
Malta · Payments & e-money
Mifinity Malta Limited
MiFinity Malta Limited is a private limited company registered in Malta under number C64824. The Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) authorises it as a financial institution under the Financial Institutions Act 1994 to issue electronic money and provide payment services. It trades as MiFinity and is a wholly owned subsidiary of the MiFinity group, whose UK sister company MiFinity UK Limited is authorised by the FCA. It runs the MiFinity multi-currency eWallet for consumers resident in the EEA, together with merchant payment and payout services. In September 2026 it announced a settlement with Malta's Financial Intelligence Analysis Unit (FIAU) over findings from a 2023 AML/CFT examination.
Licences and registrations
Held by Mifinity Malta Limited (LEI 875500O89XEGXL2C9G71). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.
| Register | Licence | Number | Jurisdiction | Status | Registered | Ends | Activities | Register entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EBA PSD2 RegisterMalta Financial Services AuthorityLinked by LEI. Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address. | Electronic money institutionE-Money / Stored Value Institution | C64824 | Malta | Active | 2020-01-10 | — |
|
Search the register ↗ |
- Licences belong to the legal entity, not to a BIC.
- Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
- Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.
- The register entries and their trading names were not matched against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
Swift network
Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory
- BIC
- MFMAMTM2XXX head office
- Connection to Swift
- Reverse billingThe institution is connected to Swift. Messages sent to it are billed to the institution, not to the sender. The “2” in the eighth character of MFMAMTM2 marks reverse billing.
- Swift GPI
- Not on the member list
- Payment schemes and systems
- SCT · SCT Inst · VOP · TIPS
- Branch codes
- None: head-office BIC only
- BIC first registered
- 2021-05-01
- Last updated
- 2021-05-01
Overview
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
Employees
Not published
Ownership
Group subsidiary
Firm type
E-money and accounts
Trades as MiFinity
- Ownership
- The MiFinity group describes the firm as a 100% owned subsidiary, but its published statements do not name the holding company.
- Head office
- Level 3 (Suite 2507), Tower Business Centre, Tower Street, Swatar, BKR 4013 Birkirkara, Malta
- Company register
- Malta Business Registry C 64824
- Incorporated
- 24 Apr 2014
Online
- Websites & references
- mifinity.com ↗
mifinity.mt ↗ Maltese domain linked for the legal pages and the contact form in the EEA terms
support.mifinity.com ↗ help centre
mifinity.readme.io ↗ developer API documentation - Official social accounts
- LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
- Apps
- App Store ↗ · Google Play ↗
Sources · 13 pages consulted
- mifinity.com/legal/mt/terms-and-conditions/
- mifinity.com/
- mifinity.com/about/
- mifinity.com/mifinity-product-updates/mifinity-malta-ltd-has-been-approved-by-the-malta-financial-serv
- mifinity.com/mifinity-product-updates/announcement/
- mifinity.com/mifinity-product-updates/mifinity-appoints-payments-industry-leader-ray-brash-as-group-ch
- mifinity.com/mifinity-product-updates/mifinity-to-launch-payanycoin-delivering-global-stablecoin-payou
- lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/875500O89XEGXL2C9G71
- bportugal.pt/en/entidadeautorizada/mifinity-malta-limited
- uzraudziba.bank.lv/en/market/payment-service-providers/electronic-money-institutions/service-providers-from-
- lb.lt/en/sfi-financial-market-participants/mifinity-malta-limited
- fiaumalta.org/what-we-do/enforcement/administrative/
- intergameonline.com/igaming/news/payments-provider-mifinity-ray-brash-chief-operating-officer
Authorisation
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Operates under
- Its own licences
The MFSA authorises the firm as a financial institution under the Financial Institutions Act 1994. The licence covers payment services under the Act's Second Schedule and e-money issuance under its Third Schedule. It provides services in other EEA states under the freedom to provide services, and host-state registers in Portugal, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia list it.
| Authority | Licence or registration | Number | Held | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Malta Financial Services Authority Malta | Financial Institution licence (electronic money institution) under the Financial Institutions Act 1994 | C64824 | In its own name | Active | mifinity.com ↗ |
Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.
