Malta · Payments & e-money

Mellifera Kartiera Limited

Mellifera Kartiera Limited is a private limited company based in St Julian's, Malta. The Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) authorised it as an electronic money institution in November 2024. It belongs to a group that trades as COLIBRIX ONE, together with Colibrix Limited, a UK electronic money institution authorised by the FCA, and Mellifera Operations Limited. Within the group, the firm is the entity that serves European Union customers. It offers businesses euro IBAN accounts, SEPA and international transfers, Visa and Mastercard card acquiring, virtual cards and open banking payments.

BICMLLKMTM2XXX LEI63670068KFN19CMA8549 Licence no.C 107685 Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of MLLKMTM2 marks reverse billing. Head-office BIC only Claim this profile

Licences and registrations

Held by Mellifera Kartiera Limited (LEI 63670068KFN19CMA8549). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
EBA PSD2 RegisterMalta Financial Services AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution C 107685 Malta Active 2024-11-20 —
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Search the register ↗
  • Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
  • The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

BIC
MLLKMTM2XXX head office
Connection to Swift
Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of MLLKMTM2 marks reverse billing.
Swift GPI
Not on the member list
Payment schemes and systems
SCT · SCT Inst · VOP · TIPS
Branch codes
None: head-office BIC only
BIC first registered
2025-02-01
Last updated
2025-02-01

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Not published

Firm type

E-money and accounts

Trades as Kartiera

Ownership
The firm is part of a group trading as COLIBRIX ONE with Colibrix Limited and Mellifera Operations Limited, but the sources reviewed do not name its shareholders.
Head office
Villa Malitah, Mediterranean Street, The Village, STJ 1870 St Julian's, Malta
Company register
Malta Business Registry C 107685

Online

Websites & references
kartiera.eu ↗ did not load when checked
colibrix.one ↗ group brand site (COLIBRIX ONE) carrying the firm's regulatory statement
colibrixone.readme.io ↗ developer API documentation (group)
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
  1. lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/mellifera-kartiera-limited
  2. uzraudziba.bank.lv/en/market/payment-service-providers/electronic-money-institutions/service-providers-from-
  3. colibrix.one/
  4. colibrix.one/about-us
  5. colibrix.one/business-accounts
  6. kartiera.eu/
  7. kartiera.eu/about/
  8. financemalta.org/financemalta-news/members-spotlight---mellifera-kartiera---a-solution-for-payments-and-mo
  9. igamingbusiness.com/company-news/colibrix-one-expands-regulated-payment-and-business-account-services/
  10. innovatefinance.com/member_news/colibrix-colibrix-partners-and-mellifera-join-under-one-powerful-brand-name-c
  11. fintelegram.com/casino-payment-rails-chainvalley-puretransfer-and-maltese-mellifera-behind-an-unlicensed-

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The MFSA authorises the firm as an electronic money institution under reference C107685, according to its group's regulatory statement. Its authorisation covers e-money issuance, payment services, card acquiring, payment initiation and account information services. According to host-state registers, it provides these services in other EEA states under the freedom to provide services.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Malta Financial Services Authority Malta Financial Institution licence (electronic money institution) C 107685 In its own name Active —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Payment schemes and card networks
SEPA Credit Transfer Access not stated financemalta.org ↗
SEPA Instant Credit Transfer Access not stated financemalta.org ↗
Visa Access not stated financemalta.org ↗
Mastercard Access not stated financemalta.org ↗
Swift Access not stated

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Multi currency accounts
  • Domestic payments
  • International money transfer
  • Merchant acquiring
  • Card-issuing platform
  • Payment initiation (open banking)
  • Account information (open banking)
  • Payouts and mass payments

The firm offers business accounts with dedicated IBANs, SEPA and SEPA Instant transfers, Visa and Mastercard acquiring, virtual card issuing and an open banking payment API. It says it deals only in EUR.

The firm serves business customers from Malta. According to the Bank of Lithuania register, it has passported its services to 25 other EEA states without a branch.

Sells to
Small businesses · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces · Financial institutions
Serves customers in 5 countries
Malta · Lithuania · Latvia · Estonia · Slovenia

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Jaroslav Zamullo Jaroslav Zamullo Chief Executive Officer Confirmed 25 Jun 2025 · kartiera.eu ↗
Chair
Joseph Camilleri Joseph Camilleri Chairperson Confirmed 25 Jun 2025 · financemalta.org ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Other

    Colibrix, COLIBRIX Partners and Mellifera announced they would trade under the single brand name COLIBRIX ONE.

    innovatefinance.com ↗
  2. Licence

    The Bank of Latvia recorded the firm's notification to provide payment and e-money services in Latvia without a branch.

    uzraudziba.bank.lv ↗
  3. Licence

    The MFSA granted the firm a Financial Institution licence to provide electronic money and payment services.

    financemalta.org ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Head-office record

BIC
MLLKMTM2XXX
How the BIC breaks down
  1. MLLKBank
  2. MTCountry · Malta
  3. M2Location · reverse billing
  4. XXXBranch · head office
Branch description
Not recorded in the directory
LEI
63670068KFN19CMA8549
LEI record
View on GLEIF ↗
Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
C 107685
How the LEI was matched
BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
Register-entry ID
6b92a8cd9d7a
National bank code
Sort code 40154

Profile

Type
Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Register licences
1 entry on 1 register
Activities
  • Payment services
  • Card acquiring
  • Payment initiation
  • Account information
  • E-money / stored value
Licensed in
Malta
Country · region
Malta · Middle East & North Africa
Banking supervision
Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
Trading venues (MIC)
No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
OFAC sanctions
No listing cites this BIC
EU sanctions
No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
Country sanctions
No country programme

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Registered address
VILLA MALITAH MEDITERRANEAN STREET ST. JULIAN'S STJ 1870 MALTA
Operational address
VILLA MALITAH MEDITERRANEAN STREET ST. JULIAN'S STJ 1870 ST. JULIAN'S MALTA

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.

Identified by
BIC, with its LEI
Roles in CBPR+
Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents

CBPR+

For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>MLLKMTM2XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>63670068KFN19CMA8549</LEI>
</FinInstnId>

Full record

Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC

<FinInstnId>
  <BICFI>MLLKMTM2XXX</BICFI>
  <LEI>63670068KFN19CMA8549</LEI>
  <Nm>MELLIFERA KARTIERA LIMITED</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <TwnNm>ST. JULIAN'S</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>MT</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>VILLA MALITAH MEDITERRANEAN STREET ST. JULIAN'S STJ 1870</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.

Payment schemes and systems

EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28

Scheme or systemSinceRegistered withNote
SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2025-05-05 Head office —
SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages 2025-05-05 Head office —
Verification of Payee 2025-10-05 Head office —
TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages — Head office —

SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.

An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.

“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.

National bank codes

Sort code · Malta

1 code file of 2026-09-23

CodeRoutes to BICName in the national fileCity
40154 MLLKMTM2 Mellifera Kartiera Limited St.Julians

Each code shows the name in the national file. Smaller banks often route through a central institution’s BIC. A code can therefore belong to a different bank than the one on this page.

Claim this profile

Work at Mellifera Kartiera Limited?

Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.

  1. 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
  2. 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
  3. 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.

Claim received

Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.

Sources & method

Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.

Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.

Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Credits for this page

  • Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
  • National bank codes—Malta (Source: Central Bank of Malta).
  • EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
  • Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: kartiera.eu (official website) · original; Jaroslav Zamullo: kartiera.eu (official website) · original; Joseph Camilleri: financemalta.org (official website) · original.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC

A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.

Book a demo