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) Malta | Crypto-Asset Service Provider authorisation under MiCA (Markets in Crypto-Assets Act, Chapter 647) | 2138002QAMX8PPKSO715 | In its own name | Active | support.gemini.com ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe firm's user agreement says it held customers' crypto-assets in one or more omnibus wallets. It does not name the bank that held EU customers' fiat funds.
- Crypto-asset custody
- Not disclosedThe firm was authorised to custody and administer crypto-assets. Its user agreement describes omnibus wallets and refers to a sub-custodian that may hold customers' assets, without naming it.
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Until April 2026 the firm offered crypto-asset custody, exchange, order execution and transfer services to EEA customers, and ETH and SOL staking outside MiCA. The group closed all EEA customer accounts on 6 April 2026.
The firm served customers in the EU and EEA under its Maltese MiCA passport until it closed all EEA customer accounts on 6 April 2026.
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Other
The Gemini group closed all customer accounts in the European Economic Area on 6 April 2026.
support.gemini.com ↗ -
Other
The firm placed all EU customer accounts in withdrawal-only mode on 5 March 2026, which disabled trading and deposits.
support.gemini.com ↗ -
Other
Gemini Space Station announced a plan to wind down its UK, EU and Australian operations and cut up to 200 jobs.
coindesk.com ↗ -
Other
The group parent Gemini Space Station completed its initial public offering on Nasdaq on 15 September 2025.
pymnts.com ↗ -
Licence
The MFSA authorised the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA on 21 August 2025.
coindesk.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
- Licence no. · ESMA-CASP
- 2138002QAMX8PPKSO715
- BIC
- Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
- How the LEI was matched
- Published by the register
- Elucidate firm ID
- eda0068fe7fe
Profile
- Type
- CryptoCrypto-asset service providers, virtual-asset trading platforms and stablecoin issuers. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Main licence class
- Crypto-Asset Service Provider
- Activities
- Crypto-assets
- Licensed in
- Malta · Middle East & North Africa
- First registered
- 2025-08-21
- Website
- www.gemini.com ↗
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Address on the register
- Gemini Intergalactic EU Limited, Office C, Q2, Tigne Point, Sliema, SLM3190, Malta
- Country
- Malta
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.
- Identified by
- Name and postal address, with its LEI
- Postal address
- Incomplete: no town published
- The register publishes no town as a separate field. A CBPR+ postal address needs at least a town name (TwnNm) and a country (Ctry).
- The address does not fit in the two address lines of 35 characters that CBPR+ allows next to a town and country.
The LEI record in GLEIF holds a structured legal address.
CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.
The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.
Sources & method
Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.
An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.
Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Register for this page
- ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providers—European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence
A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.
Book a demo