Netherlands · Crypto

MoonPay Europe B.V.

MoonPay Europe B.V. is a Dutch private limited company based in Amsterdam. The Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) has authorised it as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA since 30 December 2024, under reference 41000002. MoonPay announced that De Nederlandsche Bank granted the firm an electronic money institution licence on 8 September 2026. The firm is the MoonPay group's contracting entity for customers in the European Economic Area (EEA). It sells crypto-assets for fiat currency, buys them back and swaps them, directly and through partner wallets and apps.

Licences and registrations

Held by MoonPay Europe B.V. (LEI 254900KXWAZ3B1340G26). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providersNetherlands Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) Crypto-asset service providerCrypto-Asset Service Provider 254900KXWAZ3B1340G26 Netherlands Active 2024-12-30 —
  • Crypto-assets
Search the register ↗
  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

35,000,000

accounts · Group · 29 Sep 2026 · company statement ↗

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

Firm type

Crypto exchange or broker

Trades as MoonPay

Ownership
The firm belongs to the MoonPay group, but the sources reviewed do not name its direct shareholder.
Head office
Herengracht 420, 1017 BZ Amsterdam, Netherlands
Company register
Dutch Chamber of Commerce (KvK) 93501153
Founders
Ivan Soto-Wright · Victor Faramond

Online

Websites & references
moonpay.com ↗
dev.moonpay.com ↗ developer documentation
support.moonpay.com ↗ help centre
status.moonpay.com ↗ status page
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗ · YouTube ↗
Sources · 16 pages consulted
  1. moonpay.com/
  2. moonpay.com/legal/licenses
  3. moonpay.com/legal/terms_of_use_europe
  4. amf-france.org/en/warnings/white-lists/daspcasp/moonpay-europe-bv
  5. moonpay.com/newsroom/mica-what-it-means-for-eu-crypto-holders
  6. moonpay.com/newsroom/mica
  7. moonpay.com/legal/privacy_policy
  8. moonpay.com/about-us
  9. moonpay.com/newsroom/funding-round
  10. businesswire.com/news/home/20211122006158/en/Leading-Crypto-Payments-Infrastructure-Provider-MoonPay-Close
  11. stablecoininsider.org/moonpay-secures-emi-licence/
  12. thepaypers.com/crypto-web3-and-cbdc/news/moonpay-obtains-emi-licence-in-the-netherlands
  13. cryptobenelux.com/europa/moonpay-krijgt-dnb-vergunning-en-opent-deur-voor-euro-stablecoin
  14. finextra.com/pressarticle/103711/moonpay-secures-mica-approval
  15. coindesk.com/business/2021/11/22/payments-infrastructure-firm-moonpay-raises-555m-at-a-34b-valuation
  16. coinspectator.com/other/2026/09/23/moonpay-to-acquire-sec-registered-north-capital-in-60-million-all-stock-

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

The AFM authorises the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA, reference 41000002, for three services: exchanging crypto-assets for funds, exchanging crypto-assets for other crypto-assets and transferring crypto-assets. The authorisation is passported across the EEA. The firm announced that De Nederlandsche Bank granted it an electronic money institution licence on 8 September 2026.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) Netherlands Crypto-asset service provider authorisation under MiCA 41000002 In its own name Active moonpay.com ↗
De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) Netherlands Electronic money institution licence — In its own name Active —

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Segregated safeguarding accountsUnder its EU terms, customers' MoonPay Balance funds are held by a Dutch foundation, registered with the Chamber of Commerce under 96164638. The foundation acts as a bankruptcy-remote custodian and shields the funds from claims by the firm's creditors.moonpay.com ↗
Crypto-asset custody
Non-custodial: customers hold their own keysThe firm says it does not take custody of customers' crypto-assets, which are delivered to a wallet address the customer supplies. Custody is not among its AFM-authorised services.moonpay.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Visa Access not stated moonpay.com ↗
Mastercard Access not stated moonpay.com ↗
SEPA Access not stated moonpay.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • Crypto on- and off-ramp
  • Crypto trading
  • E-money wallet

It sells crypto-assets for fiat currency, buys them back and swaps them, both through its own site and apps and embedded in partner wallets and apps. It also offers a fiat MoonPay Balance and virtual account services.

The firm says it can serve customers across all 30 EEA states under its Dutch MiCA authorisation.

Sells to
Consumers · Platforms and marketplaces · Enterprises
Serves customers in 30 countries
Austria · Belgium · Bulgaria · Croatia · Cyprus · Czechia · Denmark · Estonia · Finland · France · Germany · Greece · Hungary · Ireland · Italy · Latvia · Lithuania · Luxembourg · Malta · Netherlands · Poland · Portugal · Romania · Slovakia · Slovenia · Spain · Sweden · Iceland · Liechtenstein · Norway
Latest funding round
Series A · USD 555m Nov 2021Led by Tiger Global Management, Coatuemoonpay.com ↗
Total raised
USD 555m to Nov 2021 · moonpay.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Ivan Soto-Wright Co-founder and CEO, MoonPay (group level) Confirmed 23 Sep 2026 · coinspectator.com ↗
Executive
Max von Wallenberg CEO, MoonPay Enterprise (group level) Confirmed 8 Sep 2026 · stablecoininsider.org ↗

Recent events

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Licence

    MoonPay announced that De Nederlandsche Bank had granted the firm an electronic money institution licence on 8 September 2026.

    stablecoininsider.org ↗
  2. Licence

    The AFM authorised the firm as a crypto-asset service provider under MiCA on 30 December 2024.

    finextra.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · ESMA-CASP
254900KXWAZ3B1340G26
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Published by the register
Elucidate firm ID
413c81fca285

Profile

Type
CryptoCrypto-asset service providers, virtual-asset trading platforms and stablecoin issuers. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
Prudential licenceAuthorised with capital, safeguarding and conduct requirements, e.g. an authorised payment or e-money institution in the EU or UK, a major payment institution in Singapore, or a MiCA crypto-asset service provider.
Main licence class
Crypto-Asset Service Provider
Activities
  • Crypto-assets
Licensed in
Netherlands · Europe & Central Asia
First registered
2024-12-30

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

GLEIF’s relationship records name no parent for this LEI, and no group page is published for it.

Addresses

Address on the register
Herengracht 420 - 1017BZ Amsterdam - The Netherlands
Country
Netherlands

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Incomplete: no town published
  • The register publishes no town as a separate field. A CBPR+ postal address needs at least a town name (TwnNm) and a country (Ctry).

The LEI record in GLEIF holds a structured legal address.

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • ESMA interim MiCA register of crypto-asset service providers—European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo