
Malta · Payments & e-money
Koala Money Limited
Koala Money Limited is a private limited company based in St Julian's, Malta. The Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) authorises it as an electronic money institution under the Financial Institutions Act 1994. A 2022 announcement by Professional Diversity Network, Inc. described it as a subsidiary of Koala Malta Limited, part of a group headed by Koala Capital Limited. It offers card acquiring, multi-currency IBAN accounts and corporate expense cards to businesses, which it describes as cross-border payment solutions.
Licences and registrations
Held by Koala Money Limited (LEI 213800RZWDYDL7SD2C84). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterMalta Financial Services AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only. | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | C98080 | Malta | Active | 2021-08-12 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- KOMNMTM2XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of KOMNMTM2 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- No entry in the EPC registers, the ECB T2 and TIPS lists or the SIX Bank Master cites this BIC
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2024-12-07
- Last updated
- 2026-01-13
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Customers
Not published
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Koala Malta Limited
Firm type
E-money and accounts
Trades as Koala Money
- Ownership
- In September 2022, Professional Diversity Network, Inc. described the firm as a subsidiary of Koala Malta Limited, which it said was wholly owned by Koala Capital Limited.
- Direct parent
- Koala Malta Limited, Malta
- Ultimate owner
- Koala Capital Limited
- Head office
- Dragonara Business Centre, 5th Floor, Dragonara Road, STJ 3141 Saint Julian's, Malta
- Company register
- Malta Business Registry C 98080
Online
- Websites & references
- koala-money.com ↗
- Official social accounts
- None found
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The MFSA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under Article 5 of the Financial Institutions Act 1994. It may provide payment services and issue electronic money. The firm does not say whether it has passported the licence to other EEA states.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) Malta | Electronic Money Institution (Financial Institutions Act 1994) | KML - FILI - 16540 | In its own name | Active | koala-money.com ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe firm does not publish how it safeguards customers' funds.
- Payment schemes and card networks
- Swift Access not stated koala-money.com ↗
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated koala-money.com ↗
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
It offers card acquiring and multi-currency IBAN business accounts for Swift and SEPA transfers, card transfers and local payment methods. It also issues corporate expense cards, mainly to technology, e-commerce and online platform businesses.
It operates under its Maltese licence and does not publish the countries in which it serves customers.
- Sells to
- Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
Recent events
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The research found no fines, investigations, security incidents, licence changes or corporate events from the last three years.
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- KOMNMTM2XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- KOMNBank
- MTCountry · Malta
- M2Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 213800RZWDYDL7SD2C84
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- C98080
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name and country only.
- Register-entry ID
- 8d162dfc66a4
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Malta
- Country · region
- Malta · Middle East & North Africa
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- DRAGONARA BUSINESS CENTRE FLOOR 5TH FLOOR DRAGONARA ROAD ST JULIANS STJ 3141 MALTA
- Operational address
- DRAGONARA BUSINESS CENTRE 5TH FLOOR DRAGONARA ROAD ST. JULIAN'S STJ 3141 ST. JULIAN'S MALTA
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>KOMNMTM2XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>213800RZWDYDL7SD2C84</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>KOMNMTM2XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>213800RZWDYDL7SD2C84</LEI>
<Nm>KOALA MONEY LIMITED</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<Ctry>MT</Ctry>
<AdrLine>DRAGONARA BUSINESS CENTRE FLOOR 5TH FLOOR DRAGONARA ROAD ST JULIANS</AdrLine>
<AdrLine>STJ 3141</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
Swift’s two address fields do not agree on a town, so the full record gives the address as address lines only.
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Claim this profile
Work at Koala Money Limited?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: koala-money.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo