Canada · Money service business

Nium Canada Corporation

Nium Canada Corporation is a British Columbia company with its registered address in Vancouver. It provides international money transfers under the Instarem brand. The Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) registers it as a money services business (M15669293). Nium states that the firm is also registered with the Bank of Canada as a payment service provider. It is a subsidiary of Nium Pte. Ltd. of Singapore and was named Instarem Canada Corporation until February 2020.

Licences and registrations

Held by Nium Canada Corporation (LEI 254900G5VDERDTFMS463). 1 entry on 1 of the 22 tracked registers, retrieved 25 September 2026.

RegisterLicenceNumberJurisdictionStatusRegisteredEndsActivitiesRegister entry
Money Services Business RegistryFINTRAC MSBMoney Transmitter / Remittance M15669293 Canada Active 2015-08-11 Renews 2026-11-26
  • Money remittance
Search the register ↗

Trading names on the register: NIUM (FINTRAC-MSB)

  • Each licence applies in the country of the regulator that granted it.
  • Registers are tracked in 37 countries. Licences granted elsewhere are not recorded here.

Swift network

Swift’s ISO 9362 BIC directory

Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory.

Its LEI is not mapped to a BIC in the Swift and GLEIF BIC-to-LEI relationship file.

Overview

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Customers

Not published

Employees

Not published

Ownership

Group subsidiary

NIUM PTE. LTD.

Firm type

Money remittance

Trades as Instarem

Standing
The firm changed its name from Instarem Canada Corporation to Nium Canada Corporation with effect from 10 February 2020, according to its LEI record.
Ownership
Nium Pte. Ltd. of Singapore is the firm's direct and ultimate parent, according to the firm's LEI record.
Direct parent
NIUM PTE. LTD., Singapore
Head office
168 Robinson Road, #18-03/04 Capital Tower, 068912 Singapore, Singapore (registered office: 422 Richards St, Suite 170, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2Z4, Canada)
Company register
BC Registry BC1041324
Incorporated
30 Jun 2015
Founders
Prajit Nanu · Michael Bermingham
Former name
Instarem Canada Corporation

Online

Websites & references
instarem.com ↗
nium.com ↗ Nium group website, which publishes the firm's regulatory status
Wikipedia ↗ group article
Official social accounts
LinkedIn ↗ · X ↗ · Facebook ↗ · Instagram ↗
Sources · 11 pages consulted
  1. instarem.com/terms-policies/terms-conditions-canada/
  2. instarem.com/en-ca/
  3. instarem.com/licenses/
  4. instarem.com
  5. nium.com/licenses
  6. nium.com/about-us
  7. lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/254900G5VDERDTFMS463
  8. bankofcanada.ca/core-functions/retail-payments-supervision/psp-registry/
  9. nium.com/newsroom/new-c-suite-hires-lead-next-era-of-global-payments-infrastructure
  10. nium.com/newsroom/nium-raises-us50-million-in-series-e-round-to-expand-real-time-payments-global-i
  11. mm.nh.gov/files/uploads/doj/remote-docs/nium-20251211.pdf

Authorisation

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Operates under
Its own licences

FINTRAC registers the firm as a money services business for money remittance, which is an AML registration rather than a licence. Nium states that the firm is also registered with the Bank of Canada as a payment service provider.

AuthorityLicence or registrationNumberHeldStatusSource
Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) Canada Money Services Business registration (money remittance) M15669293 In its own name Active instarem.com ↗
Bank of Canada Canada Payment service provider registration (Retail Payment Activities Act) — In its own name Active nium.com ↗

Licences and registrations the research found, at home and abroad, as the firm and its regulators publish them. The Licences and registrations card shows the entries on the registers the directory tracks.

Partners and safeguarding

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Safeguarding
Not disclosedThe firm's Canadian terms and conditions do not say how customer funds are safeguarded.instarem.com ↗
Payment schemes and card networks
Automated Clearing Settlement System (ACSS) Access not stated instarem.com ↗
Swift Access not stated instarem.com ↗

Banks and regulated firms the firm says hold its customers’ money, issue its cards, sponsor its accounts or settle its payments, as it discloses them in its terms and notices.

Products and markets

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  • International money transfer
  • FX conversion

According to its Canadian terms, it sends CAD or USD from Canada to recipients' bank accounts abroad, funded by bank debit or bank transfer. Its website lists more than 60 destination countries.

The firm serves customers resident in Canada. Customers of the Instarem brand in other countries are served by other Nium group entities.