Partners and safeguarding
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Safeguarding
- Not disclosedThe firm states that it adheres to the safeguarding requirements of the Electronic Money Directive 2009/110/EC and the Financial Institutions Act 1994, but does not name its safeguarding bank or method.
- Crypto-asset custody
- Not disclosedThe MiFinity group offers crypto-to-fiat conversion for funding the eWallet and, since July 2026, stablecoin payouts for merchants through infrastructure supplied by BVNK. It does not disclose which entity provides these services or how the crypto-assets are held.
Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.
Products and markets
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
The firm issues the MiFinity eWallet, which holds up to nine sub-wallets in 18 currencies and is funded through more than 80 payment methods and prepaid eVouchers. For merchants the MiFinity group also offers an iFrame checkout and payouts (PayAnyBank, PayAnyCard and, from July 2026, PayAnyCoin stablecoin payouts). The group markets the service mainly to online gaming, travel and e-commerce platforms.
The firm's terms apply to EEA residents, and it serves them under its Maltese licence through EEA passporting.
- Sells to
- Consumers · Enterprises · Platforms and marketplaces
- Serves customers in 30 countries
- Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Ireland · Italy · Latvia · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden · Iceland · Liechtenstein · Norway
Leadership
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
- Chief executive
- Paul Kavanagh CEO of MiFinity (group)
- Executive
-
Ray Brash
Group Chief Operating Officer
Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item
Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources
-
Enforcement
The firm announced it had settled FIAU findings from a 2023 AML/CFT examination, with the administrative penalty reduced to EUR 160,000.
mifinity.com ↗ -
Other
The MiFinity group announced PayAnyCoin, a stablecoin payout service for merchants enabled by BVNK infrastructure.
mifinity.com ↗ -
Leadership
The MiFinity group appointed Ray Brash as Group Chief Operating Officer, responsible for product, project management and payments.
mifinity.com ↗
Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.
Identifiers
Head-office record
- BIC
- MFMAMTM2XXX
- How the BIC breaks down
- MFMABank
- MTCountry · Malta
- M2Location · reverse billing
- XXXBranch · head office
- Branch description
- Not recorded in the directory
- LEI
- 875500O89XEGXL2C9G71
- LEI record
- View on GLEIF ↗
- Licence no. · EBA-PSD2
- C64824
- How the LEI was matched
- BIC: Mapped to this BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.Register entry: Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address.
- Register-entry ID
- c01b78b8f96c
Profile
- Type
- Payments & e-moneyPayment institutions, e-money and stored-value issuers, and account-information providers. Licensed under payment-services law (e.g. PSD2 in the EU and UK, the Payment Services Act in Singapore). Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
- Regulation
- Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
- Register licences
- 1 entry on 1 register
- Activities
- Payment services
- Card acquiring
- E-money / stored value
- Licensed in
- Malta
- Country · region
- Malta · Middle East & North Africa
- Banking supervision
- Not on the ECB's list of supervised entities as of 2026-07-01
- Trading venues (MIC)
- No MIC registered under this LEI list of 2026-09-17
- OFAC sanctions
- No listing cites this BIC
- EU sanctions
- No listing matched this BIC or its LEI
- Country sanctions
- No country programme
Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.
Ownership and group
GLEIF relationship records
GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.
Addresses
- Registered address
- TOWER BUSINESS CENTRE FLOOR 3 TOWER STREET SHARED OFFICE BLOCK BIRKIRKARA BKR 4013 MALTA
- Operational address
- TOWER BUSINESS CENTRE FLOOR 3 TOWER STREET SHARED OFFICE BLOCK BIRKIRKARA BKR 4013 BIRKIRKARA MALTA
ISO 20022 identification
As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)
A CBPR+ message identifies this institution by its BIC, and may add its LEI or a clearing code. CBPR+ does not allow a name and postal address next to a BIC.