Sells to
Consumers · Small businesses
Serves customers in
Canada
Latest funding round
Series E · USD 50m Jun 2024nium.com ↗

Leadership

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

Chief executive
Prajit Nanu Founder and CEO (Nium group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · nium.com ↗
Chief financial officer
Andre Mancl Chief Financial Officer (Nium group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · nium.com ↗
Compliance / MLRO
Amaresh Mohan Chief Risk and Compliance Officer (Nium group) Confirmed 29 Sep 2026 · nium.com ↗

Recent events 1 enforcement or investigation item

Researched 29 Sep 2026 · Sources

  1. Leadership

    The Nium group appointed Amaresh Mohan as Chief Risk and Compliance Officer, Sekhar Cidambi as Chief Technology Officer and Danielle Gotkis as Chief Marketing Officer.

    nium.com ↗
  2. Security incident

    Nium, Inc., a US affiliate, told New Hampshire's attorney general that an unauthorised party had accessed a file system containing customers' personal information.

    mm.nh.gov ↗
  3. Funding

    The parent group Nium raised USD 50 million in a Series E round led by a sovereign wealth fund in Southeast Asia.

    nium.com ↗

Compliance-relevant events of the last three years, newest first: fines and enforcement, investigations, security incidents, licence changes, funding rounds, acquisitions and leadership changes. Each links to its source.

Identifiers

Licence no. · FINTRAC-MSB
M15669293
BIC
Holds no BIC in Swift’s directory
How the LEI was matched
Matched by Elucidate to GLEIF on name, country and address
Elucidate firm ID
7362f5c44026

Profile

Type
Money service businessRemittance, currency exchange, cheque cashing and money orders. Usually registered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor rather than licensed prudentially. Taken from the licences on the tracked registers.
Regulation
AML registration onlyRegistered with an anti-money-laundering supervisor (FinCEN, FINTRAC, HMRC, AUSTRAC, Hong Kong Customs…) without a prudential licence.
Main licence class
Money Transmitter / Remittance
Activities
  • Money remittance
Licensed in
Canada · North America
First registered
2015-08-11

Types come from Swift’s BIC classification, the licences on the 22 tracked registers, and the ECB and FSB bank lists. Most banks outside the euro area appear as financial institutions, because their supervisors’ registers are not tracked yet.

Ownership and group

GLEIF relationship records

Direct parent
Nium Pte. Ltd. · Singapore2549001M1QCD7NV2FL63 ↗

The Nium Pte. Ltd. group has 6 institutions in the directory, in 6 countries: 2 hold a BIC and 4 do not.

Including Nium Europe B.V., Nium Fintech Limited, Nium Limited, Nium Pte. Ltd., Nium Pty Limited.

See the Nium Pte. Ltd. group →

Group membership follows the accounting-consolidation relationships reported to GLEIF. It does not show ownership shares or control.

Addresses

Address on the register
422 RICHARDS ST. #170, VANCOUVER, V6B2Z4
Country
Canada

ISO 20022 identification

As an agent in a Swift cross-border payment message (CBPR+)

This institution holds no BIC. A CBPR+ message identifies it by name and postal address, and may add its LEI or a clearing code.

Identified by
Name and postal address, with its LEI
Postal address
Hybrid: town, postcode and country in their own elements, the rest in one address line
<FinInstnId>
  <LEI>254900G5VDERDTFMS463</LEI>
  <Nm>NIUM CANADA CORPORATION</Nm>
  <PstlAdr>
    <PstCd>V6B2Z4</PstCd>
    <TwnNm>VANCOUVER</TwnNm>
    <Ctry>CA</Ctry>
    <AdrLine>422 RICHARDS ST. #170</AdrLine>
  </PstlAdr>
</FinInstnId>

CBPR+ identifies the instructing and instructed agents by BIC only. An institution without a BIC can be the debtor, creditor or an intermediary agent.

The values are as published by the register. Check them against your own records before use.

Sources & method

Register entries come from the public registers of financial regulators, standardised into one taxonomy. LEIs are matched through GLEIF, and a BIC is linked only through a shared LEI.

An institution missing from these registers is not necessarily unregulated.

Register entries are not matched against the OFAC or EU sanctions lists. Where the legal entity also holds a BIC, the matches for that BIC are on its page. Always screen against the official lists.

An institution is one entry in the directory: a BIC8 in Swift’s directory, or a firm on a tracked register that holds no BIC. Licences held by an institution with a BIC are shown on its page.

Read the methodology →

Register for this page

  • Money Services Business Registry—Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) · source ↗ as at 25 September 2026
  • Ownership and group—GLEIF Level 2 relationship records (accounting consolidation), matched by LEI.
  • Overview, authorisation, partners, products, leadership and events—researched per institution by an AI model with web search, from the firm's own website, terms and filings, regulators' registers and notices, company registers and news. Licences, partners, figures, people and events link to their source, and each card shows the research date. AI research can be wrong or out of date, so check key facts at the source.

Assess the financial crime risk behind a licence

A licence records what an institution is authorised to do; it does not assess it. The Elucidate FinCrime Index (EFI) is an independent score of the financial crime risk of banks and payment institutions.

Book a demo