- Identified by
- BIC, with its LEI
- Roles in CBPR+
- Any agent, including the instructing and instructed agents
CBPR+
For cross-border payments on Swift: the BIC, with the LEI and clearing code where known
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>MFMAMTM2XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>875500O89XEGXL2C9G71</LEI>
</FinInstnId>
Full record
Every ISO 20022 element the directory holds. Base ISO 20022 allows them together. CBPR+ does not allow a name and address next to a BIC
<FinInstnId>
<BICFI>MFMAMTM2XXX</BICFI>
<LEI>875500O89XEGXL2C9G71</LEI>
<Nm>MIFINITY MALTA LIMITED</Nm>
<PstlAdr>
<TwnNm>BIRKIRKARA</TwnNm>
<Ctry>MT</Ctry>
<AdrLine>TOWER BUSINESS CENTRE FLOOR 3 TOWER STREET SHARED OFFICE BLOCK</AdrLine>
<AdrLine>BIRKIRKARA BKR 4013</AdrLine>
</PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>
The BIC, name and address are as published in Swift’s BIC directory. The LEI comes from the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI file. Check them against your own records before use.
Payment schemes and systems
EPC registers of 2026-09-11 · ECB T2 list of 2026-07-02 · ECB TIPS list of 2026-09-01 · SIX Bank Master valid on 2026-09-28
| Scheme or system | Since | Registered with | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SEPA Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2026-09-08 | Head office | — |
| SEPA Instant Credit TransferISO 20022 messages | 2026-09-15 | Head office | — |
| Verification of Payee | 2025-12-11 | Head office | — |
| TIPS (TARGET Instant Payment Settlement)ISO 20022 messages | — | Head office | — |
SEPA dates are when the institution became ready for the scheme. TIPS entries have no joining date.
An institution missing from T2 may still be reachable through an indirect participant. The ECB’s TIPS list does not separate participants from reachable parties. It includes institutions reachable in Swedish kronor as well as in euro.
“ISO 20022 messages” marks a scheme or system whose rulebook or operator specifies ISO 20022 for messages between participants.
Claim this profile
Work at Mifinity Malta Limited?
Claim this page to have it marked as verified by the bank, and to send us corrections. We verify every claim before anything changes on the page.
- 01Submit Tell us who you are, using your work email.
- 02We verify We check the email domain and confirm your role with the bank. This usually takes up to five business days.
- 03Profile claimed The page is marked as claimed and verified. You can send us corrections at any time.
Claim received
Thank you. We will email your work address once the claim is verified. Until then, the page stays unclaimed.
The claim was not sent. Try again, or email contact@elucidate.co.
Sources & method
Every value comes from a public source, such as Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory, GLEIF or the OFAC and EU sanctions lists. Most sources are matched on a BIC or an LEI, not on a name.
Swift GPI membership is matched on names and is indicative. A missing sanctions match does not mean that no listing applies. Always screen against the official lists.
Register entries are not screened against sanctions lists. The sanctions facts on this page cover the BIC and its LEI only.
An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.
Read the methodology →Credits for this page
- Payment schemes and systems—Source: European Payments Council (EPC) Registers of Participants; matched to BICs by Elucidate. Source: European Central Bank, List of TIPS participants and reachable parties.
- EBA PSD2 Register—European Banking Authority (EBA) · register ↗ as at 25 September 2026
- Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.
- Images—logos and photos from Wikimedia Commons (credited with their author and licence) or from the institution's own website, where Wikimedia has none. Elucidate keeps a copy of each; the links lead to the source and the original image. Logo: mifinity.com (official website) · original; Ray Brash: mifinity.com (official website) · original.
Assess the financial crime risk behind a BIC
A BIC identifies an institution; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks, built for correspondent banking and counterparty due diligence.
Book a demo